DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response filed on June 11, 2026.
Claims 1,19-22,27-28,31, and 48-49 have been amended.
Claims 6,17-18,24, and 30 have been cancelled.
No Claims have been added.
Claims 1,4,19-23,27-28,31-32, and 48-49 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8, filed on June 11, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1,4,19-23,27-28,31-32, and 48-49 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhou et al. (US Application 2023/0328652, hereinafter Zhou) which discloses wherein the configuration comprises at least a subset of parameters, fields and/or Information Elements (IEs) within ServingCellConfigCommon([0112], [0302]), which recites the RRCSetup request comprising different parameters as claimed by the instant application) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,4,22-23,27,28,31-32, and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US Application 2023/0328652, hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 1,27, 28, Kim discloses a method (Figs. 1, 5-7) performed by a user equipment (UE)(1-35), comprising processing circuitry (1940,1942) and network interfaces (1910,1920) connected thereto, the method comprising:
receiving, transmitting, a configuration for Layer (L1)/Layer 2 (L2) (6-05) centric inter-cell mobility([0155], which recites an RCC connection message considered as a configuration for Layer (L1)/Layer 2 (L2) centric inter-cell mobility as claimed by the instant application as described on [0136]-[0137] The RRCSetup message may contain at least one of configuration information for each logical channel, configuration information for each bearer, configuration information for a PDCP layer device, configuration information for an RLC layer device, and configuration information for a MAC layer device. The RRCSetup message may allocate a bearer identifier (e.g., an SRB identifier or a DRB identifier) to each bearer and indicate configuration of a PDCP layer device, an RLC layer device, a MAC layer device, and/or a PHY layer device for each bearer);
receiving, transmitting a suspend message (6-10) to suspend a connection with a network node([0155], which recites he gNB may transmit an RRCRelease message containing an indicator (suspend-config) instructing the UE to transition to the RRC inactive mode); suspending the connection([0155], which recites he gNB may transmit an RRCRelease message containing an indicator (suspend-config) instructing the UE to transition to the RRC inactive mode thereby, suspending the connection)and
in response to receiving the suspend message, deleting the configuration for the L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility([0337], which recites the RRCRelease message may define an indicator to discard the frequency measurement configuration information or the frequency measurement result, and may set change, or delete only part of the stored frequency measurement configuration information. As disclosed on [0039], the RRCRelease message containing the indication to set change or delete only part of the stored frequency measurement configuration information is received by the UE from the base station ).
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration comprises at least a subset of parameters, fields and/or Information Elements (IEs) within ServingCellConfigCommon.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the configuration comprises at least a subset of parameters, fields and/or Information Elements (IEs) within ServingCellConfigCommon ([0112], [0302]), which recites the RRCSetup request comprising different parameters as claimed by the instant application) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zhou with the teaching of Kim by using the above features such as wherein the configuration comprises at least a subset of parameters, fields and/or Information Elements (IEs) within ServingCellConfigCommon as taught by Zhou for the purpose of saving power in carrier aggregation(Abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein suspending the connection comprises transitioning to an inactive state([0155]).
Regarding claim 22, Kim discloses the method of claim 16, wherein deleting the configuration is further in response to receiving an indication from the network node to discard the configuration to avoid configuration mismatch between the network node and the UE([0129],[0335]).
Regarding claim 23, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein deleting the configuration comprises deleting at least a subset of parameters for one of candidate cells([0337]-[0338]).
Regarding claim 31, Kim discloses the method of claim 30, wherein the one or more parameters comprise cell-specific parameters or Physical Cell Identity (PCI)-specific parameters([0323]).
Regarding claim 32, Kim discloses the method of claim 28, further comprising receiving a request for a UE context from a second network node and providing the UE context to the second network node([0139]).
Regarding claim 47, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, in response to receiving the suspend message, before entering RRC_INACTIVE, deleting the configuration for L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility([0155]).
Claim(s) 19-21,48-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Zhou et al. (US Application 2022/0014983, hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claims 19,48, Kim discloses the method of claim 18 as addressed above, except wherein the one or more parameters comprise cell-specific parameters, wherein the cell-specific parameters are configured for each target candidate cell for L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility.
However, Zhou teaches the one or more parameters comprise cell-specific parameters, wherein the cell-specific parameters are configured for each target candidate cell for L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility(Abstract, [0007], [0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zhou with the teaching of Kim by using the above features such as the one or more parameters comprise cell-specific parameters, wherein the cell-specific parameters are configured for each target candidate cell for L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility as taught by Zhou for the purpose of fast CA/DC reconfiguration in L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility(Abstract).
Regarding claims 20, 49, Kim discloses the method of claim 18 as addressed above, except wherein the one or more parameters comprise Physical Cell Identity (PCI)-specific parameters, wherein the PCI-specific parameters are configured for each target PCI candidate for L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility.
However, Zhou teaches the one or more parameters comprise Physical Cell Identity (PCI)-specific parameters, wherein the PCI-specific parameters are configured for each target PCI candidate for L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility (Abstract, [0007], [0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zhou with the teaching of Kim by using the above features such as the one or more parameters comprise Physical Cell Identity (PCI)-specific parameters, wherein the PCI-specific parameters are configured for each target PCI candidate for L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility as taught by Zhou for the purpose of fast CA/DC reconfiguration in L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility(Abstract).
Regarding claims 21, 50, Kim discloses the method of claim 18 as addressed above, except wherein the configuration is for a Master Cell Group (MCG), a Secondary Cell Group (SCG) or both the MCG and SCG.
However, Zhou teaches the configuration is for a Master Cell Group (MCG), a Secondary Cell Group (SCG) or both the MCG and SCG (Abstract, [0007], [0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zhou with the teaching of Kim by using the above features such as the configuration is for a Master Cell Group (MCG), a Secondary Cell Group (SCG) or both the MCG and SCG as taught by Zhou for the purpose of fast CA/DC reconfiguration in L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility(Abstract).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DADY CHERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418