DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3 – 8, and 10 - 12 have been considered, but they are not persuasive. Please see the ground(s) of rejection below. Thus, Applicant’s traversal of the instant rejection on these grounds is deemed unsuccessful.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 7, and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 6: claim 6 depends from claim 2, a claim which has been cancelled.
Regarding claim 7: claim 7 depends from claim 2, a claim which has been cancelled.
Regarding claim 12: a period is needed at the end of claim 12.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuji (JP 2012-028075A).
Regarding claim 12, in Figure 6 (see Annotated Figure 6 below), Yuji discloses an electrical junction box comprising: a busbar (31); a molded resin portion (20, 21) that is insert-molded (page 5, paragraph 4) using the busbar as an insert component; a case (54) that covers the molded resin portion to form a waterproof space (rubber seal member 54 provides waterproofing of the waterproof region; page 6, paragraph 5); a blocking portion (40) that blocks a first opening out of a first opening (bottom opening of cavity 33) and a second opening (top opening of cavity 33) of a through hole (33, water-stopping material filling cavity 33; page 6, paragraph 2) passing through the molded resin portion (closing portion 40 blocks the bottom opening of cavity 33); and a waterproofing resin (45) that is filled in the through hole, wherein the molded resin portion includes a first holding portion that holds one end portion of the busbar, and a second holding portion that holds the busbar with the other end portion of the busbar being exposed in the waterproof space (see Annotated Figure 6 below), the through hole is formed between the first holding portion and the second holding portion and an entire periphery of an intermediate portion of the busbar is exposed in the through hole (see Annotated Figure 6 below), the blocking portion is a member that is provided separately from the molded resin portion (closing portion 40 of the first housing 11 is a separately provided member), and the waterproofing resin reaches the blocking portion while entirely covering the periphery of the intermediate portion of the busbar (the water-stopping material 45 covers the entire circumference of the bus bar portion that is disposed in the cavity 33), wherein the blocking portion includes a bottom portion configured to be seated into the first opening (bottom opening of cavity 33) so as to close the first opening (bottom portion of blocking portion 40 fills the bottom opening of cavity 33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 – 8, and 10 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuji.
Regarding claim 1, in Figure 6 (see Annotated Figure 6 below), Yuji discloses an electrical junction box comprising: a busbar (31); a molded resin portion (20, 21) that is insert-molded (page 5, paragraph 4) using the busbar as an insert component, the molded resin portion having a first holding portion and a second holding portion (see Annotated Figure 6 below); a case (54) that covers the second holding portion of the molded resin portion to form a waterproof space (rubber seal member 54 provides waterproofing of the waterproof region; page 6, paragraph 5; the claim does not recite that the case covers only the second holding portion of the molded resin portion); a blocking portion (40) formed integral to the case and blocks a first opening out of a first opening (top opening of cavity 33) and a second opening (bottom opening of cavity 33) of a through hole (33, water-stopping material filling cavity 33; page 6, paragraph 2) passing through the second portion of the molded resin portion (closing portion 40 blocks the bottom opening of cavity 33); and a waterproofing resin (45) that is filled in the through hole, wherein the first holding portion holds one end portion of the busbar, and the second holding portion holds the busbar with the other end portion of the busbar being exposed in the waterproof space (see Annotated Figure 6 below), the through hole is formed between the first holding portion and the second holding portion and an entire periphery of an intermediate portion of the busbar is exposed in the through hole (see Annotated Figure 6 below), the blocking portion is a member that is provided separately from the molded resin portion (closing portion 40 of the first housing 11 is a separately provided member), and the waterproofing resin reaches the blocking portion while entirely covering the periphery of the intermediate portion of the busbar (the water-stopping material 45 covers the entire circumference of the bus bar portion that is disposed in the cavity 33). Yuji does not specifically disclose the blocking portion 40 being formed integral to the case 54. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to integrally form the blocking portion 40 and the case 54, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed into pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Regarding claim 3, Yuji discloses wherein the blocking portion is welded to a peripheral edge portion of the through hole in the molded resin portion (Figure 6).
Regarding claim 4, Yuji discloses wherein one of the blocking portion and a peripheral edge portion of the through hole in the molded resin portion is provided with an annular groove and the other is provided with an annular protrusion fitted to the groove (Figure 6).
Regarding claim 5, Yuji discloses wherein a portion of the blocking portion that serves as a bottom of the through hole enters the through hole (Figure 6).
Regarding claim 6, Yuji discloses wherein the blocking portion is welded to a peripheral edge portion of the through hole in the molded resin portion (Figure 6).
Regarding claim 7, Yuji discloses wherein one of the blocking portion and a peripheral edge portion of the through hole in the molded resin portion is provided with an annular groove and the other is provided with an annular protrusion fitted to the groove (Figure 6).
Regarding claim 8, Yuji discloses wherein one of the blocking portion and a peripheral edge portion of the through hole in the molded resin portion is provided with an annular groove and the other is provided with an annular protrusion fitted to the groove (Figure 6).
Regarding claim 10, Yuji discloses wherein a portion of the blocking portion that serves as a bottom of the through hole enters the through hole (Figure 6).
Regarding claim 11, Yuji discloses wherein a portion of the blocking portion that serves as a bottom of the through hole enters the through hole (Figure 6).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TREMESHA W BURNS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847