DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0208617 A1 (Kita).
Kita discloses, referring primarily to figures 1 & 2, a circuit structure (1) that is for a vehicle ([0042]) and includes a circuit element (15) having a plurality of terminals (19, 20), the circuit structure comprising: an insulating plate member (10), the circuit element being mounted on one surface of the insulating plate member; and a first heat dissipation plate member (16) provided on the other surface of the insulating plate member, wherein the insulating plate member is provided with a first through hole (17B) in which a first busbar (12) connected to a first terminal (19) of the circuit element is housed, and the first busbar is in contact with the first heat dissipation plate member ([0059]) [claim 1], wherein the insulating plate member is provided with a second through hole (17A), and the first heat dissipation plate member is exposed from the one surface side of the insulating plate member through the second through hole [claim 2], wherein the insulating plate member is provided with a recessed portion in which a second busbar (11) connected to a second terminal of the circuit element is installed, on the one surface ([0054]) [claim 9], wherein the insulating plate member is provided with a recessed portion (17A) in which a second busbar (11) connected to a second terminal of the circuit element is installed, on the one surface ([0054]) [claim 3].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kita in view of US 2017/0079132 A1 (Bayerer).
Regarding claim 8, Kita discloses the claimed invention as described above with respect to claim 1 except Kita does not specifically discloses that the first heat dissipation plate member has electric conductivity [claim 8]. However, it is well known in the art to form a metal heat sink to be electrically conductive as evidenced by Bayerer ([0048]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to use an electrically conductive metal heat sink as the metal heat sink in the invention of Kita as is known in the art and evidenced by Bayerer. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a common ground for the device to avoid unwanted shorting (Bayerer [0064]).
Regarding claim 12, Kita discloses the claimed invention as described above with respect to claim 2 except Kita does not specifically discloses that the first heat dissipation plate member has electric conductivity [claim 12]. However, it is well known in the art to form a metal heat sink to be electrically conductive as evidenced by Bayerer ([0048]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to use an electrically conductive metal heat sink as the metal heat sink in the invention of Kita as is known in the art and evidenced by Bayerer. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a common ground for the device to avoid unwanted shorting (Bayerer [0064]).
Regarding claim 13, Kita discloses the claimed invention as described above with respect to claim 3 except Kita does not specifically discloses that the first heat dissipation plate member has electric conductivity [claim 13]. However, it is well known in the art to form a metal heat sink to be electrically conductive as evidenced by Bayerer ([0048]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to use an electrically conductive metal heat sink as the metal heat sink in the invention of Kita as is known in the art and evidenced by Bayerer. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a common ground for the device to avoid unwanted shorting (Bayerer [0064]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 10, 11, and 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 11 states the limitation “an insulating thread is interposed between the first heat dissipation plate member and the second heat dissipation plate member on the other surface of the insulating plate member.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art. Claims 4, 10, and 14 state the limitation “a rib provided along an edge of the third through hole protrudes from the other surface of the insulating plate member, and the first heat dissipation plate member is provided with a fitting through hole to which the rib is internally fitted.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art. Claims 5 and 15 state the limitation “wherein the first terminal radiates a larger amount of heat than the second terminal during an operation of the circuit element.” This Claim 6, 7, 16, and 17 state the limitation “an insulating thread is interposed between the first heat dissipation plate member and the second heat dissipation plate member on the other surface of the insulating plate member.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
JEREMY C. NORRIS
Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/JEREMY C NORRIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847