DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 07/24/2026 has been entered. Claims 76-79, 81, 83-85, and 88-93 have been amended. Claims 80, 87, and 94-95 have been cancelled. Claims 76-79, 81-86, and 88-93 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/24/2026 have been fully considered but are rendered moot due to reliance on a different prior art for rejection of the argued claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 76, 78-79, 81-82, and 88-91 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 20230164066 A1), hereinafter Zhu.
For claim 76,
Zhu teaches A method performed by a service consumer for supporting Virtual Local Area Network (VLAN) dynamic provisioning in a Fifth Generation System (5GS), the method comprising (at least [0144], [0176], [0184], and [FIGs 3, 6] service consumer and service provider in 5G VLAN system):
including, in 5G Virtual Network (VN) group data for a 5G VN group, VLAN configuration information for one or more User Equipments (UEs) that are members of the 5G VN group (at least [0178], [0184], [0197], and [FIG. 6] 5G VLAN group information includes VLAN configuration information pertaining to a first port which corresponds to a UE of the group.),
the VLAN configuration information supplementing 5G VN group data with information indicating a port type of at least one VLAN port corresponding to at least one member of the 5G VN group (at least [0178], [0184], [0197], and [FIG. 6] VLAN configuration information includes an “interface mode” which is a port type of a VLAN port.),
the port type indicating whether the at least one VLAN port is an access port or a trunk port (at least [0178], [0184], [0197], and [FIG. 6] the “interface mode” (port type) includes access type, trunk type, or hybrid type.); and
sending, to a service provider of the 5GS provisioning request comprising the 5G VN group data, the provisioning request causing the VLAN configuration information to be stored as part of the 5G VN group data for use in controlling Ethernet Protocol Data Unit (PDU) sessions associated with the 5G VN group (at least [0152-0157], [0182-0184], [0195], [0220-0221] and [FIG. 3] a terminal sends a session establishment request to an AMF, the request including 5G VN group data. The VLAN configuration information, including the port type, is used for establishment and control of Ethernet PDU sessions associated with the 5G VN group, because the SMF obtains VLAN information of the first terminal to then determine the VLAN information of a first port in order for the PDU session to be established. It is an obvious implementation that the VN Group data would be sent in a provisioning request, and that the VLAN configuration information, including the port type, would be stored as a part of the 5G VN Group data for use in controlling Ethernet PDU sessions.)
For claim 78, Zhu teaches claim 76.
Zhu further teaches wherein, for each access port indicated in the VLAN configuration information, the VLAN configuration information further includes corresponding (at least [0199] VLAN information of the first port includes the VID for an access port)
For claim 79, Zhu teaches claim 76.
Zhu further teaches wherein each indicated in the VLAN configuration information, the VLAN configuration information further includes PDU blocked (at least [0199] VLAN information of the first port includes a list of allowed VIDs for a trunk port);
For claim 81, Zhu teaches claim 79.
Zhu further teaches for each , the VLAN configuration information further indicates (at least [0201-0213] an indication indicates an operation on a packet, the operation can be whether or not to allow transmission of the packet based on the allowed VID list).
For claim 82, Zhu teaches claim 81.
Zhu further teaches wherein the usage of the list of allowed VLAN ID(s) or blocked VLAN ID(s) comprises at least one of: authentication, filtering, and configuration (at least [0201-0213] an indication indicates an operation on a packet, the operation can be whether or not to allow transmission of the packet based on the allowed VID list, which acts as a type of filtering or authentication by determining whether or not to allow transmission of the packet based on a VID).
For claim 88, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 76, with the added limitations of sending, to a second service provider, a second provisioning request comprising the 5G VN group data including the VLAN configuration information, the second provisioning request causing the VLAN configuration information to be stored, directly or indirectly, as part of the 5G VN group data for subsequent use in controlling Ethernet Protocol Data Unit (PDU) sessions associated with the 5G VN group (at least [0152-0157], [0182-0184], [0195], [0220-0221] and [FIG. 3] a terminal sends a session establishment request to an AMF, and the AMF sends the request to an SMF, the request including 5G VN group data. The VLAN configuration information, including the port type, is used for establishment and control of Ethernet PDU sessions associated with the 5G VN group, because the SMF obtains VLAN information of the first terminal to then determine the VLAN information of a first port in order for the PDU session to be established. It is an obvious implementation that the VN Group data would be sent in a provisioning request, and that the VLAN configuration information, including the port type, would be stored as a part of the 5G VN Group data for use in controlling Ethernet PDU sessions.).
For claim 89, Zhu teaches claim 88.
Zhu further teaches wherein the VLAN configuration information is included in the 5G VN group data as VLAN parameters (at least [0195] and [0220-0221] VLAN information includes port types, allowed VID list, and priority of VID, among other VLAN parameters) .
Claim(s) 77 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, in view of Nokia et al.: "VLAN Information configuration and information exchange", 3GPP DRAFT; S2-2002208R01, hereinafter Nokia.
For claim 77, Zhu teaches claim 76.
Zhu further teaches wherein the port type indicates whether the UE- associated bridge port is to be treated by the 5GS as an access port or a trunk port for VLAN handling of the Ethernet PDU sessions (at least [0178], [0184], [0197], and [FIG. 6] the “interface mode” (port type) includes access type, trunk type, or hybrid type.).
Zhu does not explicitly teach, however Nokia teaches wherein the 5GS is modeled as one or more logical Ethernet bridges for Ethernet PDU sessions associated with the 5G VN group (at least [Sections 5.28.1-5.28.2.1], and [Figure 5.28.1-1] logical bridges for ethernet PDU sessions),
wherein the at least one VLAN port comprises a UE-associated bridge port of one of the one or more logical Ethernet bridges (at least [Sections 5.28.1-5.28.2.1], and [Figure 5.28.1-1] ports associated with a UE and the bridges for the PDU sessions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Zhu for VLAN provisioning in a 5GS including port type indication with the method of Nokia for the 5GS being modeled as a logical ethernet bridge with at least one UE-associated VLAN bridge port to reduce overhead and allow for seamless integration with LAN.
Claim(s) 83 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, in view of Zhao et al. (US 12531760 B2), hereinafter Zhao.
For claim 83, Zhu teaches claim 79.
Zhu does not explicitly teach, however Zhao teaches wherein the VLAN configuration information comprises, for each (at least [COL.10, line 56-COL. 11, line 6], and [COL. 22, lines 36-44] a list of allowed VLANs, made up of VLAN IDs, corresponds to one IP subnet which corresponds to an IP address of a terminal in a PDU session. This implies the IP address of the host of the list of allowed VLAN IDs is known.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Zhu for having a list of allowed VIDs with the method of Zhao for including the IP address of the host of the list of allowed VIDs to ensure proper authentication of the allowed VIDs and ensure the security of the system through authentication and validation.
Claim(s) 84 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, in view of Sabella et al. (US 20220086218 A1), hereinafter Sabella.
For claim 84, Zhu teaches claim 76.
Zhu does not explicitly teach, however Sabella teaches wherein the service consumer is an application function (AF)of the 5GS (at least [0049] AF receives services from NEF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Zhu for having a service consumer and service provider with the method of Sabella for the service consumer being an application function (AF), and the service provider being a network exposure function (NEF) as obvious alternatives and implementations that one of ordinary skill in the art would use.
Claim(s) 85 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, in view of Sabella, and further in view of Zhao.
For claim 85, Zhu and Sabella teach claim 84.
Zhu and Sabella do not explicitly teach, however Zhao teaches wherein the VLAN configuration information is included in the provisioning request as LAN parameters included in the 5G VN group Data (at least [COL.10, line 56-COL. 11, line 6], and [COL. 22, lines 36-44] a list of allowed VLANs, made up of VLAN IDs, is included for configuration and corresponds to one IP subnet which corresponds to an IP address of a terminal in a PDU session. It is well known in the art that IP subnets and IP address are considered LAN parameters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Zhu and Sabella for having configuration information for VLAN with the method of Zhao for the configuration information being in the form of LAN parameters as an obvious implementation, to one having ordinary skill in the art, of configuration parameters for VLAN.
Claim(s) 86 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, in view of Li et al. (US 20180352050 A1), hereinafter Li.
For claim 86, Zhu teaches claim 76.
Zhu does not explicitly teach, however Li teaches wherein the service consumer is an application function (AF) and the service provider is a unified data management (UDM) (at least [0021] UDM receives request from AF, implying that the UDM is a service provider and the AF is a service consumer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Zhu for having a service consumer and service provider with the method of Li for the service consumer being an application function (AF), and the service provider being a unified data management (UDM) as obvious alternatives and implementations that one of ordinary skill in the art would use.
Claim(s) 90 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, in view of Sabella, and further in view of Li.
For claim 90, Zhu teaches claim 88.
Zhu does not explicitly teach, however Sabella teaches wherein the service consumer is an Application Function (AF) (at least [0049] AF receives services from NEF),
the first service provider is a Network Exposure Function (NEF) of the 5GS (at least [0049] AF receives services from NEF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Zhu for having a service consumer and service provider with the method of Sabella for the service consumer being an application function (AF), and the service provider being a network exposure function (NEF) as obvious alternatives and implementations that one of ordinary skill in the art would use.
Zhu and Sabella do not explicitly teach, however Li teaches the second service provider is a Unified Data Management (UDM) function of the 5GS (at least [0021] UDM receives request from AF, implying that the UDM is a service provider and the AF is a service consumer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Zhu and Sabella for having a service consumer and service provider with the method of Li for the service consumer being an application function (AF), and the service provider being a unified data management (UDM) as obvious alternatives and implementations that one of ordinary skill in the art would use.
Claim(s) 91 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, in view of Li, and further in view of Jung et al. (US 20230217240 A1), hereinafter Jung.
For claim 91, Zhu teaches claim 88.
Zhu does not explicitly teach, however Li teaches wherein the service consumer is an Application Function (AF) (at least [0021] UDM receives request from AF, implying that the UDM is a service provider and the AF is a service consumer),
first service provider is a Unified Data Management (UDM) function of the 5GS (at least [0021] UDM receives request from AF, implying that the UDM is a service provider and the AF is a service consumer)...
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Zhu for having a service consumer and service provider with the method of Li for the service consumer being an application function (AF), and the service provider being a unified data management (UDM) as obvious alternatives and implementations that one of ordinary skill in the art would use.
Zhu and Li do not explicitly teach, however Jung teaches …and the second service provider is a Uniform Data Repository (UDR) function of the 5GS, and wherein the second provisioning request is a request to create or update the 5G VN group data in the UDR function (at least [0044] the UDR stores 5G VN group data for the AF, and the 5G VN group data is stored/updated in the UDR. It is an obvious implementation that the 5G VN Group data would be stored/updated due to a provisioning request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Zhu and Li for having a service consumer and service provider with the method of Jung for the second service provider being a UDR, and the 5G VN group data being updated at the UDR via a provisioning request as obvious alternatives and implementations that one of ordinary skill in the art would use.
Claim(s) 92 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Han et al. (US 20230037685 A1), hereinafter Han, and in further view of Jung.
For claim 92, Zhu teaches claim 88.
Zhu does not explicitly teach, however Han teaches wherein the service consumer is an operation, administration, and maintenance (OAM) entity (at least [0049] OAM is a service consumer),
the first service provider is a provisioning system (at least [FIG. 2] and [0054] NEF uses parameter provisioning as a service provider),…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Zhu for having a service consumer and service provider with the method of Han for the service consumer being an operation, administration, and maintenance (OAM) entity, and the service provider being a provisioning system as obvious alternatives and implementations that one of ordinary skill in the art would use.
Zhu and Han do not explicitly teach, however Jung teaches … the second service provider is a UDR, and wherein the second provisioning request is a request to store the VLAN configuration information as part of the 5G VN group data in the UDR (at least [0044] the UDR stores 5G VN group data for the AF, and the 5G VN group data is stored/updated in the UDR. It is an obvious implementation that the 5G VN Group data would be stored/updated due to a provisioning request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Zhu and Han for having a service consumer and service provider with the method of Jung for the second service provider being a UDR, and the 5G VN group data being updated at the UDR via a provisioning request as obvious alternatives and implementations that one of ordinary skill in the art would use.
Claim(s) 93 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, in view of Jung.
For claim 93,
Zhu teaches … the 5G VN group data comprising VLAN configuration information for one or more UEs that are members of the 5G VN group (at least [0178], [0184], [0197], and [FIG. 6] 5G VLAN group information includes VLAN configuration information pertaining to a first port which corresponds to a UE of the group.),
wherein the VLAN configuration information supplements the 5G VN group data with information indicating a port type of at least one VLAN port corresponding to at least one member of the 5G VN group, (at least [0178], [0184], [0197], and [FIG. 6] VLAN configuration information includes an “interface mode” which is a port type of a VLAN port.) and
wherein the port type indicates whether the at least one VLAN port is an access port or a trunk port (at least [0178], [0184], [0197], and [FIG. 6] the “interface mode” (port type) includes access type, trunk type, or hybrid type.); and
sending, to the SMF the obtained 5GVN group data, including the VLAN configuration information, thereby making access-port or trunk-port VLAN handling information available to the SMF for controlling Ethernet Protocol Data Unit (PDU) sessions associated with the 5G VN group (at least [0152-0157], [0182-0184], [0195], [0220-0221] and [FIG. 3] a terminal sends a session establishment request to an AMF, and the AMF sends the request to an SMF, the request including 5G VN group data. The VLAN configuration information, including the port type, is used for establishment and control of Ethernet PDU sessions associated with the 5G VN group, because the SMF obtains VLAN information of the first terminal to then determine the VLAN information of a first port in order for the PDU session to be established. It is an obvious implementation that the VN Group data would be sent in a provisioning request, and that the VLAN configuration information, including the port type, would be stored as a part of the 5G VN Group data for use in controlling Ethernet PDU sessions.).
Zhu does not explicitly teach, however Jung teaches a method performed by a unified data management (UDM) of a Fifth Generation System (5GS) for supporting Virtual Local Area Network (VLAN) dynamic provisioning in the 5GS, the method comprising: receiving, from a session management function (SMF) of the 5GS, a request for 5G Virtual Network (VN) group data corresponding to a shared data identifier (ID), the shared data ID being associated with session management data of User Equipments (UEs) that are members of a 5G VN group (at least [0042] and [0045], UDM retrieves 5G VN group data corresponding to a group shared ID from a UDR and provides the VN group data to the SMF. This implies that the request included the VN group data in order for the UDM to retrieve it and transmit it to the SMF.);
obtaining, from a unified data repository (UDR) function of the 5GS, the 5GVN group data corresponding to the shared data ID (at least [0042] and [0045], UDM retrieves 5G VN group data corresponding to a group ID from a UDR)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Zhu for VLAN provisioning in a 5GS including port type indication with the method of Jung for a UDM receiving a request for 5G VN Group data corresponding to a shared ID from an SMF as obvious alternatives and implementations that one of ordinary skill in the art would use.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Benjamin T. Ranew whose telephone number is (571)272-2746. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman A Abaza can be reached at (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/BENJAMIN T. RANEW/Examiner, Art Unit 2429
/AYMAN A ABAZA/SPE, Art Unit 2429