DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s 11/12/2025 amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation “the refrigerant supply passage cooling the high-temperature region by the refrigerant” (lines 13-14) renders the claim indefinite as the claim recites method steps in an apparatus claim. See In re Katz and MPEP 2173.05(p). to overcome the rejection, the recitation should be rewritten as “the refrigerant supply passage is configured to cool the high-temperature region by the refrigerant”.
Further regarding claim 1, the recitation “the refrigerant discharge passage being connected to the connecting passage, cooling the another region with the refrigerant supplied from the connecting passage, and discharging the refrigerant to the discharge port” (lines 19-21) renders the claim indefinite as the claim recites method steps in an apparatus claim. See In re Katz and MPEP 2173.05(p). to overcome the rejection, the recitation should be rewritten as “the refrigerant discharge passage being connected to the connecting passage, configured to cool the another region with the refrigerant supplied from the connecting passage, and configured to discharge the refrigerant to the discharge port”.
Regarding claim 18, the recitation “a heat receiving layer that receives heat from the cooling targe” (line 3) renders the claim indefinite as the claim recites method steps in an apparatus claim. See In re Katz and MPEP 2173.05(p). to overcome the rejection, the recitation should be rewritten as “a heat receiving layer that is configured to receive heat from the cooling target”.
Claims 2-17 are rejected as depending from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kenny et al. (US 2005/0211427).
Regarding claim 1, Kenny et al. discloses a cooling component (100) that cools a cooling target (99) including a high-temperature region (Figure 3B and Paragraph 60: See regions of 99 corresponding to hot spots of locations A and B) and another region (Figure 3B and Paragraph 60: See regions of 99 other than the hot spots of locations A and B), the high-temperature region rising to a higher temperature than the another region by heat generation (Paragraph 60), the another region rising to a temperature lower than the temperature that of the high-temperature region by heat generation (Paragraph 60), the cooling component comprising:
A cooling section that faces the high-temperature region (Figure 3B and Paragraph 60: See regions of 102 directly overlapping the regions of 99 corresponding to hot spots of locations A and B),
Another cooling section that faces the another region (Figure 3B and Paragraph 60: See regions of 102 directly overlapping the regions of 99 other than the hot spots of locations A and B), and
A passage that is internally included in the cooling component and through which a refrigerant flows from an upstream-side supply port and toward a downstream-side discharge port (Figure 3B: See flow path from 108 to 109), where the passage includes:
A refrigerant supply passage (Figure 3B: See plural channels 410 define by fins 110 that correspond to regions of 99 corresponding to hot spots of locations A and B) that includes at least one upstream-side passage (i.e. one of the channels 410 of the refrigerant supply passage) disposed inside the cooling section, the refrigerant supply passage cooling the high-temperature region by the refrigerant (Figure 3B and Paragraph 60),
A connecting passage (Figure 3B: Defined by any of 105A-D) that is connected to the refrigerant supply passage (Figure 3B), the connecting passage being disposed at a position farther away from the cooling target than the at least one upstream-side passage (Figure 3B),
A refrigerant discharge passage (See plural channels 410 define by fins 110 that correspond to regions of 99 other than the hot spots of locations A and B) that includes a downstream-side passage (i.e. one of the channels 410 of the refrigerant discharge passage) disposed in the another cooling section, the refrigerant discharge passage being connected to the connecting passage (Figure 3B), cooling the another region with the refrigerant supplied from the connecting passage (Figure 3B), and discharging the refrigerant to the discharge port (Figure 3B).
Regarding claim 2, Kenny et al. discloses a cooling component as discussed above, where a heat receiving layer (98) that receives heat from the cooling target (Paragraph 38), a cooling passage forming layer (i.e. 102) that is disposed on the heat receiving layer and in which the at least one upstream-side passage and the downstream-side passage are formed (Figure 3B and Paragraph38), an intermediate layer (104) disposed on the cooling passage forming layer and in which the connecting passage is formed (Figure 3B and Paragraph38), and an upper surface layer (106) disposed on the intermediate layer and provided with the supply port and the discharge port are sequentially layered in a height direction (Figure 3B and Paragraph 38).
Regarding claim 3, Kenny et al. discloses a cooling component as discussed above, where the at least one upstream-side passage includes a plurality of passages (i.e. 410) partitioned by a plurality of plate-like members (i.e. 110) disposed inside the cooling section (Figure 3B, see also Figures 6B and 6C), and the at least one downstream-side passage is arranged adjacent to the upstream-side passage (Figure 3B).
Regarding claim 5, Kenny et al. discloses a device comprising: the cooling component according to claim 1 and the cooling target (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 6, Kenny et al. discloses a cooling component as discussed above, where the at least one upstream-side passage includes a plurality of passages (i.e. 410) partitioned by a plurality of plate-like members (i.e. 110) disposed inside the cooling section (Figure 3B, see also Figures 6B and 6C), and the downstream-side passage is arranged adjacent to the at least one upstream-side passage (Figure 3B).
Regarding claim 10, Kenny et al. discloses a device comprising: the cooling component according to claim 2 and the cooling target (see rejection of claim 2 above).
Regarding claim 11, Kenny et al. discloses a device comprising: the cooling component according to claim 3 and the cooling target (see rejection of claim 3 above).
Regarding claim 12, Kenny et al. discloses a device comprising: the cooling component according to claim 4 and the cooling target (see rejection of claim 4 above).
Regarding claim 13, Kenny et al. discloses a device comprising: the cooling component according to claim 6 and the cooling target (see rejection of claim 6 above).
Regarding claim 14, Kenny et al. discloses a device comprising: the cooling component according to claim 7 and the cooling target (see rejection of claim 7 above).
Regarding claim 15, Kenny et al. discloses a device comprising: the cooling component according to claim 8 and the cooling target (see rejection of claim 8 above).
Regarding claim 16, Kenny et al. discloses a device comprising: the cooling component according to claim 9 and the cooling target (see rejection of claim 9 above).
Regarding claim 17, Kenny et al. discloses a cooling component as discussed above, where the connecting passage (i.e. any of 105A-D) is disposed at a position farther away from the cooling target (i.e. 99) in a z-axis direction (Figure 3B) than the at least one upstream-side passage (i.e. one of the channels 410) (Figures 2A-3B: The connecting passage is directly connected to the at least one upstream-side passage, whereas the cooling target is located at a distance from the connecting passage), an x-axis direction (Figure 3B) being a direction in which the high-temperature region and the another region are arranged, a y-axis direction (Figure 3B) being a direction in which the high-temperature region and the another region extend, and the Z-axis direction being a direction perpendicular to both the x-axis direction and the y-axis direction (Figure 3B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4, 7, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kenny et al. (US 2005/0211427), and further in view of Hao (US 2012/0120604).
Regarding claims 4, 7, 8, and 9, Kenny et al. discloses a cooling component as discussed above. While Kenny et al. discloses a cooling member (36) for cooling a connecting passage cooling section facing the connecting passage is provided outside the cooling component (Figure 2A and Paragraph 37), Kenny et al. does not teach or disclose a cooling member provided outside the cooling component and in a portion on an upper surface of the cooling component that faces the connecting passage.
Hao teaches a cooling component (100) that cools a cooling target (170), comprising at least: a cooling section (110) having at least one passage (130), where a cooling member (150) for cooling the at least one passage facing the at least one passage is provided outside the cooling component and in a portion on an upper surface of the cooling component that faces the connecting passage (Figures 1-2). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the cooling component as disclosed by Kenny et al. with a cooling member as taught by Hao to improve cooling component heat exchange efficiency by providing the cooling component with supplemental surface area for dissipating heat from a cooling target.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kenny et al. (US 2005/0211427), and further in view of Joshi et al. (US 2005/0200001).
Regarding claim 18, Kenny et al. discloses a cooling component as discussed above. While Kenny et al. discloses that the cooling component comprises:
a heat receiving layer (98’) that receives heat from the cooling target (Figures 2B- 3B), a cooling passage forming layer (102) disposed on the heat receiving layer (Figures 2B- 3B) in which the at least one upstream-side passage and the downstream-side passage are formed (Figures 2B- 3B), an intermediate layer (104) disposed on the cooling passage forming layer (Figures 2B- 3B) in which the connecting passage is formed (Figures 2B- 3B), and an upper surface layer (106) disposed on the intermediate layers (Figures 2B- 3B) in which the supply port and the discharge port are provided (Figures 2B- 3B), and where the heat receiving layer, the cooling passage forming layer, the intermediate layer, and the upper surface layer are sequentially laminated (Figures 2B- 3B). however, Kenny et al. does not teach or disclose a plurality of intermediate layers.
Joshi et al. teaches a cooling component (100) that cools a cooling target (400), comprising at least: a heat receiving layer (520) that receives heat from the cooling target (Figures 4-5), a cooling passage forming layer (516) disposed on the heat receiving layer (Figures 4-5), a plurality of intermediate layers (508, 512) disposed on the cooling passage forming layer (Figures 4-5), and an upper surface layer (504) disposed on the intermediate layers (Figures 4-5), and where the heat receiving layer, the cooling passage forming layer, the plurality of intermediate layers, and the upper surface layer are sequentially laminated (Figures 4-5). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the cooling component as disclosed by Kenny et al. with a plurality of intermediate layers as taught by Joshi et al. to improve cooling component heat exchange efficiency by providing a plurality of layers that are configured to increase a residence time of fluid flowing through the cooling component (i.e. increasing a number of fluid passes through the cooling component).
Response to Arguments
Regarding the arguments on page 8, lines 1-9:
Applicant’s statements regarding the status of the application are noted.
Regarding the arguments on page 8, lines 10-14:
Applicant’s replacement drawings are accepted.
Regarding the arguments on page 8, lines 15-19:
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the 35 USC 112 rejections of record. However, the amendment appears to introduce new indefiniteness.
Regarding the arguments on page 8, line 20 to page 10, line 3:
Applicant alleges that Kenny does not teach or disclose “a refrigerant supply passage that includes at least one upstream-side passage disposed inside the cooling section, the refrigerant supply passage cooling the high-temperature region by the refrigerant”. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As set forth in the 35 USC 102 rejections as discussed above, it is noted that Kenny discloses a cooling section that faces the high-temperature region (Figure 3B and Paragraph 60: See regions of 102 directly overlapping the regions of 99 corresponding to hot spots of locations A and B) and a refrigerant supply passage (Figure 3B: See plural channels 410 define by fins 110 that correspond to regions of 99 corresponding to hot spots of locations A and B), where at least one upstream-side passage (i.e. one of the channels 410 of the refrigerant supply passage) is disposed inside the cooling section (i.e. 102). Specifically, the passages 410 are clearly located within the cooling section 102 (Figure 3B).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON N THOMPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763