DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features in the claims, i.e., communicating based on beam selection, the communicating comprising at least one of transmitting and receiving a random access message by the wireless device, the beam selection being based on monitoring for reference signaling in a first resource space, the first resource space being associated to a second resource space associated to reception of a random access message. must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Akkarakaran fails to disclose or suggest “communicating based on beam selection, communicating comprising at least one of transmitting and receiving a random access message by the wireless device.”
In contrast to applicant’s assertions, Akkarakaran teaches, in paragraph 77-81 and Fig. 8, selecting a beam and perform random access procedure using the beam.
Applicant’s claim does not further disclose what it mean by communicating based on beam selection. Does it mean using the beam selected using beam selection for communication or communication during the beam selection procedure. If it is a communication during the beam selection procedure then which beam is used for the communication.
Applicant further argues that Li fails to disclose or suggest “communicating based on beam selection, communicating comprising at least one of transmitting and receiving a random access message by the wireless device.”
In contrast to applicant’s assertions, Li teaches, in Fig. 1 and paragraph 6, utilizing a beam selected to transmit control message then perform random access procedure and the random access procedure is using the selected beam since Li does not mention the beam is reselected for random access procedure. As mentioned above, the claims do not further explain “communicating based on beam selection.” Therefore, Li also reads on the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12, 14-16 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2020/0404700 A1).
Consider claim 1, Li teaches a method of operating a wireless device in a wireless communication network (Fig. 1 and paragraph 6), the method comprising:
communicating based on beam selection (paragraph 6, utilizing a beam selected from a set of beams), the communicating comprising at least one of transmitting and receiving a random access message by the wireless device (paragraph 8, performing a random access procedure may comprise transmitting and receiving a random access (RA) message to the RAN and/or network node), the beam selection being based on monitoring for reference signaling in a first resource space (paragraph 14, the beam is selected based on reference signaling… the reference signaling and/or system information signaling may be associated to radio link monitoring), the first resource space being associated to a second resource space associated to reception of a random access message (paragraph 15-16, the message may indicate the same preamble or set of preambles, and/or may indicate different preambles… using different preamble may allow associating the RA messages from the UE with control messages. And a preamble, or set of preambles, may be associated with specific resources, e.g. time/frequency resources…).
Consider claims 2 and 12, claims 2 and 12 having similar limitation as claim 1, therefore, claims 2 and 12 are rejected for the same reasons claim 1 is rejected.
Consider claims 3 and 14, Li also teaches wherein the reference signaling is associated to a random access message (paragraph 17, a random access procedure may comprise transmitting a RA message utilizing a random access preamble, wherein the preamble may be based on a beam on which the control message was received).
Consider claims 4 and 15, Li also teaches wherein the reference signaling is associated to a random access message intended for a second wireless device (paragraph 60, different types of reference signaling may be considered, e.g. pertaining to uplink, downlink or sidelink).
Consider claims 5 and 16, Li also teaches wherein communicating based on beam selection comprises using one or both of a reception beam and a transmission beam based on the beam selection (paragraph 6, the control message is transmitted utilizing a beam selected from a set of beams).
Consider claims 8 and 19, Li also teaches wherein communicating comprises transmitting one or both data signaling and control signaling by the wireless device (paragraph 74, acknowledgement signaling, e.g. as a form of control information or signaling like uplink control information/signaling, may be transmitted by a terminal on a PUCCH).
Consider claims 9-10 and 20-21, Li also teaches wherein the wireless device has a beam link to the wireless communication network when monitoring for the reference signaling and wherein the wireless device is connected to the wireless communication network when monitoring for the reference signaling (paragraph 14, the reference signaling and/or system information signaling may be associated to radio link monitoring).
Consider claim 11, Li also teaches wherein communicating comprises receiving one or both data signaling and control signaling by the wireless device using a reception beam based on the beam selection (paragraph 6, receiving ,from a network node, a control message indicating the user equipment to perform a random access procedure, wherein the control message is transmitted utilizing a beam selected from a set of beams).
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12, 14-16 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Akkarakaran et al. (US 2019/0029049 A1).
Consider claim 1, Akkarakaran teaches a method of operating a wireless device in a wireless communication network (Abstract), the method comprising:
communicating based on beam selection (paragraph 77, beam selection), the communicating comprising at least one of transmitting and receiving a random access message by the wireless device (Fig. 8 and paragraph 75, the Msg1 and Msg2), the beam selection being based on monitoring for reference signaling in a first resource space (paragraph 78, beam selected based on a SS beam, e.g., one of the swept beams with a corresponding SS having the best receive quality), the first resource space being associated to a second resource space associated to reception of a random access message (paragraph 78, transit Msg1 using a beam selected. A beam is a resource therefore, a set of beams is a resource space).
Consider claims 2 and 12, claims 2 and 12 having similar limitation as claim 1, therefore, claims 2 and 12 are rejected for the same reasons claim 1 is rejected.
Consider claims 3 and 14, Akkarakaran also teaches wherein the reference signaling is associated to a random access message (paragraph 93).
Consider claims 4 and 15, Akkarakaran also teaches wherein the reference signaling is associated to a random access message intended for a second wireless device (paragraph 93).
Consider claims 5 and 16, Akkarakaran also teaches wherein communicating based on beam selection comprises using one or both of a reception beam and a transmission beam based on the beam selection (paragraph 72, communication using beams).
Consider claims 8 and 19, Akkarakaran also teaches wherein communicating comprises transmitting one or both data signaling and control signaling by the wireless device (Fig. 8 and paragraph 75, Msg1 and Msg3).
Consider claims 9-10 and 20-21, Akkarakaran also teaches wherein the wireless device has a beam link to the wireless communication network when monitoring for the reference signaling and wherein the wireless device is connected to the wireless communication network when monitoring for the reference signaling (paragraph 73, a connection is established when the UE monitors for a reference signal).
Consider claim 11, Akkarakaran also teaches wherein communicating comprises receiving one or both data signaling and control signaling by the wireless device using a reception beam based on the beam selection (paragraph 72, communication using beams and Fig. 8 and paragraph 75, Msg1 and Msg3).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644 5/7/26