DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it recites “Representative figure: Fig. 1” which should be omitted. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10 recites “(wherein…group)” such that the parentheses should be omitted. Claim 11 recites “coating the aforementioned composition for removing edge beads from the metal-containing resists claim 1” but should instead recite --coating the composition for removing edge beads from the metal-containing resists of claim 1--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 9 and 10 recite “The composition of claim 1, wherein a metal compound included in the metal-containing resists”. However, claim 1 is directed to a composition, not a metal-containing resist. Claim 1 recites “for removing edge beads from metal-containing resists” which refers to the use of the composition. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed composition is intended to be used does not differentiate the claimed composition from a prior art composition satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex Parte Masham, 2, USPQ2d 1647 (1987). This recitation of the composition is drawn to intended use; therefore, this limitation does not add any patentable weight to the claim (MPEP 2106). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. The Examiner suggests canceling said claims and adding new claims reciting the same subject matter but depend from claim 11 since it is the only claim which positively recites a metal-containing resist.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/565,488 (reference application) (U.S. 2024/0369935). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and copending claims are directed to compositions comprising an organic solvent and a compound, specifically ‘488 teaches pyrocatechol which encompasses a cyclic compound substituted with two hydroxy groups having a carbon number of 6 and 3 double bonds of instant claims 1-4, specifically Chemical Formula 2 of instant claim 5, more specifically Chemical formula 2-1 of instant claim 6, even more specifically the middle compound of Group 2 of instant claim 7. Claims 4-8 of ‘488 encompass instant claims 9-12.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/580,110 (reference application) (U.S. 2024/0329536). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and copending claims are directed to compositions comprising an organic solvent and a compound, specifically ‘110 teaches pyrocatechol which encompasses a cyclic compound substituted with two hydroxy groups having a carbon number of 6 and 3 double bonds of instant claims 1-4, specifically Chemical Formula 2 of instant claim 5, more specifically Chemical formula 2-1 of instant claim 6, even more specifically the middle compound of Group 2 of instant claim 7. Claims 4-8 of ‘110 encompass instant claims 9-12.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 17/858,921 (reference application) (U.S. 2023/0038110). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and copending claims are directed to compositions comprising an organic solvent and a compound, specifically ‘921 teaches 2-hydroxy-2,4,6-cycloheptatrien-1-one which encompasses a cyclic compound substituted with one hydroxy group having a carbon number of 7 and 3 double bonds of instant claims 1-4, specifically Chemical Formula 3 of instant claim 5, more specifically Chemical formula 3-1 of instant claim 6, even more specifically the right compound of Group 2 of instant claim 7. Claims 7-11 of ‘921 encompass instant claims 9-12.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 8-10 of copending Application No. 17/858,924 (reference application) (U.S. 2023/0037563). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and copending claims are directed to compositions comprising an organic solvent and a compound, specifically ‘924 teaches 2-hydroxy-2,4,6-cycloheptatrien-1-one which encompasses a cyclic compound substituted with one hydroxy group having a carbon number of 7 and 3 double bonds of instant claims 1-4, specifically Chemical Formula 3 of instant claim 5, more specifically Chemical formula 3-1 of instant claim 6, even more specifically the right compound of Group 2 of instant claim 7. Claims 1 and 8-10 of ‘924 encompass instant claims 9-12.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (KR20110124955). WO2011142600 is being used as the English translation.
Park et al. teaches in Comparative Example 14, a photoresist stripper composition comprising 2.0% by weight TMAH, 75.0% by weight DMSO, 6.0% by weight of catechol, and 15.0% by weight water [p 11] (claim 8) wherein DMSO is dimethylsulfoxide which is an organic solvent of instant claims 1 and 9 and catechol is equivalent to a cyclic compound substituted with two hydroxy groups having a carbon number of 6 and 3 double bonds of instant claims 1-4, specifically Chemical Formula 2 of instant claim 5, more specifically Chemical formula 2-1 of instant claim 6, even more specifically the middle compound of Group 2 of instant claim 7. Park also teaches in Example 1, a photoresist stripper composition comprising 2.0% by weight TMAH, 86.0% by weight DMSO, 1.0% by weight of gallic acid, and 15.0% by weight water [p 11] (claim 8) wherein DMSO is dimethylsulfoxide which is an organic solvent of instant claims 1 and 9 and gallic acid is equivalent to a cyclic compound substituted with three hydroxy groups having a carbon number of 6 and 3 double bonds of instant claims 1, 3, and 4.
Claim 1 recites “for removing edge beads from metal-containing resists” which refers to the use of the composition. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed composition is intended to be used does not differentiate the claimed composition from a prior art composition satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex Parte Masham, 2, USPQ2d 1647 (1987). This recitation of the composition is drawn to intended use; therefore, this limitation does not add any patentable weight to the claim (MPEP 2106). Therefore, the metal compound recited in claims 9 and 10 holds no patentable weight.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (U.S. 2003/0158058).
Yoon et al. teaches in Example 2, a photoresist remover composition comprising 5 wt% water soluble amine HDA, 15 wt% oxime P-Oxime, 25 wt% water, 8 wt% phenol compound PC, and 47 wt% alkyl amide DMAc [0056] wherein DMAc is dimethylacetamide which is an organic solvent of instant claims 1 and 8 and phenol compound PC is pyrocatechol which is equivalent to a cyclic compound substituted with two hydroxy groups having a carbon number of 6 and 3 double bonds of instant claims 1-4, specifically Chemical Formula 2 of instant claim 5, more specifically Chemical formula 2-1 of instant claim 6, even more specifically the middle compound of Group 2 of instant claim 7.
Claim 1 recites “for removing edge beads from metal-containing resists” which refers to the use of the composition. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed composition is intended to be used does not differentiate the claimed composition from a prior art composition satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex Parte Masham, 2, USPQ2d 1647 (1987). This recitation of the composition is drawn to intended use; therefore, this limitation does not add any patentable weight to the claim (MPEP 2106). Therefore, the metal compound recited in claims 9 and 10 holds no patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zi et al. (U.S. 2018/0039182) in view of Yoon et al. (U.S. 2003/0158058).
Zi et al. teaches FIG. 8 provides a visual illustration of a flow in which the cleaning process is performed according to embodiments of the present disclosure. Referring to FIG. 8, an example lithography process 400 is illustrated. In some embodiments, the lithography process 400 is an EUV lithography process. The lithography process 400 includes a step 410 in which a photo-sensitive material is coated onto a wafer such as the wafer 45 [0067], he lithography process 400 includes a step 420 of pre-exposure baking, in which the wafer (and the metal-containing photo-sensitive material coated thereon) is baked. The lithography process 400 includes a step 430 of exposure, in which the wafer (and the metal-containing photo-sensitive material coated thereon) is exposed. In some embodiments, the exposure involves using ultraviolet (UV) light or using e-beam to expose the wafer 45. The lithography process 400 includes a step 440 of post-exposure bake, in which the wafer 45 (and the metal-containing photo-sensitive material coated thereon) is baked. The lithography process 400 includes a step 450 of developing, in which the wafer (and the metal-containing photo-sensitive material coated thereon) is developed via an application of a developer solution onto the wafer [0068], FIG. 9 provides another visual illustration of another flow in which the cleaning process is performed according to embodiments of the present disclosure. For reasons of consistency and clarity, similar elements appearing in FIGS. 8-9 are labeled the same. In comparison to the process flow shown in FIG. 8, the process flow shown in FIG. 9 performs the wafer cleaning after the steps 410, 420, 440, and 450, rather than during the steps 410 and 450. In other words, the wafer 45 may be cleaned (using the cleaning system 150) after the metal-containing photo-sensitive material has been coated onto the wafer, and/or after the pre-exposure baking process, and/or after the post-exposure baking process, and/or after the developing process. Again, it is understood that the wafer 45 need not necessarily be cleaned four times in this process flow. For example, the wafer 45 may be cleaned (using the cleaning system 150) just after any one of the steps 410, 420, 440, and 450, or combinations thereof [0070] in which the cleaning fluid 100 is applied to a back side of the wafer 45 and/or the side edges of the wafer 45 [0048] (claims 11 and 12). Zi et al. also teaches the cleaning fluid 100 contains a solvent that is selected to have specific ranges with respect to Hansen solubility parameters of delta D, delta P, and delta H. Hansen solubility parameters provide a way to predict whether one material will dissolve in another and form a solution [0050] but does not teach a cyclic compound substituted with at least one hydroxy group having a carbon number of 5 to 30 and at least one double bond in the ring.
However, Yoon et al. teaches in Example 2, a photoresist remover composition comprising 5 wt% water soluble amine HDA, 15 wt% oxime P-Oxime, 25 wt% water, 8 wt% phenol compound PC, and 47 wt% alkyl amide DMAc [0056] wherein DMAc is dimethylacetamide which is an organic solvent of instant claims 1 and 8 and phenol compound PC is pyrocatechol which is equivalent to a cyclic compound substituted with two hydroxy groups having a carbon number of 6 and 3 double bonds of instant claims 1-4, specifically Chemical Formula 2 of instant claim 5, more specifically Chemical formula 2-1 of instant claim 6, even more specifically the middle compound of Group 2 of instant claim 7. Yoon et al. also teaches the phenol compound containing 2 or 3 hydroxyl groups have the function of making the hydroxyl ion, which is produced by the reaction of hydroxylamine with hydrogen ions of water, penetrate the contact surface between the conductive layers. In addition, the phenol compound containing 2 or 3 hydroxyl groups have an anticorrosive function in that it can keep the lower metal film material from being corroded by the hydroxyl groups produced from the photoresist remover composition [0027].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zi et al. to include other known resist remover compositions (cleaning liquids) such as those taught by Yoon et al. and arrive at the instant claims through routine experimentation of substituting equally suitable components for the sought invention in order to keep the lower metal film material from being corroded.
Claim 1 recites “for removing edge beads from metal-containing resists” which refers to the use of the composition. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed composition is intended to be used does not differentiate the claimed composition from a prior art composition satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex Parte Masham, 2, USPQ2d 1647 (1987). This recitation of the composition is drawn to intended use; therefore, this limitation does not add any patentable weight to the claim (MPEP 2106). Therefore, the metal compound recited in claims 9 and 10 holds no patentable weight.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. 5,49,467, U.S. 2004/0234904, U.S. 2020/0117085, KR20040037643, and KR20160074396.
/Anna Malloy/Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735