Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park US 20160192401.
Regarding claims 1-4 and 14, Park teaches A method of operating a wireless device in a wireless communication network, the method comprising:
communicating data not part of a random access procedure based on received reference signalling, the received reference signalling being associated to a random access message
transmitted by a network node of the wireless communication network (Thus, a transmission and reception beam selection
procedure of the base station needs to be performed during the random access procedure, [0063]).
Claim(s) 1-5, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang US 12108456.
Regarding claims 1-4 and 14, Jiang teaches a method of operating a wireless device in a wireless communication network, the method comprising:
communicating data not part of a random access procedure based on received reference signalling, the received reference signalling being associated to a random access message
transmitted by a network node of the wireless communication network (identification information of the downlink beam selected during the random access procedure, the identification information of the downlink beam further comprises a synchronization signal and physical broadcast
channel block (SSB) index corresponding to the downlink beam, claim 1).
Regarding claims 5, 16, the reference signalling is in accordance to a reference signalling configuration, one or both
indicated by broadcast signalling and on a broadcast channel the identification information of the downlink beam further comprises a synchronization signal and physical broadcast
channel block (SSB) index corresponding to the downlink beam, claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang as applied to claims 1, 3 above, and further in view of Fan US 10,470,217.
Jiang is silent on the random access message comprises
one or both of a control information message and a data channel
message, scheduled by an associated control channel message.
Fan teaches the random access message comprises
control information message, scheduled by an associated control channel message (claim 10).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Jiang by the random access message comprises control information message, scheduled by an associated control channel message, as shown by Fan. This modification would benefit the system by providing a proven, reliable method for communicating the control information.
Claim(s) 7, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang as applied to claims 1, 3 above, and further in view of Sahlin US 20170048810.
Jiang is silent on the reference signalling is indicated in the random access message.
Sahlin teaches reference signalling is indicated in a random access message (random access response can be transmitted together with a random access response message such that the reference signals and symbols containing the payload in the random access response message are transmitted together, [0083]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Jiang by the reference signalling is indicated in the random access message, as suggested by Sahlin. This modification would benefit the system by efficiently using system resources by transmitting together the reference signalling and random access message.
Claim(s) 8, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang as applied to claims 1, 3 above, and further in view of HOSSEINI CN 112020834.
Jiang is silent on the reference signalling is one or both based on a capability of the wireless device, and/or and based on a signalling characteristic of a random access preamble transmitted by the wireless device.
HOSSEINI teaches the reference signalling is based on a capability of the wireless device (In some examples, the base station 105-a may configure the UE 115-a based on the reported UE capabilities using the DMRS configuration and resource allocation).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Jiang by teaches the reference signalling is based on a capability of the wireless device, as shown by HOSSEINI. This modification would benefit the system by allocating resources based upon the capability of the UE.
Claim(s) 9, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang as applied to claims 1, 3 above, and further in view of Ito US 20070155433.
Jiang is silent on the reference signalling represents one or a plurality of signalling sequences.
Ito teaches the reference signalling represents one or a plurality of signalling sequences ([0002]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Jiang by the reference signalling represents one or a plurality of signalling sequences, as shown by Ito. This modification would benefit the system by reducing the probability of demodulation error.
Claim(s) 10, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang as applied to claims 1, 3 above, and further in view of Hosokawa US 20090175299.
Jiang is silent on the reference signalling covers one or a plurality of symbol time intervals or allocation units.
Hosokawa teaches the reference signalling covers one or a plurality of symbol time intervals (a reference signal that is based on the plurality of symbols, [0013]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Jiang by the reference signalling covers one or a plurality of symbol time intervals, as shown by Hosokawa. This modification would benefit the system by optimally allocating the reference signalling.
Claim(s) 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lei US 20200275492.
Regarding claim 11, Jiang is silent on the reference signalling precedes in time domain the random access message, in particular a control information message.
Lei teaches the reference signalling precedes in time domain the random access message, in particular a control information message (fig. 4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Jiang by the reference signalling precedes in time domain the random access message, in particular a control information message, as shown by Lei. This modification would benefit the system by since adhering to preexisting standards will make it easier to implement the system of Fan into larger systems.
Regarding claim 12, although Lei teaches the reference signalling is distinct in time domain from the random access message, the reference is silent on the reference signalling is separated in time domain from the random access message by a guard interval. However, guard intervals were well known in the art at the time of the instant application and the use of a guard interval would have decreased the probability of error in the demodulation of the signals. Therefore, the limitation would have been obvious and not patentable.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Uemura US 20110009095.
Jiang is silent on the reference signalling is repetitive.
Uemura teaches the reference signalling is repetitive ([0089]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Jiang by the reference signalling is repetitive, as shown by Uemura. This modification would benefit the system by since by repeating the reference signalling the probability of incorrectly demodulating the reference signalling is reduced.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONALD B ABELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476