Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6,8,17-19,26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baringer et al (US 10211855 B2) hereinafter as Baringer in view of Carr et al (US 7236212 B2) hereinafter as Carr.
Regarding claim(s) 1,26, Baringer discloses a filter unit for wideband multicarrier time-division duplexing operation (See Fig(s). 2 filter unit 36 for wideband multicarrier transmission.. See ¶ 12,29, the architecture 30 provides software programmable capabilities… for optimized performance in the signal band of interest and that can be tuned across a broad range of carrier frequencies. ), the filter unit comprising:
a transmission multiplexer( See Fig(s). 2, with multiplexer 34), at least one circulator (38), and a filter bank (36), wherein the MXT and the filter bank are connected via the at least one circulator (See Fig(s). 2, with multiplexer 34, circulator 38 and filter bank 36 connected as shown),
wherein the MXT is configured to receive a transmission wideband multicarrier signal as provided by at least one power amplifier and to provide a first bandpass filtered TX wideband multicarrier signal to the at least one circulator (See Fig(s). 2, the MXT 34 receives a multicarrier signal from the BPF 60 via the power amplifier 64, See ¶ 11),
wherein the MXT comprises at least one first BP filter structure for first BP filtering of the TX wideband multicarrier signal (See Fig(s). 3, See ¶ 25, multiplexers 320, 325 split incoming signals into multiple paths covering different frequency ranges, which may be implemented using bandpass filters,)
wherein the at least one circulator is configured to receive the first BP filtered TX wideband multicarrier signal from the MXT and provide the first BP filtered TX wideband multicarrier signal to the filter bank (See Fig(s). 2, Each signal path includes a circulator 38 that separates and directs the receive and transmit signals to the filter bank 36, See ¶ 10-11).
wherein the filter bank is configured to receive the first BP filtered TX wideband multicarrier signal from the at least one circulator (See ¶ 2, signal passes from BPF 60 thru circulator 38 to the filter bank 36).
Baringer fails to disclose second BP filtered TX wideband multicarrier signal towards an antenna port, wherein the filter bank comprises at least as many second BP filter structures as there are first BP filter structures for second BP filtering of the first BP filtered TX wideband multicarrier signal to provide the second BP filtered TX wideband multicarrier signal.
Carr discloses second BP filtered TX wideband multicarrier signal towards an antenna port, wherein the filter bank comprises at least as many second BP filter structures as there are first BP filter structures for second BP filtering of the first BP filtered TX wideband multicarrier signal to provide the second BP filtered TX wideband multicarrier signal (See Fig(s). 19 Filter banks #1-3, See ¶ 312-313, A second bank of band pass filters 1934 removes spurious outputs.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Carr within Baringer, so as to removes spurious outputs from first set of filter banks and thus having a more clean signal within desired frequency range.
Regarding claim(s) 2, Baringer discloses (See Fig(s). 2) an input port , and wherein each of the at least one first BP filter structure (60) defines a respective first multiplexer channel (34) and is configured to, via the input port , receive the TX wideband multicarrier signal from the at least one PA (64), and BP filter the TX wideband multicarrier signal so as to provide the first BP filtered TX wideband multicarrier signal to the at least one circulator (38).
Regarding claim(s) 3, Baringer discloses (See Fig(s). 2) wherein there are as many circulators (38) as there are first BP filter structures (60), and wherein each circulator (38) has a bandwidth being at least same as a bandwidth of the first multiplexer channel of the BP filter from which it receives the first BP filtered TX wideband multicarrier signal (See ¶ abstract, The system is used for wide bandwidth radio system designed to adapt to various global radio standards and, more particularly, to a cellular radio architecture that employs a combination of a single circulator, programmable band-pass sampling radio frequency (RF) ).
Regarding claim(s) 4, Carr discloses wherein each second BP filter structure (See Fig(s). 19, filter bank #2) defines a respective second multiplexer channel and is configured to receive the first BP filtered TX wideband multicarrier signal from the circulator (See Fig(s). 2 of Baringer with circulator 38) to which it is connected, and for second BP filtering of the first BP filtered TX wideband multicarrier signal so as to provide the second BP filtered TX wideband multicarrier signal towards the antenna port (See Fig(s). 19 Filter banks #1-3, See ¶ 312-313, A second bank of band pass filters 1934 removes spurious outputs.). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
.
Regarding claim(s) 5, Carr discloses the filter unit (See Fig(s). 19) further comprises an output port (1914) wherein the filter bank (filter banks #1-3) is configured to receive a reception wideband multicarrier signal from the antenna port (1906), and to provide a second BP filtered RX wideband multicarrier signal to the at least one circulator (See Fig(s). 2 of Baringer with circulator 38), wherein the second BP filter structure is configured for second BP filtering of the RX wideband multicarrier signal (See ¶ 25, multiple paths covering different frequency ranges, which may be implemented using bandpass filters) ; and wherein the at least one circulator (See Baringer Fig(s). 2, circulator 38) is configured to receive the second BP filtered RX wideband multicarrier signal from the filter bank and provide the second BP filtered RX wideband multicarrier signal towards the output port. Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 6, Carr discloses wherein the filter unit further comprises at least as many low noise amplifiers (LNAs as there are circulators, wherein there is at least one LNA connected between each of the at least one circulator (320) and the output port (See Fig(s). 35, LNA 3502).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Carr within Baringer, these signals are used to program the attenuator to various levels of attenuation, and for an output smoothness control.
Regarding claim(s) 8, Carr discloses a reception multiplexer wherein the MXR is configured to receive the second BP filtered RX wideband multicarrier signal from the at least one circulator , and to provide a third BP filtered RX wideband multicarrier signal to the output port , wherein the MXR () comprises at least one third BP filter structure for third BP filtering of the second BP filtered RX wideband multicarrier signal (See Fig(s). 19 with three filter banks #1-3 which can be incorporated within Baringer as appropriate) Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 17, Baringer discloses wherein the filter unit (300) further comprises as many switches as there are circulators, wherein there is one switch connected between each of the at least one circulator and the output port for selectively switching operation of the filter unit between transmission of the TX wideband multicarrier signal and reception of the RX wideband multicarrier signal (See Fig(s). 1 switch 14, Fig. 2 switch 66, See ¶ 12, switch 66 that directs the signal to a selected power amplifier 64 optimized for the transmitted signal frequency band. In this embodiment, three signal paths have been selected, however, the transmitter module 48 could be implemented using any number of signal paths. The amplified signal is sent to the particular circulator 38).
Regarding claim(s) 18, Baringer discloses wherein there are at least three first BP filter structures (311) defining as many first multiplexer channels, each covering its own one or more LTE frequency band (See Fig(s). 2, BPF 60, while a single BPF is shown for illustration, however multiple BPF are possible as needed).
Regarding claim(s) 19, Baringer discloses wherein there are three first multiplexer channels covering LTE frequency bands B41H, B43C and B79B, respectively (See ¶ 12, The architecture 30 meets current cellular wireless access protocols across the 0.4-2.6 GHz frequency range by dividing the frequency range into three non-continuous bands.).
Claim(s) 7,27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baringer et al (US 10211855 B2) hereinafter as Baringer in view of Carr et al (US 7236212 B2) hereinafter as Carr, further in view of Mansour et al (US 9761921 B2) hereinafter as Mansour.
Mansour discloses a lowpass filter, and a high pass filter, wherein the LP filter is connected between one of the at least one circulator and one of the LNAs , and wherein the HP filter is connected between the same one of the at least one circulator and another one of the LNAs (See ¶ 39, subfilters can be low-pass or high-pass subfilters instead of bandpass subfilters. FIG. 7A shows an embodiment using two low-pass subfilter frequency responses 12″, 14″, and FIG. 7B shows an example embodiment using two high-pass subfilter frequency responses 12′″, 14′″. In all these embodiments, the subfilters can be electronically tunable.) .The transmit frequency band of a bandpass filter (between the two cutoffs or passband).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Mansour within Baringer, so as to more precisely define the desired passband frequency for maximum gain.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 9-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of Claim(s) 1-6,8,17-19 and 26, Applicant contends inter alia “…Carr does not teach or suggest the claimed "filter bank" comprising "second BP filter structures" as recited by claims 1 and 26…”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, first off, applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
With that stated, Examiner assets Carr clearly and explicitly discloses applicant’s contention whereby Carr teaches/suggests “second BP filter structures” (See Fig(s). 5 with second set of bank filters @ IF2, See Fig(s). 19 with second and third set of bandpass filter structures 1934 and 1936, See ¶ 206). The determination of particular wideband frequencies to be used within the multicarrier transmission is based on coarse and fine PLL tuning as desired (See ¶ 207).
Applicant further contends inter alia “…claim 1 recites that "the filter bank comprises at least as many second BP filter structures as there are first BP filter structures." This requires a specific numerical correspondence between the second BP filter structures in the filter bank and the first BP filter structures in the MXT. Neither Baringer nor Carr teach or suggest this numerical relationship…”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, Carr explicitly discloses an numerical relationship (See Fig(s). 19), there is one (Filter bank #2) with respect to one (Filter bank #1) which is a one-to one numerical relationship. The limitation only states “as many”, there is no specific requirement within the claim to have more than one set of filter banks, and therefore Carrs clearly and explicitly satisfies this limitation portion, thus causing Applicant’s contention moot.
Applicant is advised a prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention." MPEP §2141.02.VI, (Rev. 6, Sept. 2007) (citing W.L. Gore & Assoc. v. Garlock, Inc., 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984)).
In order to establish a case of patentability (against an Office Action), the Applicant must provide some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the conclusion that the cited reference(s) fails to teach/suggest the contended limitation(s). The Applicant must do more than merely "recite" each limitation and claim as being not taught within the referenced art(s).
Thus, based on the foregoing reasoning’s’ Examiner asserts the cited references either alone or in combination teach/suggest limitations of claims 1-6,8,17-19 and 26 and therefore the rejection to said claims is sustained.
While Examiner believes all of Applicant’s contentions have been appropriately addressed in this Office Action, however, the arguments made above are not intended to be exhaustive, and therefore nothing in this Action should be construed as an intent to concede with any issue with regard to any claim, except as specifically stated in this Office Action.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAJ JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411