DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because the Examiner believes the previously cited prior art, Yuan, discloses the argued limitation.
The Applicant argues that, in Yuan, the at least one TCI states is not already activated. The Applicant asserts, unlike the claimed invention, in Yuan, the network instructs the UE which TCI not yet active state to activate and use for uplink.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. The Examiner respectfully submits that there is misunderstanding of what activated TCI state mean. Technically, in the art, activated TCI state means a network or base station directs or instructs a user device (UE) to use a specific uplink transmit beam or beams for uplink transmission which is associated with uplink TCI state identified in downlink signaling, and that is what Yuan is describing. That is, the instruction by the base station through a downlink signaling to the UE to use a specific uplink beam(s) associated with the uplink TCI state(s) identified in the downlink signaling for uplink transmission is simply activated TCI state(s). Yuan describes the UE receives the uplink transmit beam(s) associated with the identified uplink TCI state(s) through either MAC-CE and/or DCI (figs. 3A-3C). This means, in the art, the TCI state(s) is activated. Specifically, when the base station 110 instructs the UE to use an uplink beam(s) associated with uplink TCI state(s), it means that the TCI state(s) is activated. It is true that Yuan says the TCI state is to be activated at the UE side. But Yuan also clearly describes when the UE performs the uplink transmission using the uplink beam and the associated uplink TCI state identified through the MAC-CE and/or DCI, the UE simply is said communicates with the BS 110 using activated TCI state (e.g. paragraph [0050]; [0054]). That is, the uplink state is activated via the downlink signaling (e.g. via MAC-CE).
Therefore, the above argument is not persuasive in view of Yuan and the above brief response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yuan et al. (US 2023/0025072 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yuan discloses an apparatus (120), comprising at least one processor (280), and at least one memory including computer program code (282), wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor (fig. 2), cause the apparatus (120) at least to perform: receive from a wireless network node association information between a set of activated Transmission Coordination Indication, TCI, states and a set of Uplink, UL, indication signals (paragraph [0005]-[0014]; [0041]; [0045]-[0053]; [0068]; [0083]; and so on, illustrating the reception of TCI through RRC, MAC-CE, and DCI associated with uplink resources information or communication, such as SRS, PUCCH, PUSCH, and so on), wherein at least one activated TCI state of the set of activated TCI states is associated with at least one UL indication signal of the set of UL indication signals (figs. 3A-5; paragraph [0005]-[0014]; [0040]-[0041]; [0045]-[0054]; [0057]-[0067]; [0072]-[0082]; and etc., explaining at least one of activated TCI is associated with at least one uplink resource information or communication, such SRS, PUCCH, PUSCH, and the like); communicate with the wireless network node using a first activated TCI state of the set of activated TCI states (figs. 3A-3B, 4-5; paragraph [0045]-[0052]; [0059]; [0074]; [0005]-[0012]; [0040]-[0043]; and so on, describing communicating with the base station 110 using an activated TCI indicated by MAC-CE); and transmit one UL indication signal of the set of UL indication signals to the wireless network node (figs. 3A-3C, 4-5; paragraph [0045]-[0054]; [0059]; [0074]; [0005]-[0012]; [0040]-[0043]; and so on, illustrating the transmission of uplink communication, such SRS, PUCCH, PUSCH associated to a TCI identified by MAC-CE included in the RRC), wherein said one UL indication signal indicates a second activated TCI state of the set of activated TCI states (figs. 3C, 4-5; paragraph [0053]-[0054]; [0045]; [0049]; [0063]; [0078]; and so on, explaining that uplink communication, such as reference signal associated with TCI state indicated by the DCI).
Regarding claim 2, Yuan discloses wherein each UL indication signal of the set of UL indication signals indicates a separate activated TCI state of the set of activated TCI states (figs. 3B-5).
Regarding claim 3, Yuan further discloses caused to perform: detect a need to change from the used, first activated TCI state of the set of activated TCI states to the second activated TCI state of the set of activated TCI states (figs. 3C, 4-5; paragraph [0053]-[0054]; [0045]; [0049]; [0063]; [0078]; and so on).
Regarding claim 9, Yuan further discloses caused to perform: communicate with the wireless network node using the second activated TCI state without waiting for any acknowledgement (figs. 3C, 4-5; paragraph [0053]-[0054]; [0045]; [0049]; [0063]; [0078]; and so on).
Regarding claim 13, Yuan discloses an apparatus (110) comprising at least one processor (240), and at least one memory (242) including computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor (fig. 2), cause the apparatus at least to perform: transmit to a user equipment (120) association information between a set of activated Transmission Coordination Indication, TCI, states and a set of UL indication signals, wherein at least one activated TCI state of the set of activated TCI states is associated with at least one Uplink, UL, indication signal of the set of UL indication signals (figs. 3A-5; paragraph [0047]-[0052]; [0053]-[0054]; and so on); communicate with the user equipment using a first activated TCI state of the set of activated TCI states (figs. 3A-3B, 4-5; paragraph [0045]-[0052]; [0059]; [0074]; [0005]-[0012]; [0040]-[0043]; and so on); and receive from the user equipment one UL indication signal of the set of UL indication signals (figs. 3A-3C, 4-5; paragraph [0045]-[0054]; [0059]; [0074]; [0005]-[0012]; [0040]-[0043]; and so on), wherein said one UL indication signal indicates a second activated TCI state of the set of activated TCI states (figs. 3C, 4-5; paragraph [0053]-[0054]; [0045]; [0049]; [0063]; [0078]; and so on).
Regarding claim 14, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1. The claim is a mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding method, and the rejection to claim is applied hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0185691 A1).
Regarding claim 4, as applied above, Yuan further discloses the second activated TCI state of the set activated TCI state. However, Yuan doesn’t disclose caused to perform: receive an acknowledgement from the wireless network node, wherein the acknowledgement indicates that the second activated TCI state of the set activated TCI states is to be used; and communicate with the wireless network node using the second activated TCI state of the set of activated TCI states upon receiving the acknowledgement.
Park teaches caused to perform: receive an acknowledgement from the wireless network node, wherein the acknowledgement indicates that the second activated TCI state of the set activated TCI states is to be used (e.g. fig. 4; paragraph [0128]); and communicate with the wireless network node using the second activated TCI state of the set of activated TCI states upon receiving the acknowledgement (e.g. fig. 4; paragraph [0129]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use caused to perform: receive an acknowledgement from the wireless network node, wherein the acknowledgement indicates that the second activated TCI state of the set activated TCI states is to be used; and communicate with the wireless network node using the second activated TCI state of the set of activated TCI states upon receiving the acknowledgement as taught by Park into Yuan in order to improve resource utilization.
Regarding claim 5, as applied above, Yuan further discloses the second activated TCI state of the set activated TCI state. However, Yuan doesn’t disclose caused to perform: receive an acknowledgement from the wireless network node, wherein the acknowledgement indicates that a third activated TCI state of the set of activated TCI states is to be used; and communicate with the wireless network node using the third activated TCI state of the set of activated TCI states upon receiving the acknowledgement.
Park teaches caused to perform: receive an acknowledgement from the wireless network node, wherein the acknowledgement indicates that a third activated TCI state of the set of activated TCI states is to be used (e.g. fig. 4; paragraph [0128]); and communicate with the wireless network node using the third activated TCI state of the set of activated TCI states upon receiving the acknowledgement (e.g. fig. 4; paragraph [0129]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use caused to perform: receive an acknowledgement from the wireless network node, wherein the acknowledgement indicates that a third activated TCI state of the set of activated TCI states is to be used; and communicate with the wireless network node using the third activated TCI state of the set of activated TCI states upon receiving the acknowledgement as taught by Park into Yuan in order to improve resource utilization.
Regarding claim 6, as applied above, Yuan further discloses communicate with the wireless network node. However, Yuan doesn’t disclose caused to perform: receive an acknowledgement from the wireless network node, wherein the acknowledgement is a negative acknowledgement; and communicate with the wireless network node using a fall-back TCI state upon receiving the negative acknowledgement.
Park discloses caused to perform: receive an acknowledgement from the wireless network node, wherein the acknowledgement is a negative acknowledgement (e.g. fig. 4; paragraph [0128]); and communicate with the wireless network node using a fall-back TCI state upon receiving the negative acknowledgement (e.g. fig. 4; paragraph [0129]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use caused to perform: receive an acknowledgement from the wireless network node, wherein the acknowledgement is a negative acknowledgement; and communicate with the wireless network node using a fall-back TCI state upon receiving the negative acknowledgement as taught by Park into Yuan in order to improve resource utilization.
Regarding claim 11, Yuan further discloses caused to perform: transmit at least one other UL indication signal of the set of UL indication signals to the wireless network node (figs. 3A-3C, 4-5; paragraph [0045]-[0052]; [0059]; [0074]; [0005]-[0012]; [0040]-[0043]; and so on).
Yuan doesn’t explicitly disclose receive an indication from the wireless network node, wherein the indication indicates an activated TCI state to be used, the activated TCI state to be used being the second activated TCI state corresponding to said one UL indication signal or an activated TCI state corresponding to the at least one other UL indication signal; and communicate with the wireless network node using the activated TCI state to be used.
Park teaches receive an indication from the wireless network node, wherein the indication indicates an activated TCI state to be used, the activated TCI state to be used being the second activated TCI state corresponding to said one UL indication signal or an activated TCI state corresponding to the at least one other UL indication signal (e.g. fig. 4; paragraph [0128]); and communicate with the wireless network node using the activated TCI state to be used (e.g. fig. 4; paragraph [0129]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use receive an indication from the wireless network node, wherein the indication indicates an activated TCI state to be used, the activated TCI state to be used being the second activated TCI state corresponding to said one UL indication signal or an activated TCI state corresponding to the at least one other UL indication signal; and communicate with the wireless network node using the activated TCI state to be used as taught by Park into Yuan in order to improve resource utilization.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Matsumura et al. (US 2021/0076442 A1).
Regarding claim 7, as applied above, Yuan further discloses wireless network node using the second activated TCI state, a third activated TCI state. However, Yuan doesn’t disclose caused to perform: start a beam activation timer upon receiving an acknowledgement from the wireless network node; and communicate with the wireless network node using the second activated TCI state, a third activated TCI state or a fall-back TCI state upon expiry of the beam activation timer.
Matsumura teaches caused to perform: start a beam activation timer upon receiving an acknowledgement from the wireless network node (paragraph [0009]; [0090]-[0092]; [0133]; and so on); and communicate with the wireless network node using the second activated TCI state, a third activated TCI state or a fall-back TCI state upon expiry of the beam activation timer (paragraph [0046]-[0063]; and etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use caused to perform: start a beam activation timer upon receiving an acknowledgement from the wireless network node; and communicate with the wireless network node using the second activated TCI state, a third activated TCI state or a fall-back TCI state upon expiry of the beam activation timer as taught by Matsumura into Yuan in order to reduce dropping of data packets and congestion.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Park, and further in view of Matsumura.
Regarding claim 12, as applied above, Yuan discloses wherein said one UL indication signal. However, Yuan doesn’t disclose the at least one other UL indication signal are transmitted within a preamble transmission time window.
Matsumura teaches the at least one other UL indication signal are transmitted within a preamble transmission time window (paragraph [0009]; [0052]-[0057]; [0155]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the at least one other UL indication signal are transmitted within a preamble transmission time window as taught by Matsumura into Yuan in order to reduce congestion and to improve synchronization.
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Sakhnini et al. (US 2021/0360601 A1).
Regarding claim 8, as applied above, Yuan further discloses communicate with the wireless network node. However, Yuan doesn’t disclose caused to perform: start an acknowledgement timer upon transmitting said one UL indication signal; and communicate with the wireless network node using a fall-back TCI state when no acknowledgement was received while the acknowledgement timer was running.
Sakhnini teaches caused to perform: start an acknowledgement timer 540) upon transmitting said one UL indication signal (fig. 5; paragraph [0099]; and so on); and communicate with the wireless network node using a fall-back TCI state when no acknowledgement was received while the acknowledgement timer was running (paragraph [0086]-[0083]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use caused to perform: start an acknowledgement timer upon transmitting said one UL indication signal; and communicate with the wireless network node using a fall-back TCI state when no acknowledgement was received while the acknowledgement timer was running as taught by Sakhnini into Yuan in order to reduce delay and overloading.
Regarding claim 10, as applied above, Yuan further discloses communicate with the wireless network node. However, Yuan doesn’t disclose caused to perform: start a beam switch delay timer upon transmitting said one UL indication signal; and communicate with the wireless network node using the second activated TCI state upon expiry of the beam switch delay timer.
Sakhnini teaches caused to perform: start a beam switch delay timer upon transmitting said one UL indication signal (paragraph [0072]-[0074]; [0080]; [0100]-[0103]; and etc.); and communicate with the wireless network node using the second activated TCI state upon expiry of the beam switch delay timer (paragraph [0030]-[0034]; [0072]-[0074]; [0079]-[0083]; [0094]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use caused to perform: start a beam switch delay timer upon transmitting said one UL indication signal; and communicate with the wireless network node using the second activated TCI state upon expiry of the beam switch delay timer as taught by Sakhnini into Yuan in order to reduce delay and overloading.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461