DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is directed to a “computer readable storage device” but the specification does not explicitly exclude transitory signals. Examiner suggests amending the claim to recite “non-transitory computer readable medium”.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims are drawn to an apparatus, but the claim fails to recite any structure. The recited neural networks are really software implemented, and “software per se” is not statutory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. The claims are drawn to an apparatus but fail to recite any structure and the metes and bounds of a structure for implementing the software (neural network) are not clear from the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1.1
With regard to claim 1, D1 teach apparatus for ultra-low-dose (ULD) computed tomography (CT) reconstruction (see fig. 1, 11, ¶ 76), the apparatus comprising: a low dimensional estimation neural network configured to receive sparse sinogram data, and to reconstruct a low dimensional estimated image based, at least in part, on the sparse sinogram data (see fig. 9: shows coarse resolution inputs into a neural network for outputting an enhanced resolution image; fig. 11: algorithm to receive a sinogram and using a neural network for sparse-view reconstructions); a high dimensional refinement neural network configured to receive the sparse sinogram data and intermediate image data, and to reconstruct a relatively high resolution CT image data, wherein the intermediate image data is related to the low dimensional estimated image (see fig. 9: coarse resolution inputs into a neural network for outputting an enhanced resolution image; Fig. 11 show an algorithm to receive a sinogram and using a neural network for sparse-view reconstructions; Fig. 21 shows versions of the algorithm that uses the sinogram run through a neural network to create a coarse [sparse] resolution reconstruction, which can be used with the original sinogram [related to sparse sinogram data] through a different neural network to reconstruct an enhanced [higher resolution] image).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teach wherein each neural network comprises an image reconstruction module (RM), a deep estimation module (DM), and an error correction module (EM) (see ¶¶ 49, 72-73: reconstruction module; see ¶ 58, fig. 9: new DNN architecture, referred to herein as an "H-net", is introduced. The H-net provides improvements in medical image analysis, and in particular medical image signal recovery; fig. 9: H-net 900 combines two deep image-to-image networks; see ¶ 63: error correction).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teach wherein each neural network is configured to implement a split-Bregman technique (see ¶¶ 80, 87: split Bregman algorithm).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teach further comprising a filtered back projection (FBP) module configured to produce an FBP output based, at least in part, on the sparse sinogram data, the low dimensional estimated image reconstructed based, at least in part, on the FBP output (see fig. 9: shows coarse resolution inputs into a neural network for outputting an enhanced resolution image; Fig. 11 show an algorithm to receive a sinogram and using a neural network for sparse-view reconstructions; Fig. 21 shows versions of the algorithm that uses the sinogram run through a neural network to create a coarse [sparse] resolution reconstruction, which can be used with the original sinogram [related to sparse sinogram data] through a different neural network to reconstruct an enhanced [higher resolution] image; see also ¶¶ 69, 72, 81: back projection module).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teach further comprising an up-sampling module configured to produce the intermediate image data based, at least in part, on the low dimensional estimated image (see fig. 9, ¶¶ 58, 60-61).
With regard to claim 6, D1 teach wherein the low dimensional estimation neural network and the high dimensional refinement neural network are trained based, at least in part, on normal dose (ND) CT image data (see ¶¶ 63, 76, 97, 108: training data including training input images and
corresponding ground truth output images).
With regard to claims 8 and 14, see discussion of claim 1.
With regard to claims 9-13, see discussion of claims 2-6, respectively.
With regard to claim 15-19, see discussion of corresponding claims 2-6.
With regard to claim 20, see discussion of claim 1.
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AVINASH YENTRAPATI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672
1 US Publication No. 2021/0035338.