DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 10-2018-0025882 A, with citations taken from the attached translation) in view of Takamure et al. (US 2013/0115763 A1).
Examiner’s note: The claim set submitted 5/29/2024 is examined here. On 7/15/2024 the original claim set was resubmitted, but this is assumed to be by error as the claims were not marked as amended nor was the correspondence in the July submission drawn to the claims.
As to claims 1-2, Kim teaches a method for manufacturing a power semiconductor device (abstract), which comprises forming an active layer comprising a first active layer and a second active layer (130a, 130b), which are doped with impurities different from each other (p3-4), on an SiC substrate (p3 para 1), wherein the forming of the active layer comprises: preparing the SiC substrate comprising a first area and a second area (See Figures, p3) ; injecting a source gas mixed with a first doping gas, a purge gas, a reactant gas, and a purge gas onto the first area of the SiC substrate to form the first active layer; and injecting a source gas mixed with a second doping gas, a purge gas, a
reactant gas, and a purge gas onto the second area of the SiC substrate to form the second active
layer (bottom of p 6 to top of p7). Kim teaches the pulses of source gases, doping gases and reactant gases but does not teach them sequentially as claimed.
Takemure et al. deals with ALD doping of semiconductor layers and teaches a sequence where the source gas is mixed or not with a doping gas, there is a purge, there is a reactant gas and then another purge (Figs 2-3) in order to provide precise control of the dopant content and excellent step coverage in para 0044. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kim to include its dopant ALD as the sequences in the dopant ALD of Takemure et al. in order to provide precise control of the dopant content and excellent step coverage.
As to claim 3, the source gas in Kim includes Zn (abstract) and Takemure Si (abstract).
As to claim 4, the reactant gas includes oxygen in both Kim (p6-7) and Takemure (Figures).
As to claims 5-6, the first dopant layer is deposited by repeating the process cycle in Kim p 6-7 and Takemure Figures then the second dopant layer is deposited by repeating the process cycle in Kim p 6-7.
As to claims 7-8, Takemure teaches using a hydrogen plasma in para 0013, 0048-0050, 0058-0059.
As to claims 9-10, the plasma may be generated in the discharge or as claimed in paras 0048-0050 and 0058-0059, Fig. 16 of Takemure.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 10-2018-0025882 A, with citations taken from the attached translation) in view of Takamure et al. (US 2013/0115763 A1) and in further view of Kamimura (JP 2010-157551 A)
In Kim, the other doping gas is as claimed (p 6-7) but Kim does not teach magnesium. Kamimura teaches that an Mg gas is used as a semiconductor doping gas in para 0041. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to modify Kim and Takamure to include Mg as a doping gas as Kamimura teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 10-2018-0025882 A, with citations taken from the attached translation) in view of Takamure et al. (US 2013/0115763 A1) and in further view of Jiang (US 2016/0020228 A1)
Kim and Takemure teach the limitations of claims 12-14 as discussed above but do not explicitly teach that the active layers are separately a n-type and p-type layer. Jiang is in the same field of endeavor and provides both an n and p layer that are doped differently in the abstract and paras 0005, 0014 to improve power consumption. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to modify Kim and Takamure to include an n and p layer that are doped differently as taught by Jiang in order to improve power consumption.
Conclusion
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718