CTNF 18/569,297 CTNF 80463 Detailed Action 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 2-16, 20-22 are pending in the application. Claims 15-16 are withdrawn from consideration. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 12, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, and accordingly, the IDS has been considered by the examiner. Response to Arguments/Remarks Election/Restrictions 08-25 AIA Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 2-14, 20-22) in the reply filed on November 10, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Group II (claim 15) can be used to enable the invention of Group I (claim 2). Applicant submitted that claim 2’s first step is the MAS receiving the first identifier from an application node, and claim 15 describes the process by which the application node of claim 2 obtains and forwards the identifier . This is not found persuasive because : As explained in the Restriction Requirement, each group lacks unique special technical feature of the other group. The expression technical features is defined as meaning those technical features that define the contribution which each claimed invention, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art. The group of inventions do not share special technical features. See MPEP 1893.03(d). Group II (claims 15-16) describes a process by which the application node determines the identifier, which is not shared by Group I. Group I (claims 2-14, 20-22) describes a process by which a multimedia application server determines that a second data session on a second network slice is required to handle second media type, which is not shared by Group II . The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claims 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Regarding claim 20, Applicant is seeking to patent a “multimedia application server” wherein the multimedia application server is configured to perform steps of the claim. Applicant’s specification states in part, In some embodiments, a respective computer program 1203, 1303, 1403 and 10 1503 comprises instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor of the respective multimedia application server 523a, 523b, communications device 512a, 512b, application node 521a, 521b, and policy controlling node 506d_a, 506d_b to perform the actions above. (p. 38, lines 9-13) The specification discloses that the multimedia application server may comprise computer program to perform actions of the invention. The multimedia application server, as claimed, does not comprise any hardware elements and, in the absence of hardware, the server may be directed to only the computer program configured to perform steps of the claim. An invention that may be directed to only software is considered as non-statutory subject matter as software does not meet one of the four categories of invention. See MPEP 2106.03, “Non-limiting examples of claims that are not directed to any of the statutory categories include: a computer program per se (often referred to as "software per se") when claimed as a product without any structural recitations.” The examiner suggests amending the claim to recite functional hardware, such as a hardware processor and memory storing computer program, to overcome the rejection. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 2-14, 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 2, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the first communications device.” The claim recites, “a communications device.” However, it is not clear whether “the first communications device” is referring to the previously cited “a communications device” or is a distinct communications device. Furthermore, the claim recites “the communications device.” It is not clear whether device is referring to “a communications device” or “the first communications device.” Regarding claim 2, the claim comprises multiple uses of text enclosed with parentheses, e.g., (S-NSSAI_1a, S-NSSAI1b), (NS1a, NS1b). It is not clear whether the text are intended as reference characters or as limitations to further define the claim. For example, the claim recites, “a first identifier (S-NSSAI_la, S-NSSAI_b).” It is not clear whether Applicant intends the identifier to be a S-NSSAI, “Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information” used in a 5G network. Claims 6-14 and 20 comprise text within parentheses and are rejected under a similar rationale as claim 2. Furthermore, it is noted that reference characters do not affect the scope of the claim. See MPEP 608.01(m) states, Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description and the drawings may be used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims. The reference characters, however, should be enclosed within parentheses so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. Generally, the presence or absence of such reference characters does not affect the scope of a claim. Regarding claim 8, the claim, which depends on claim 2, recites, “a first communications device” and “the first communications device.” Claim 2 recites, “the first communications device.” As such, it is not clear which device “the first communications device” is referring to in the claim and whether “the first communications device” of claim 8 is the same “the first communications device” of claim 2. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2, 5, 7, 9-11, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karampatsis et al. US Patent Publication No. 2021/0152615 (“Karampatsis”) in view of Synnergren et al. US Patent Publication No. 2012/0278384 (“Synnergren”) . Regarding claim 2, Karampatsis teaches a method, performed by a multimedia application server, for upgrading a first data session for a first media type to handle a second media type, the method comprising: receiving, from an application node associated with a communications network, a first identifier (S-NSSAI_la, S-NSSAI_b) of a first network slice (NS la, NS 1b) of the communications network (para. [0186] IMS AS 152 may interface with the 5GS NF 1010 to determine the appropriate network slice for the media flows. 5GS NF 1010 may return mapping information that associates a network slice identifier, such as the S-NSSAI ), wherein the first data session is established by a communications device through the first network slice (NS la, NS 1b0 (see fig. 6. UE 205 with session using slice NSSAI-x); para. [0149] UE 205 attaches to a 5G network and is registered over a PDU session… via the default 5G network slice (e.g., the first network slice instance 920) ); receiving a request, from the first communications device to handle the second media type, wherein the request comprises session description information corresponding to a data session handling the second media type (para. [0170] media traffic of certain types is to be sent via second network slice. para. [0174] UE 205… sending a SIP INVITE request to the P-CSCF. SIP INVITE request includes… an SDP offer. SDP offer may include a media type. SDP offer with the IP address of the first PDU session (associated with the default network slice) ); and in response to the received request, and based on the first identifier (S-NSSAI_a, S- NSSAI_b) of the first network slice (NSla, NS1b) (para. [0054] IP address for the PDU session identifies the S-NSSAI. para. [0072] each PDU session is distinguishable by… network slice identifier (e.g., S-NSSAI) ) and the session description information, sending an indication to the communications device that a second data session on a second network slice (NS2a, NS2b) identified by a second identifier (S-NSSAI_2a, S-NSSAI_2b) is required for the upgrade to handle the second media type to take place (para. [0175] IMS AS 152 determines whether the media traffic for the requested session needs to the sent via a different network slice. IMS AS 152 may base the determination on the media type included in the SDP offer. para. [0170] IMS AS 152 determines whether an IMS service is to use a different network interface (which may be the 5G network slice) … and indicates this to the UE. indication may be done by signaling to the UE 205 that the media flows for the IMS service are to be routed via a different network interface . para. [0173] may indicate that media traffic for an IMS service is to use a different network interface by sending a SIP ‘3xx Redirection’ response ). Karampatsis discloses receiving a request, from the first communications device, for a data session to handle the second media type. Karampatsis does not teach receiving a request to upgrade the first data session to handle the second media type. wherein the request comprises session description information corresponding to an upgraded data session handling the second media type. Synnergren teaches receiving a request, from a first communications device to upgrade a first data session to handle a second media type, wherein the request comprises session description information corresponding to an upgraded data session handling the second media type (para. [0006] wants to add a video stream to the session by sending another SIP INVITE message, also referred to as a re-INVITE message. in the re-INVITE message the SDP is describing both the speech codec and the video codec . para. [0048] when the user of Client1 requests 401 to make this service change, client1 310 sends a Media Control message 411 to the Application Server 120 with a request to transmit voice and video ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Karampatsis with Synnergren’s disclosure such that the UE of Karampatsis is capable of requesting a change to an existing data session by specifying additional media. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for benefits of similarly providing a capability for clients to modify existing sessions to include additional media while Karampatsis would still be capable of determining a network slice to handle media traffic specified in the request. Regarding claim 11, Karampatsis teaches a method, performed by a communications device, for upgrading a first data session of a first media type to handle a second media type, the method comprising: establishing a first data session between a first communications device and a second communications device, wherein the communications device is one of the first or the second communications device and wherein the first data session is established by the communications device on a first network slice (NS la, NS lb) of a communications network serving the communications device (para. [0174] UE 205 (e.g., being attached on a first network slice) sending a SIP INVITE request to the PC-CSCF. SIP INVITE request includes… an SDP offer. SDP offer may include a media type and IP address of the PDU session. IP address of the first PDU session (associated with the default network slice) ), wherein the first network slice (NS la, NS lb) is identified by a first identifier (S-NSSAI_la, S-NSSAI_1b) (para. [0054] IP address for the PDU session identifies the S-NSSAI. para. [0072] each PDU session is distinguishable by… network slice identifier (e.g., S-NSSAI) ); and receiving, from a multimedia application server associated with the communications network and controlling the first data session, an indication (S-NSSAI_2a, S-NSSAI_2b) that a second data session on a second network slice (NS2a, NS2b) identified by a second identifier (S- NSSAI2a, S-NSSAI_2b) is required to handle the second media type (para. [0175] IMS AS 152 determines whether the media traffic for the requested session needs to the sent via a different network slice. IMS AS 152 may base the determination on the media type included in the SDP offer . para. [0170] IMS AS 152 determines whether an IMS service is to use a different network interface (which may be the 5G network slice) … and indicates this to the UE. indication may be done by signaling to the UE 205 that the media flows for the IMS service are to be routed via a different network interface . para. [0173] may indicate that media traffic for an IMS service is to use a different network interface by sending a SIP ‘3xx Redirection’ response ). Karampatsis discloses a second data session on a second network slice is required to handle the second media type. Karampatsis does not teach upgrading the first data session to handle the second media type. Synnergren teaches upgrading a first data session to handle second media type (para. [0006] wants to add a video stream to the session by sending another SIP INVITE message, also referred to as a re-INVITE message. in the re-INVITE message the SDP is describing both the speech codec and the video codec. para. [0048] when the user of Client1 requests 401 to make this service change, client1 310 sends a Media Control message 411 to the Application Server 120 with a request to transmit voice and video. application server 120 grants this request with a media control message 412.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Karampatsis with Synnergren’s disclosure such that the UE of Karampatsis is capable of requesting a change to an existing data session by specifying additional media. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for benefits of similarly providing a capability for clients to modify existing sessions to include additional media while Karampatsis would still be capable of determining a network slice to handle media traffic specified in the request. Regarding claim 20, Karampatsis teaches a multimedia application server associated with a communications network, for upgrading a first data session for a first media type to handle a second media type, wherein the multimedia application server is configured to: receive from an application node associated with the communications network, a first identifier (S-NSSAI_la, S-NSSAIlb) of a first network slice (NSla, NS1b) of the communications network, wherein the first data session is established by a communications device through the first network slice (NS la, NS lb) (para. [0186] IMS AS 152 may interface with the 5GS NF 1010 to determine the appropriate network slice for the media flows. 5GS NF 1010 may return mapping information that associates a network slice identifier, such as the S-NSSAI ); receive a request, from the communications device to handle a second media type, wherein the request comprises session description information corresponding to a data session handling the second media type (para. [0170] media traffic of certain types is to be sent via second network slice. para. [0174] UE 205… sending a SIP INVITE request to the P-CSCF. SIP INVITE request includes… an SDP offer. SDP offer may include a media type. SDP offer with the IP address of the first PDU session (associated with the default network slice ); and in response to the received request, and based on the first identifier (S-NSSAIla, S- NSSAIlb) of the first network slice (NSla, NSib) and the session description information, send an indication to the communications device that a second data session on a second network slice (NS2a, NS2b) identified by a second identifier (S-NSSAI_2a, S-NSSAI_2b) is required for the upgrade to handle the second media type to take place (para. [0175] IMS AS 152 determines whether the media traffic for the requested session needs to the sent via a different network slice. IMS AS 152 may base the determination on the media type included in the SDP offer . para. [0170] IMS AS 152 determines whether an IMS service is to use a different network interface (which may be the 5G network slice) … and indicates this to the UE. indication may be done by signaling to the UE 205 that the media flows for the IMS service are to be routed via a different network interface . para. [0173] may indicate that media traffic for an IMS service is to use a different network interface by sending a SIP ‘3xx Redirection’ response ). Karampatsis discloses receiving a request, from the first communications device, for a data session to handle the second media type. Karampatsis does not teach receiving a request, from the first communications device to upgrade the first data session to handle the second media type. wherein the request comprises session description information corresponding to an upgraded data session handling the second media type Synnergren teaches receiving a request, from a first communications device to upgrade a first data session to handle a second media type, wherein the request comprises session description information corresponding to an upgraded data session handling the second media type (para. [0006] wants to add a video stream to the session by sending another SIP INVITE message, also referred to as a re-INVITE message. in the re-INVITE message the SDP is describing both the speech codec and the video codec. para. [0048] when the user of Client1 requests 401 to make this service change, client1 310 sends a Media Control message 411 to the Application Server 120 with a request to transmit voice and video). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Karampatsis with Synnergren’s disclosure such that the UE of Karampatsis is capable of requesting a change to an existing data session by specifying additional media. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for benefits of similarly providing a capability for clients to modify existing sessions to include additional media while Karampatsis would still be capable of determining a network slice to handle media traffic specified in the request. Regarding claim 5, Karampatsis in view of Synnergren teach the method according to claim 2, wherein the first and second data sessions each is an IMS session (Karampatsis: para. [0167] allocate resources for the media traffic of the IMS session. para. [0169] IMS session). Regarding claim 7, Karampatsis in view of Synnergren teach the method according to claim 2, further comprising: determining, based on the received first identifier (S-NSSAIla, S-NSSAIlb) and the received session description information corresponding to a data session, to instruct the communications device that the second data session on the second network slice (NS2a, NS2b) identified by the second identifier (S-NSSAI_2a, S-NSSAI_2b) is required for the upgrade to the second media type to take place (Karampatsis: para. [0059] SIP INVITE message may include a service identifier and a first SDP offer. SDP offer includes a media type and an IP address of a PDU session. para. [0183] when the UE 205 starts a media session, e.g., SIP INVITE request…, IMS AS 152 may indicate to the UE 205 that the media traffic for the requested session is to be sent via different slice. IMS AS 152 may also provide to the UE 205 assistance information, such as a mapping of ICSI/IARI values to S-NSSAI). Karampatsis does not teach the received session description information corresponding to the upgraded data session. Synnergren teaches receiving a request, from a first communications device to upgrade a first data session to handle a second media type, wherein the request comprises session description information corresponding to an upgraded data session handling the second media type (para. [0006] wants to add a video stream to the session by sending another SIP INVITE message, also referred to as a re-INVITE message. in the re-INVITE message the SDP is describing both the speech codec and the video codec. para. [0048] when the user of Client1 requests 401 to make this service change, client1 310 sends a Media Control message 411 to the Application Server 120 with a request to transmit voice and video). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Karampatsis with Synnergren’s disclosure of received session description information corresponding to the upgraded data session. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for benefits of similarly providing a capability for clients to modify existing sessions to include additional media while Karampatsis would still be capable of determining a network slice to handle media traffic. Regarding claim 9, Karampatsis in view of Synnergren teach the method according to claim 2, further comprising: saving the first identifier (S-NSSAI_la, S-NSSAI_1b) of the first network slice in a session state associated with the first data session (Karampatsis: para. [0072] each PDU session is distinguishable by a unique combination of Data Network Name (“DNN”), Session and Service Continuity (“SSC”) mode, and/or network slice identifier (e.g., S-NSSAI).). Regarding claim 10, Karampatsis in view of Synnergren teach the method according to claim 2, wherein the first identifier (S- NSSAI_la, S-NSSAI_1b) of the first network slice (NSla, NSib) is received during session setup of the first data session from a policy controlling node in NpcfPolicyAuthorisation_Subscribe Response or during a registration procedure of the communications device with the application network (Karampatsis: para. [0149] network procedure 1000 begins as the UE 205 attaches to a 5G network and is registered over a PDU session used for IMS signaling (e.g., the first PDU session 910). sends the mapping of the IMS service to a network interface to the device management server (e.g., of the AS/DM server 1005. network interface may be indicated by an S-NSSAI of the slice). Regarding claim 14, Karampatsis in view of Synnergren teach the method according to claim 11, performed by the first communications device. Karampatsis teaches, the method further comprising: sending a request, to the first application network, to handle the second media type (para. [0174] SIP INVITE request includes an ICSI and/or IARI of the requested IMS service and an SDP offer. The SDP offer may include a media type); and wherein the first communications device receives the indication that the second data session on the second network slice (NS2a) is required for the upgrade to handle the second media type to take place (para. [0175] IMS AS 152 determines whether the media traffic for the requested session needs to the sent via a different network slice. para. [0177] Upon receiving the SIP message indicating that media traffic for the IMS session is to use a different network slice). Karampatsis does not teach sending a request, to the first application network, to upgrade the first data session to handle the second media type. Synnergren teaches sending a request, to the first application network, to upgrade the first data session to handle the second media type (para. [0006] wants to add a video stream to the session by sending another SIP INVITE message, also referred to as a re-INVITE message. in the re-INVITE message the SDP is describing both the speech codec and the video codec. para. [0048] when the user of Client1 requests 401 to make this service change, client1 310 sends a Media Control message 411 to the Application Server 120 with a request to transmit voice and video). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Karampatsis with Synnergren’s disclosure of sending a request, to the first application network, to upgrade the first data session to handle the second media type. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for benefits of similarly providing a capability for clients to modify existing sessions to include additional media while Karampatsis would still be capable of determining a network slice to handle media traffic . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karampatsis in view of Synnergren and Chauhan US Patent Publication No. 2020/0106699 (“Chauhan”) . Regarding claim 3, Karampatsis does not teach the method according to claim 2, wherein the second media type requires a higher bandwidth or higher Quality of Service, QoS, than the first media type. Chauhan teaches second media type, wherein the second media type requires a higher bandwidth or higher Quality of Service, QoS, than a first media type (para. [0196] determine whether the first traffic type requires higher QoS than the second traffic type. determine that the traffic type of sensitive traffic… requires higher QoS than the traffic type of best-effort traffic). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Karampatsis with Chauhan’s disclosure of a second media type requires a higher bandwidth or higher QoS than a first media type. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for a similar benefit of determining a path based on the required QoS. Regarding claim 21, Karampatsis does not teach the multimedia application server according to claim 20, wherein the second media type requires a higher bandwidth or higher Quality of Service, QoS, than the first media type. Chauhan teaches second media type, wherein the second media typerequires a higher bandwidth or higher Quality of Service, QoS, than a first media type (para. [0196] determine whether the first traffic type requires higher QoS than the second traffic type. determine that the traffic type of sensitive traffic… requires higher QoS than the traffic type of best-effort traffic). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Karampatsis with Chauhan’s disclosure of a second media type requires a higher bandwidth or higher QoS than a first media type. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for a similar benefit of determining a path based on the required QoS . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karampatsis in view of Synnergren and Wang et al. US Patent Publication No. 2017/0237965 (“Wang”) . Regarding claim 4, Karampatsis does not teach the method according to claim 2, wherein the second media type is any one or more out of: Virtual Reality, VR, Augmented Reality, AR, and Mixed Reality, MR. Wang teaches second media type, wherein the second media type is any one or more out of: Virtual Reality, VR, Augmented Reality, AR, and Mixed Reality, MR (para. [0139] in a media description in an SDP message. a field can be added or modified in the session description and/or the media description to indicate the presence of virtual reality content in streaming content). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Karampatsis with Wang’s disclosure of Virtual Reality, VR. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial to stream different types of content from clients, using SDP, including virtual reality content. Regarding claim 22, Karampatsis does not teach the multimedia application server according to claim 20, wherein the second media type is any one or more out of: Virtual Reality, VR, Augmented Reality, AR, and Mixed Reality, MR. Wang teaches second media type, wherein the second media type is any one or more out of: Virtual Reality, VR, Augmented Reality, AR, and Mixed Reality, MR (para. [0139] in a media description in an SDP message. a field can be added or modified in the session description and/or the media description to indicate the presence of virtual reality content in streaming content). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Karampatsis with Wang’s disclosure of Virtual Reality, VR. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial to stream different types of content from clients, using SDP, including virtual reality content . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karampatsis in view of Synnergren, and Lee et al. US Patent Publication No. 2020/0322778 (“Lee”) . Regarding claim 6, Karampatsis in view of Synnergren the method according to claim 2. Karampatsis teaches wherein the indication to the communications device that the second data session on the second network slice (NS2a, NS2b) identified by the second identifier (S-NSSAI_2a, S-NSSAI_2b) is required to handle the second media type to take place is an second identifier (S-NSSAI_2a, S- NSSAI_2b), each associated with a respective second network slice, which are configured in the multimedia application server and support the second media type (para.[0183] IMS AS 152 may also provide to the UE 205 assistance information, such as a mapping of ICSI/IARI values to S-NSSAI). Synnergren teaches upgrading a first data session to handle second media type (para. [0006] wants to add a video stream to the session by sending another SIP INVITE message, also referred to as a re-INVITE message. in the re-INVITE message the SDP is describing both the speech codec and the video codec. para. [0048] when the user of Client1 requests 401 to make this service change, client1 310 sends a Media Control message 411 to the Application Server 120 with a request to transmit voice and video. application server 120 grants this request with a media control message 412.). Karampatsis and Synnergren do not teach the indication is a list of second identifiers (S-NSSAI_2a, S- NSSAI_2b), each associated with a respective second network slice. Lee discloses providing an indication to a communications device wherein the indication is a list of second identifiers (S-NSSAI_2a, S- NSSAI_2b), each associated with a respective second network slice (para. [0099] slice is described as S-NSSAI. para. [0106] AMF sends to the terminal a registration accept message including the allowed NSSAI that is a list of S-NSSAIs that can be used by the terminal to access the network). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Karampatsis and Synnergren with Lee’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for a similar benefit of receiving a list of allowed NSSAI for selection by the UE . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karampatsis in view of Synnergren, and Lee et al. US Patent Publication No. 2021/0153268 (“Lee”) . Regarding claim 12, Karampatsis in view of Synnergren teach the method according to claim 11, further comprising: in response to the received indication that the second data session on the second network slice (NS2a, NS2b) is required for the upgrade to the second media type to take place (Karampatsis: para. [0175] IMS AS 152 determines whether the media traffic for the requested session needs to the sent via a different network slice. IMS AS 152 may base the determination on the media type included in the SDP offer. para. [0170] IMS AS 152 determines whether an IMS service is to use a different network interface… and indicates this to the UE). Karampatsis does not teach determining whether or not to upgrade the first data session to the second data session based on the second identifier (S-NSSAI_2a, S-NSSAI_2b) and an access network subscription profile of the communications device Lee discloses determining whether to establish a session based on a second identifier (S-NSSAI_2a, S-NSSAI_2b) and an access network subscription profile of a communications device (para. [0066] in operation 401, a UE may generate a Registration Request message. Requested NSSAI that the UE is to use may be included in the Registration Request message. para. [0071] AMF may determine Allowed NSSAI based on the UE subscription data received from the UDM in operation 405. when S-NSSAI A and S-NSSAI B are included in Requested NSSAI requested by the UE, and both S-NSSAI A and S-NSSAI B are included in a subscribed slice, both S-NSSAI A and S-NSSAI B requested by the UE may be used). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Karampatsis and Synnergren with Lee’s disclosure of determining whether to establish a session based on an access network subscription profile of a communications device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have utilized NSSAI that is allowed for the UE. Regarding claim 13, Karampatsis in view of Synnergren teach the method according to claim 11, wherein the method further comprises: in response to the received indication, sending, to the multimedia application server a response to the received indication that the second data session on the second network slice (NS2a, NS2b) is required for upgrading the first data session, wherein the response indicates whether or not the second communications device is able to initiate the second data session with the second identifier (S-NSSAI2a, S-NSSAI_2b) for upgrading the first data session to handle the second media type, and wherein the response is based on the received second identifier (S- NSSAI_2b) (Karampatsis: para. [0173] UE 205 may include the IP address of the second network interface (e.g., second network slice. para. [01738] the new SIP INVITE request includes a new SDP offer that indicates the second network slice is to be used to route the media traffic) to convey the media in the SDP offer). Karampatsis does not teach wherein the response is based on an access network subscription profile of the second communications device. Lee discloses determining whether to establish a session based an access network subscription profile of a communications device (para. [0066] in operation 401, a UE may generate a Registration Request message. Requested NSSAI that the UE is to use may be included in the Registration Request message. para. [0071] AMF may determine Allowed NSSAI based on the UE subscription data received from the UDM in operation 405. when S-NSSAI A and S-NSSAI B are included in Requested NSSAI requested by the UE, and both S-NSSAI A and S-NSSAI B are included in a subscribed slice, both S-NSSAI A and S-NSSAI B requested by the UE may be used). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Karampatsis and Synnergren with Lee’s disclosure of determining whether to establish a session based on an access network subscription profile of a communications device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have utilized NSSAI that is allowed for the UE . Allowable Subject Matter 07-43-02 AIA Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Examiner’s Note 07-96 The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The prior art discloses sending a request to upgrade a session to handle a second media type. Lillie et al. US Patent Publication No. 2004/0125802 (para. [0040] one or more endpoints may wish to change session parameters such as bit rates, codecs, encryption, etc., or may wish to add or remove media streams. An endpoint preferably modifies a session by sending a SIP RE-INVITE message addressed to the appropriate group that contains a SDP packet in its payload that describes the modified session parameters) Dahl US Patent Publication No. 2010/0095010 (abstract: SIP request may relate to a request to modify an established SIP session or the media of an established SIP session; for example, by adding, removing or changing the media.) Ormazabal et al. US Patent Publication No. 2012/0210007 (para. [0085] re-INVITE requests to be issued to modify an existing session. modification can involve… adding or deleting a media stream. re-INVITE may contain the new session description. re-INVITE may differ from the initial INVITE by including a new session description) Whynot et al. US Patent Publication No. 2017/0013084 (para. [0040] initiating a change in media, such as a SIP endpoint 120 requesting to add video to an established SIP session) Chiang et al. US Patent Publication No. 2020/0329078 (para. [0027] request to establish the communication connection may be a request to change an ongoing communication session by upgrading from a voice communication session to a video communication session) Bouazizi et al. US Patent Publication No. 2022/0407899 (para. [0113] receiving, by the multimedia communication client, data indicating that the 2D multimedia communication session call is to be upgraded to an augmented reality (AR) session from the second client device) The prior art discloses determining allowed NSSAI based on a subscription profile of the UE. Lee US Patent Publication No. 2023/0156585 (para. [0049] AMF 120 may determine allowed NSSAI available to the terminal 100, based on the requested NSSAI received from the terminal 100 and the subscription information received from the UDM 145) Bulakci et al. US Patent Publication No. 2024/0214886 (para. [0226] core network analyses the UE profile and subscription data to verify the list of network slices that the UE can really have access to. core network sends a list of “allowed S-NSSAIs” to the UE) Starsinic et al. US Patent Publication No. 2022/0264503 (para. [0241] AMF queries the UE's Subscription and the profiles of the user(s) that were indicated in step 1, to determine which S-NSSAI(s) the UE may be allowed to access) Conclusion A shortened statutory period for reply to this Office action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Joshua Joo whose telephone number is 571 272-3966. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 7am-3pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Oscar Louie can be reached on 571 270-1684 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JOSHUA JOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445 Application/Control Number: 18/569,297 Page 2 Art Unit: 2445 Application/Control Number: 18/569,297 Page 3 Art Unit: 2445 Application/Control Number: 18/569,297 Page 4 Art Unit: 2445 Application/Control Number: 18/569,297 Page 5 Art Unit: 2445 Application/Control Number: 18/569,297 Page 6 Art Unit: 2445 Application/Control Number: 18/569,297 Page 7 Art Unit: 2445 Application/Control Number: 18/569,297 Page 8 Art Unit: 2445 Application/Control Number: 18/569,297 Page 9 Art Unit: 2445 Application/Control Number: 18/569,297 Page 10 Art Unit: 2445 Application/Control Number: 18/569,297 Page 11 Art Unit: 2445 Application/Control Number: 18/569,297 Page 12 Art Unit: 2445 Application/Control Number: 18/569,297 Page 13 Art Unit: 2445 Application/Control Number: 18/569,297 Page 14 Art Unit: 2445 Application/Control Number: 18/569,297 Page 15 Art Unit: 2445 Application/Control Number: 18/569,297 Page 16 Art Unit: 2445 Application/Control Number: 18/569,297 Page 17 Art Unit: 2445 Application/Control Number: 18/569,297 Page 18 Art Unit: 2445 Application/Control Number: 18/569,297 Page 19 Art Unit: 2445