DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on a provisional application filed as 63/209,881 on 06/11/2021.
All claims are given the priority date of 06/11/2021.
Application Status
Receipt is acknowledged of amendment, filed 07/09/2024. Claims 1, 2, 8-11, 13, 20, 28, 29, 31, 39, 41, 42, 44, 50, 52, 57, 72, 73, 78, 80, 82, 91 and 107 are currently pending.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Group I, drawn to claims 1, 2, 8-11, 13, 20, 28, 29, 31, 39, 41, 42, 44, 50, 52, 57, 72, 73, 78 and 80, in the reply filed on 08/03/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 82, 91 and 107 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/03/2026.
Claims 1, 2, 8-11, 13, 20, 28, 29, 31, 39, 41, 42, 44, 50, 52, 57, 72, 73, 78 and 80 are currently under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt of acknowledgment of the information disclosure statements filed on 07/09/2024 and 08/04/2026 have been received and all references have been considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; at para [00582]. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8-11, 13, 20, 28, 29, 31, 39, 41, 42, 44, 50, 52, 57, 72, 73, 78 and 80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al (WO 2018/165629 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 8, Liu teaches the fusion protein comprising, from 5’ to 3’: a cytidine deaminase domain, BE3; a linker; a nCas9 protein; a linker; UDG; UdgX; a linker; PolK; Rev1; and NLS (Page 136, Paragraph 1 bridging Page 137, Paragraph 1).
Regarding claims 9-11, Liu teaches the UBP domain used in the fusion protein is UdgX identified as SEQ ID NO: 49 which comprises 100% identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 49 (Page 68, Paragraph 2; See Appendix I).
Regarding claim 13, Liu teaches the fusion protein comprising, from 5’ to 3’: a cytidine deaminase domain, BE3; a linker; a nCas9 protein; a linker; UDG; UdgX; a linker; PolK; Rev1; and NLS (Page 136, Paragraph 1 bridging Page 137, Paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 20, Liu teaches the BE3 sequence with the fusion protein of SEQ ID NO: 117 which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 93 (Page 136, Paragraph 1 bridging Page 137, Paragraph 1; See Appendix II).
Regarding claims 28, 29 and 31, Liu teaches the nCas9 sequence within the fusion protein sequence of SEQ ID NO: 117 which is 81% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 21 (Page 136, Paragraph 1 bridging Page 137, Paragraph 1; See Appendix III).
Regarding claim 39, Liu teaches the linker sequence between the BE3 sequence and the nCas9 sequence within the fusion protein sequence of SEQ ID NO: 117 which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 102 (Page 136, Paragraph 1 bridging Page 137, Paragraph 1; See Appendix IV).
Regarding claims 41 and 42, Liu teaches the fusion protein comprising, from 5’ to 3’: a cytidine deaminase domain, BE3; a linker; a nCas9 protein; a linker; UDG; UdgX; a linker; PolK; Rev1; and NLS (Page 136, Paragraph 1 bridging Page 137, Paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 44, Liu teaches the fusion protein can be configured to comprise the structure: NH2-[NAP]-[cytidine deaminase]-[UBP]-[napDNAbp]-COOH [00229].
Regarding claims 50 and 52, Liu teaches the fusion protein comprising, from 5’ to 3’: a cytidine deaminase domain, BE3; a linker; a nCas9 protein; a linker; UDG; UdgX; a linker; PolK; Rev1; and NLS (Page 136, Paragraph 1 bridging Page 137, Paragraph 1). Liu teaches the sequence of the NLS as SEQ ID NO: 41 which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 41 (Page 136, Paragraph 1 bridging Page 137, Paragraph 1; See Appendix V).
Regarding claims 57 and 80, Liu teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the fusion protein and gRNA complex [00256].
Regarding claims 72, 73 and 78, Liu teaches a kit comprising the nucleic acid construct encoding the fusion protein and gRNA backbone [00267]. Liu teaches base editing of HEK2, RNF2, and FANCF in HEK293 cells using the BE3_UdGX_polymerase fusion proteins [00284-00285].
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRA ROSE LIPPOLIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1637
/CELINE X QIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637