Response to Amendments
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 07/11/2026, in which: claims 1, 16, and 19 are amended; and the rejection of the claims are traversed. Claims 1-20 are currently pending an Office action on the merits as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, US 20210066629, in view of Baek et al, US 20180156951, in further view of Chu et al, US 20170315389, in further view of Kourtakis et al, US 20200123336.
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses : A display panel, comprising: a base substrate(Fig. 1, #131); light-emitting elements located on a side of the base substrate(#132); a color conversion film layer located on a side, away from the base substrate(#11), of the light-emitting elements and comprising a plurality of color conversion patterns in one-to-one correspondence with the light-emitting elements(#121 and #122 lining up with #132 [0027]), wherein each color conversion pattern comprises a matrix and color conversion particles distributed in the matrix and the color conversion particles are configured to convert light emitted by a corresponding light-emitting element(#121 is a red quantum dot material and #122 is a green quantum dot material [0027]); and a first film layer located between the light-emitting elements and the color conversion film layer (#133 between #121/#122 and #132 and may be more than one overlapped inorganic and organic materials [0031]).
Li does not disclose : A first film layer located between the light-emitting elements and the color conversion film layer and in direct contact with the color conversion film layer, a refractive index n1 of the first film layer and a refractive index n2 of the matrix satisfying: n2/n1>0.82.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Baek teaches : A first film layer located between the light-emitting elements and the color conversion film layer and in direct contact with the color conversion film layer(Fig. 1 and 7, #LIRL2 located between #CCP and #PXL with #LIRL2 in direct contact with #CCP)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Baek to Li to effectively and efficiently covert to desired light (Baek [0125]).
Chu teaches : a refractive index n1 of the first film layer (#350b made of silicon nitride with a refractive index in a range of 1.4 to 1.9 [0067-0069] with the matrix #330r being a photosensitive resin [0057]).
Kourtakis teaches : and a refractive index n2 of the matrix satisfying: n2/n1>0.82(Polyimide resin with a refractive index in the range of 1.5-1.65[0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the known refractive indexes of materials of Chu and Kourtakis to Li to satisfy n2/n1>0.82 with routine experiment and optimization. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 2, Li as modified by Baek, Chu and Kourtakis discloses : The display panel of claim 1.
Chu and Kourtakis teaches : wherein a critical angle of total reflection at an interface between the first film layer and the matrix is greater than 55°( n1 with a refractive index in the range of 1.8-1.9 (Chu [0064]) and n2 polyimide resin with a refractive index in the range of 1.5-1.65 (Kouratkis [0051]) with arcsin (n2/n1) being greater than 55 degrees.
Regarding claim 3, Li as modified by Baek, Chu and Kourtakis discloses : The display panel of claim 1.
Chu and Kourtakis teaches : wherein the refractive index n1 of the first film layer and the refractive index n2 of the matrix satisfy: n2/nl≥0.91(n1=1.8 and n2 = 1.65).
Regarding claim 5, Li as modified by Baek, Chu and Kourtakis discloses : The display panel according to claim 2.
Kourtakis discloses : wherein the refractive index n2 of the matrix satisfies: 1.58≤n2≤1.65(polyimide resin with a refractive index in the range of 1.5-1.65 (Kouratkis [0051]).
Regarding claim 7, Li as modified by Baek, Chu and Kourtakis discloses : The display panel of claim 1.
Li teaches : further comprising an encapsulation layer for light-emitting element between the light-emitting element and the color conversion film, the encapsulation layer for the light emitting element comprising a first inorganic encapsulation layer, an organic encapsulation layer located on a side of the first inorganic encapsulation layer away from the light-emitting elements, and a second inorganic encapsulation layer located on a side of the organic encapsulation layer away from the first inorganic encapsulation layer; wherein the first film layer is the second inorganic encapsulation layer(#133 formed by overlapped inorganic and organic materials with at least one layer of inorganic encapsulation material [0031]).
Regarding claim 8, Li as modified by Baek, Chu and Kourtakis discloses : The display panel of claim 1.
Li teaches : further comprising a filling layer between the light-emitting elements and the color conversion film layer, the first film layer being the filling layer(#133 between #132 and #121).
Regarding claim 9, Li as modified by Baek, Chu and Kourtakis discloses : The display panel of claim 8.
Chu teaches : further comprising an encapsulation layer for quantum dot located between the filling layer and the color conversion film layer, the first film layer being the encapsulation layer for quantum dot(Fig. 1, #350a between #350b and #331r).
Regarding claim 13, Li as modified by Baek, Chu and Kourtakis discloses : The display panel of claim 1.
Chu teaches : wherein each color conversion pattern further comprises scattering particles distributed in the matrix(Fig. 1a, #330r to include #331r), at least 80% of the scattering particles having a particle size larger than or equal to 20nm and less than or equal to 50nm(#331r may be equal or less than 45nm [0054]).
Regarding claim 14, Li as modified by Baek, Chu and Kourtakis discloses : The display panel of claim 1.
Chu teaches : further comprising a low refractive index layer located on a side of the color conversion film layer away from the first film layer, the low refractive index layer having a refractive index larger than or equal to 1.3 and less than or equal to 1.4(Fig. 1a, #370a may be a refractive index of 1.8 or less [0073]).
Regarding claim 15, Li as modified by Baek, Chu and Kourtakis discloses : The display panel according to claim 14.
Li teaches : wherein the light- emitting elements emit blue light(#13 to emit blue light [0030]); the plurality of color conversion patterns comprise a red conversion pattern(#121 is red quantum dot material [0027]), a green conversion pattern(#122 is a green quantum dot material [0027]), and a blue conversion pattern(#123c may be a blue quantum dot material [0036]), the red conversion pattern comprising red conversion particles(#121 is red quantum dot material [0027]), the green conversion pattern comprising green conversion particles(#122 is a green quantum dot material [0027]), and the blue conversion pattern comprising blue conversion particles or a transparent color filter(#123c may be a blue quantum dot material [0036]); the display panel further comprises a black matrix and a plurality of color filters located on a side(#114 with #111 and #112 on a side), away from the color conversion film layer(#111 and #112 isolated by #115), of the low refractive index layer; the black matrix being provided with a plurality of third openings, and the color filters being located in the third openings(#111 and #112 located in openings between #114), respectively; the plurality of color filters comprising a red color filter corresponding to the red conversion pattern, a green color filter corresponding to the green conversion pattern, and a blue color filter corresponding to the blue conversion pattern(#111 is red, #112 is green [0026] and #113 is blue [0028]).
Regarding claim 16, Li as modified by Baek, Chu and Kourtakis discloses : The display panel of claim 1.
Li teaches : wherein the color conversion particles comprise quantum dots(#121 is a red quantum dot material [0027]).
Regarding claim 17, Li as modified by Baek, Chu and Kourtakis discloses : The display panel according to claim 1.
Li teaches : wherein the light-emitting elements are OLED light-emitting elements(#13 is OLED light source [0030]).
Regarding claim 18, Li as modified by Baek, Chu and Kourtakis discloses : A display apparatus, comprising the display panel of claim 1.
Chu teaches : A display apparatus(display panel part of display device [0112]).
Regarding claim 19, Li discloses : A method for manufacturing a display panel, comprising: providing a base substrate(Fig. 1, #131); forming a plurality of light-emitting elements on a side of the base substrate(#132 on #131); forming a first film layer on a side of the light-emitting elements away from the base substrate(#133 away from #131); forming a color conversion film layer having a plurality of color conversion patterns on a side of the first film layer away from the light-emitting elements(#121 and #122 away from #132), the color conversion patterns each comprise a matrix and color conversion particles distributed in the matrix(#121 and #122 to include quantum dots [0027]).
Li does not disclose : wherein the color conversion film layer is in direct contact with the first film layer, and a refractive index nl of the first film layer and a refractive index n2 of the matrix satisfy: n2/nl>0.82.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Baek teaches : wherein the color conversion film layer is in direct contact with the first film layer(Fig. 1 and 7, #LIRL2 located between #CCP and #PXL with #LIRL2 in direct contact with #CCP)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Baek to Li to effectively and efficiently covert to desired light (Baek [0125]).
Chu teaches : and a refractive index nl of the first film layer (#350b made of silicon nitride with a refractive index in a range of 1.4 to 1.9 [0067-0069] with the matrix #330r being a photosensitive resin [0057])
Kourtakis teaches : and a refractive index n2 of the matrix satisfy: n2/nl>0.82 (Polyimide resin with a refractive index in the range of 1.5-1.65[0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the known refractive indexes of materials of Chu and Kourtakis to Li to satisfy n2/n1>0.82 with routine experiment and optimization. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 20, Li as modified by Chu and Kourtakis discloses : The display panel of claim 2.
Li teaches : further comprising an encapsulation layer for light-emitting element between the light-emitting elements and the color conversion film layer, the encapsulation layer for light-emitting element comprising a first inorganic encapsulation layer, an organic encapsulation layer located on a side of the first inorganic encapsulation layer away from the light-emitting elements, and a second inorganic encapsulation layer located on a side of the organic encapsulation layer away from the first inorganic encapsulation layer; wherein the first film layer is the second inorganic encapsulation layer(Fig. 1, #133 between #132 and #121, #133 may be multiple layers of overlapped inorganic and organic materials with at least one inorganic material [0031]).
Claims 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, US 20210066629, in view of Baek et al, US 20180156951, in further view of Chu et al, US 20170315389, in further view of Kourtakis et al, US 20200123336, in further view of Thothadri et al, US 20200410208.
Regarding claim 4, Li as modified by Baek, Chu and Kourtakis discloses : The display panel of claim 2.
Li as modified by Baek, Chu and Kourtakis does not disclose : wherein the refractive index n1 of the first film layer satisfies: 1.76≤n1≤1.80.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Thothadri teaches : wherein the refractive index n1 of the first film layer satisfies: 1.76≤n1≤1.80(#160 silicon nitride layer with refractive index of about 1.7 to 2.5 [0098]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first layer made of silicon nitride with a refractive index that satisfies 1.76≤n1≤1.80 with routine experiment and optimization. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 6, Li as modified by Baek, Chu and Kourtakis discloses : The display panel of claim 1.
Li as modified by Baek, Chu and Kourtakis does not disclose : wherein a material of the first film layer comprises silicon nitride and silicon oxynitride, wherein a mass of silicon nitride is ml and a sum of masses of silicon nitride and silicon oxynitride is m2, and ml and m2 satisfy: 40%≤ml/m2≤45%
However, in the same field of endeavor, Thothadri teaches : wherein a material of the first film layer comprises silicon nitride and silicon oxynitride, wherein a mass of silicon nitride is ml and a sum of masses of silicon nitride and silicon oxynitride is m2, and ml and m2 satisfy: 40%≤ml/m2≤45%(#160 may be multiple layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxynitride with #160 being a gradient layer [0085-0087].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxynitride in an OLED device where the silicon nitride and silicon oxynitride satisfies 40%≤ml/m2≤45% with routine experiment and optimization. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, US 20210066629, in view of Baek et al, US 2018015695, in further view of Chu et al, US 20170315389, in further view of Kourtakis et al, US 20200123336, in further view Koenemann et al, US 20200332184.
Regarding claim 10, Li as modified by Baek, Chu and Kourtakis discloses : The display panel of claim 1.
Li as modified by Baek, Chu and Kouratkis does not disclose : wherein a material of the matrix comprises at least one of a phenolic resin, a polyamide resin, a polyimide, a polyester resin, a polyphenylene resin.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Koenemann teaches : wherein a material of the matrix comprises at least one of a phenolic resin, a polyamide resin, a polyimide, a polyester resin, a polyphenylene resin(Matrix of color converter may consist of polyimides [0263]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Koenemann to Li, Baek, Chu, and Kourtakis to include a color conversion matrix to consist of polyimides in OLEDs to absorb light of a particular wavelength to be converted to light of a second wavelength (Koenemann [0058]).
Claims 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, US 20210066629, in view of Baek et al, US 20180156951, in further view of Chu et al, US 20170315389, in further view of Kourtakis et al, US 20200123336, in further view of Polyakov et al, US 20200075683.
Regarding claim 11, Li as modified by Baek, Chu and Kouratkis discloses : The display panel of claim 1.
Li teaches : further comprising: a first pixel defining layer located between the base substrate and the first film layer(Fig. 1, #1311), the first pixel defining layer having a plurality of first openings(opening between #1311 with #132 in the openings); and a second pixel defining layer located on a side of the first film layer away from the first pixel defining layer(#124 located away from #131 and #1311), the second pixel defining layer having a plurality of second openings(second openings defined by #124 with #121 in the openings), the color conversion patterns being located in the second openings(#121 between #124), and at least part of the second openings being in one-to-one correspondence with the first openings(#124 shown to have a one-to-one correspondence to #1311).
Li as modified by Baek, Chu and Kourtakis does not disclose : wherein an orthographic projection of each of the at least part of the second openings on the base substrate covers an orthographic projection of the first opening corresponding to the second opening on the base substrate, and a minimum cross- sectional area of each of the at least part of the second openings is larger than a minimum cross-sectional area of the first opening corresponding thereto.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Polyakov teaches : wherein an orthographic projection of each of the at least part of the second openings on the base substrate covers an orthographic projection of the first opening corresponding to the second opening on the base substrate and a minimum cross- sectional area of each of the at least part of the second openings is larger than a minimum cross-sectional area of the first opening corresponding thereto(Fig. 17, #410 corresponding to #411 and #412 corresponding to #420 with #411 being wider than #420 [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Polyakov to Li, Chu, and Kouratakis to have a second opening larger than a first opening to adjust angular luminance (Polyakov [0084]).
Regarding claim 12, Li as modified by Baek, Chu, Kourtakis, and Polyakov discloses : The display panel of claim 11.
Li as modified by baek, Chu, Kourtakis, and Polyakov does not explicitly disclose : wherein the minimum cross-sectional area Si of each of the at least part of the second openings and the minimum cross-sectional area S2 of the first opening corresponding thereto satisfy: 1.08≤S1/S2≤1.22.
However, Polyakov teaches : wherein the minimum cross-sectional area Si of each of the at least part of the second openings and the minimum cross-sectional area S2 of the first opening corresponding thereto satisfy: 1.08≤S1/S2≤1.22(Fig. 17, #411 is wider than #420 and #410 and #412 may be adjusted for fine tuning of angular luminance adjusted from 0% to 100% as a function of angle [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust position and size of openings to satisfy a desired angular luminance(Polyakov [0084]) with routine experiment and optimization. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897