DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-16, 19-21, 25, 26, 29, 31 and 33 are pending and examined in the current application.
Claims 25, 26, 29, 31 and 33 are withdrawn from consideration (see discussion, below).
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-16 and 19-21 are examined in the current application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1, 4-6, 8-16 and 19-21 in the reply filed on 11/13/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 25, 26, 29, 31 and 33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/13/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-16 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaspard (USPatPub. 2019/0223483 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 6, 8, 15, 19 and 20: Gaspard discloses a powdered sensory modifier compound to be added to edible compositions (i.e., food or beverage), wherein the sensory compound comprises a sweetener (e.g., steviol), plant and/or animal protein, 60% or more of dicaffeoylquinic acid or salt thereof and monocoumaroylquinic acids (e.g., chlorogenic acid) (see Gaspard abstract; paragraphs [0066]. [0067], [0075], [0078]-[0081], [0102] and [0114]).
Regarding claims 4 and 13: Gaspard discloses the sensory modifier compound is present in the edible composition at concentration from 1000ppm to 2000ppm (see Gaspard paragraph [0082]).
Regarding claim 5: Gaspard discloses the dicaffeoylquinic acid or dicaffeoylquinic salt comprises at least one compound selected from the group consisting of 1,3- dicaffeoylquinic acid, 1,4-dicaffeoylquinic acid, 1,5-dicaffeoylquinic acid, 3,4-dicaffeoylquinic acid, 3,5-dicaffeoylquinic acid, 4,5-dicaffeoylquinic acid, and salts thereof, and wherein the sensory modifier comprises a monocaffeoylquinic component selected from the group consisting of chlorogenic acid, neochlorogenic acid, cryptochlorogenic acid, and salts thereof (see Gaspard paragraphs [0066], [0067], [0075] and [0078]-[0081]).
Regarding claims 9 and 10: Gaspard discloses the plant and/or animal protein is selected from group consisting of pea protein, soy protein, corn protein, potato protein, wheat protein, pulse protein, chickpea protein, canola protein, and combinations thereof, and/or casein, whey, hydrolyzed whey, and combinations thereof (see Gaspard paragraph [0114]).
Regarding claim 14: Gaspard discloses the sensory modifier compound comprises fiber, a hydrocolloid, lecithin, or a combination thereof (see Gaspard paragraph [0102]).
Regarding claims 11, 12 and 21: Gaspard discloses a powdered sensory modifier compound to be added to edible compositions (i.e., food or beverage) and comprising animal and/or plant protein and is present in the edible composition at concentration from 1000ppm to 2000ppm (see Gaspard abstract; paragraphs [0082], [0102] and [0114]). Gaspard also discloses when the compound is added to beverage, the final concentration of the protein in the beverage is from 200ppm to 50,000ppm (see Gaspard paragraph [0114]), which overlaps the claimed protein content. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 16: Gaspard discloses a powdered sensory modifier compound to be added to edible compositions (i.e., food or beverage) (see Gaspard abstract; paragraphs [0081], [0082], [0102] and [0114]), but fails to disclose the effect on the flavor intensity. However, given the fact the sensory modifier compound in Gaspard is the similar to the claimed sensory modifier compound, it is examiner opinion the claimed flavor intensity effect is inherently present in Gaspard. As set forth in MPEP §2112.01, "where...the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 USC 102, on "prima facie obviousness" under 35 USC 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO's inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. See In re Brown, 59 CCPA 1036, 459 F.2d 531,173 USPQ 685 (1972)." In re Best, Bolton and Shaw 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977).
Conclusion
/ASSAF ZILBERING/Examiner, Art Unit 1792