DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/6/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barmak (US 2005/0070097 A1) in view of Chen (US 5457069).
Claims 15, 20:
Barmak teaches a method for forming a diffusion barrier having a laminate structure (Fig. 3) which does not contain grain boundaries [0009]. This is achieved by depositing each metal-containing layer having a thickness no more than 2-5 atomic layers thick (0.4-1.5 nm) resulting in an amorphous structure [0023]. The deposition of layers having a small thickness that forms an amorphous structure is the same as forming a film having a thickness less than a crystal nucleation critical diameter. It is further noted that the thicknesses taught by Barmak (0.4-1.5 nm) are less than the calculated crystal nucleation critical diameter illustrated in Fig. 2 of the instant application (with only Mo and Ru having values slightly less than 1.5 nm). The chosen layers are formed alternately [0025] (Fig. 4).
The previously discussed prior art does not teach including an element that increases a degree of supercooling which also has an interaction parameter of 0 or more with a parent phase material. However, Chen teaches a method for manufacturing a layered diffusion barrier including a layer of TiW (4:42-46).
It is noted that Applicant provides example compositions that meet the claimed criteria in the instant specification at [0034]. One such composition is when the material is W, Ti is a suitable additive.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Barmak and include TiW as one of the layers of the laminate structure because Chen establishes that TiW is a suitable diffusion barrier layer. The TiW layer inherently includes an element that increase a degree of supercooling which also has an interaction parameter of 0 or more with a parent phase material based on Applicant’s specification.
Claim 16:
PVD, ALD, or CVD [B 0024].
Claim 17:
Metals, alloys, nitrides, and oxides [B 0032].
Claim 18:
Specific examples of a combination in which both are metal films [B 0031].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/9/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Both Barmak and Chen teach methods for forming a diffusion barrier where Chen teaches inclusion of an element that increases a degree of supercooling because it is a known composition for forming a diffusion barrier. This is not reliant on forming layers of the material that would cause crystal nucleation. Rather, the combination suggests forming layers that do not cause crystal nucleation using the materials disclosed by Chen.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759