DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding independent claim 1 Applicant argues:
“Applicant respectfully disagrees and submits that, contrary to the Examiner's assertions, there is no disclosure of a ‘mounting enclosure’ either shown or described with respect to Figure 2-3 of Byun. If the Examiner believes otherwise, the Examiner is requested to identify with specificity such purported ‘mounting enclosure’ in Figure 2-3 of Byun.
Because Byun fails to disclose a ‘mounting enclosure’, Byun also fails to disclose the limitation ‘the image capture system is positioned near the opening of the mounting enclosure’, as recited, in part, in claim 1. Claim 1, and its dependent claims 2-18, as well as claim 27 are therefore allowable over Byun in view of Wong for at least the above reasons.”
However, in Figures 2-3 there is shown components, such as component “300”, that are both mounted and at least partially enclosed. Thus, because there is clearly component which are both mounted and enclosed in the prior art, there is disclosure of a “mounting enclosure” as claimed. Furthermore, since the lower part of the enclosure in Figures 2-3 is open and component “300” is a camera, the prior art discloses “the image capture system is positioned near the opening of the mounting enclosure” as claimed. Therefore, this argument is not convincing.
Regarding independent claim 19 Applicant argues:
“Applicant respectfully disagrees. As best understood, in Hyun a preliminary alignment device (pre-aligner) is described as including an edge sensor and an alignment mark sensor. It appears that the edge sensor and the alignment mark sensor are used for detecting a flat zone and alignment mark of the wafer. However, there is no disclosure in Hyun that the aligner has "a sensor to track a fiducial marker defined on a surface of the consumable part", as required by claim 1.”
However, the prior art discloses an alignment mark sensor (620) “for detecting the alignment mark formed in the side of the wafer” in paragraph [0039]. Thus, there is a sensor (620) that tracks a mark on a surface of the wafer, i.e. "a sensor to track a fiducial marker defined on a surface of the consumable part" as claimed. Furthermore, component “620” is part of component “600” which is used to provide alignment (see paragraph [0039]), i.e. an aligner. Therefore, this argument is not convincing.
Regarding independent claim 19 Applicant argues:
“Moreover, there is no disclosure in Hyun that the aligner provides ‘offset coordinates of the fiducial marker to a controller of the substrate processing system’; nor is there any disclosure in Hyun of a robot ‘configured to receive a set of instructions from the controller to cause the robot to move the consumable part supported on the carrier plate from a consumable parts station and to a read orientation in relation to the fiducial marker…’ as recited, in part, in claim 19. Claim 19 and its dependent claims 20-26 are therefore allowable over Hyun in view of Wong for at the least the reasons cited above.”
However, there is an alignment mark and a flat zone, both of which are detected, and have a location, i.e. coordinates. In Figure 3 the coordinates are offset along an x-axis of carrier 600. Furthermore, because the flat zone coordinates are offset from the alignment mark, the prior art discloses “offset coordinates of the fiducial marker” as claimed. Regarding the argument that there is not “any disclosure in Hyun of a robot ‘configured to receive a set of instructions from the controller to cause the robot to move the consumable part supported on the carrier plate from a consumable parts station and to a read orientation in relation to the fiducial marker” as claimed, Applicant does not address the secondary reference cited as prior art to reject portions of this claim language. Additionally, regarding both the primary reference and secondary reference cited, Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Therefore, this argument is not convincing.
For the foregoing reasons the claims stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-12, 16, 18, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BYUN (KR 10-2009-0076439) and further in view of Wong et al. (USPGPUB 2018/0068879).
Regarding claim 1, BYUN discloses a machine vision system for tracking and verifying a consumable part in a substrate processing system, comprising:
a mounting enclosure (see Figures 2-3);
an image capture system (30) configured to capture an image of a code on the consumable part (see Figures 2-3), the image capture system including a camera (300) and a light source (310,312), the image capture system is positioned near the opening of the mounting enclosure (see Figures 2-3), wherein said camera and the light source are oriented to point toward the opening of the mounting enclosure (see Figures 2-3);
a processor communicatively connected to the image capture system, the processor is configured to process and analyze the image of the code captured by the image capture system and generate an identifier for the consumable part (see “FIG.11” paragraph on page 7); and
position the code of the consumable part within a field of view of the image capture system, and in response to the identifier provided by the processor, verify that the consumable part is suitable for a subsequent operation (see “FIG.11” paragraph on page 7).
However, Byun does not disclose a system comprising:
a mounting enclosure with a consumable parts station for storing consumable parts within, the mounting enclosure has an opening towards an equipment front end module (EFEM) of the substrate processing system to enable a robot in the EFEM to retrieve a consumable part from the consumable parts station;
a processor communicatively connected to a controller, the processor is configured to process code that is returned to the controller
the controller configured to cause the robot to move the consumable part from the consumable parts station via the opening of the mounting enclosure and to position consumable part.
Wong et al. disclose a system comprising:
a mounting enclosure with a consumable parts station for storing consumable parts within, the mounting enclosure has an opening towards an equipment front end module (EFEM) of the substrate processing system to enable a robot in the EFEM to retrieve a consumable part from the consumable parts station (see Figure 1);
a processor communicatively connected to a controller, the processor is configured to process code that is returned to the controller (see paragraph [0099]);
the controller configured to cause the robot to move the consumable part from the consumable parts station via the opening of the mounting enclosure and to position consumable part (see paragraph [0101]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by BYUN by including a system comprising: a mounting enclosure with a consumable parts station for storing consumable parts within, the mounting enclosure has an opening towards an equipment front end module (EFEM) of the substrate processing system to enable a robot in the EFEM to retrieve a consumable part from the consumable parts station; a processor communicatively connected to a controller, the processor is configured to process code that is returned to the controller; the controller configured to cause the robot to move the consumable part from the consumable parts station via the opening of the mounting enclosure and to position consumable part, as disclosed by Wong et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing “a pod for exchanging consumable parts with a process module ” (see abstract).
Regarding claim 2, BYUN discloses the machine vision system of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to interact with,
an image enhancement module to enhance the image (see “synthesizes the obtained plurality of images” in the “Hereinafter…” paragraph of page 6),
a decoder to decode an enhanced image and generate a string identifying the consumable part (see “a binary image” in the “Next,…” paragraph of page 7);
a communication module to communicate the string identifying the consumable part to the controller for verification (see “FIG.11” paragraph on page 7).
Regarding claim 3, BYUN discloses the machine vision system of claim 2, wherein the controller is configured to,
provide signals to the processor to activate the light source and initiate capture of the image of the code (see “The controller of the apparatus…” paragraph on page 6); and
verify the consumable part using the string forwarded by the processor (see “FIG.11” paragraph on page 7).
Regarding claim 4, BYUN discloses the machine vision system of claim 1, wherein the light source includes a plurality of light elements, location of the plurality of light elements is defined to illuminate the code and to provide an overlapping region that at least covers an area on the surface of the consumable part where the code is present when the consumable part is positioned in a read orientation (see “The controller of the apparatus…” paragraph on page 6 and “The control unit…” paragraph on page 6).
Regarding claim 8, BYUN discloses the machine vision system of claim 1, wherein the image capture system includes a cover defined in a top portion facing the opening of the mounting enclosure, the cover configured to shield the camera and the light source of the image capture system (see Figures 2-3). However, BYUN does not disclose a transparent cover. Nevertheless, the modification amounts to a material selection for the cover that is well-known. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by BYUN in view of Wong et al. by including a transparent cover because the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 9, BYUN discloses the machine vision system of claim 1, wherein the camera of the image capture system is disposed at a first distance from the surface of the consumable part on which the code is disposed, and the light source includes a plurality of light elements, wherein each light element of the plurality of light elements is separated from another light element by a second distance (see Figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 10, BYUN discloses the machine vision system of claim 9. However, BYUN does not disclose wherein the first distance is proportional to the second distance and is defined to be between about 1:1.3 and about 1:1.7. Nevertheless, the modification amounts to a change in distance of the mounting locations, i.e. a change in shape, of the prior art device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by BYUN in view of Wong et al. by including a transparent cover because a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 11, BYUN discloses the machine vision system of claim 1, wherein the image capture system includes diffusers, or polarizers, or both diffusers and polarizers,
wherein the light source is a pair of light emitting diodes (310,312), and
wherein each diffuser (360), when present, is disposed in front of one or both of the pair of light emitting diodes at a predefined first distance (see Figure 3), and
wherein each polarizer, when present, is disposed in front of one or both of the pair of light emitting diodes at a predefined second distance, or in front of lens of the camera at a predefined third distance, or in front of both the lens of the camera at the predefined second distance and one or more both of the light emitting diodes at the predefined third distance.
However, BYUN only discloses a diffuser plate and does not disclose diffusers. Nevertheless, the modification amounts to a duplication of components. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by BYUN in view of Wong et al. by including diffusers because duplicating the components of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 12, BYUN in view of Wong et al. disclose the machine vision system of claim 1. Furthermore, Wong et al. disclose a system wherein the consumable parts station has an outside wall that is oriented opposite to the opening of the mounting enclosure, the outside wall has a second opening for accessing the consumable parts station for loading and unloading of the consumable parts (see Figures 1-3A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by BYUN by including a system wherein the consumable part is an edge ring that is disposed adjacent to a wafer received on wafer support surface within a process module of the substrate processing system, as disclosed by Wong et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing an opening to enable movement, transfer, and replacement of components (see paragraph [0071]).
Regarding claim 16, BYUN discloses the machine vision system of claim 1, wherein the light source is arranged to illuminate the code tangentially (see Figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 18, BYUN in view of Wong et al. disclose the machine vision system of claim 1. Furthermore, Wong et al. disclose a system wherein the consumable part is an edge ring that is disposed adjacent to a wafer received on wafer support surface within a process module of the substrate processing system (see paragraphs [0062]-[0064]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by BYUN by including a system wherein the consumable part is an edge ring that is disposed adjacent to a wafer received on wafer support surface within a process module of the substrate processing system, as disclosed by Wong et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a ring to extend the process region of a semiconductor wafer (see paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 27, BYUN discloses a machine vision system for tracking and verifying a consumable part in a substrate processing system, comprising:
a mounting enclosure (see Figures 2-3);
to position the code of the consumable part within a field of view of an image capture system (see Figures 2-3);
the image capture system (30) is configured to capture an image of a code on the consumable part, the image capture system includes at least a camera and a light source, the image capture system is positioned near the opening of the mounting enclosure, wherein said camera and the light source are oriented to point toward the opening of the mounting enclosure (see “Next…” and “FIG.11” paragraphs on page 7); and
a processor communicatively connected to the image capture system and the controller, the processor is configured to process and analyze the image of the code captured by the image capture system and verify that the consumable part is suitable for a subsequent operation (see “Next…” and “FIG.11” paragraphs on page 7).
However, Byun does not disclose a system comprising:
a mounting enclosure with a consumable parts station for storing consumable parts within, the mounting enclosure has an opening towards an equipment front end module (EFEM) of the substrate processing system to enable a robot in the EFEM to retrieve a consumable part from the consumable parts station;
a controller configured to cause the robot in the EFEM to move the consumable part from the consumable parts station via the opening of the mounting enclosure.
Wong et al. disclose a system comprising:
a mounting enclosure with a consumable parts station for storing consumable parts within, the mounting enclosure has an opening towards an equipment front end module (EFEM) of the substrate processing system to enable a robot in the EFEM to retrieve a consumable part from the consumable parts station (see Figure 1);
a controller configured to cause the robot in the EFEM to move the consumable part from the consumable parts station via the opening of the mounting enclosure (see paragraph [0101]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by BYUN by including a system comprising: a mounting enclosure with a consumable parts station for storing consumable parts within, the mounting enclosure has an opening towards an equipment front end module (EFEM) of the substrate processing system to enable a robot in the EFEM to retrieve a consumable part from the consumable parts station; and a controller configured to cause the robot in the EFEM to move the consumable part from the consumable parts station via the opening of the mounting enclosure, as disclosed by Wong et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing “a pod for exchanging consumable parts with a process module ” (see abstract).
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BYUN (KR 10-2009-0076439) in view of Wong et al. (USPGPUB 2018/0068879) as applied to claims 1-4, 8-12, 16, 18, and 27 above, and further in view of HYUN et al. (KR 10-2004-0040737).
Regarding claim 5, BYUN in view of Wong et al. disclose the machine vision system of claim 4. However, BYUN does not disclose a system wherein the robot includes an aligner used to align the consumable part to the read orientation. HYUN et al. disclose a system wherein the robot includes an aligner used to align the consumable part to the read orientation (see paragraph [0039]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by BYUN in view of Wong et al. by including a system wherein the robot includes an aligner used to align the consumable part to the read orientation, as disclosed by HYUN et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a pre-aligner and detecting an alignment mark formed on the side of the wafer (see paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 6, BYUN in view of Wong et al. and further in view of HYUN et al. disclose the machine vision system of claim 5. Furthermore, HYUN et al. disclose a system wherein the aligner is configured to detect a fiducial marker disposed on the consumable part, wherein the fiducial marker is disposed at a predefined angle from the code of the consumable part, and wherein the robot is caused to move the consumable part based on instructions from the controller, the instructions specifying the predefined angle to move the consumable part in relation to the fiducial marker so as to align the code within the field of view of the camera of the image capture system for capturing the image of the code illuminated by the light source (see paragraph [0039]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by BYUN in view of Wong et al. by including a system wherein the aligner is configured to detect a fiducial marker disposed on the consumable part, wherein the fiducial marker is disposed at a predefined angle from the code of the consumable part, and wherein the robot is caused to move the consumable part based on instructions from the controller, the instructions specifying the predefined angle to move the consumable part in relation to the fiducial marker so as to align the code within the field of view of the camera of the image capture system for capturing the image of the code illuminated by the light source, as disclosed by HYUN et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a pre-aligner and detecting an alignment mark formed on the side of the wafer (see paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 7, BYUN in view of Wong et al. disclose the machine vision system of claim 4. However, BYUN does not disclose a system wherein the read orientation is defined to correspond with an open region of the consumable part that is not covered by an end-effector of the robot so as to provide an unhindered view of the code for the camera for capturing the image. HYUN et al. disclose a system wherein the read orientation is defined to correspond with an open region of the consumable part that is not covered by an end-effector of the robot so as to provide an unhindered view of the code for the camera for capturing the image (see paragraphs [0039]-[0046]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by BYUN in view of Wong et al. by including a system wherein the read orientation is defined to correspond with an open region of the consumable part that is not covered by an end-effector of the robot so as to provide an unhindered view of the code for the camera for capturing the image, as disclosed by HYUN et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a pre-aligner and detecting an alignment mark formed on the side of the wafer (see paragraph [0039]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BYUN (KR 10-2009-0076439) in view of Wong et al. (USPGPUB 2018/0068879) as applied to claims 1-4, 8-12, 16, 18, and 27 above, and further in view of YANG et al. (USPGPUB 2020/0089119).
Regarding claim 17, BYUN in view of Wong et al. disclose the machine vision system of claim 1. Furthermore, BYUN discloses a system wherein the processor is an processor, the processor configured to store the image of the code, process the image, analyze the image, generate the string identifying the consumable part (see “Next…” and “FIG.11” paragraphs on page 7). However, BYUN does not disclose an edge processor, and transmit the string to the controller for verification and wherein the edge processor is connected to the controller via an Ethernet switch. YANG et al. disclose an edge processor, and transmit the string to the controller for verification and wherein the edge processor is connected to the controller via an Ethernet switch (see paragraph [0058]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by BYUN in view of Wong et al. by including a system comprising an edge processor, and transmit the string to the controller for verification and wherein the edge processor is connected to the controller via an Ethernet switch, as disclosed by Wong et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing remote access and controls via an Ethernet connection (see paragraph [0058]).
Claim(s) 19-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HYUN et al. (KR 10-2004-0040737) and further in view of Wong et al. (USPGPUB 2018/0068879).
Regarding claim 19, HYUN et al. disclose a robot for tracking a consumable part in a substrate processing system, comprising:
an aligner disposed on the arm, the aligner having a sensor to track a fiducial marker defined on a surface of the consumable part and provide offset coordinates of the fiducial marker to a controller of the substrate processing system (see paragraph [0039]),
wherein said robot is configured to receive a set of instructions from the controller to cause the robot to move the consumable part to a read orientation in relation to the fiducial marker, wherein the read orientation is defined to place a code disposed on the surface of the consumable part within a field of view of an image capture system of the substrate processing system to allow the image capture system to capture image of the code (see paragraphs [0039]-[0042]),
wherein the image of the code captured by the image capture system is processed to generate an identifier for the consumable part, the identifier used by the controller for verification of the consumable part (see paragraphs [0039]-[0042]).
However, HYUN et al. do not disclose a system comprising:
an end-effector defined on an arm, the end-effector designed to support a carrier plate used for supporting the consumable part; and
the aligner configured to rotate the carrier plate with the consumable part along an axis,
wherein said robot is configured to receive a set of instructions from the controller to cause the robot to move the consumable part supported on the carrier plate from a consumable parts station.
Wong et al. disclose a system comprising:
an end-effector defined on an arm, the end-effector designed to support a carrier plate used for supporting the consumable part (see paragraph [0074]); and
the aligner configured to rotate the carrier plate with the consumable part along an axis (see paragraph [0074]),
wherein said robot is configured to receive a set of instructions from the controller to cause the robot to move the consumable part supported on the carrier plate from a consumable parts station (see paragraph [0101]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by HYUN et al. by including a system comprising: an end-effector defined on an arm, the end-effector designed to support a carrier plate used for supporting the consumable part; and the aligner configured to rotate the carrier plate with the consumable part along an axis, wherein said robot is configured to receive a set of instructions from the controller to cause the robot to move the consumable part supported on the carrier plate from a consumable parts station, as disclosed by Wong et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing movement, transfer, and replacement of components (see paragraph [0071]) in “a pod for exchanging consumable parts with a process module ” (see abstract) using a dedicated robot (see paragraph [0074]).
Regarding claim 20, HYUN et al. disclose the robot of claim 19, wherein the image capture system is communicatively connected to the controller, the image capture system receives a second set of instructions from the controller, wherein the second set of instructions includes a first instruction to activate a light source disposed within the image capture system to illuminate the code, and a second instruction to activate a camera within the image capture system to trigger capturing of the image of the code (see paragraphs [0039]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 21, HYUN et al. disclose the robot of claim 19, wherein the fiducial marker is an optical marker defined on the surface of the consumable part at a predefined angle from the code (see Figure 2), and
wherein the read orientation is defined to correspond with an open region of the consumable part that is outside of an area covered by arm extensions of the carrier plate (see paragraphs [0039]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 22, HYUN et al. disclose the robot of claim 19, wherein the sensor of the aligner is one of a laser sensor (see paragraph [0039]) or a through beam LED fiber sensor with a liner curtain head on the fibers.
Regarding claim 23, HYUN et al. in view of Wong et al. disclose the robot of claim 19. Furthermore, Wong et al. disclose a robot wherein the robot is disposed within an equipment front end module (EFEM) of the substrate processing system, the EFEM providing access to the consumable part stored in a consumable parts station of a mounting enclosure of the substrate processing system, the access to the consumable parts in the consumable parts station of the mounting enclosure is provided to the robot via an opening defined toward the EFEM (see Figures 1-3A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by HYUN et al. by including a robot wherein the robot is disposed within an equipment front end module (EFEM) of the substrate processing system, the EFEM providing access to the consumable part stored in a consumable parts station of a mounting enclosure of the substrate processing system, the access to the consumable parts in the consumable parts station of the mounting enclosure is provided to the robot via an opening defined toward the EFEM, as disclosed by Wong et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing movement, transfer, and replacement of components (see paragraph [0071]) in “a pod for exchanging consumable parts with a process module ” (see abstract) using a dedicated robot (see paragraph [0074]).
Regarding claim 24, HYUN et al. disclose the robot of claim 19, wherein the offset coordinates of the fiducial marker and the image of the code are forwarded by the controller to the image capture system via a processor, the processor interacts with an image enhancing module to enhance the image of the code captured by the image capture system, interacts with a decoder to decode, analyze the image and generate a string representing the identifier of the consumable part, and interacts with a communication module to communicate the string to the controller for verification of the consumable part (see paragraphs [0041], [0050], [0054]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 25, HYUN et al. in view of Wong et al. disclose the robot of claim 19. Furthermore, HYUN et al. disclose a robot wherein the aligner of the robot is configured to detect a notch within the wafer and control orientation of the wafer in relation to the notch prior to delivery to the process module (see paragraph [0039]). Furthermore, Wong et al. disclose a robot wherein the end-effector of the robot configured to move the consumable part from the consumable parts station is configured to move a wafer from a wafer station for delivery to a process module within the substrate processing system (see Figures 1-3A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by HYUN et al. by including a robot wherein the end-effector of the robot configured to move the consumable part from the consumable parts station is configured to move a wafer from a wafer station for delivery to a process module within the substrate processing system, as disclosed by Wong et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing movement, transfer, and replacement of components (see paragraph [0071]) in “a pod for exchanging consumable parts with a process module ” (see abstract) using a dedicated robot (see paragraph [0074]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: dependent claim 13 discloses, “wherein the robot moves the consumable part based on instructions from the controller, the instructions include a first set of instructions to move the consumable part so as to cause the first code disposed on the first part to be brought within a field of view of the image capture system and to simultaneously activate the light source to illuminate the first code and the camera to capture image of the first code, and a second set of instructions to move said consumable part so as to cause the second code disposed on the second part to be brought within the field of view of the image capture system and to simultaneously activate the light source to illuminate the second code and the camera to capture the image of the second code disposed on the second part” which, in combination with the rest of the claim language of claims 1 and 13, teaches a system that is novel over the prior art of record. Dependent claim 26 discloses, “wherein the set of instructions provided to said robot include a third instruction to move said consumable part to allow the first code disposed on the first part to be brought to the read orientation in relation to the fiducial marker to allow capture of an image of the first code, and a fourth instruction to move said consumable part to allow the second code disposed on the second part to be brought to the read orientation in relation to the fiducial marker to allow capture of an image of the second code disposed on the second part” which, in combination with the rest of the claim language of claims 19 and 26, teaches an apparatus that is novel over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
M.K.C.
8/7/2026
/MICHAEL COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655