Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 14, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fan US 10470217.
Regarding claims 1-4, 14, Fan teaches a method of operating a wireless device in a wireless communication network, the method comprising:
communicating based on received reference signalling, the received reference signalling being associated to a random access message transmitted by a network node of the wireless communication network (DMRS, random access message, claim 1).
Regarding claims 5, 16, the reference signalling is in accordance to a reference signalling configuration, which-may-be one or both indicated by broadcast signalling and/er and on a broadcast channel (broadcast channel, claim 1).
Regarding claims 6, 17, the random access message comprises one or both of a control information message and/or and a data channel message, which-may-be scheduled by an associated control channel message (claim 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan as applied to claims 1, 3 above, and further in view of Sahlin US 20170048810.
Fan is silent on the reference signalling is indicated in the random access message.
Sahlin teaches reference signalling is indicated in a random access message (random access response can be transmitted together with a random access response message such that the reference signals and symbols containing the payload in the random access response message are transmitted together, [0083]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Fan by the reference signalling is indicated in the random access message, as suggested by Sahlin. This modification would benefit the system by efficiently using system resources by transmitting together the reference signalling and random access message.
Claim(s) 8, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan as applied to claims 1, 3 above, and further in view of HOSSEINI CN 112020834.
Fan is silent on the reference signalling is one or both based on a capability of the wireless device, and/or and based on a signalling characteristic of a random access preamble transmitted by the wireless device.
HOSSEINI teaches the reference signalling is based on a capability of the wireless device (In some examples, the base station 105-a may configure the UE 115-a based on the reported UE capabilities using the DMRS configuration and resource allocation).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Fan by teaches the reference signalling is based on a capability of the wireless device, as shown by HOSSEINI. This modification would benefit the system by allocating resources based upon the capability of the UE.
Claim(s) 9, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan as applied to claims 1, 3 above, and further in view of Ito US 20070155433.
Fan is silent on the reference signalling represents one or a plurality of signalling sequences.
Ito teaches the reference signalling represents one or a plurality of signalling sequences ([0002]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Fan by the reference signalling represents one or a plurality of signalling sequences, as shown by Ito. This modification would benefit the system by reducing the probability of demodulation error.
Claim(s) 10, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan as applied to claims 1, 3 above, and further in view of Hosokawa US 20090175299.
Fan is silent on the reference signalling covers one or a plurality of symbol time intervals or allocation units.
Hosokawa teaches the reference signalling covers one or a plurality of symbol time intervals (a reference signal that is based on the plurality of symbols, [0013]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Fan by the reference signalling covers one or a plurality of symbol time intervals, as shown by Hosokawa. This modification would benefit the system by optimally allocating the reference signalling.
Claim(s) 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lei US 20200275492.
Regarding claim 11, Fan is silent on the reference signalling precedes in time domain the random access message, in particular a control information message.
Lei teaches the reference signalling precedes in time domain the random access message, in particular a control information message (fig. 4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Fan by the reference signalling precedes in time domain the random access message, in particular a control information message, as shown by Lei. This modification would benefit the system by since adhering to preexisting standards will make it easier to implement the system of Fan into larger systems.
Regarding claim 12, although Lei teaches the reference signalling is distinct in time domain from the random access message, the reference is silent on the reference signalling is separated in time domain from the random access message by a guard interval. However, guard intervals were well known in the art at the time of the instant application and the use of a guard interval would have decreased the probability of error in the demodulation of the signals. Therefore, the limitation would have been obvious and not patentable.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Uemura US 20110009095.
Fan is silent on the reference signalling is repetitive.
Uemura teaches the reference signalling is repetitive ([0089]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Fan by the reference signalling is repetitive, as shown by Uemura. This modification would benefit the system by since by repeating the reference signalling the probability of incorrectly demodulating the reference signalling is reduced.
Conclusion
/RONALD B ABELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476