DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, drawn to a composite, in the reply filed on 11/21/2025 is acknowledged. The examiner notes that claims 16, 17, and 20, are drawn to a method and should have been grouped with the non-elected invention of Group II. The examiner notes that placing a claim in the wrong group will not affect the propriety of a final requirement where the requirement is otherwise proper and the correct disposition erroneously grouped claim is clear (see MPEP 814).
Claims 16, 17, 20, , and 23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/21/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 10-14, 21, 22, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2007/024837A (herein referred to as “Mitsui”).
With regards to claim 1, Mitsui teaches a composite film having a thickness 30-500um (page 18, lines 23+) for printed circuit boards comprising a fiber layer impregnated with a fluoropolymer comprising tetrafluoroethylene (abstract; page 8, lines 21+) .Mitsui teaches the PTFE may comprise up to 10 mol.% of another fluorinated monomer selected from perfluoro(oxy)alkylvinylether (page 10, lines 24+). Mitsui further teaches the PTFE may comprise up to 10 mol.% of another fluorinated monomer selected from perfluoro(oxy)alkylvinylether (page 10, lines 24+). Additionally, Mitsui teaches the fiber fabric may comprise glass fibers (page 8, lines 8+).
With regards to claim 8, Mitsui teaches the fabric may comprise a woven fabric (page 8, lines 8+).
With regards to claims 10-14, Mitsui teaches the composite film preferably has a dielectric constant Dk at 20 GHz of less than 3.0,( page 4, lines 10+; page 19, lines 14+). While the test method utilized in Mitsui is different from that set forth in the claims, the examiner takes the position that the composite disclosed in Mitsui, given the dielectric constant teaching and compositional similarity with the claimed invention, will inherently meet the dielectric constant properties set forth in claims 11-14.
With regards to claim 21, Mitsui teaches the article comprising at least one composite film may further comprise a metal layer adhered onto at least one surface of the composite film (see examples).
With regards to claim 22, Mitsui teaches the component may be used for circuit boards, which is understood to read on the claimed ”mobile electronic device.”
With regards to claim 24, the examiner take the position that the claimed limitation “wherein the composite film is formed from a polymer powder comprising the polymer and wherein the polymer powder has a size D50 between 0.1 and 100um” is a product by process limitation. The courts have held that a product by produces claim does not distinguish a claimed product from a product taught in the prior art unless it can be shown that the claimed process inherently results in a materially different product No such showing has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2007/024837A (herein referred to as “Mitsui”), as applied to claims above, and further in view of applicant’s admissions.
Mitsui is relied upon as above, but does not teach the glass fiber compositions of claims 6 and 7. However, applicant admits (0045) that glass fiber fabrics with the properties detailed in the preceding paragraphs (which include the compositional and property limitations of claims 6 and 7) are commercially available from CTG Taishan Fiberglass. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize glass fiber sheets meeting the compositional limitations of claims 6 and the properties set forth in claim 7 as applicant admits said sheets are commercially available from CTG Taishan Fiberglass.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2007/024837A (herein referred to as “Mitsui”), as applied to claims above, and further in view of von Gentzkow et al (US 5,760,146).
Mitsui is relied upon as above, but does not teach the fiber fabric (F) has an average area weight comprised between 10 and 100 g/m². However, teaches von Gentzkow glass fiber fabrics are predominantly used for the manufacture of prepregs for circuit board technology. In particular prepregs made of glass fiber fabric types with a surface density of 25 to 200 g/m.sup.2 are used for multilayer circuit boards (col 8, lines 15+). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize a glass fiber prepeg with a surface density of 25 to 200 g/m.sup.2 in the invention of Mitsui as such prepegs are typically used in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejections under 35 USC § 102
With regards to the rejection of claims 1-5, 8, 11-14, 21, and 22 under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mitsui (WO 2007/024837), Mitsui was relied upon to disclose a composite material
comprising a fiber layer impregnated with a fluoropolymer comprising tetrafluoroethylene and various comonomers. The Examiner asserts that Mitsui discloses the amount of comonomer is up to 10 wt%. applicant argues Mitsui, however, teaches that this amount is the amount of a functional comonomer comprising at least one group from a specific list of functional groups which do not fall within the scope of the monomers of amended claim 1. Thus, applicant argues Mitsui does not teach any amount for the claimed recurring units derived from at least one fluorinated monomer different from tetrafluoroethylene. The examiner respectfully disagrees as Mitsui teaches a functionalized pefluoroalkylvinylether or perfluoro oxyalkylvinyl ether may be used as the copolymer. The claim states the Rf is “a C1-C6 perfluorolkyl group”-the broadest reasonable interpretation which would include functionalized perfluoroalkyl groups. Similarly, Mitsui teaches the copolymer may be a functionalized perfluorooxyalkylvinyl ether, and the claim states the Xo is a C1-C12 perfluorooxyalkyl group comprising one or more ether groups, but does not exclude the presence of functional groups thereon. Thus, the broadest reasonable interpretation which would include functionalized groups.
Applicant further argues there is nothing further in Mitsui to teach or suggest the selection of the comonomer in an amount of 3.0 to 6.0 wt%. Said argument is noted but is not persuasive as the range disclosed in Mitsui is understood to be sufficiently specific to anticipate the claimed range.
Regarding new claim 24, Applicant argues Mitsui further does not disclose or teach the composite film being formed from particles of polymer (FP) having a d50 in the range of 0.1 to 100 µm. Said argument is noted but is not persuasive as said limitation is understood to be a product by process limitation which applicant has not demonstrated results in a materially different product. Applicant argues the data of the present application demonstrates the advantage of forming the composite from particles having a size within this range, versus particles having a size above the range. Specifically, applicant argues the Dk and Df values of the Film #2, using particles having a d50 size of 30 um, reported
in Table 2 when compared to those of Film #3, having a d50 size of 150 µm, in Table 3 show that it is
possible to further improve the good dielectric properties of the composite films when using
fluoropolymer particles with a dso in the range of 0.1 to 100 µm in the manufacturing process of the
composite film. Said argument is noted but is not persuasive as said argument is not commensurate in scope with the pending claims; the showing is not demonstrated regardless of the other coating parameters.
Rejections under 35 USC § 103
With regards to the rejection of claims 6 and 7 under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsui (WO 2007/024837) and further in view of applicant's admissions, Applicant respectfully asserts that the Examiner has not met the burden for establishing obviousness because the Examiner has failed to provide an articulated technical reason to select the specific fibers having the claimed composition. Applicant respectfully notes that a conclusion of obviousness must be supported by an "articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning" as required by MPEP § 2143. The mere existence of a particular material as a commercial product does not indicate or imply any particular reason to use said material. Said argument is noted but is not persuasive. The prior art teaches glass fibers should be utilized, thus the selection of a specific commercially available glass fiber is considered obvious as said commercially available product is functionally equivalent to the glass fibers taught by the prior art.
Further, the data of the present application demonstrate the advantage of forming the composite from a glass fiber fabric having low Dk and Df values, such as GF-2 used in Film #2, versus a film formed from the glass fiber fabric GF-1 in Film #1. Film #2, comprising the glass fiber fabric according to the present claims, exhibits Dk values which are approximately an order of magnitude lower than the corresponding comparative examples Film #1. For at least this further reason, it would not have been obvious to arrive at the claimed composite film in view of Mitsui. Said argument is noted but is not persuasive as applicant’s argument is not commensurate in scope with the pending claims.
For the reasons noted above, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the claims remain rejected for reasons set forth herein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN R KRUER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787