DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The examiner proposes: SEMICONDUCTOR PACKAGE WITH HOLE TO CONNECT RESIN ON THE FRONT AND BACK
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “[a] semiconductor device … wherein the mold material has a portion on the front side of the board and a portion on the back side thereof that are interconnected through at least one hole provided in the board; and wherein the hole is created on a dicing line.” This creates confusion about what is being claimed. Is a finished, singulated semiconductor device recited, or is an unsingulated substrate claimed? As the hole is provided on the dicing line, it is present in the unsingulated substrate, but after dicing, it is not clear there is still a hole, and if there is, it would be one small piece of the edge of a hole rather than a hole per se. See e.g. FIG. 7; after dicing, the holes on the dicing line will no longer exist (as they will have been cut away during dicing), or they will be small arcs of the previous hole. It is not clear from the claim language which stage of manufacture of the device is claimed. For present purposes the examiner will interpret it as either stage of manufacturing of the device.
Claims 11 and 12 recite that “the hole is configured to cover a corner portion of the board that is rectangular”. As the hole is recited as being through the board, it is not clear what it means for the hole to “cover” a particular portion.
The remaining claims are rejected based on their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sono, US 5,920,117 A, in view of Hatanaka, JP 2001-177159 A, and Hasuo, JP 2001-196396 A.
Claim 9: Sono discloses
a board (11);
a cavity therein (holding chip 12) having an opening created on a front side of a central portion of the board;
a back-side conductor (13) that is formed for the board to provide a bottom face of the cavity;
a semiconductor chip (12) mounted on the back-side conductor and a mold material (15) that covers the semiconductor chip and the board;
wherein the mold material has a portion on the front side of the board and a portion on the back side thereof that are interconnected through at least one hole (27) provided in the board.
Sono does not disclose that the hole is created on a dicing line. However, through holes that pass resin that are formed on dicing lines were known in the art. See Hatanaka, which shows holes 23 formed on dicing lines (FIG. 4), resin 30 formed on device and flowing into the holes (FIGS. 5A and 6), and then dicing along the dicing lines (FIGS. 5B and 6).
See also Hasuo, which discloses openings 34 on dicing line 2 (“a plurality of through holes 34 are formed on the dicing line 2”, fourth page of attached translation) which are filled with resin (“the resin is filled also in the through hole 34”, fourth page of attached translation).
It would have been obvious to have had holes on the dice line in Sono as a known structure that passes resin. Hatanaka states that “Since the resin 7 is filled in the portion of the substrate material 21 that was left as a trace of the through hole 23, the front electrode 3a covering the resin 7 is lined with the resin 7 and has sufficient strength.” (7th page of the attached translation.) It would have been obvious to do it to achieve that benefit.
Note that the mold material (Hatanaka 25) has a portion on the front side of the board and a portion on the back side thereof that are interconnected through at least one hole provided in the board (FIG. 4C).
Claim 10: in Sono in view of Hatanaka, the hole is on the dicing line, and so would be away from all of the back-side conductors, which are in the centers of the chips.
Claims 11 and 12: the hole is configured to cover a corner portion of the board that is rectangular. Hasuo FIG. 5, holes 34B cover the corners. The board (and its corners) in both Sono and Hasuo are rectangular.
Claims 13-15: Sono discloses another hole (27, FIG. 5) is further provided adjacent to a bottom portion of the cavity.
Claims 15-18: Hasuo FIG. 5 discloses another hole that is further created in an area near a corner portion of the board that is rectangular. There are holes at each of the corners, and thus the hole at any other corner can be the “another hole” of claim 15.
Claim 19-21 the hole has a shape in cross-section that is a circular shape, a square shape, a cross shape or an L-shape (L-shape and cross-shape, Hasuo FIG. 5).
Claims 22-24: the hole has a shape in cross-section that is a slit-like shape (Hasuo FIGS. 2, 6).
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
If the 112 rejections above are addressed, it appears claims 25-27 would be objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The examiner did not find the through passage that horizontally communicates the hole with the cavity formed inside the board, in combination with all the other claim limitations.
Note: “horizontally” is interpreted to mean along a direction in the major surface of the claimed board.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed in the attached Notice of References Cited:
Ohta, US 20120049882 A1, with a hole having resin on a dicing line.
Terashima, US 6,329,228 B1, showing holes 15 connecting resin 20 on the front and back.
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897