DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9, 10, 11, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Jacobsen et al. (NO 338011 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Jacobsen discloses:
a system for handling containers (5), comprising:
a movable frame (6) configured to be movable on a flat surface (Fig. 4C & Fig. 5C & Fig. 6C & Fig. 7C & Fig. 8C & Fig. 8D);
a engagement element (7) configured to be engaged to a container (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 4C & Fig. 5C & Fig. 6C & Fig. 7C & Fig. 8C & Fig. 8D); and
a sling [0022], wherein the engagement element is located on said movable frame (Fig. 4C & Fig. 5C & Fig. 6C & Fig. 7C & Fig. 8C & Fig. 8D), said movable frame being connected to a connecting end of said sling [0022].
Regarding Claim 6, Jacobsen discloses:
a head to which the engagement element and the connecting end of the sling are connected [0022].
Regarding Claim 9, Jacobsen discloses:
the engagement element comprises a magnet [0004 & 0019 & 0025].
Regarding Claim 10, Jacobsen discloses:
the movable frame comprises a battery pack [0019].
Regarding Claim 11, Jacobsen discloses:
a method for handling containers (5), comprising:
placing a movable frame (6) connected to a connecting end of a sling [0022] on a surface (Fig. 4B & Fig. 4C);
moving the movable frame next to a container provided with a lifting ring (Fig. 2 & Fig. 5B & Fig. 5C & Fig. 6B & Fig. 6C & Fig. 7B & Fig. 7C & Fig. 8B & Fig. 8C & Fig. 8D);
engaging a engagement element on the movable frame with the lifting ring of the container (Fig. 5B & Fig. 5C & Fig. 6B & Fig. 6C & Fig. 7B & Fig. 7C & Fig. 8B & Fig. 8C & Fig. 8D); and
handling the container by lifting it by means of this sling (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 12, Jacobsen discloses:
after positioning the movable frame, the sling is relaxed, keeping a portion of the sling at the connecting end thereof in a substantially vertical position [0022 & 0023].
Regarding Claim 13, Jacobsen discloses:
engaging of the engagement element with the lifting ring of the container is performed using a magnet [0004 & 0019 & 0025].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen et al. (NO 338011 B1) in view of Matre et al (NO 336096 B1).
Regarding Claim 2, Jacobsen teaches:
further comprising a cone (61) configured to guide a portion of the sling closest to the connecting end of the sling (Fig. 5B & Fig. 5C & Fig. 6B & Fig. 6C & Fig. 7B & Fig. 7C & Fig. 8B & Fig. 8C & Fig. 8D) [0028].
Jacobsen does not teach:
the guide is a pole.
Matre teaches:
a system for handling containers (5 & 9), comprising:
a movable frame (33) configured to be movable (Fig. 3 & Fig. 4);
a engagement element (21) configured to be engaged to a container (Fig. 3 & Fig. 4);
a sling (10), wherein the engagement element is located on said movable frame (Fig. 3 & Fig. 4), said movable frame being connected to a connecting end of said sling (Fig. 5); and
further comprising a pole (8) configured to guide a portion of the sling closest to the connecting end of the sling (Fig. 3 & Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container handling latching system having a guide cone for aligning the engagement element with the lifting ring taught by Jacobsen with the modify the container handling latching system having a series of guide poles for aligning the engagement element with the lifting ring taught by Matre in order to provide an alignment means with a reduced weight thereby reducing the overall weight of the system and therefore stress on the sling.
Regarding Claim 3, Jacobsen does not teach:
the pole is elastic.
Matre teaches:
the pole is elastic [0037].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container handling latching system having a guide cone for aligning the engagement element with the lifting ring taught by Jacobsen with the modify the container handling latching system having a series of elastic guide poles for aligning the engagement element with the lifting ring taught by Matre in order to provide an alignment means with a reduced weight thereby reducing the overall weight of the system and therefore stress on the sling and preventing damage to the alignment means by allowing for give in the system.
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen et al. (NO 338011 B1) in view of Prager et al. (US 20190193856 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Jacobsen does not teach:
the movable frame comprises wheels.
Prager teaches:
a system for handling containers (508), comprising:
a movable frame (700) configured to be movable on a flat surface (ground) [0158 & 0159 & 0160 & 0161 & 0162 & 0163 & 0164 & 0165 & 0166];
a engagement element (606 & 612 & 706 & 712) configured to be engaged to a container (Fig. 8D & Fig. 8E) [0156 & 0157 & 0158 & 0167]; and
a sling (502), wherein the engagement element is located on said movable frame (Fig. 6A & Fig. 6B & Fig. 6C & Fig. 7A & Fig. 7B & Fig. 8D), said movable frame being connected to a connecting end of said sling (Fig. 8C & Fig. 8D) [0145 & 0146 & 0147 & 0148 & 0149].
the movable frame comprises wheels (604 & 704) (Fig. 6A & Fig. 6B & Fig. 6C & Fig. 7A & Fig. 7B & Fig. 8D) [0156 & 0157 & 0158 & 0159 & 0160 & 0161 & 0162 & 0163 & 0164 & 0165 & 0166].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container handling latching system having a guide cone for aligning the engagement element with the lifting ring taught by Jacobsen with the modify the container handling latching system having a movable frame comprises wheels taught by Matre in order to provide an alignment means capable of self-adjustment to allow correcting for misalignment.
Regarding Claim 5, Jacobsen does not teach:
the wheels are omnidirectional.
Prager teaches:
the wheels are omnidirectional [0157].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container handling latching system having a guide cone for aligning the engagement element with the lifting ring taught by Jacobsen with the modify the container handling latching system having a movable frame comprises omnidirectional wheels taught by Matre in order to provide an alignment means capable of self-adjustment to allow correcting for misalignment.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen et al. (NO 338011 B1).
Regarding Claim 7, Jacobsen does not teach:
position of the head is adjustable on the movable frame.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the position head adjustable in order to allow the head to accommodate lifting rings of different sizes thereby increasing the versatility of the head, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 212 F.2d 197, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(V)(D))
Regarding Claim 8, Jacobsen does not explicitly teach:
the head comprises torsion springs to maintain a position of the engagement element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide torsion springs to maintain a position of the engagement element in order to prevent unintended disengagement of the engagement element thereby preventing unintentional disengagement of the engagement element since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that torsion springs for biasing a locking element into an engaged position were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent publications US 9422137 B2, US 8746766 B2, NO 201300508 A, NO 347255 B1, NO 324006 B1, WO 2014168487 A1, WO 2014166945 A1, and US 10689113 B2 have been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: article engaging means for hoisting articles.
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652