DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 is dependent on rejected claim 16. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,4,6,17-18,22-24,27,28,30-32, and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US Application 2021/0037403, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1,27, 28, Kim discloses a method (Figs. 1, 5-7) performed by a user equipment (UE)(1-35), comprising processing circuitry (1940,1942) and network interfaces (1910,1920) connected thereto, the method comprising:
receiving, transmitting, a configuration for Layer (L1)/Layer 2 (L2) (6-05) centric inter-cell mobility([0155], which recites an RCC connection message considered as a configuration for Layer (L1)/Layer 2 (L2) centric inter-cell mobility as claimed by the instant application as described on [0136]-[0137] The RRCSetup message may contain at least one of configuration information for each logical channel, configuration information for each bearer, configuration information for a PDCP layer device, configuration information for an RLC layer device, and configuration information for a MAC layer device. The RRCSetup message may allocate a bearer identifier (e.g., an SRB identifier or a DRB identifier) to each bearer and indicate configuration of a PDCP layer device, an RLC layer device, a MAC layer device, and/or a PHY layer device for each bearer);
receiving, transmitting a suspend message (6-10) to suspend a connection with a network node([0155], which recites he gNB may transmit an RRCRelease message containing an indicator (suspend-config) instructing the UE to transition to the RRC inactive mode); suspending the connection([0155], which recites he gNB may transmit an RRCRelease message containing an indicator (suspend-config) instructing the UE to transition to the RRC inactive mode thereby, suspending the connection)and
in response to receiving the suspend message, deleting the configuration for the L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility([0337], which recites the RRCRelease message may define an indicator to discard the frequency measurement configuration information or the frequency measurement result, and may set change, or delete only part of the stored frequency measurement configuration information. As disclosed on [0039], the RRCRelease message containing the indication to set change or delete only part of the stored frequency measurement configuration information is received by the UE from the base station ).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein suspending the connection comprises transitioning to an inactive state([0155]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, in response to receiving the suspend message, storing the first configuration([0338]).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising, in response to determining to resume the connection, deleting the stored configuration([0337]-[00338]).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the configuration comprises one or more parameters([0337]-[0338]).
Regarding claim 22, Kim discloses the method of claim 16, wherein deleting the configuration is further in response to receiving an indication from the network node to discard the configuration to avoid configuration mismatch between the network node and the UE([0129],[0335]).
Regarding claim 23, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein deleting the configuration comprises deleting at least a subset of parameters for one of candidate cells([0337]-[0338]).
Regarding claim 24, Kim discloses the method of claim 6, wherein storing the configuration comprises storing at least a subset of parameters for at least one candidate cell([0185]).
Regarding claim 30, Kim discloses the method of claim 28, wherein the first configuration comprises one or more parameters([0155]).
Regarding claim 31, Kim discloses the method of claim 30, wherein the one or more parameters comprise cell-specific parameters or Physical Cell Identity (PCI)-specific parameters([0323]).
Regarding claim 32, Kim discloses the method of claim 28, further comprising receiving a request for a UE context from a second network node and providing the UE context to the second network node([0139]).
Regarding claim 47, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, in response to receiving the suspend message, before entering RRC_INACTIVE, deleting the configuration for L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility([0155]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-21,48-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Zhou et al. (US Application 2022/0014983, hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claims 19,48, Kim discloses the method of claim 18 as addressed above, except wherein the one or more parameters comprise cell-specific parameters, wherein the cell-specific parameters are configured for each target candidate cell for L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility.
However, Zhou teaches the one or more parameters comprise cell-specific parameters, wherein the cell-specific parameters are configured for each target candidate cell for L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility(Abstract, [0007], [0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zhou with the teaching of Kim by using the above features such as the one or more parameters comprise cell-specific parameters, wherein the cell-specific parameters are configured for each target candidate cell for L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility as taught by Zhou for the purpose of fast CA/DC reconfiguration in L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility(Abstract).
Regarding claims 20, 49, Kim discloses the method of claim 18 as addressed above, except wherein the one or more parameters comprise Physical Cell Identity (PCI)-specific parameters, wherein the PCI-specific parameters are configured for each target PCI candidate for L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility.
However, Zhou teaches the one or more parameters comprise Physical Cell Identity (PCI)-specific parameters, wherein the PCI-specific parameters are configured for each target PCI candidate for L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility (Abstract, [0007], [0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zhou with the teaching of Kim by using the above features such as the one or more parameters comprise Physical Cell Identity (PCI)-specific parameters, wherein the PCI-specific parameters are configured for each target PCI candidate for L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility as taught by Zhou for the purpose of fast CA/DC reconfiguration in L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility(Abstract).
Regarding claims 21, 50, Kim discloses the method of claim 18 as addressed above, except wherein the configuration is for a Master Cell Group (MCG), a Secondary Cell Group (SCG) or both the MCG and SCG.
However, Zhou teaches the configuration is for a Master Cell Group (MCG), a Secondary Cell Group (SCG) or both the MCG and SCG (Abstract, [0007], [0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zhou with the teaching of Kim by using the above features such as the configuration is for a Master Cell Group (MCG), a Secondary Cell Group (SCG) or both the MCG and SCG as taught by Zhou for the purpose of fast CA/DC reconfiguration in L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility(Abstract).
Conclusion
/DADY CHERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418