DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claim s 2 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 2, i t appears the limitation “ wherein the second member includes a conductor ” is written incorrectly, but should be -- wherein the first member includes a conductor -- . The limitation “the second member includes a conductor ” is not supported. Regarding claim 7, the limitation “ wherein a thickness on the side of the first end portion of the second member is smaller than a thickness on the side of the second end portion thereof ” is written incorrectly, and as such is not supported. See Fig.15 of the Disclosure. It should correctly be -- wherein a thickness on the side of the first end portion of the first member is smaller than a thickness on the side of the second end portion thereof --. Appropriate correction s are required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1- 2 , 4, 5, 9 and 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (U.S. Pub . 2020/0127025) [Hereafter “Lim”] . Regarding claims 1- 2 , Lim [Figs.1-2] discloses an imaging device, comprising: multiple photoelectric conversion sections [PD] provided for respective pixels and each having a first end portion [70] on a light incident side and a second end portion [50] on a side opposite to the first end portion; a first member [45] disposed along a boundary of each of the multiple photoelectric conversion sections in a first direction that extends from the first end portion to the second end portion; and a second member [41 ] provided between each of the multiple photoelectric conversion sections [PD] and the first member [45] and on a side of the first end portion, the second member containing a material [ SiO ] with a lower refractive index than that of the photoelectric conversion sections [Silicon] [Para . 48]; wherein the ( second ) first member [45] includes a conductor [Paras.52-54]. Regarding claims 4, 5, and 9, Lim [Figs.1 -2,5] discloses an imaging device, wherein a thickness of the second member [41,43a] decreases along the first direction [Fig . 5] [At top end, second member includes both 41 and 43a; at bottom end, second member includes only 41]; further comprising: in a region other than a region in which the second member is disposed in each of the photoelectric conversion sections, a semiconductor layer [portions of substrate 10] of a different conductivity type from that of the photoelectric conversion sections [PD]; wherein the multiple photoelectric conversion sections each have a substantially rectangular shape in plan view [Fig.1] and a thickness at a corner portion of the substantially rectangular shape of the second member [41,43a] is larger than a thickness at another portion thereof [Fig.5] [At top end, second member includes both 41 and 43a; at bottom end, second member includes only 41]. Regarding claims 11- 17 , Lim [Figs.1-2] discloses an imaging device, w herein the second member [41] is disposed to surround each of the multiple photoelectric conversion sections [Fig.1]; wherein the first member [45] contains polysilicon [Para . 45]; further comprising: a micro lens [73] provided correspondingly to each of the multiple photoelectric conversion sections [PD]; further comprising: a color filter [71] provided between each of the multiple photoelectric conversion sections and the micro lens [Fig . 2]; wherein the multiple photoelectric conversion sections are divided into groups arranged in an array [Fig.1] , and the imaging device further includes a micro lens provided correspondingly to each of the groups [Figs . 1-2]; further comprising: a circuit [31-33,50] disposed on a side of the second end portion and including a pixel transistor [30] [Para . 31]; wherein the multiple photoelectric conversion sections [PD/pixel area A/Unit pixel UP] each contain silicon [Pars.29-32] , and the second member [41] contains silicon oxide [Para.48] . Regarding claim 18 , Lim [Figs.1-2] discloses an electronic apparatus, comprising: an imaging device [90] ; and a signal processing unit [30] configured to perform signal processing based on a pixel signal captured by the imaging device [Para.29] , the imaging device including multiple photoelectric conversion sections [20/PD] provided for respective pixels [UP] and each having a first end portion on a light incident side [70] and a second end portion on a side opposite to the first end portion, a first member [45] disposed along a boundary of each of the multiple photoelectric conversion sections in a first direction that extends from the first end portion to the second end portion, and a second member [41] provided between each of the multiple photoelectric conversion sections and the first member and on a side of the first end portion, the second member containing a material with a lower refractive index than that of the photoelectric conversion sections [Para . 48]. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim (s) 3 , 6, 7, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (U.S. Pub . 2020/0127025) in view of Hwang et al. (U.S. Pub . 2008/0128845) [Hereafter “Hwang”]. Regarding claim 3, Lim fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second member includes sealed air. However, Hwang [ Fig.2] discloses an imaging device wherein the second member [210] includes sealed air . Hwang [Para.71] discloses and makes obvious the second member can be silicon oxide or air. It would have been obvious to use provide wherein the second member includes sealed air , since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc ., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). Regarding claim 6, Lim discloses wherein the second member extends along the first direction to a side of the second end portion, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a sum of a thickness of the first member and a thickness of the second member is constant along the first direction. However, Hwang [Fig.2] discloses an imaging device wherein the second member [210] extends along the first direction to a side of the second end portion, and a sum of a thickness of the first member [215] and a thickness of the second member [210] is constant along the first direction . It would have been obvious to use provide wherein a sum of a thickness of the first member and a thickness of the second member is constant along the first direction , since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc ., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). Regarding claim 7, Lim [Fig. 2 ] discloses wherein a thickness on the side of the first end portion of the ( second ) first member [45] is smaller than a thickness on the side of the second end portion thereof. Regarding claim 10, Lim fails to explicitly disclose wherein a thickness of the second member is 20 nm or more, and a length in a depth direction of the second member is 1,000 nm or more. However, Hwang [Para.76] discloses wherein a thickness of the second member is 20 nm or more [550 Angstroms]. Lim and Hwang fail to explicitly disclose wherein a length in a depth direction of the second member is 1,000 nm or more . However, setting the depth of the sidewall structure covering the photoelectric conversion element for the required intent and device application is well-known and obvious in semiconductor manufacturing and is well within the ge neral knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art. It would have been obvious to provide the thicknesses as claimed , since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc ., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). Claim (s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (U.S. Pub . 2020/0127025) in view of Shiraishi et al. (U.S. Pub . 20 20 /02 3 5 149 ) [Hereafter “ Shiraishi ”]. Regarding claim 8, Lim fails to explicitly disclose wherein the multiple photoelectric conversion sections each have a first portion and a second portion as claimed. However, Shiraishi [Figs.9-11] discloses an imaging device wherein the multiple photoelectric conversion sections each have a first portion [113A] and a second portion [113B] , and, in plan view, the first portion and the second portion are surrounded by the first member [115P] at a boundary therebetween, except for certain portions of central portions of the first portion and the second portion, and are in contact with each other at the certain portions [Fig . 10]. It would have been obvious to provide the multiple photoelectric conversion sections each have a first portion and a second portion as claimed , since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc ., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art is considered analogous art and discloses at least some of the claimed subject matter of the current invention. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT BAC H AU whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-8795 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 9:00AM-6:00PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Leonard Chang can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-3691 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BAC H AU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898