DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 12/03/2025.
Claims 8-18 and 20 have been examined and are pending. This Action is made Non-FINAL.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elects, without traverse, Group 2, comprising claims 8-18 and 20, for prosecution of this patent application in the reply filed on 12/03/2025 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 12/13/2023, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Subject to the [fifth paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA )], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 18; claim 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. “[A] proper dependent claim must be narrower than the claim upon which it depends and must not be broader in any respect.” D. Chisum, Chisum on Patents § 8.06[5] (2011) (citing Pfizer Inc. v. Ranbaxy Laboratories Ltd., 457 F3d 1284 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (claim held invalid for failing to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(d)). NA communication system claim 18 relies on apparatus claim 1. However, claim 18 fails to specify a further limitation of the subject matter of the claim 1 to which it refers, because is complete outside the scope of claim 1 and also claim 1 is non-elected claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 8-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda (US 2009/0316910) and in view of Zheng (US 2016/0315765).
Regarding claim 8, Maeda discloses a management apparatus comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions, and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions stored in the at least one memory to (Maeda par. 0047; The control section 203 carries out generation of shared random numbers, encryption/decryption using a part of the shared random numbers, and the like with the center node 10. The control section 203 can be a program-controlled processor, and the above-mentioned shared random number generation function and encryption/decryption function can be implemented by reading respective programs from a memory (not shown) and executing them on the program-controlled processor);
manage a plurality of cryptographic keys distributed by using a QKD technology (Maeda par. 0043; For example, in a N:M QKD network, cryptographic key management for each remote node can be easily performed only by monitoring the amounts of quantum keys stored at a center node 10. See also par. 0082 and 0122); and
distribute a cryptographic key to a terminal apparatus, the terminal apparatus being to perform cryptographic communication with another terminal apparatus, the cryptographic key being specified from among the plurality of managed cryptographic keys based on a request for the cryptographic key issued from the terminal apparatus, in which request, communication source identification information and communication destination identification information are designated (Maeda abstract, par. 0102-0103 and claim 15; A cryptographic key management method and device are provided by which cryptographic keys of multiple nodes can be managed easily and stably. A system includes at least one first node and a plurality of second nodes connected to the first node, and the first node individually generates and consumes a cryptographic key with each of the second nodes connected to the first node itself. Upon receipt of this request for a remote key, the key management server 30 checks stored key amounts (remaining amounts) with respect to all the remote nodes present along a path between the remote nodes RN-A1 and RN-C (Step S302). In the present exemplary embodiment, checked are the stored key amounts (remaining amounts) of random number sequences K1a, K2a, and Kc of the remote nodes RN-A1, RN-A2, and RN-C. If at least one of the remaining amounts of the random number sequences K1a, K2a, and Kc is not larger than a required amount of a remote key (Step 302: NO), the key management server 30 instructs the center node 10a/10c to start a key generation process for the remote node corresponding to the insufficient stored key amount (Step S303). At this instruction, the control section 105 of the center node 10a/10c carries out the key generation process for the remote node in question. Wherein the first node notifies the one of the different second nodes of information identifying the to-be-shared cryptographic key, and transmits the other of the different second nodes the to-be-shared cryptographic key encrypted using a cryptographic key generated with the other of the different second nodes. See also par. 0035, 0039-0040 and 0122).
Maeda teaches, upon receipt of this request for a remote key, the key management server 30 checks stored key amounts (remaining amounts) with respect to all the remote nodes and the first node notifies the one of the different second nodes of information identifying the to-be-shared cryptographic key, and transmits the other of the different second nodes the to-be-shared cryptographic key encrypted using a cryptographic key generated with the other of the different second nodes (Maeda par. 0102-0103). However, Maeda does not explicitly disclose a request for the cryptographic key issued from the terminal apparatus, in which request, communication source identification information and communication destination identification information are designated.
However, in an analogous art, Zheng teaches a request for the cryptographic key issued from the terminal apparatus, in which request, communication source identification information and communication destination identification information are designated (Zheng par. 0060 and 0085; A cryptographic key that begins at step 70 where a cryptographic client issues a request to access a cryptographic key of the cryptographic keys stored in the key store section 50. The request should be in a specific format that includes, in this example, a read/write indication, an address of the at least a portion of the cryptographic key, a source or destination of the cryptographic result. The method continues at step 165 where the arbitration module 54 accesses the rule set section 162 based on the interpreted request to retrieve a rule of the set of rules. Note that a rule of the set of rules includes an algorithm section that identifies one or more valid algorithms, a destination section that identifies a valid destination, and a content section that identifies a valid privileged data type. See also par. 0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Zheng with the method and system of Maeda, wherein a request for the cryptographic key issued from the terminal apparatus, in which request, communication source identification information and communication destination identification information are designated to provide users with a means for securing data and, more particularly, techniques for storing and providing access to cryptographic keys and other secret values used to secure data (Zheng par. 0004).
Regarding claim 9, Maeda and Zheng disclose the management apparatus according to claim 8,
Zheng further discloses wherein the communication source identification information and the communication destination identification information include identification information of either or both of the management apparatus and the terminal apparatus (Zheng par. 0085; The method continues at step 165 where the arbitration module 54 accesses the rule set section 162 based on the interpreted request to retrieve a rule of the set of rules. Note that a rule of the set of rules includes an algorithm section that identifies one or more valid algorithms, a destination section that identifies a valid destination, and a content section that identifies a valid privileged data type. See also par. 0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Zheng with the method and system of Maeda, wherein a request for the cryptographic key issued from the terminal apparatus, in which request, communication source identification information and communication destination identification information are designated to provide users with a means for securing data and, more particularly, techniques for storing and providing access to cryptographic keys and other secret values used to secure data (Zheng par. 0004).
Regarding claim 10, Maeda and Zheng disclose the management apparatus according to claim 8,
Maeda further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions stored in the at least one memory to manage the cryptographic key management information in which the cryptographic key is associated with the communication source identification information and the communication destination identification information (Maeda abstract, par. 0102-0103 and claim 15; A cryptographic key management method and device are provided by which cryptographic keys of multiple nodes can be managed easily and stably. A system includes at least one first node and a plurality of second nodes connected to the first node, and the first node individually generates and consumes a cryptographic key with each of the second nodes connected to the first node itself. Upon receipt of this request for a remote key, the key management server 30 checks stored key amounts (remaining amounts) with respect to all the remote nodes present along a path between the remote nodes RN-A1 and RN-C (Step S302). In the present exemplary embodiment, checked are the stored key amounts (remaining amounts) of random number sequences K1a, K2a, and Kc of the remote nodes RN-A1, RN-A2, and RN-C. If at least one of the remaining amounts of the random number sequences K1a, K2a, and Kc is not larger than a required amount of a remote key (Step 302: NO), the key management server 30 instructs the center node 10a/10c to start a key generation process for the remote node corresponding to the insufficient stored key amount (Step S303). At this instruction, the control section 105 of the center node 10a/10c carries out the key generation process for the remote node in question. Wherein the first node notifies the one of the different second nodes of information identifying the to-be-shared cryptographic key, and transmits the other of the different second nodes the to-be-shared cryptographic key encrypted using a cryptographic key generated with the other of the different second nodes. See also par. 0035, 0039-0040 and 0122).
Regarding claim 11, Maeda and Zheng disclose the management apparatus according to claim 10,
Maeda further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions stored in the at least one memory to, when there is, in the cryptographic key management information, no cryptographic key corresponding to the communication source identification information and the communication destination identification information designated in the request, specify (Maeda par. 0043; For example, in a N:M QKD network, cryptographic key management for each remote node can be easily performed only by monitoring the amounts of quantum keys stored at a center node 10. See also par. 0082 and 0122).
Zheng further discloses a cryptographic key to be distributed to the terminal apparatus by associating the communication source identification information and the communication destination identification information with a cryptographic key selected from the plurality of cryptographic keys (Zheng par. 0085; The method continues at step 165 where the arbitration module 54 accesses the rule set section 162 based on the interpreted request to retrieve a rule of the set of rules. Note that a rule of the set of rules includes an algorithm section that identifies one or more valid algorithms, a destination section that identifies a valid destination, and a content section that identifies a valid privileged data type. See also par. 0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Zheng with the method and system of Maeda, wherein a request for the cryptographic key issued from the terminal apparatus, in which request, communication source identification information and communication destination identification information are designated to provide users with a means for securing data and, more particularly, techniques for storing and providing access to cryptographic keys and other secret values used to secure data (Zheng par. 0004).
Regarding claim 12, Maeda and Zheng disclose the management apparatus according to claim 10,
Maeda further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions stored in the at least one memory to, when there is, in the cryptographic key management information, a cryptographic key corresponding to the communication source identification information and the communication destination identification information designated in the request, specify the corresponding cryptographic key as a cryptographic key to be distributed to the terminal apparatus (Maeda par. 0043; For example, in a N:M QKD network, cryptographic key management for each remote node can be easily performed only by monitoring the amounts of quantum keys stored at a center node 10. See also par. 0082 and 0122).
Zheng further discloses a cryptographic key to be distributed to the terminal apparatus by associating the communication source identification information and the communication destination identification information with a cryptographic key selected from the plurality of cryptographic keys (Zheng par. 0085; The method continues at step 165 where the arbitration module 54 accesses the rule set section 162 based on the interpreted request to retrieve a rule of the set of rules. Note that a rule of the set of rules includes an algorithm section that identifies one or more valid algorithms, a destination section that identifies a valid destination, and a content section that identifies a valid privileged data type. See also par. 0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Zheng with the method and system of Maeda, wherein a request for the cryptographic key issued from the terminal apparatus, in which request, communication source identification information and communication destination identification information are designated to provide users with a means for securing data and, more particularly, techniques for storing and providing access to cryptographic keys and other secret values used to secure data (Zheng par. 0004).
Regarding claim 13, Maeda and Zheng disclose the management apparatus according to claim 10,
Maeda further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions stored in the at least one memory to share the cryptographic key management information with another management apparatus accommodating another terminal apparatus (Maeda abstract; A cryptographic key management method and device are provided by which cryptographic keys of multiple nodes can be managed easily and stably. A system includes at least one first node and a plurality of second nodes connected to the first node, and the first node individually generates and consumes a cryptographic key with each of the second nodes connected to the first node itself).
Regarding claim 14, Maeda and Zheng disclose the management apparatus according to claim 13,
Maeda further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions stored in the at least one memory to, when the cryptographic key management information is updated, notify the other management apparatus of the updating of the cryptographic key management information (Maeda par. 0009; It is required to update a cryptographic key shared between a sending side and a receiving side. When updating a key, it is absolutely necessary that the key to be updated should not be intercepted or broken. To this end, there are two broad types of methods: (1) a method by which a key is encrypted by means of public key encryption and then transmitted, and (2) a method by which a key is encrypted by using a master key, which is a common key preset for key update, and then transmitted).
Regarding claim 15, Maeda and Zheng disclose the management apparatus according to claim 14,
Maeda further discloses wherein in the cryptographic key management information, the cryptographic key is associated with cryptographic key identification information, and the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions stored in the at least one memory to transmit, as the notification, the cryptographic key identification information ((Maeda par. 0043; For example, in a N:M QKD network, cryptographic key management for each remote node can be easily performed only by monitoring the amounts of quantum keys stored at a center node 10. See also par. 0082 and 0122).
Zheng further discloses the communication source identification information, and the communication destination identification information (Zheng par. 0085; The method continues at step 165 where the arbitration module 54 accesses the rule set section 162 based on the interpreted request to retrieve a rule of the set of rules. Note that a rule of the set of rules includes an algorithm section that identifies one or more valid algorithms, a destination section that identifies a valid destination, and a content section that identifies a valid privileged data type. See also par. 0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Zheng with the method and system of Maeda, wherein a request for the cryptographic key issued from the terminal apparatus, in which request, communication source identification information and communication destination identification information are designated to provide users with a means for securing data and, more particularly, techniques for storing and providing access to cryptographic keys and other secret values used to secure data (Zheng par. 0004).
Regarding claim 16, Maeda and Zheng disclose the management apparatus according to claim 15,
Maeda further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions stored in the at least one memory to, when the sharing means receives the notification, update the cryptographic key management information according to the cryptographic key identification information (Maeda par. 0009; It is required to update a cryptographic key shared between a sending side and a receiving side. When updating a key, it is absolutely necessary that the key to be updated should not be intercepted or broken. To this end, there are two broad types of methods: (1) a method by which a key is encrypted by means of public key encryption and then transmitted, and (2) a method by which a key is encrypted by using a master key, which is a common key preset for key update, and then transmitted).
Zheng further discloses the communication source identification information, and the communication destination identification information (Zheng par. 0085; The method continues at step 165 where the arbitration module 54 accesses the rule set section 162 based on the interpreted request to retrieve a rule of the set of rules. Note that a rule of the set of rules includes an algorithm section that identifies one or more valid algorithms, a destination section that identifies a valid destination, and a content section that identifies a valid privileged data type. See also par. 0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Zheng with the method and system of Maeda, wherein a request for the cryptographic key issued from the terminal apparatus, in which request, communication source identification information and communication destination identification information are designated to provide users with a means for securing data and, more particularly, techniques for storing and providing access to cryptographic keys and other secret values used to secure data (Zheng par. 0004).
Regarding claim 17, Maeda and Zheng disclose the management apparatus according to claim 10,
Maeda further discloses wherein in the cryptographic key management information, the cryptographic key is associated with a history of distribution of a communication source and a communication destination to the terminal apparatus (Maeda par. 0037; Alternatively, with a key management table storing the stored key amounts monitored by the stored key amount monitor 31, the key management control section 32 may perform key generation control while referring to the key management table).
Regarding claim 18; claim 18 is directed to a system associated with the apparatus claimed in claim 8. Claim 18 is similar in scope to claim 8, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale respectively.
Regarding claim 20; claim 20 is directed to a method associated with the apparatus claimed in claim 8. Claim 20 is similar in scope to claim 8, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale respectively.
Conclusion
/SANCHIT K SARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495