DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically claims 1 and 13 recite “a pre-existing structure” which is indefinite. It is unclear what the structure pre-exists relative to. In the interest of compact prosecution the above recitation will be interpreted as “a structure.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu (US Pub. No. 2021/0183309).
Regarding claim 1, in FIGs. 3A-3B and 6, Wu discloses an electronic system comprising: - a support (200, paragraph [0030]) having an upper surface (facing 230);- at least one initial electronic device (120, paragraph [0030]) comprising a lower connection terminal (122, paragraph [0016]) and an upper connection terminal (123, paragraph [0016]), said lower and upper connection terminals being located at opposite ends of the initial electronic device; - a lower electrically-conductive element (110/112/114, paragraph [0023]) formed on the upper surface of said support and configured to be electrically connected to the lower connection terminal of said at least one initial electronic device;- an electrically-insulating interlayer (230, paragraph [0030]) having a lower face facing the upper surface of the support, so as to cover all or part of the lower electrically- conductive element, said electrically-insulating interlayer being configured to cooperate with the initial electronic device in a manner ensuring electrical insulation between the lower electrically-conductive element and the upper connection terminal;- at least one upper electrically-conductive element (250, paragraph [0030]) formed on an upper face of the electrically-insulating interlayer, on the side opposite to the lower electrically-conductive element with respect to the electrically-insulating interlayer, said at least one upper electrically-conductive element being configured to be connected to the upper connection terminal of said at least one initial electronic device;- a pre-existing structure (274, paragraph [0030]) providing access to the lower electrically-conductive element from the upper face of the electrically-insulating interlayer (112 and 114 can be the same electrically-conductive element, paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 2, in FIGs. 3A-3B and 6, Wu discloses that the pre-existing structure comprises a transverse conduit passing transversely through the electrically-insulating interlayer, and defining a passage through the electrically-insulating interlayer between the lower electrically-conductive element and an upper orifice opening out onto the upper face of the electrically-insulating interlayer.
Regarding claim 3, in FIGs. 3A-3B and 6, Wu discloses that an interposer connector (274) arranged inside a volume delimited by the transverse conduit, said interposer connector being in electrical connection with the lower electrically- conductive element, and opening out through the upper orifice of the transverse conduit.
Regarding claim 4, in FIGs. 3A-3B and 6, Wu discloses that at least one portion of the upper face of the electrically-insulating interlayer and at least one portion of the at least one upper electrically-conductive element define a docking location configured to receive an auxiliary electronic device (140) which is able to operatively substitute for the initial electronic device.
Regarding claim 6, in FIGs. 3A-3B and 6, Wu discloses that the auxiliary electronic device comprises a primary connection terminal (143) configured to be electrically connected to the lower electrically-conductive element, and a secondary connection terminal (142) configured to be electrically connected to the upper electrically-conductive element, said primary connection terminal and secondary connection terminal being arranged on a connection face of the auxiliary electronic device arranged opposite the upper face of the electrically- insulating interlayer.
Regarding claim 7, in FIGs. 3A-3B and 6, Wu discloses that the auxiliary electronic device defines a volume strictly larger than a volume defined by the at least one initial electronic device (see FIGs. 3A-3B).
Regarding claim 8, in FIGs. 3A-3B and 6, Wu discloses an auxiliary electronic device (140, paragraph [0030]), said auxiliary electronic device comprising a primary connection terminal (143, paragraph [0028]), and being configured to be able to be inserted into the transverse conduit in a manner ensuring an electrical connection between the primary connection terminal, and the lower electrically-conductive element.
Regarding claim 9, in FIGs. 3A-5B and 6, Wu discloses - a first initial electronic device (320A) comprising a first upper connection terminal (123) and a first lower connection terminal (122), and - a second initial electronic device (320B) distinct from the first initial electronic device, and comprising a second upper connection terminal (123) and a second lower connection terminal (122); said first and second lower connection terminals being electrically connected to each other via the lower electrically-conductive element.
Regarding claim 11, in FIGs. 3A-3B and 6, Wu discloses that the initial electronic device is an optoelectronic device comprising a light-emitting element (paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 12, in FIGs. 3A-3B and 6, Wu discloses that each lower electrically-conductive element comprises several electrically-conductive tracks extending substantially parallel to each other, wherein each upper electrically-conductive element comprises several electrically-conductive tracks extending substantially parallel to each other, and wherein the electrically-conductive tracks of the lower electrically-conductive element extend substantially perpendicular to the electrically-conductive tracks of the upper electrically-conductive element (device shown in FIGs. 3A-3B are a portion of an array of LEDs and associated wiring).
Regarding claim 13, in FIGs. 3A-4F and 6, Wu discloses a method for manufacturing an electronic system comprising the following steps:- a step of providing an electronic system comprising a support (200) having an initial surface (facing 120), at least one initial electronic device (120), and an electrically-insulating interlayer (230), said initial electronic device comprising a lower connection terminal (122) and an upper connection terminal (123), said lower and upper connection terminals being located at opposite ends of the initial electronic device, said electrically-insulating interlayer having a lower face directed towards the initial surface of the support, so as to cover all or part of a lower electrically-conductive element which is in electrical connection with the lower connection terminal of the initial electronic device; - a step of depositing at least one upper electrically-conductive element (270) over an upper face of the electrically-insulating interlayer, on the side opposite to the lower electrically-conductive element with respect to the electrically-insulating interlayer, in a manner ensuring an electrical connection between the upper connection terminal of said at least one initial electronic device and said upper electrically- conductive element; - a step of forming a pre-existing structure (274) providing access to the lower electrically-conductive element from the upper face of the electrically-insulating interlayer.
Regarding claim 14, in FIGs. 3A-4F and 6, Wu discloses that the step of forming a pre-existing structure comprises a step of forming a transverse conduit, formed in the electrically-insulating interlayer, so as to define a passage through the electrically-insulating interlayer between the lower electrically-conductive element and an upper orifice opening out onto the upper face of the electrically-insulating interlayer.
Regarding claim 15, in FIGs. 3A-4F and 6, Wu discloses that a step of controlling the initial electronic device implemented after step of forming the transverse conduit, in which the initial electronic device is supplied with electrical energy so as to determine whether said initial electronic device is defective (paragraph [0020]).
Regarding claim 16, in FIGs. 3A-4F and 6, Wu discloses a repair phase comprising the steps of:- a step of providing an auxiliary electronic device (140) able to be functionally substituted for the initial electronic device; - a step of placing said auxiliary electronic device on a docking location, said docking location covering at least one portion of the upper electrically-conductive element, and at least one portion of the upper face of the electrically-insulating interlayer, said step of placing the auxiliary electronic device being implemented in a manner ensuring an electrical contact between a primary connection terminal (143) of the auxiliary electronic device and the upper electrically-conductive element; - a connection step, in which a primary connection terminal of the auxiliary electronic device is electrically connected with the lower electrically- conductive element via an interposer connector (274) which is able to pass through a volume delimited by the transverse conduit.
Regarding claim 17, in FIGs. 3A-4F and 6, Wu discloses the auxiliary electronic device comprises the interposer connector in electrical connection with the primary connection terminal of the auxiliary electronic device in a manner enabling the implementation of the connection step.
Regarding claim 18, in FIGs. 3A-4F and 6, Wu discloses a step of depositing the interposer connector, in which a conductive material is deposited in the transverse conduit so as to create a connection between said interposer connector and the lower electrically-conductive element, and so that the interposer connector opens out through the upper orifice of the transverse conduit.
Regarding claim 19, in FIGs. 3A-4F and 6, Wu discloses the auxiliary electronic device comprises a primary connection terminal (143) and a secondary connection terminal (142), said primary connection terminal and secondary connection terminal being arranged on the same connection face of the auxiliary electronic device, the connection step being implemented by electrically connecting the secondary connection terminal with the upper electrically- conductive element, and by electrically connecting the primary connection terminal to the interposer connector opening out through the upper orifice of the transverse conduit.
Regarding claim 21, in FIGs. 3A-4F and 6, Wu discloses a disconnection step, in which the electrical connection between the upper connection terminal of the initial electronic device and the upper electrically-conductive element is broken, in particular by laser etching (paragraph [0035]).
Regarding claim 22, in FIGs. 3A-4F and 6, Wu discloses the step of providing the electronic system comprises the following steps:- a step of providing the support having the upper surface;- a step of depositing the lower electrically-conductive element over the upper surface of the support; - a step of placing the initial electronic device over the upper surface in a manner ensuring an electrical connection between the lower connection terminal of the initial electronic device and the element lower electrically-conductive; - a step of depositing the electrically-insulating interlayer over all or part of the upper surface of the support so as to cover the initial electronic device and the lower electrically-conductive element; - a step of selectively etching the electrically-insulating interlayer in which the electrically-insulating interlayer is etched so as to form an access to the upper connection terminal of the device initial electronics.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US Pub. No. 2021/0183309).
Regarding claim 23, Wu appears not to explicitly disclose a protection step comprising depositing a protective insulating layer over the auxiliary electronic device.
However, it was notoriously well known to place a transparent cover (e.g. glass) over the completed display structure to protect the display structure.
To protect the display structure it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide a protection step comprising depositing a protective insulating layer (e.g. glass) over the auxiliary electronic device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 10, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims; and rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art failed to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed electronic system particularly characterized by the auxiliary electronic device comprising the interposer connector.
Regarding claim 10, in FIGs. 3A-5B and 6, Wu discloses - a first upper electrically-conductive element (354) in electrical connection with the first upper connection terminal; and - a second upper electrically-conductive element (352), distinct from the first upper electrically-conductive element, in electrical connection with the second upper connection terminal.
However, the prior art failed to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed electronic system particularly characterized by the pre-existing structure opening out onto the upper face of the electrically-insulating interlayer in an area located between the first upper electrically-conductive element and the second upper electrically-conductive element.
Regarding claim 20, the prior art failed to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed method for manufacturing an electronic system particularly characterized by a step of depositing a conductive transparent electrode implemented before step of depositing at least one upper electrically-conductive element, wherein a conductive transparent electrode is deposited at the level of the upper connection terminal of the initial electronic device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
In FIG. 9, US Pub. No. 2014/0367705 discloses an electronic system comprising: - a support (120) having an upper surface (facing 400);- at least one initial electronic device (400) comprising a lower connection terminal (contacting 142) and an upper connection terminal (contacting 318), said lower and upper connection terminals being located at opposite ends of the initial electronic device; - a lower electrically-conductive element (142) formed on the upper surface of said support and configured to be electrically connected to the lower connection terminal of said at least one initial electronic device;- an electrically-insulating interlayer (210/126) having a lower face facing the upper surface of the support, so as to cover all or part of the lower electrically- conductive element, said electrically-insulating interlayer being configured to cooperate with the initial electronic device in a manner ensuring electrical insulation between the lower electrically-conductive element and the upper connection terminal;- at least one upper electrically-conductive element (318) formed on an upper face of the electrically-insulating interlayer, on the side opposite to the lower electrically-conductive element with respect to the electrically-insulating interlayer, said at least one upper electrically-conductive element being configured to be connected to the upper connection terminal of said at least one initial electronic device;- a pre-existing structure (gap in 210/126 containing the protruding portion of 142) providing access to the lower electrically-conductive element from the upper face of the electrically-insulating interlayer.
/TUCKER J WRIGHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891