DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a device interface in communication with the device controller”. At that point in the claim, the device controller has not been recited, and thus the article identifier should be changed to “a”.
Claim 4 recites “calculate an available output level based the difference”. The word “on” appears to be missing between the words “based” and “the”.
Claim 19 recites “calculate an available output level based the difference between the maximum output level”. The word “on” appears to be missing between the words “based” and “the”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“powered adjustment device” in at least claim 1;
“apparatus user interface” in at least claim 1;
“apparatus controller” in at least claim 1;
“apparatus interface” in at least claim 1;
“device user interface” in at least claim 1;
“device interface” in at least claim 1;
“device controller” in at least claim 1; and
“module” in at least claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “powered adjustment device”, “apparatus user interface”, “apparatus controller”, “apparatus interface”, “device user interface”, “device interface”, “device controller” and “module” as recited in at least claim 1 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The term “powered adjustment device” is broadly defined in Paragraph [0011] of the specification with the ability “to adjust a height of the intermediate frame relative to the base frame”. As no specific structure is related to this function, any prior art that performs the function of “adjusting a height of an intermediate frame relative to a base frame” will be seen as anticipating the claimed “powered adjustment device”.
The term “apparatus user interface” is broadly defined in Paragraph [0013] of the specification as being “arranged for user engagement to selectively operate the powered adjustment device with power from the energy storage unit”. As no specific structure is related to this function, any prior art that allows for user engagement to selectively operate the powered adjustment device will be seen as anticipating the claimed “apparatus user interface”.
The term “apparatus controller” is broadly defined in Paragraph [0010] of the specification as communicating with the apparatus interface, and in electrical communication with a device controller. As no specific structure is related to these functions, any prior art that provides such will be seen as anticipating the claimed ‘apparatus controller’.
The term “apparatus interface” is broadly defined in at least Paragraph [0010] of the Specification as being “adapted to … facilitate power transfer”. As no specific structure is related to this function, any prior art that allows for power transfer will be seen as anticipating the claimed ‘apparatus interface’.
The term “device user interface” is broadly defined in Paragraph [0010] of the specification as being “arranged for user engagement to selectively operate the powered adjustment device with power from the device energy storage unit”. As no specific structure is related to this function, any prior art that allows for user engagement to selectively operate the powered adjustment device will be seen as anticipating the claimed “device user interface”.
The term “device interface” is broadly defined in at least Paragraph [0009] of the Specification as being “adapted to … facilitate power transfer”. As no specific structure is related to this function, any prior art that allows for power transfer will be seen as anticipating the claimed ‘device interface’.
The term “device controller” is broadly defined in Paragraph [0008] of the specification as communicating with the apparatus interface, and in electrical communication with a device user interface. As no specific structure is related to these functions, any prior art that provides such will be seen as anticipating the claimed ‘device controller’.
The term “module” is broadly defined by the claim language “to perform a powered function”. As no specific structure is related to this function, any prior art that provides such will be seen as anticipating the claimed ‘module’.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f);
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furman et al (US 2018/0369036) in view of Cockrill (US 5,149,030).
As concerns claim 1, Furman discloses a patient support system comprising:
a patient transport apparatus including:
a base frame (Furman - 24) arranged for movement about floor surfaces,
an intermediate frame (Furman - 30) to provide support to a patient,
a powered adjustment device (Furman - 502),
an apparatus energy storage unit (Furman - 506),
an apparatus user interface (Furman - 760) arranged for user engagement to selectively operate the powered adjustment device (Furman - 502) with power from the energy storage unit,
an apparatus controller (Furman – 504a) in electrical communication with the powered adjustment device (Furman - 502), the apparatus energy storage unit (Furman - 506), and the apparatus user interface (Furman - 760), and
an apparatus interface (Furman - interface shown in Figure 14 between 504 and 506 or any of the controllers 510. 762) in communication with the apparatus controller (Furman - 504); and
a powered device (Furman – 502) including:
a module (Furman – Figure 14 illustrates actuators and detectors which provide powered functionality) to perform a powered function,
a device energy storage unit (Furman - 506),
a device user interface (Furman - 512, 510) arranged for user engagement to selectively operate the module with power from the device energy storage unit (Furman - 506),
a device interface (Furman - Figure 14, connection between 512 / 510 and 504, 506, etc) in communication with the device controller (Furman – 504b), the device interface (Furman - Figure 14) adapted to cooperate with the apparatus interface (Furman - interface shown in Figure 14 between 504 and 506 or any of the controllers 510. 762) to facilitate power transfer from the apparatus energy storage unit (Furman - 506) to the device energy storage unit (Furman - 506).
a device controller (Furman – 504b) in electrical communication with the module (any of elements including actuators and detectors that use power of Figure 14), the device energy storage unit (Furman - 506), and the device user interface.
Furman fails to specify wherein the device controller further comprises a power module configured to determine a charging level for the device energy storage unit (Furman - 506) based on a current state of the apparatus energy storage unit (Furman - 506), and to draw power from the apparatus energy storage unit (Furman - 506) via the apparatus interface (Furman - interface shown in Figure 14 between 504 and 506 or any of the controllers 510. 762) and across the device interface (Furman - Figure 14) to charge the device energy storage unit (Furman - 506) at the charging level.
Cockrill (US 5,149,030) however teaches a patient support system (Cockerill – 10), comprising a device controller (Cockerill - 88) in electrical communication with a module (Cockerill – any of the life support systems onboard requiring power), a device energy storage unit (Cockerill - 72), and a device user interface (84), wherein the device controller further includes a power module (Cockerill – 88, specifically a Potter Brumfield 25 amp contactor) configured to determine a charging level for the device energy storage unit (Cockerill - 72) based on a current state of the apparatus energy storage unit (Cockerill – AC power, as needed), and to draw power from the apparatus energy storage unit (Cockerill – AC power, as needed) via an apparatus interface (Cockerill - 86) and across the device interface (Cockerill – “charging circuit”) to charge the device energy storage unit (Cockerill - 72) at the charging level, for the purpose of maintain operational capacity of the neonatal life-support systems and simultaneously charging the battery system. (Cockerill - Column 3, Line 59 – Column 4, Line 16.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Furman as taught by Cockrill to obtain the invention as specified in the claim, to include the device controller of Cockrill that allows for power switching and charging between devices, for the expected benefit of providing continuous medical equipment functionality by using multiple available power sources as best suited to the task.
As concerns claim 2, the combination discloses the patient support system of claim 1, wherein the apparatus interface (Furman - interface shown in Figure 14 between 504 and 506 or any of the controllers 510, 762) includes a transmit element and the device interface (Furman - Figure 14) includes a receive element to facilitate power transfer between the patient transport apparatus and the powered device (Furman - 502). (The wired diagram of figure 14 of Furman appears to obviate that, at some point along the connecting line, there are respective receiving and transmitting elements that connect and transfer power.)
As concerns claim 5, the combination discloses the patient support system of claim 1, wherein the apparatus controller (Furman – 504a) is disposed in electrical communication with the device controller (Furman – 504b) (Furman – Figure 14); and
wherein the apparatus controller (Furman - 504) is further configured to monitor the current state of the apparatus energy storage unit (Furman - 506), and to transmit the current state to the power module of the device controller (Furman – 504b). (Furman – Paragraph [0100] discloses wherein such information can be displayed, which would require the monitoring and transmitting as claimed.)
As concerns claim 6, the combination discloses the patient support system of claim 1, wherein the powered device (Furman - 502) is further defined as an accessory device configured to removably couple to the patient transport apparatus. (Furman – the litter, powered device, detaches from the base; noted in at least Paragraph [0044])
As concerns claim 7, the combination discloses the patient support system of claim 1, wherein the powered adjustment device (Furman - 502) is further defined as a base lift device configured to adjust a height of the intermediate frame (Furman - 30) relative to the base frame (Furman - 24). (Furman – Figure 14)
As concerns claim 8, the combination discloses the patient support system of claim 6, wherein the apparatus interface (Furman - interface shown in Figure 14 between 504 and 506 or any of the controllers 510. 762) includes a transmit element and the device interface (Furman - Figure 14) includes a receive element to facilitate power transfer between the patient transport apparatus and the accessory device. (The wired diagram of figure 14 of Furman appears to obviate that, at some point along the connecting line, there are respective receiving and transmitting elements that connect and transfer power.)
As concerns claim 9, the combination discloses the patient support system of claim 1, wherein the powered device (Furman - 502) is further defined as a litter (Furman – at least 22) adapted for releasable attachment to the intermediate frame (Furman - 30) of the patient transport apparatus, the litter including a plurality of articulable assemblies defining a patient support surface. (Furman – at least Figures 1 and 14)
As concerns claim 10, the combination discloses the patient support system of claim 9, wherein the apparatus interface (Furman - interface shown in Figure 14 between 504 and 506 or any of the controllers 510. 762) includes a transmit element and the device interface (Furman - Figure 14) of the litter includes a receive element to facilitate power transfer between the patient transport apparatus and the litter. (The wired diagram of figure 14 of Furman appears to obviate that, at some point along the connecting line, there are respective receiving and transmitting elements that connect and transfer power.)
As concerns claim 12, the combination discloses the patient support system of claim 1, wherein the apparatus controller (Furman - 504) is disposed in electrical communication with the device controller (Furman – 504b); and
wherein the powered device (Furman - 502) further includes:
a wireless subsystem in electrical communication with the device controller (Furman – 504b), and a wireless communication module operable to wirelessly transfer data and to provide, through the wireless communication module, wireless communication between the device controller (Furman – 504b) and the apparatus controller (Furman - 504). (Furman – Paragraphs [0069], and [0119] disclose wherein such wireless communication is incorporated; as the function of wireless transfer of data is disclosed, the claimed wireless subsystem and wireless communication module are understood to be anticipated.)
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furman in view of Cockrill and further in view of Lambarth et al (US 10,561,551).
As concerns claim 3, the combination discloses the patient support system of claim 2, however fails to specify wherein the transmit element and receive element are coils.
Lambarth et al (US 10,561,551) however teaches a patient support system comprising recharging circuits, wherein the transmit element is further defined as a transmit coil and the receive element is further defined as a receive coil (Abstract) for the purpose of inductively transmitting power.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the combination as taught by Lambarth to include transmit and receive coils for the expected benefit of being able to inductively transmit power rather than merely over hardline connections, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
As concerns claim 11, the combination discloses the patient support system of claim 10, however fails to specify wherein the transmit element and receive element are coils.
Lambarth et al (US 10,561,551) however teaches a patient support system comprising recharging circuits, wherein the transmit element is further defined as a transmit coil and the receive element is further defined as a receive coil (Abstract) for the purpose of inductively transmitting power.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the combination as taught by Lambarth to include transmit and receive coils for the expected benefit of being able to inductively transmit power rather than merely over hardline connections, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furman in view of Cockrill and further in view of Derenne et al (US 11,806,296).
As concerns claim 4, the combination discloses the patient support system of claim 1, wherein the current state of the apparatus energy storage unit (Furman - 506) includes a current output level.
The combination fails to specify wherein the power module is configured to determine a max output level, calculate available output, and adjust the power drawn.
Derenne et al (US 11,806,296) however teaches a patient support system comprising an energy storage unit (“battery”),
wherein the power module is further configured to:
determine a maximum output level of the apparatus energy storage unit (Derenne – BT1), calculate an available output level (BC) based the difference between the maximum output level and the current output level, and adjust the power drawn from the apparatus energy storage unit (“battery”) from the apparatus interface (interface between battery and controller 162 and the drive system 78) based on the available output level of the apparatus energy storage unit (battery), used for the purpose of preventing operational use when insufficient battery charge is available. (Derenne – Column 23, Line 41 to Column 24, Line 36)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the combination as taught by Derenne et al to include the power level monitoring for the expected benefit of providing safety limits to powered functions of the patient support apparatus such that a partial movement would not be initiated without sufficient energy to finish said movement, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furman in view of Cockrill and Derenne and further in view of Magill et al (US 9,999,555).
As concerns claim 13, the combination discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 12, however fails to specify wherein the wireless subsystem is a CAN subsystem.
Magill et al (US 9,999,555) however teaches wherein a patient transport apparatus comprises a wireless subsystem is further defined as a controller area network (CAN) subsystem for the purpose of transmitting and receiving communication signals between devices. (Magill – Column 9, Lines 1-10)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the combination as taught by Magill to include a CAN subsystem as the wireless subsystem, for the expected benefit of providing communication between various control systems, obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furman, Cockrill, Derenne and Magill and further in view of Walton et al (US 10,561,549).
As concerns claim 14, the combination discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 13, however fails to specify wherein the wireless communication module is configured to operate according to a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) protocol.
Walton et al (US 10,561,549) teaches wherein BLE protocol is equated to various other protocols named by Applicant in the specification, for the purpose of providing wireless transmission using all available wireless communication methods. (Walton - Column 5, Line 54 to Column 6, Line 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the combination as further taught by Walton, to include BLE protocol as a communication protocol, for the expected benefit of providing wireless transmission using any and available wireless communication methods, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furman in view of Hood et al (US 5,975,081) and Cockrill.
As concerns claim 15, Furman discloses a patient support system comprising:
a patient transport apparatus including:
a base frame (Furman - 24) arranged for movement about floor surfaces,
an intermediate frame (Furman - 30) to provide support to a patient,
a powered adjustment device (Furman - 502),
an apparatus energy storage unit (Furman - 506),
an apparatus user interface (Furman - 760) arranged for user engagement to selectively operate the powered adjustment device (Furman - 502) with power from the energy storage unit,
an apparatus controller (Furman – 504a) in electrical communication with the powered adjustment device (Furman - 502), the apparatus energy storage unit (Furman - 506), and the apparatus user interface (Furman - 760), and
an apparatus interface (Furman - interface shown in Figure 14 between 504 and 506 or any of the controllers 510. 762) in communication with the apparatus controller (Furman - 504); and
a powered device (Furman – 502) including:
a module (Furman – Figure 14 illustrates actuators and detectors which provide powered functionality) to perform a powered function,
a device energy storage unit (Furman - 506),
a device user interface (Furman - 512, 510) arranged for user engagement to selectively operate the module with power from the device energy storage unit (Furman - 506),
a device interface (Furman - Figure 14, connection between 512 / 510 and 504, 506, etc) in communication with the device controller (Furman – 504b), the device interface (Furman - Figure 14) adapted to cooperate with the apparatus interface (Furman - interface shown in Figure 14 between 504 and 506 or any of the controllers 510. 762) to facilitate power transfer from the apparatus energy storage unit (Furman - 506) to the device energy storage unit (Furman - 506).
a device controller (Furman – 504b) in electrical communication with the module (any of elements including actuators and detectors that use power of Figure 14), the device energy storage unit (Furman - 506), and the device user interface.
Furman fails to specify multiple powered devices each with their own associated device energy storage systems, etc., or wherein the device controller further comprises a power module configured to determine a charging level for the device energy storage unit based on a current state of the apparatus energy storage unit, and to draw power from the apparatus energy storage unit via the apparatus interface and across the device interface to charge the device energy storage unit at the charging level.
Furman does, however, disclose the use of multiple powered devices (Figure 14, see elements 502).
Hood et al (US 5,975,081) discloses the inclusion of several independent systems incorporated on a patient support apparatus, comprising independent energy storage, interface, and controllers for the purpose of balancing power requirements while maintaining patient stabilization. (Hood - at least Column 24, Line 3 to Line 26)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Furman as taught by Hood to include the related elements of a device controller, energy storage and interface, for the expected benefit of providing optimum patient stabilization while several independent systems are functioning, during use, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
Cockrill (US 5,149,030) however teaches a patient support system (Cockerill – 10), comprising a device controller (Cockerill - 88) in electrical communication with a module (Cockerill – any of the life support systems onboard requiring power), a device energy storage unit (Cockerill - 72), and a device user interface (84), wherein the device controller further includes a power module (Cockerill – 88, specifically a Potter Brumfield 25 amp contactor) configured to determine a charging level for the device energy storage unit (Cockerill - 72) based on a current state of the apparatus energy storage unit (Cockerill – AC power, as needed), and to draw power from the apparatus energy storage unit (Cockerill – AC power, as needed) via an apparatus interface (Cockerill - 86) and across the device interface (Cockerill – “charging circuit”) to charge the device energy storage unit (Cockerill - 72) at the charging level, for the purpose of maintain operational capacity of the neonatal life-support systems and simultaneously charging the battery system. (Cockerill - Column 3, Line 59 – Column 4, Line 16.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Furman as taught by Cockrill to obtain the invention as specified in the claim, to include the device controller of Cockrill that allows for power switching and charging between devices, for the expected benefit of providing continuous medical equipment functionality by using multiple available power sources as best suited to the task.
As concerns claim 16, the combination discloses the patient support system of claim 15, wherein the apparatus interface (Furman - interface shown in Figure 14 between 504 and 506 or any of the controllers 510. 762) includes a transmit element, the first device interface (Furman - Figure 14) includes a first receive element, and the second device interface (Furman - Figure 14) includes a second receive element, wherein the transmit element and the first and second receive elements are configured to facilitate power transfer between the patient transport apparatus and the first and second powered devices (Hood - Column 24, Line 3 to Line 26), respectively. (The wired diagram of figure 14 of Furman appears to obviate that, at some point along the connecting line, there are respective receiving and transmitting elements that connect and transfer power. This, in conjunction with the teachings of Hood and Cockrill appear to anticipate the claimed power transference.)
As concerns claim 17, the combination discloses the patient support system of claim 16, wherein the transmit element and at least one of the first receive element and the second receive element are adapted to cooperate such that power may be supplied from the patient transport apparatus to the first and second powered devices (Hood – At least Figure 42).
As concerns claim 18, the combination discloses the patient support system of claim 16, wherein the apparatus interface (Furman - interface shown in Figure 14 between 504 and 506 or any of the controllers 510. 762) includes a second transmit element, different from the first transmit element, to transfer power independent of the first transmit element. (Furman illustrates multiple connection paths in Figure 14; Hood similarly depicts multiple connection paths in Figure 33.)
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furman, Hood and Cockrill further in view of Derenne .
As concerns claim 19, the combination discloses the patient support system of claim 15, wherein the current state of the apparatus energy storage unit (Furman - 506) includes a current output level;
The combination fails to specify wherein the power module is configured to determine a max output level, calculate available output, and adjust the power drawn.
Derenne et al (US 11,806,296) however teaches a patient support system comprising an energy storage unit (“battery”),
wherein the power module is further configured to:
determine a maximum output level of the apparatus energy storage unit (Derenne – BT1), calculate an available output level (BC) based the difference between the maximum output level and the current output level, and adjust the power drawn from the apparatus energy storage unit (“battery”) from the apparatus interface (interface between battery and controller 162 and the drive system 78) based on the available output level of the apparatus energy storage unit (battery), used for the purpose of preventing operational use when insufficient battery charge is available. (Derenne – Column 23, Line 41 to Column 24, Line 36)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the combination as taught by Derenne et al to include the power level monitoring for the expected benefit of providing safety limits to powered functions of the patient support apparatus such that a partial movement would not be initiated without sufficient energy to finish said movement, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
As concerns claim 20, the combination discloses the patient support system of claim 19, wherein the apparatus controller (Furman – 504 / Derenne – 162 / Hood - Column 24, Line 3 to Line 26) is configured to distribute the power between the first and second powered devices (Furman – 502) based on the available output level of the apparatus energy storage unit (Furman - 506).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/AARON L LEMBO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3679