DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 48-57,60-66 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Venkatram et al. (US Application 2022/0034011, hereinafter Venkatram).
Regarding claims 48, 60, Venkatram discloses a method (Figs. 1, 2, and 5) performed by a remote wireless device (115) in relayed wireless communication with a second cell (505-b) of an access network(110), wherein the relayed wireless communication is relayed through a relay wireless device (115) located in the second cell (505-b)while the remote wireless device is located in a first cell (505-a) of the access network other than the second cell([0055], which recites UE may be referred to as a mobile device, a wireless device, a remote device, a handheld device, or a subscriber device, or some other suitable terminology, where the “device” may also be referred to as a unit, a station, a terminal, or a client, among other examples . UE 115 may sometimes act as relays or remote device. Also fig. 1 some multiple cells 110 acting as first and second cells as claimed by the instant application), the method comprising or initiating the steps of:
receiving system information, S11(fig. 5, 510,520), of the first cell from the second cell (505-6) in the relayed wireless communication([0163], which recites the UE 115-d may receive a SIB (e.g., SIB1 of the first cell) via (from) the second cell 505-b a SIB1 message considered as S11 information); and
receiving system information, SI2(fig. 5,525), of the second cell comprising public warning system, PWS, information relevant to the second cell, the method further comprising or initiating ([0164], which recites the UE 115-d may receive the second segment based on (e.g., in accordance with) the PWS scheduling information received via the SIB at 520)one of the steps of:
discarding the PWS information relevant to the second cell if the S11 comprises PWS information relevant to the first cell(([0088], [0167], which recites discarding the PWS information based on certain conditions such as the UE may discard PWS segments received via Cell A , as the PWS information received on Cell A does not apply to the new Cell B), and if at least one of the following applies:
the PWS information relevant to the first cell in the S11 is not older than the SI2 or the PWS information relevant to the second cell in the SI2, and/or the S11 or the PWS information relevant to the first cell in the S11 is not outdated([0167]-[0168], which recites discarding the PWS information based on certain conditions such the age of the age of the system information messages, relevance geographic etc.…); or
acting on the PWS information relevant to the second cell if the SIl does not comprise PWS information relevant to the first cell([0169]-[0171], which recite acting on the PWS information based on some relevance), or if at least one of the following applies:
the SIl or the PWS information relevant to the first cell in the SIl is older than the SI2 or
the PWS information relevant to the second cell in the SI2, and/or the SIl or the PWS information relevant to the first cell in the SIl is outdated([0169]-[0171], which recite acting on the PWS information based on some relevance conditions such the age of the age of the system information messages, relevance geographic etc.…).
Regarding claims 49, 61, Venkatram discloses the method of claim 48, wherein at least one of: the SI2 is indicative of an access stratum, AS, of the second cell; the SI2 is indicative of a non-access stratum, NAS, of a core network of the second cell; the SI2 comprises a master information block, MIB, of the second cell; and the SI2 comprises at least one of a system information block 1, SIB 1, of the second cell, SIB2 of the second cell, SIB3 of the second cell, SIB4 of the second cell, SIB5 of the second cell, SIB1 1 of the second cell, SIB12 of the second cell, SIB13 of the second cell, and SIB14 of the second cell([0046],[0072],[0090]).
Regarding claims 50, 62,Venkatram discloses the method of claim 48, wherein the is incomplete or partial system information of the first cell, and/or wherein the remote wireless device applies the SIl incompletely or partially([0167]-[0171]).
Regarding claims 51, 63,Venkatram discloses the method of claim 48, wherein the remote wireless device acts on both PWS information in the SIl and PWS information in the SI2([0167]-[0171]).
Regarding claims 52, 64,Venkatram discloses the method of claim 48, wherein the remote wireless device applies a portion of the SIl and a portion of the SI2([0167]-[0171]).
Regarding claims 53, 65,Venkatram discloses the method of claim 48, wherein the method further comprising or initiating the step of selectively acting on and discarding the PWS information relevant to the second cell, depending on a type of the PWS information relevant to the second cell, optionally the type including at least one of a Commercial Mobile Alert System, CMAS; an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System, ETWS; a Wireless Emergency Alert, WEA; and a Cell Broadcast Service, CBS([0004],[0095]).
Regarding claims 54,66, Venkatram discloses the method of claim 48, wherein the SI2 is received from the second cell in the relayed wireless communication([0167]-[0171]).
Regarding claim 55, Venkatram discloses the method of claim 48, wherein the SIl is received less frequently than receiving the SI2([0167]-[0171]).
Regarding claim 56, Venkatram discloses the method of claim 48, wherein the remote wireless device reports a cell identity, cell ID, of the first cell to the relay wireless device and/or in the relayed wireless communication to the second cell([0064]).
Regarding claim 57, Venkatram discloses the method of claim 48, wherein the SIl is received in the relayed wireless communication responsive to the reporting of the cell ID of the first cell([0064]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claim(s) 58-59 and 67 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkatram et al. (US Application 2022/0034011, hereinafter Venkatram) in view of Lee et al. (US Application 2021/0120476, hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claims 58, 67, Venkatram discloses a method (Figs. 1, 2, and 5) performed by a relay wireless device providing a relayed wireless communication between a remote wireless device (115) and a second cell (505-b) of an access network, wherein the relayed wireless communication is relayed through the relay wireless device (115) located in the second cell while the remote wireless device is located in a first cell (505-a) of the access network other than the second cell, the method comprising or initiating at least one of the steps of:
transmitting system information, SIl, of the first cell to the remote wireless device([0090], which recites the UE 115-a may transmit a system information request message to the base station 105-a, and the base station 105-a may respond by transmitting one or more system information messages to the UE 115-a. Based at least in part on such an exchange, the UE 115-a may operate in a connected mode); and transmitting system information, SI2, of the second cell to the remote wireless device([0055], which recites UE may be referred to as a mobile device, a wireless device, a remote device, a handheld device, or a subscriber device, or some other suitable terminology, where the “device” may also be referred to as a unit, a station, a terminal, or a client, among other examples . UE 115 may sometimes act as relays or remote device. Also fig. 1 some multiple cells 110 acting as first and second cells as claimed by the instant application), the method further comprising or initiating the steps of:
Venkatram discloses a base station 105 (e.g., over a carrier) and may be associated with an identifier for distinguishing neighboring cells (e.g., a physical cell identifier (PCID), a virtual cell identifier (VCID), or others)([0064]).
Venkatram does not explicitly disclose transmitting a cell ID of the first cell to the second cell; and
receiving the SI1 from the second cell responsive to the transmitted cell ID of the first cell.
However, Lee discloses transmitting a cell ID of the first cell to the second cell([0131]-[0133], which recites transmitting the serving identity interpreted as cell ID of the first cell to the second cell); and
receiving the SI1 from the second cell responsive to the transmitted cell ID of the first cell([0131]-[0133], which recites receiving the serving identity interpreted as cell ID of the first cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Lee with the teaching of Venkatram by using the above features such as transmitting a cell ID of the first cell to the second cell; and receiving the SI1 from the second cell responsive to the transmitted cell ID of the first cell as taught by Lee for the purpose of saving battery consumption and improving the efficiency of sidelink communication([0013]).
Regarding claim 59, Venkatram discloses the method of claim 58, wherein the relay wireless device further receives the SI2 from the second cell, the method further comprising or initiating at least one of the steps of: discarding PWS information in the SI2, wherein only the PWS information in the SIl is transmitted to the remote wireless device([0167], which recites discarding the PWS information based on certain conditions); and combining PWS information in the SIl and PWS information in the SI2 into a combined PWS information, wherein the combined PWS information is transmitted to the remote wireless device([0167], which recites discarding the PWS information based on certain conditions).
Conclusion
/DADY CHERY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418