DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/11/2023, 07/28/2025, and 04/06/2026, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, and Claims 11-29 in the reply filed on 05/13/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 30 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/13/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 23 and 27 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 23 recites “ wherein the first electrode part has a trapezoidal shape where a width of a lower surface is greater than a width of an upper surface,
wherein the second electrode part has a trapezoidal shape where a width of a lower surface is smaller than a width of an upper surface, and
wherein the third electrode part has a rectangular shape where a width of a lower surface and a width of an upper surface are the same.”
The claim should be written as follows:
“ wherein the first electrode part has a trapezoidal cross-sectional shape where a width of a lower surface is greater than a width of an upper surface,
wherein the second electrode part has a trapezoidal cross-sectional shape where a width of a lower surface is smaller than a width of an upper surface, and
wherein the third electrode part has a rectangular cross-sectional shape where a width of a lower surface and a width of an upper surface are the same.”
Claim 27 recites elements “a 1-1 region”, “a 1-2 region”, “2-1 region”, and “2-2 region”, which should to be written as “first-first region”, “first-second region”, “second-first region”, and “second-second region” respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 27 recites “wherein the first insulating part includes:
a 1-1 region adjacent to the lower surface of the insulating layer and a 1-2 region adjacent to the upper surface of the insulating layer,
wherein the second insulating part includes:
a 2-1 region adjacent to the lower surface of the insulating layer and a 2-2 region adjacent to the upper surface of the insulating layer”.
wherein the second region of the insulating layer corresponds to the 2-1 region of the second insulating part.”
The above limitations are unclear because the specification describes the first-first region and the first-second region as being adjacent to the lower and upper surfaces respectively, of the first insulating part, and the second-first region and second-second region as being adjacent to the lower and upper surfaces respectively, of the second insulating part. The specification further describes the second region of the insulating layer as corresponding to the second-second region, whereas the claim 27 recites the second region corresponds to 2-1 region.
The Examiner interprets these limitations as follows:
“wherein the first insulating part includes:
a 1-1 region adjacent to the lower surface of the first insulating part and a 1-2 region adjacent to the upper surface of the first insulating part,
wherein the second insulating part includes:
a 2-1 region adjacent to the lower surface of the second insulating part and a 2-2 region adjacent to the upper surface of the second insulating part,
wherein the second region of the insulating layer corresponds to the 2-2 region of the second insulating part.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 – 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noda (JP2014127587A; hereinafter Noda).
Noda: FIG. 3
Regarding Claim 11, Noda discloses a circuit board (wiring board 10, FIG. 1, [0015]) comprising:
an insulating layer (substrate 100) including an upper surface (F11) and a lower surface (F12), FIG. 3 reproduced above, [0015]; and
a through electrode (through hole conductor 100d) passing through the upper and lower surfaces (F11 and F12) of the insulating layer (100), FIG. 3, [0035].
Noda [0035] discloses a through hole 100c is formed in the substrate 100, and a conductor (for example, copper plating) is filled in the through hole 100c to form a through hole conductor 100d (for example, a filled conductor) which includes a constricted portion 100e, a first end 100f, and a second end 100g. The shape of the constricted portion 100e is a cylindrical shape with a constant diameter, and the shape of the first end 100f is a tapered cylinder tapered such that the diameter decreases from the surface F11 toward the constricted portion 100e. The shape of the second end portion 100g is a tapered cylinder tapered so as to be reduced in diameter from the surface F12 toward the constricted portion 100e.
wherein the through electrode (100d) includes:
a first electrode part (100g) disposed adjacent to the lower surface (F12) of the insulating layer (100) and having a first inclination (tapering of 100g) such that a width decreases toward the upper surface (F11) of the insulating layer (100), FIG. 3, [0035].
Noda FIG. 3, [0035] discloses the shape of the second end portion 100g is a tapered cylinder tapered so as to be reduced in diameter from the surface F12 towards the constricted portion 100e. Therefore, the first electrode part 100g has an inclination such that a width decreases towards the upper surface F11 of insulating layer 100.
a second electrode part (100f) disposed on the first electrode part (100g) and having a second inclination (tapering of 100f) such that a width increases toward the upper surface (F11) of the insulating layer (100), FIG. 3, [0035]; and
Noda FIG. 3, [0035] discloses the shape of the first end 100f is a tapered cylinder tapered such that the diameter decreases from the surface F11 toward the constricted portion 100e. Therefore, the second electrode 100f has an inclination such that a width increases towards the upper surface F11 of insulating layer 100.
a third electrode part (100e) disposed between the first electrode part (100g) and the second electrode part (100f) and having a third inclination (non-tapering 100e with constant diameter) different from the first and second inclinations (tapering), FIG. 3, [0044].
Noda [0044] discloses the through hole 100c has, between the first opening and the second opening, a third opening with a constant diameter that allows the first opening and the second opening to communicate with each other. Then, by filling the conductor in each of the first opening, the second opening, and the third opening, the first end 100f whose diameter decreases with distance from the surface F11, and with distance from the surface F12. A through hole conductor 100d is formed which has a second end 100g whose diameter is reduced and a constricted portion 100e whose diameter is constant (cylindrical).
wherein a width of a portion of the first electrode part (100g) closest to the third electrode part (100e) is less than or equal to a width of the third electrode part (equal to width of 100e), FIG. 3, [0044].
Noda [0044] discloses the constricted portion 100e is a cylindrical shape with a constant diameter, and the shape of the first end 100f is a tapered cylinder tapered such that the diameter decreases from the surface F11 toward the constricted portion 100e. The shape of the second end portion 100g is a tapered cylinder tapered so as to be reduced in diameter from the surface F12 toward the constricted portion 100e. Therefore, the width of the first electrode part 100g closest to 100e is equal to the width of the third electrode part 100e.
wherein a width of a portion of the second electrode part (100f) closest to the third electrode part (100e) is smaller than or equal to a width of the third electrode part (equal to width of 100e), FIG. 3, [0044].
Noda [0044] discloses the constricted portion 100e is a cylindrical shape with a constant diameter, and the shape of the first end 100f is a tapered cylinder tapered such that the diameter decreases from the surface F11 toward the constricted portion 100e. The shape of the second end portion 100g is a tapered cylinder tapered so as to be reduced in diameter from the surface F12 toward the constricted portion 100e. Therefore, the width of the second electrode part 100f closest to 100e is equal to the width of the third electrode part 100e.
Regarding Claim 12, Noda discloses the circuit board of claim 11, further comprising:
a first pad (Land P21) disposed on the lower surface (F12) of the insulating layer (100) and connected to the first electrode part (100g), FIG. 3, [0027], [0041]; and
Noda discloses the conductor layer 100b formed on the surface F12 has a land P21 of through hole conductor 100d and a wiring P22 connected to land P21.
a second pad (Land P11) disposed on the upper surface (F11) of the insulating layer (100) and connected to the second electrode part (100f), FIG. 3, [0025], [0041].
Noda discloses the conductor layer 100a formed on the surface F11 has a land P11 of through hole conductor 100d and a wiring P12 connected to land P11.
Regarding Claim 13, Noda discloses the circuit board of claim 12,
wherein a width of a portion of the first electrode part (100g) closest to the first pad (P21) is smaller than a width of the first pad (P21), FIG. 3, [0027].
Noda discloses the conductor layer 100b formed on the surface F12 has a land P21 of through hole conductor 100d and a wiring P22 connected to land P21. As shown in FIG. 3, the land pad P21 extends laterally beyond the width of the electrode portion 100g closest to the land pad P21. Therefore, the width of a portion of the first electrode part closest to the first pad is smaller than a width of the first pad P21.
wherein a width of a portion of the second electrode part (100f) closest to the second pad (P11) is smaller than a width of the second pad, FIG. 3, [0025].
Noda [0025] discloses conductor layer 100a has a land pad P11 and a wiring P12 connected to land P11. As shown in FIG. 3, the land pad P11 extends laterally beyond the width of the electrode portion 100f closest to the land pad P11. Therefore, the width of a portion of the first electrode part closest to the second pad is smaller than a width of the second pad P11.
Regarding Claim 14, Noda discloses the circuit board of claim 11,
wherein a width of an upper surface of the third electrode part (surface of 100e adjacent to 100f) satisfies a range of 95% to 105% of a width of a lower surface of the third electrode part (surface of 100e adjacent to 100g), FIG. 3, [0035].
Noda [0035] discloses the constricted portion 100e is a cylindrical shape with a constant diameter. Therefore, the width of the upper surface of the third electrode part is 100% of a width of the lower surface of the third electrode part.
Regarding Claim 15, Noda discloses the circuit board of claim 11,
wherein the third inclination (non-tapering 100e with constant diameter) is perpendicular to the upper surface (F11) or the lower surface (F12) of the insulating layer (100), FIG. 3, [0011], [0035].
Noda [0011] discloses the arrows Z1 and Z2 indicate the laminating direction (or the thickness direction) of the wiring board corresponding to the normal direction of the main surface (XY plane) of the wiring board. Noda FIG.3, [0035] discloses the constricted portion 100e (cylindrical shaped with constant diameter) of the through hole conductor 100d extends in the Z direction. Therefore, the third inclination is perpendicular to the upper and lower surfaces of the insulating layer.
Regarding Claim 16, Noda discloses the circuit board of claim 11,
wherein the first electrode part (100g) and the second electrode part (100f) have a mutually symmetrical shape with respect to the third electrode part (100e), FIG. 3, [0035], [0040].
Noda [0035] discloses the through-hole conductor 100d has an hourglass shape including a constricted portion 100e, a first end 100f, and a second end 100g. The shape of the constricted portion 100e is a cylindrical shape with a constant diameter, and the shape of the first end 100f is a tapered cylinder tapered such that the diameter decreases from the surface F11 toward the constricted portion 100e. The shape of the second end portion 100g is a tapered cylinder tapered so as to be reduced in diameter from the surface F12 toward the constricted portion 100e.
Nose [0040] discloses the diameters D101 of the openings at both ends of the through hole 100c are, for example, 80 μm. The diameter D102 of the constricted portion 100e of the through hole 100c is, for example, 50 μm. Therefore, the first electrode part (100g) and the second electrode part (100f) have a mutually symmetrical shape with respect to the third electrode part (100e).
Regarding Claim 17, Noda discloses the circuit board of claim 11,
wherein the first inclination (tapering of 100g) and the second inclination (tapering of 100f) are inclined in different directions, FIG. 3, [0035], [0044].
Noda [0035] discloses the shape of the first end 100f is a tapered cylinder tapered such that the diameter decreases from the surface F11 toward the constricted portion 100e. The shape of the second end portion 100g is a tapered cylinder tapered so as to be reduced in diameter from the surface F12 toward the constricted portion 100e. Noda [0044] discloses the first opening in which the through hole 100c tapers from the surface F11 to the surface F12 and the second opening that tapers from the surface F12 to the surface F11. Therefore, the first inclination (tapering of 100g) and the second inclination (tapering of 100f) are inclined in opposite directions.
Regarding Claim 18, Noda discloses the circuit board of claim 11,
wherein a thickness of the insulating layer (100) is 300 μm or more, FIG. 3, [0038], [0045].
Noda [0045] discloses:
Thickness of the substrate 100 (insulating layer) = Thickness D11 + Thickness D12 + Thickness D20 + Thickness D21 + Thickness D22.
Noda [0038] discloses:
Thickness D11 = Thickness D12 = 5 to 30 μm;
Thickness D21 = Thickness D22 = 40 to 100 μm;
Thickness D20 = 10 to 40 μm
Hence, the thickness of the insulating layer = 300 μm which falls in the range of 300 μm or more.
Regarding Claim 19, Noda discloses the circuit board of claim 11,
wherein the insulating layer (100) includes:
a first insulating part (resin layer 1012) on which the first electrode part (100g) is disposed, FIG. 3, [0030], [0035];
a second insulating part (resin layer 1011) on which the second electrode part (100f) is disposed, FIG. 3, [0030], [0035]; and
a third insulating part (resin layer 1020) on which the third electrode part (100e) is disposed, FIG. 3, [0029], [0035].
Regarding Claim 20, Noda discloses the circuit board of claim 19,
wherein the first to third insulating parts (1012, 1011, 1020) include a same insulating material (epoxy resin), [0031], [0033].
Regarding Claim 21, Noda discloses the circuit board of claim 20,
wherein the insulating material includes prepreg (insulating parts 1011, 1022, and 1020 may be made of prepreg, [0050], [0051]).
Regarding Claim 22, Noda discloses the circuit board of claim 19.
Noda discloses: wherein a thickness of each of the first insulating part (1012) and the second insulating part (1011) has a range of 35% to 65% of a thickness of the third insulating part (1020), [0038].
Noda [0038] discloses:
Thickness of first insulating part 1012 = Thickness D12 = 5 to 30 μm;
Thickness of second insulating part 1011 = Thickness D11 = 5 to 30 μm;
Thickness of third insulating part 1020 = Thickness D20 = 10 to 40 μm
Therefore, the thickness of each of the first (D12) and second insulating part (D11) is 50% the thickness of the third insulating part (D20), which falls in the range of 35% to 65%.
Regarding Claim 23, Noda discloses the circuit board of claim 11,
wherein the first electrode part (100g) has a trapezoidal shape where a width of a lower surface (F12) is greater than a width of an upper surface (surface adjacent to 100e), FIG. 3, [0035].
Noda [0035] discloses the shape of the portion 100g is a tapered cylinder tapered so as to be reduced in diameter from the surface F12 toward the constricted portion 100e, indicating the first electrode part has a trapezoidal shape in the cross sectional view.
wherein the second electrode part (100f) has a trapezoidal shape where a width of a lower surface (surface adjacent to 100e) is smaller than a width of an upper surface (F11), FIG. 3, [0035].
Noda [0035] discloses the shape of the portion 100f is a tapered cylinder tapered such that the diameter decreases from the surface F11 toward the constricted portion 100e, indicating the second electrode part has a trapezoidal shape in the cross sectional view.
wherein the third electrode part (100e) has a rectangular shape where a width of a lower surface (surface adjacent to 100g) and a width of an upper surface (surface adjacent to 100f) are the same, FIG. 3, [0035].
Noda [0035] discloses the shape of the portion 100e is a cylindrical shape with a constant diameter, indicating the third electrode part has a rectangular shape in the cross-sectional view.
Regarding Claim 24, Noda discloses a circuit board (wiring board 10, FIG. 1, [0015]) comprising:
an insulating layer (100) including an upper (F11) and lower surface (F12); and
a through electrode (through hole conductor 100d) that passes through the upper (F11) and lower surfaces (F12) of the insulating layer (100), FIG. 3, [0035].
Noda [0035] discloses a through hole 100c is formed in the substrate 100, and a conductor (for example, copper plating) is filled in the through hole 100c to form a through hole conductor 100d (for example, a filled conductor) which includes a constricted portion 100e, a first end 100f, and a second end 100g. The shape of the constricted portion 100e is a cylindrical shape with a constant diameter, and the shape of the first end 100f is a tapered cylinder tapered such that the diameter decreases from the surface F11 toward the constricted portion 100e. The shape of the second end portion 100g is a tapered cylinder tapered so as to be reduced in diameter from the surface F12 toward the constricted portion 100e.
wherein the through electrode (100d) comprises:
a first electrode part (100g) disposed adjacent to the lower surface (F12) of the insulating layer (100) and having a first inclination (tapering of 100g) such that a width gradually decreases toward the upper surface (F11) of the insulating layer (100), FIG. 3, [0035];
Noda FIG. 3, [0035] discloses the shape of the second end portion 100g is a tapered cylinder tapered so as to be reduced in diameter from the surface F12 towards the constricted portion 100e. Therefore, the first electrode part 100g has an inclination such that a width decreases towards the upper surface F11 of insulating layer 100.
a second electrode part (100f) disposed on the first electrode part (100g) and having a second inclination (tapering of 100f) such that a width gradually increases toward the upper surface (F11) of the insulating layer (100), FIG. 3, [0035].
Noda FIG. 3, [0035] discloses the shape of the first end 100f is a tapered cylinder tapered such that the diameter decreases from the surface F11 toward the constricted portion 100e. Therefore, the second electrode 100f has an inclination such that a width increases towards the upper surface F11 of insulating layer 100.
a third electrode part (100e) disposed between the first electrode part (100g) and the second electrode part (100f) and having a third inclination (constant diameter of 100e) different from the first and second inclinations (tapering), FIG. 3, [0044].
Noda [0044] discloses the through hole 100c has, between the first opening and the second opening, a third opening with a constant diameter that allows the first opening and the second opening to communicate with each other. Then, by filling the conductor in each of the first opening, the second opening, and the third opening, the first end 100f whose diameter decreases with distance from the surface F11, and with distance from the surface F12. A through hole conductor 100d is formed which has a second end 100g whose diameter is reduced and a constricted portion 100e whose diameter is constant (cylindrical). Therefore, the third inclination (constant diameter of 100e) is different from the first inclination (tapering of 100g) and second inclination (tapering of 100f).
wherein the width of the third electrode part (100e) is equal to a width of a region with a smallest width among the first (width of 100g adjacent to 100e) and second electrode parts (width of 100f adjacent to 100e), FIG. 3, [0044].
Noda [0044] discloses the constricted portion 100e is a cylindrical shape with a constant diameter, and the shape of the first end 100f is a tapered cylinder tapered such that the diameter decreases from the surface F11 toward the constricted portion 100e. The shape of the second end portion 100g is a tapered cylinder tapered so as to be reduced in diameter from the surface F12 toward the constricted portion 100e. Therefore, the width of the third electrode part 100e is equal to the width of the smallest width of first and second electrode parts.
Regarding Claim 25, Noda discloses the circuit board of claim 24,
wherein a width of an upper surface (surface adjacent to 100f) of the third electrode part (100e) is same as a width of a lower surface (surface adjacent to 100g) of the third electrode part (100e), FIG. 3, [0035].
Nora [0035] discloses the shape of the constricted portion 100e is a cylindrical shape with a constant diameter. Therefore, the width of an upper surface of 100e is same as the width of the lower surface of 100e.
wherein the width of the lower surface (surface adjacent to 100g) of the third electrode part (100e) is equal to a width of a region with a smallest width in the first electrode part (100g), FIG. 3, [0035], [0044].
Noda [0044] discloses the through hole 100c has, between the first opening and the second opening, a third opening with a constant diameter that allows the first opening and the second opening to communicate with each other. A through hole conductor 100d is formed which has a second end 100g whose diameter is reduced and a constricted portion 100e whose diameter is constant (cylindrical). Therefore, the width of the lower surface of 100e is equal to the smallest width of 100g.
wherein the width of the upper surface (surface adjacent to 100f) of the third electrode part (100e) is equal to a width of a region with a smallest width in the second electrode part (100f), FIG. 3, [0035], [0044].
Noda [0044] discloses the through hole 100c has, between the first opening and the second opening, a third opening with a constant diameter that allows the first opening and the second opening to communicate with each other. A through hole conductor 100d is formed which has a first end 100f whose diameter decreases with distance from the surface F11 and a constricted portion 100e whose diameter is constant. Therefore, the width of the upper surface of 100e is equal to the smallest width of 100f.
Regarding Claim 26, Noda discloses the circuit board of claim 24,
wherein the insulating layer (100) includes:
a first region (region 1012) where the first electrode part (100g) is disposed, FIG. 3, [0030], [0035];
a second region (region 1011) where the second electrode part (100f) is disposed, FIG. 3, [0030], [0035]; and
a third region (region including upper portion of 1012, 1022, 1020, 1021 and lower portion of 1011) where the third electrode part (100e is disposed in 1022, 1020, 1021) is disposed, FIG. 3, [0029], [0035]; and
wherein a density of glass fibers in the third region (region including upper portion of 1012, 1022, 1020, 1021 and lower portion of 1011) is greater than a density of glass fibers in each of the first and second regions (regions 1012 and 1011), [0029], [0030].
Noda [0029], [0030] discloses layers 1021 and 1022 are glass layers and 1012 and 1011 are resin layers.
The third region includes glass layers 1021 and 1022 and the first and second regions are resin layers 1012 and 1011 respectively. Therefore, the third region would have higher density of glass fibers due to the presence of glass layers within the third region, than the first and second regions.
Regarding Claim 27, Noda discloses the circuit board of claim 26,
wherein the insulating layer (100) includes:
a first insulating part (1012) and a second insulating part (1011) disposed on the first insulating part (1012), FIG. 3, [0030].
wherein the first insulating part (1012) includes:
a 1-1 region adjacent to the lower surface of the first insulating part (lower portion of 1012) and a 1-2 region adjacent to the upper surface of the first insulating part (upper portion of 1012), FIG. 3, [0029], [0030].
wherein the second insulating part (1011) includes:
a 2-1 region adjacent to the lower surface of the second insulating part (lower portion of 1011) and a 2-2 region adjacent to the upper surface of the second insulating part (upper surface of 1011), FIG. 3, [0030].
wherein the first region (1012) of the insulating layer (100) corresponds to the 1-1 region of the first insulating part (lower portion of 1012), FIG. 3, [0035].
wherein the second region (1011) of the insulating layer (100) corresponds to the 2-2 region of the second insulating part (upper portion of 1011), FIG. 3, [0035].
wherein the third region (region including upper portion of 1012, 1022, 1020, 1021 and lower portion of 1011) of the insulating layer (100) corresponds to the 1-2 region (upper portion of 1012) of the first insulating part and the 2-1 region of the second insulating part (lower portion of 1011), FIG. 3, [0035].
Regarding Claim 28, Noda discloses the circuit board of claim 24, further comprising:
a first pad (Land P21) disposed on the lower surface (F12) of the insulating layer (100) and connected to the first electrode part (100g), FIG. 3, [0027], [0041]; and
Noda discloses the conductor layer 100b formed on the surface F12 has a land P21 of through hole conductor 100d and a wiring P22 connected to land P21.
a second pad (Land P11) disposed on the upper surface (F11) of the insulating layer (100) and connected to the second electrode part (100f), FIG. 3, [0025], [0041].
Noda discloses the conductor layer 100a formed on the surface F11 has a land P11 of through hole conductor 100d and a wiring P12 connected to land P11.
wherein a width of a portion of the first electrode part (100g) closest to the first pad (P21) is smaller than a width of the first pad (P21), FIG. 3, [0027].
Noda discloses the conductor layer 100b formed on the surface F12 has a land P21 of through hole conductor 100d and a wiring P22 connected to land P21. As shown in FIG. 3, the land pad P21 extends laterally beyond the width of the electrode portion 100g closest to the land pad P21. Therefore, the width of a portion of the first electrode part closest to the first pad is smaller than a width of the first pad P21.
wherein a width of a portion of the second electrode part (100f) closest to the second pad (P11) is smaller than a width of the second pad, FIG. 3, [0025].
Noda [0025] discloses conductor layer 100a has a land pad P11 and a wiring P12 connected to land P11. As shown in FIG. 3, the land pad P11 extends laterally beyond the width of the electrode portion 100f closest to the land pad P11. Therefore, the width of a portion of the first electrode part closest to the second pad is smaller than a width of the second pad P11.
Regarding Claim 29, Noda discloses the circuit board of claim 24,
wherein a width of an upper surface of the third electrode part (surface of 100e adjacent to 100f) satisfies a range of 95% to 105% of a width of a lower surface of the third electrode part (surface of 100e adjacent to 100g), FIG. 3, [0035].
Noda [0035] discloses the constricted portion 100e is a cylindrical shape with a constant diameter. Therefore, the width of the upper surface of the third electrode part is 100% of a width of the lower surface of the third electrode part.
wherein the third inclination (non-tapering 100e with constant diameter) is perpendicular to the upper surface (F11) or the lower surface (F12) of the insulating layer (100), FIG. 3, [0011], [0035].
Noda [0011] discloses the arrows Z1 and Z2 indicate the laminating direction (or the thickness direction) of the wiring board corresponding to the normal direction of the main surface (XY plane) of the wiring board. Noda FIG.3, [0035] discloses the constricted portion 100e (cylindrical shaped with constant diameter) of the through hole conductor 100d extends in the Z direction. Therefore, the third inclination is perpendicular to the upper and lower surfaces of the insulating layer.
wherein the first electrode part (100g) and the second electrode part (100f) have a mutually symmetrical shape with respect to the third electrode part (100e), FIG. 3, [0035], [0040].
Noda [0035] discloses the through-hole conductor 100d has an hourglass shape including a constricted portion 100e, a first end 100f, and a second end 100g. The shape of the constricted portion 100e is a cylindrical shape with a constant diameter, and the shape of the first end 100f is a tapered cylinder tapered such that the diameter decreases from the surface F11 toward the constricted portion 100e. The shape of the second end portion 100g is a tapered cylinder tapered so as to be reduced in diameter from the surface F12 toward the constricted portion 100e.
Nose [0040] discloses the diameters D101 of the openings at both ends of the through hole 100c are, for example, 80 μm. The diameter D102 of the constricted portion 100e of the through hole 100c is, for example, 50 μm. Therefore, the first electrode part (100g) and the second electrode part (100f) have a mutually symmetrical shape with respect to the third electrode part (100e).
wherein the first inclination (tapering of 100g) and the second inclination (tapering of 100f) are inclined in different directions, FIG. 3, [0035], [0044].
Noda [0035] discloses the shape of the first end 100f is a tapered cylinder tapered such that the diameter decreases from the surface F11 toward the constricted portion 100e. The shape of the second end portion 100g is a tapered cylinder tapered so as to be reduced in diameter from the surface F12 toward the constricted portion 100e. Noda [0044] discloses the first opening in which the through hole 100c tapers from the surface F11 to the surface F12 and the second opening that tapers from the surface F12 to the surface F11. Therefore, the first inclination (tapering of 100g) and the second inclination (tapering of 100f) are inclined in opposite directions.
Conclusion
/Krishna J. Palaniswamy/
Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/Brent A. Fairbanks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899