DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7 are pending. Note that, Applicant’s response filed February 6, 2026, has been entered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to instant claim 1, this claim is vague and indefinite in that claim is drawn to a method of utilizing a compound; however, there are no method steps stating how the claim is using the compound. Similarly, claim 3 is a method claim without method steps. Claims 1 and 3 do not contain transitional language, such as comprising or consisting of, to show if the method is closed or open. Clarification is required. Attempts to claim a process without setting forth any steps involved in the process generally raises an issue of indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. For example, a claim which read: “[a] process for using monoclonal antibodies of claim 4 to isolate and purify human fibroblast interferon” was held to be indefinite because it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced. Ex parteErlich, 3 USPQ2d 1011 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986). MPEP 2173.05(q).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fhaner et al (US 10,137,071), Dhamdhere et al (US 9,452,119), or WO2005/041905.
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, Fhaner et al teach compounds and compositions that are useful as antioxidants in personal care formulations. The compounds contain both nitrone and phenolic functionalities, wherein these compounds clearly would fall within the scope of the instant claims. See Abstract. Compositions of the invention can also include a dermatologically acceptable carrier. Such material is typically characterized as a carrier or a diluent that does not cause significant irritation to the skin and does not negate the activity and properties of active agent(s) in the composition. Examples of dermatologically acceptable carriers that are useful in the invention include, without limitation, emulsions, creams, aqueous solutions, oils, ointments, pastes, gels, lotions, milks, foams, suspensions, powders, or mixtures thereof. In some embodiments, the composition contains from about 99.99 to about 50 percent by weight of the dermatologically acceptable carrier, based on the total weight of the composition. The dermatologically acceptable carrier of the invention may also include, for instance, water, etc. See column 10, lines 1-35. Note that, the Examiner asserts compound as taught by Fhaner et al would inherently release a ketone or aldehyde when exposed to water and/or air as recited by the instant claims because Fhaner et al specifically teach compounds which are the same as recited by the instant claims in the presence of water and/or air. Fhaner et al disclose the claimed invention with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation.
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, Dhamdhere et al teach compounds and compositions that are useful as antioxidants in personal care formulations. The compounds contain both nitrone and phenolic functionalities, wherein these compounds clearly would fall within the scope of the instant claims. See column 1, lines 15-20. Compositions of the invention also include a dermatologically acceptable carrier. Such material is typically characterized as a carrier or a diluent that does not cause significant irritation to the skin and does not negate the activity and properties of active agent(s) in the composition. Examples of dermatologically acceptable carriers that are useful in the invention include, without limitation, emulsions, creams, aqueous solutions, oils, ointments, pastes, gels, lotions, milks, foams, suspensions, powders, or mixtures thereof. In some embodiments, the composition contains from about 99.99 to about 50 percent by weight of the dermatologically acceptable carrier, based on the total weight of the composition. See column 7, lines 25-60. The dermatologically acceptable carrier of the invention may also include, for instance, water, a thickener, an emollient, an emulsifier, a humectant, a surfactant, a suspending agent, a film forming agent, a foam building agent, a preservative, an antifoaming agent, a fragrance, a lower monoalcoholic polyol, a high boiling point solvent, a propellant, a colorant, a pigment, glycerin, a mineral oil, silicon feel modifiers, preservatives, emollients, or mixtures thereof. See column 7, lines 25-60. Note that, the Examiner asserts compound as taught by Dhamdhere et al would inherently release a ketone or aldehyde when exposed to water and/or air as recited by the instant claims because Dhamdhere et al specifically teach compounds which are the same as recited by the instant claims in the presence of water and/or air. Dhamdhere et al disclose the claimed invention with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation.
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, ‘905 a stabilized composition comprising (a) a body care product, household product, textile or fabric and (b) an effective stabilizing amount of at least one compound selected from the group consisting of the dialkylhydroxylamine stabilizers, the dialkylhydroxylamine stabilizer salts, the nitrone stabilizers, and the amine oxide stabilizers. See pages 1 and 2. The nitrone stabilizers taught by ‘905 are the same as recited by the instant claims. See page 5. Example 10 discloses compounds which are the same as recited by the instant claims. See page 25. The present body care products can be in the form of creams, ointments, pastes, foams, gels, lotions, powders, make-ups, sprays, sticks or aerosols. The present stabilizer systems may be present in the oil phase or in the aqueous or aqueous/alcoholic phase. See page 16. Note that, the Examiner asserts compound as taught by ‘905 would inherently release a ketone or aldehyde when exposed to water and/or air as recited by the instant claims because ‘905 specifically teach compounds which are the same as recited by the instant claims in the presence of water and/or air. ‘905 disclose the claimed invention with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation.
Accordingly, the teachings of Fhaner et al, Dhamdhere et al, or ‘905 anticipate the material limitations of independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Remaining references cited but not relied upon are considered to be cumulative to or less pertinent than those relied upon or discussed above.
Applicant is reminded that any evidence to be presented in accordance with 37 CFR 1.131 or 1.132 should be submitted before final rejection in order to be considered timely.
/GREGORY R DELCOTTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/G.R.D/March 20, 2026