DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant's communication filed on 12/11/2023. In virtue of this communication, claims 1 – 26 have been canceled, claims 27 – 46 have been newly added. Claims 27 – 46 are currently pending in the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claims 40 and 45 are objected to because of the following informalities: there is a typo in line 4: “a least the UE”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 27 – 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talebi Fard et al. (hereinafter “Fard”) (Pub # US 2023/0199632 A1) in view of Qiao et al. (hereinafter “Qiao”) (Pub # US 2021/0184875 A1).
Regarding claims 27 and 40, Fard discloses a first network node (i.e., a base station 105-1 in FIG. 3 or a network node 410 in FIG. 4, i.e., AMF 155 in FIG. 1, FIG. 2) configured to provide and/or enable an IP multimedia subsystem (IMS) service (i.e., IMS voice over PS session, see [0129]) for a user equipment (UE) (i.e., UE 100 in FIG. 1, FIG. 3) in a wireless communications network (i.e., 5G as in FIG. 1 – FIG. 3, [0038] – [0040], and see [0211], [0213] for the UE access services of a PLMN via a standalone non-public networks (SNPN)), wherein the first network node comprises:
communication interface circuitry (see 412 in FIG. 4) configured to communicate with a least the UE (see FIG. 1 – FIG. 3); and
processing circuitry (see 412 in FIG. 4) operably coupled to the communication interface circuitry,
wherein the processing circuitry and the communication interface circuitry are configured to perform a method comprising:
obtaining an IMS for the UE using the IMS service (see [0105] for the UE has one or more Packet Data Network (PDU) sessions established corresponding to a specific S-NSSAI (Network Slice Selection Assistance Information), the UE consider the Data Network Name (DNN) to determine which PDU session to use, see [0110], [0113], [0114], [0174] for the UE is in RM-REGISTERED state and initiates a registration procedure due to mobility, see [0123] for the AMF getting the mobility subscription data from the UDM (Unified Data Management), and see [0129] for the AMF accepts the PDU session status, mapping of allowed NSSAI, IMS voice over PS session supported indication, thus AMF obtaining); and
selecting a second network node for the IMS service based on the accepted IMS provider name (see [0106], [0175] – [0178] for the AMF selects an SMF in a network slice instance based on S-NSSAI, DNN and/or other information e.g. UE subscription and local operator policies, etc., when the UE triggers the establishment of the PDU session).
Fard teaches UE onboarding and remote provisioning for UE’s subscription to standalone non-public networks (SNPN) which supports audio/video applications, the UE registers the subscription owner (SO-SNPN) using the provisioned subscription credentials and configuration data, and one or more provisioning servers have an agreement with one or more desired SNPNs (SO-SNPNs, i.e., SO-SNPN1-SO-SNPN3) (see FIG. 14 - FIG. 17), thus Fard obviously teaches the provider name. If this is in question, using Qiao as below.
In an analogous art, Qiao discloses a provider name (see Qiao, [0155] – [0156], where Qiao discloses that the NPN supports services provided by one or more Service Providers (SP), which can include MNOs, or 3rd party service provider, i.e., the UE in FIG. 14 registered to the non-public network (NPN) identified by a Non-public network ID (NPN-ID) which supports multiple SP-ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Fard, and have a provider name such the NPNs that can provide the UE with the access to the SP that owns the UE subscription, thereby enhances access and transmission in 5G, as discussed by Qiao (see Qiao, [0028]).
Regarding claims 28 and 41, Fard in view of Qiao disclose wherein the IMS provider name is obtained from one of the following: the UE, UE subscription information, or a third network node (see Fard, [0050], [0123] for getting subscription information in a UDM, or see Qiao, [0155] – [0156]).
Regarding claims 29 and 42, Fard in view of Qiao disclose the first network node is an access and mobility management function (AMF) of a 5G core network (5GC); the second network node is a session management function (SMF); and the IMS provider name is obtained from the UE during a 5GC Registration Procedure by the UE (see Fard, FIG. 1 – FIG. 3, [0106], [0110], [0174] – [0176] for AMF, SMF, and UE registration in 5GC, and see Qiao, [0155] – [0156] for service provider). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made in order to enhance access and transmission in 5G, as discussed by Qiao (see Qiao, [0028]).
Regarding claim 30, Fard in view of Qiao disclose storing the obtained IMS provider name in a UE context of the UE (see Fard, FIG. 15, FIG. 17, [0065], [0118], [0123], [0159], or see Qiao, [0155] – [0156]).
Regarding claims 31 and 43, Fard discloses a user equipment (UE) (i.e., UE 100 in FIG. 1 - FIG. 3) configured to handle an IP multimedia subsystem (IMS) service (i.e., IMS voice over PS session, see [0129]) in a wireless communications network (i.e., 5G as in FIG. 1 – FIG. 3, [0038] – [0040], and see [0211], [0213] for the UE access services of a PLMN via a standalone non-public networks (SNPN)), wherein the UE comprises:
communication interface circuitry (see 320 in FIG. 3) configured to communicate with a least a first network node (i.e., an AMF 155 in FIG. 1, FIG. 2) of the wireless communication network; and
processing circuitry (see 318 in FIG. 3) operably coupled to the communication interface circuitry, wherein the processing circuitry and the communication interface circuitry are configured to perform operations corresponding to perform a method comprising:
during a registration procedure with the wireless communication network, providing, to a first network node (i.e., an AMF 155 in FIG. 1, FIG. 2) of the wireless communication network, an IMS associated with an IMS provider of the IMS service for the UE (see [0103], [0105], [0106], [0110], [0113], [0123], [0174] for the UE is in RM-REGISTERED state and initiates a registration procedure due to mobility, the UE sends to the AMF a NAS Message comprising S-NSSAI, DNN and/or other information, e.g., UE subscription and local operator policies, etc., when the UE triggers the establishment of a PDU session, see [0129] for IMS voice over PS session supported indication).
Fard teaches UE onboarding and remote provisioning for UE’s subscription to standalone non-public networks (SNPN) which supports audio/video applications, the UE registers the subscription owner (SO-SNPN) using the provisioned subscription credentials and configuration data, and one or more provisioning servers have an agreement with one or more desired SNPNs (SO-SNPNs, i.e., SO-SNPN1-SO-SNPN3) (see FIG. 14 - FIG. 17), thus Fard obviously teaches the provider name. If this is in question, using Qiao as below.
In an analogous art, Qiao discloses a provider name (see Qiao, [0155] – [0156], where Qiao discloses that the NPN supports services provided by one or more Service Providers (SP), which can include MNOs, or 3rd party service provider, i.e., the UE in FIG. 14 registered to the non-public network (NPN) identified by a Non-public network ID (NPN-ID) which supports multiple SP-ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Fard, and have a provider name such the NPNs that can provide the UE with the access to the SP that owns the UE subscription, thereby enhances access and transmission in 5G, as discussed by Qiao (see Qiao, [0028]).
Regarding claims 32 and 44, Fard in view of Qiao disclose the first network node is an access and mobility management function (AMF) of a 5G core network (5GC); and the IMS provider name is provided during a 5GC Registration Procedure (see Fard, FIG. 1 – FIG. 3, [0106], [0110], [0174] – [0176] for AMF and UE registration in 5GC, and see Qiao, [0155] – [0156] for service provider). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, in order to enhance access and transmission in 5G, as discussed by Qiao (see Qiao, [0028]).
Regarding claims 33 and 34, Fard in view of Qiao disclose maintaining an association between the IMS provider name and an access provider name, wherein the association includes a mapping between a first name indication indicating an IMS provider (i.e., SP#1,2) and a second name indication indicating an access provider (i.e., PLMN #1,2) (see Qiao, FIG. 14, [0155] – [0156] for depicting UEs access different service provider PLMNs via a non-public network). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, in order to enhance access and transmission in 5G, as discussed by Qiao (see Qiao, [0028]).
Regarding claim 35, Fard in view of Qiao disclose maintaining one or more of the following: an association between IMS credentials and access credentials, and an association between IMS providers and IMS credentials (see Fard, [0261] for public subscription/credentials of UE side for accessing to PLMN and on-boarding credentials for secondary authentication to grant access to Provisioning Server via the PDU session).
Regarding claims 36 and 45, Fard discloses a second network node (i.e., a base station 105-2 in FIG. 3 or a network node 420 in FIG. 4, i.e., SMF 160 in FIG. 1, FIG. 2) configured to provide and/or enable an IP multimedia subsystem (IMS) service (i.e., IMS voice over PS session, see [0129]) for a user equipment (UE) (i.e., UE 100 in FIG. 1 - FIG. 3) in a wireless communications network (i.e., 5G as in FIG. 1 – FIG. 3, [0038] – [0040], and see [0211], [0213] for the UE access services of a PLMN via a standalone non-public networks (SNPN)), wherein the second network node comprises:
communication interface circuitry (see 342 in FIG. 3) configured to communicate with a least the UE; and
processing circuitry (see 344 in FIG. 3) operably coupled to the communication interface circuitry,
wherein the processing circuitry and the communication interface circuitry are configured to perform a method comprising:
using an IMS service, to perform network repository function (NRF) discovery, thereby discovering one or more IMS nodes (i.e., AMF from second network, i.e., onboarding non public network NPN) corresponding to the IMS service for the UE (see [0135] for the UE identify, using the list of PDU sessions to be activated, the PDU session(s) for which the UP connections are to be activated in the NAS service request message, see [0140], [0141] for the Nsmf_PDUSession UpdateSMContext request is triggered by the SMF wherein the PDU session(s) identified by the UE correlate to other PDU session ID(s) than the one triggering the procedure, see [0170], [0173], [0176] – [0180], [0184], [0186], [0190] for the SMF selects one or more UPFs as needed for requested PDU session associated to a S-NSSAI and a DNN, see FIG. 14, [0257] – [0263] for other CP NFs (i.e., SMF) utilizes the NRF to discover the AMF instance(s) comprise one or more AMF candidates that support onboarding or support onboarding for the SNPN, and SMF selection subscription data which is used to trigger the on-boarding authentication and establish connectivity to the expected Provisioning Server for normally access to the desired network services, see [0129] for new AMF accepts IMS voice over PS session).
Fard teaches UE onboarding and remote provisioning for UE’s subscription to standalone non-public networks (SNPN) which supports audio/video applications, the UE registers the subscription owner (SO-SNPN) using the provisioned subscription credentials and configuration data, and one or more provisioning servers have an agreement with one or more desired SNPNs (SO-SNPNs, i.e., SO-SNPN1-SO-SNPN3) (see FIG. 14 - FIG. 17), thus Fard obviously teaches the provider name. If this is in question, using Qiao as below.
In an analogous art, Qiao discloses a provider name associated with an IMS provider (see Qiao, [0155] – [0156], where Qiao discloses that the NPN supports services provided by one or more Service Providers (SP), which can include MNOs, or 3rd party service provider, i.e., the UE in FIG. 14 registered to the non-public network (NPN) identified by a Non-public network ID (NPN-ID) which supports multiple SP-ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Fard, and have a provider name associated with an IMS provider such the NPNs that can provide the UE with the access to the SP that owns the UE subscription, thereby enhances access and transmission in 5G, as discussed by Qiao (see Qiao, [0028]).
Regarding claims 37 and 38, Fard in view of Qiao disclose obtaining the IMS provider name from one of the following: a first network node, or from a third network node (i.e., AMF from second network, i.e., onboarding non public network NPN), wherein: the first network node is an access and mobility management function (AMF); the second network node is a session management function (SMF); and the third network node is a user data management (UDM) function or a second AMF (see Fard, FIG. 14, [0257] – [0261]).
Regarding claim 39, Fard in view of Qiao disclose wherein the second network node supports a mapping for the IMS provider name to the one or more IMS nodes (see Fard, FIG. 14, [0261] for Provisioning Server Routing Information (e.g. SMF selection subscription data) is pre-configured with mapping information of PNI-NPN ID, and see Qiao, [0155] – [0156], where Qiao discloses that the NPN supports services provided by one or more Service Providers (SP), which can include MNOs, or 3rd party service provider, i.e., the UE in FIG. 14 registered to the non-public network (NPN) identified by a Non-public network ID (NPN-ID) which supports multiple SP-ID). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, in order to enhance access and transmission in 5G, as discussed by Qiao (see Qiao, [0028]).
Regarding claim 46, Fard in view of Qiao disclose wherein the second network node is a session management function (SMF); and the processing circuitry and the communication interface circuitry are further configured to obtain the IMS provider name from one of the following of the wireless communication network: an access and mobility management function (AMF), or a user data management (UDM) function (see Fard, FIG. 14, [0257] – [0261] for new AMF from second network, i.e., onboarding non public network NPN), and see Qiao, [0155] – [0156] for service provider name (i.e., SP1, 2) of the new AMF in NPN). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, in order to enhance access and transmission in 5G, as discussed by Qiao (see Qiao, [0028]).
Conclusion
/MONG-THUY T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645