Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 02/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 6, 8-13, 15-20, and 25-26 are pending in the application. Claims 4-5, 7, 14, and 21-24 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments for the USC § 103 rejection of claims 1 and 12, Applicant argues on pg. 10 of the Remarks,
“For example, the cited art fails to specifically teach or suggest the request data including capability data indicating measurement capabilities with respect to the sidelink connection and a timestamp indicating a time at which the request was broadcast; or computing an indicative distance to the network node via the at least one aid user equipment by combining an indicator of a distance between the at least one aid user equipment and the network node with a distance indicator to the at least one aid user equipment; and applying refined orbital parameters from the assisted global navigation satellite system data to compute a global navigation satellite system location, as recited in claims 1 and 12, as amended.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kim discloses capability data included in request data. Bitra discloses broadcast request timestamps. Kim discloses indicating distance between a UE and a node. Bitra discloses orbit parameters included in SPS data. See 103 rejection of claim 1 included later in this office action for detailed citations and analysis of Kim and Bitra, including the obvious motivation to combine the features from the two references.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments for the USC § 103 rejection of claim 13, Applicant argues on pg. 10 of the Remarks,
“Additionally, the cited art fails to specifically teach or suggest receiving, from the terminal user equipment over a sidelink connection, requesting data representing a request to obtain the assisted global navigation satellite system data; obtaining the assisted global navigation satellite system data from the network node after receiving the request data; and transmitting the assisted global navigation satellite system data to the terminal user equipment in a message, wherein the message includes an indicator of a distance between the aid user equipment and the network node, as recited in claim 13, as amended.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kim and Bitra in combination disclose receiving request data from a UE, obtaining assisted GNSS data, and transmitting GNSS data to a UE in a message with an indicator of distance between the UE and a network node. See 103 rejection of claim 1 included later in this office action for detailed citations and analysis of Kim and Bitra, including the obvious motivation to combine the features from the two references.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments for the USC § 103 rejection of claim 3, Applicant argues on pg. 11 of the Remarks,
“For example, the cited art fails to teach or suggest computing a distance indicator to the at least one aid user equipment by measuring a reference signal received power of a sidelink signal; and decoding the assisted global navigation satellite system data received over the sidelink connection and corroborate the assisted global navigation satellite system data from the at least one aid user equipment, wherein corroborating includes: weighing assisted global navigation satellite system data from closer aid user equipment more heavily than assisted global navigation satellite system data from farther aid user equipment, and weighing assisted global navigation satellite system data from closer network nodes more heavily than assisted global navigation satellite system data from farther network nodes; and combining assisted global navigation satellite system data from multiple aid user equipment, as recited in claim 3, as amended.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kim and Bitra in combination disclose computing a distance with reference signals, decoding GNSS data, weighing GNSS data based on distances, and combining GNSS data. See 103 rejection of claim 3 included later in this office action for detailed citations and analysis of Kim and Bitra, including the obvious motivation to combine the features from the two references.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments for the USC § 103 rejection of claim 18, Applicant argues on pg. 11 of the Remarks,
“Additionally, the cited art fails to teach or suggest the second request data including (i) identification data identifying the terminal user equipment as having rights to obtain the assisted global navigation satellite system data, (ii) a latency indicator indicating a level of urgency to obtaining the assisted global navigation satellite system data, (iii) a flag indicating that the terminal user equipment is out of coverage with respect to the network, and (iv) capability data indicating measurement capabilities of the terminal user equipment with respect to the sidelink connection, as recited in claim 18, as amended.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kim discloses identifying a UE, a latency indicator for urgency, a flag indicating out of coverage, and capability data. See 103 rejection of claim 18 included later in this office action for detailed citations from Kim and Bitra.
For at least these reasons, Examiner is unpersuaded and maintains previous rejections corresponding to the USC § 103 rejection of independent claims 1, 12, and 13, as well as all independent claims. Therefore, the Examiner asserts that Kim et al. (US 20160381690 A1) and Bitra et al. (US 20170299725 A1) disclose each and every limitation of independent claims 1, 12, and 13 based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The ending of claim 8 reads “text missing or illegible when filed”. Examiner believes this is a formatting mistake.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-13, 15-20, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20160381690 A1) in view of Bitra et al. (US 20170299725 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses [Note: what Kim fails to disclose is strike-through]
An apparatus (see Fig. 30, wireless communication device), comprising:
at least one processor (see Fig. 30, processors 3011 and 3021); and
at least one memory including computer program code (see Fig. 30, memories 3012 and 3022; pg. 29, paragraph 0525, “Software code may be stored in the memory and driven by the processor”);
the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to cause the apparatus at least to:
receive, by a terminal user equipment from a network node of a network prior to the terminal user equipment being out of coverage with respect to the network, configuration data (see pg. 21, paragraph 0335, UEs can send and receive data between each other via device-to-device (D2D) communication; Fig. 19c, two UEs are communicating with each other in an in-coverage scenario);
broadcast over a sidelink connection, by the terminal user equipment while the terminal user equipment is out of coverage with respect to the network, request data (see Fig. 19b, UEs can communicate when one UE is out of coverage; pg. 21, paragraph 0349, D2D communication can be a sidelink) wherein the request data includes capability data indicating measurement capabilities with respect to the sidelink connection (see pg. 23, paragraph 0390 “a channel for the purpose of transferring essential information used in communication between terminals together with synchronization may be required, and such a channel having the purpose may be defined. The channel may be referred to as a physical D2D synchronization channel (PD2DSCH) or a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH).”; pg. 6, paragraph 0105, “an eNB may instruct UE to carry an individual CQI [channel quality indicator] report on a resource scheduled to transmit uplink data”; pg. 25, paragraph 0420, the D2D communication can include CQI measurement)
obtain over the sidelink connection, by the terminal user equipment from at least one aid user equipment in coverage with respect to the network, a message (see Fig. 19b, UEs can communicate when one UE is out of coverage and the other UE is within coverage),
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to cause the apparatus at least to:
compute an indicative distance to the network node via the at least one aid user equipment by combining an indicator of a distance between the at least one aid user equipment and the network node with a distance indicator to the at least one aid user equipment (see Fig. 21; pg. 24, paragraphs 0403-0405); and
Bitra discloses
representing a configuration of the terminal user equipment to request assistance in obtaining assisted global navigation satellite system data (see pg. 2, paragraph 0017, a device “indicates that SPS [Satellite Positioning System] timing assistance is desired”; pg. 2, paragraph 0019, “information may be provided by the second device to a first device: periodically, upon request, or as part of (or following) a synchronization protocol between the first and second devices”; pg. 3, paragraph 0025, “In some embodiments, UE 100 may include a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) or Satellite Positioning System (SPS) receiver 140 (hereinafter “SPS receiver 140”). SPS receiver 140 may be enabled to receive signals associated with one or more SPS/GNSS resources. Received GNSS signals may be used to determine a position of UE 100.”; pg. 5, paragraph 0049, “In accordance with certain aspects, the techniques presented herein are not restricted to global systems (e.g., GNSS) for SPS”)
representing a request to obtain the assisted global navigation satellite system data (see pg. 2, paragraph 0019, “The SPS timing assistance information may be provided by the second device to a first device: periodically, upon request, or as part of (or following) a synchronization protocol between the first and second devices”)
and a timestamp indicating a time at which the request was broadcast (see pg. 11, paragraph 0115, “ In some embodiments, the transmission of the corrected SPS time information/SPS assistance information 370 to device 210/UE 100-j for the current time may be triggered by one or more of: a request by the associated device 210/UE 100-j for the corrected SPS time information/ SPS time assistance information 370 for the current time;”); and
including the assisted global navigation satellite system data (see pg. 2, paragraph 0017, “SPS assistance data may be provided to some UEs”; pg. 3, paragraph 0030, “cellular (WWAN) base stations may provide timing information to UE 100-i, which may be used to derive SPS timing assistance information… The SPS timing assistance information may be transmitted by UE 100-i to an associated device/UE 100-j (i≠j) over a WPAN.”)
apply refined orbital parameters from the assisted global navigation satellite system data to compute a global navigation satellite system location (see pg. 2, paragraph 0023, “SPS assistance information may include satellite orbit assistance data such as ephemeris and almanac data, SPS timing assistance information, and satellite transmission frequency information.”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Bitra into the invention of Kim. Both Kim and Bitra are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose sidelink communication between UEs with positioning capabilities. Kim discloses the structure of an apparatus, sending data to and from a UE with a sidelink connection while that UE is in-coverage as well as out of coverage, the UE request data including capability data, and computing a distance between a UE and a node. Kim further discloses a UE sending a scheduling request and transmission resource request to a node (see Kim pg. 22, paragraph 0379); however, Kim fails to disclose a UE sending a request for obtaining GNSS data or explicitly sending data that comprises assisted GNSS data. Kim also fails to disclose a timestamp associated with the request and orbital parameters used to compute location. These features are disclosed by Bitra where a UE can request and receive assisted SPS data, time of reception and transmission can be known, and orbit assistance data can be included in the SPS data. The combination of Kim and Bitra would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to efficiently transmit GNSS data to a UE that is out of coverage of a base station, allowing the UE to have positioning capabilities even if it’s far from a base station. This could be helpful in search and rescue situations where a UE, such as a smart phone, needs global positioning data to alert rescuers for help. The combination would also be obvious in order to improve accuracy of location tracking by measuring distance between UE and node with timestamp information, as well as using orbit assistance data to refine the location detection. The combination of Kim and Bitra would also reduce battery usage for a UE because the UE would take less time to determine a position (see Bitra pg. 1, paragraph 0002), improving energy efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Kim further discloses [Note: what Kim fails to disclose is strike-through]
The apparatus as in claim 1, wherein the request data further includes identification data identifying the terminal user equipment as having rights to obtain the assisted global navigation satellite system data (see pg. 1, paragraph 0013, “the synchronized scheduling information may include…terminal identifier pairing information between the D2D terminal and the cellular terminal”), a latency indicator indicating a level of urgency to obtaining the assisted global navigation satellite system data (see pg. 7, paragraph 0129, the UE can schedule data requests, determining if it wants the data immediately or later; pg. 21, paragraph 0335, “The D2D direct communication method has advantages of reduced latency”), a flag indicating that the terminal user equipment is out of coverage with respect to the network at the time of broadcasting the request data (see pg. 23, paragraph 0381, the method of communication selected by the UE indicates that the UE is out of coverage), (see pg. 4, paragraph 0080, the data communication signals can include “transmission (Tx) power control command for a specific UE”).
Bitra discloses
coarse location data representing the obtained coarse location (see pg. 8, paragraph 0076, “A coarse initial location estimate may be obtained by various means available to device requesting timing assistance and/or may be provided by UE 100 based on, for example, an association of UE 100 with the serving mobile country code or a base station identifier associated with WWAN 230-2”; pg. 2, paragraph 0016, “SPS assistance data may be provided to some UEs via a Wireless Wide Area Network (WWAN), which may take the form of a cellular network.”; pg. 5, paragraph 0046, “system 200 may provide Location Services and/or other assistance to UEs. Location services may include the transfer of location assistance data or location information”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Bitra into the invention of Kim. Kim fails to disclose request data including coarse location. This feature is disclosed by Bitra where coarse location of a UE can be obtained through a Wireless Wide Area Network (WWAN), which connects to SPS/GNSS data. Bitra further discloses including location information in data signals. The combination of Kim and Bitra would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to obtain a general area of the location of a UE, for assistance in an example of search and rescue. The rescuers can further narrow their search by knowing a coarse location of a cell phone.
Regarding claim 3, Kim further discloses [Note: what Kim fails to disclose is strike-through]
The apparatus as in claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to cause the apparatus at least to:
decode the assisted global navigation satellite system data received over the sidelink connection (see pg. 23, paragraph 0380, “Reception UEs monitors a control information pool. When decoding control information related to reception UE, the reception UE may selectively decode D2D data transmission related to corresponding control information.”) and corroborate the assisted global navigation satellite system data from the at least one aid user equipment, wherein corroborating includes:
weighing assisted global navigation satellite system data from closer aid user equipment more heavily than assisted global navigation satellite system data from farther aid user equipment (see pg. 13, paragraph 0222, a weight matrix can be applied to the signals according to transport conditions), and
weighing assisted global navigation satellite system data from closer network nodes more heavily than assisted global navigation satellite system data from farther network nodes (see pg. 13, paragraph 0222, a weight matrix can be applied to the signals according to transport conditions); and
Bitra discloses
compute a distance indicator to the at least one aid user equipment by measuring a reference signal received power of a sidelink signal (see pg. 5, paragraph 0050, “UE 100 may receive and measure signals”; pg. 3, paragraph 0029, various techniques involving reference signals can be used to estimate locations of UEs); and
combining assisted global navigation satellite system data from multiple aid user equipment (see pg. 5, paragraph 0046, positioning protocol messages can be combined).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Bitra into the invention of Kim. Kim fails to disclose measuring a reference signal received power of a sidelink signal, determining distance between UEs based on the signal measurement and combining GNSS data. These features are disclosed by Bitra where the UE can measure signals and reference signal aspects can be used to determine locations of UEs, as well as positioning messages can be combined. The combination of Kim and Bitra would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to quickly obtain a position of a UE using available resources and signal measurements, reducing manufacturing costs by using already existing infrastructures and methods to determine position, as well as quickly determining UE position with more data, increasing the efficiency by being able to locate a UE faster.
Regarding claim 6, Bitra discloses
The apparatus as in claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to cause the apparatus at least to:
obtain a coarse location for the terminal user equipment directly from a global navigation satellite system (see pg. 8, paragraph 0076, “A coarse initial location estimate may be obtained by various means available to device requesting timing assistance and/or may be provided by UE 100 based on, for example, an association of UE 100 with the serving mobile country code or a base station identifier associated with WWAN 230-2”; pg. 2, paragraph 0016, “SPS assistance data may be provided to some UEs via a Wireless Wide Area Network (WWAN), which may take the form of a cellular network.”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Bitra into the invention of Kim. Kim fails to disclose obtaining a coarse location of a UE from GNSS. This feature is disclosed by Bitra where coarse location of a UE can be obtained through a Wireless Wide Area Network (WWAN), which connects to SPS/GNSS data. The combination of Kim and Bitra would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to obtain a general area of the location of a UE, for assistance in an example of search and rescue. The rescuers can further narrow their search by knowing a coarse location of a cell phone.
Regarding claim 8, Kim further discloses
The apparatus as in claim 1, wherein message further includes distance data representing a distance between the at least one aid user equipment and the network node (see pg. 23, paragraph 0383, “In D2D broadcast communication, control information is transmitted by broadcasting UE. Control information is explicitly and/or implicitly indicative of the position of a resource for data reception in relation to a physical channel (i.e., a PSSCH) on which D2D direct communication data is carried.”).
Regarding claim 9, Kim further discloses
The apparatus as in claim 8, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to cause the apparatus at least to:
obtain over the sidelink connection, by the terminal user equipment from a second aid user equipment, a second message including the assisted global navigation satellite system data and second distance data representing a second distance between the second aid user equipment and a second network node (see Fig. 19d, there may be multiple base stations; Fig. 21, there may be multiple UEs); and
generate a first weight and a second weight for the message and the second message, respectively, based on the distance and the second distance, respectively (see pg. 13, paragraph 0222, a weight matrix can be applied to the signals according to transport conditions).
Regarding claim 10, Kim further discloses [Note: what Kim fails to disclose is strike-through]
The apparatus as in claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to cause the apparatus at least to:
obtain over the sidelink connection, by the terminal user equipment from a second aid user equipment, a second message including second assisted global navigation satellite system data (see pg. 22, paragraph 0365, the UE can repeat transmission signals); and
Bitra discloses
combine the assisted global navigation satellite system data and the second assisted global navigation satellite system data to produce combined data (see pg. 5, paragraph 0046, positioning protocol messages can be combined); and
determine a global navigation satellite system position based on the combined data (see pg. 5, paragraph 0046, positioning protocol messages can include location information).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Bitra into the invention of Kim. Kim discloses additional messages with additional data between UEs; however, Kim fails to disclose combining GNSS data and determining position based on the combined GNSS data. This feature is disclosed by Bitra where positioning messages can be combined and can include location information. The combination of Kim and Bitra would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to quickly determine UE position with more data, increasing the efficiency by being able to locate a UE faster.
Regarding claim 11, Bitra discloses
The apparatus as in claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to cause the apparatus at least to:
measure a reference signal received power of a sidelink signal (see pg. 5, paragraph 0050, “UE 100 may receive and measure signals”); and
determine a distance between the terminal user equipment and the at least one aid user equipment based on the measured reference signal received power (see pg. 3, paragraph 0029, various techniques involving reference signals can be used to estimate locations of UEs).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Bitra into the invention of Kim. Kim fails to disclose measuring a reference signal received power of a sidelink signal and determining distance between UEs based on the signal measurement. This feature is disclosed by Bitra where the UE can measure signals and reference signal aspects can be used to determine locations of UEs. The combination of Kim and Bitra would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to quickly obtain a position of a UE using available resources and signal measurements, reducing manufacturing costs by using already existing infrastructures and methods to determine position.
Regarding claim 12, the same cited sections and rationale from claim 1 are applied. Kim further discloses
A method (see pg. 1, paragraph 0001, “The present invention relates to a wireless communication system and, more particularly, to a method”), comprising:
Regarding claim 13, the same cited sections and rationale from claim 1 are applied.
Regarding claim 15, Kim further discloses
The apparatus as in claim 13, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to obtain the assisted global navigation satellite system data from the network node are further configured to:
transmit, to the network node, second request data representing a second request to download the assisted global navigation satellite system data (see pg. 22, paragraph 0365, the UE can repeat transmission signals; pg. 29, paragraph 0521, the UE can receive and store information); and
receive the assisted global navigation satellite system data from the network node after transmitting the second request data,
wherein the second request data is conveyed over a physical uplink control channel to the network node (see Figs. 4 and 5; pg. 5, paragraph 0084, “A physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) carrying uplink control information is allocated to the control region”).
Regarding claim 16, Kim further discloses
The apparatus as in claim 15, wherein the assisted global navigation satellite system data is received from the network node in response to the aid user equipment passing an integrity check (see pg. 1, paragraph 0013, “the synchronized scheduling information may include…terminal identifier pairing information between the D2D terminal and the cellular terminal”).
Regarding claim 17, Kim further discloses
The apparatus as in claim 15, wherein the second request data includes a timestamp indicating a time at which the second request was transmitted (see pg. 22, paragraph 0365, transmission time of a signal can be known).
Regarding claim 18, Kim further discloses
The apparatus as in claim 15, wherein the second request data includes (i) identification data identifying the terminal user equipment as having rights to obtain the assisted global navigation satellite system data (see pg. 1, paragraph 0013, “the synchronized scheduling information may include…terminal identifier pairing information between the D2D terminal and the cellular terminal”), (ii) a latency indicator indicating a level of urgency to obtaining the assisted global navigation satellite system data (see pg. 7, paragraph 0129, the UE can schedule data requests, determining if it wants the data immediately or later; pg. 21, paragraph 0335, “The D2D direct communication method has advantages of reduced latency”), (iii) a flag indicating that the terminal user equipment is out of coverage with respect to the network (see pg. 23, paragraph 0381, the method of communication selected by the UE indicates that the UE is out of coverage), and (iv) capability data indicating measurement capabilities of the terminal user equipment with respect to the sidelink connection (see pg. 23, paragraph 0390 “a channel for the purpose of transferring essential information used in communication between terminals together with synchronization may be required, and such a channel having the purpose may be defined. The channel may be referred to as a physical D2D synchronization channel (PD2DSCH) or a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH).”; pg. 6, paragraph 0105, “an eNB may instruct UE to carry an individual CQI [channel quality indicator] report on a resource scheduled to transmit uplink data”; pg. 25, paragraph 0420, the D2D communication can include CQI measurement).
Regarding claim 19, Kim further discloses
The apparatus as in claim 13, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to obtain the assisted global navigation satellite system data from the network node is further configured to:
downloading the assisted global navigation satellite system data from the network node to a storage device accessible to the aid user equipment according to a specified schedule (see pg. 29, paragraph 0521, the UE can receive, store, and use information; pg. 1, paragraph 0015, resource and signal synchronization can be scheduled); and
retrieve the assisted global navigation satellite system data from the storage device (see pg. 29, paragraph 0521, the UE can receive, store, and use information).
Regarding claim 20, Kim further discloses
The apparatus as in claim 19, wherein the assisted global navigation satellite system data is downloaded from the network node in response to the aid user equipment passing an integrity check (see pg. 29, paragraph 0521, the UE can receive and store information; pg. 1, paragraph 0013, “the synchronized scheduling information may include… terminal identifier pairing information between the D2D terminal and the cellular terminal”).
Regarding claim 25, Bitra discloses
The apparatus as in claim 19, wherein the downloaded assisted global navigation satellite system data has a timestamp (see pg. 11, paragraph 0115, “ In some embodiments, the transmission of the corrected SPS time information/SPS assistance information 370 to device 210/UE 100-j for the current time may be triggered by one or more of: a request by the associated device 210/UE 100-j for the corrected SPS time information/ SPS time assistance information 370 for the current time;”), and wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to cause the apparatus at least to:
select one of (i) retrieving the assisted global navigation satellite system data from the storage device or (ii) transmitting a new request to the network node for the assisted global navigation satellite system data, the selecting being based on a comparison of the timestamp of the downloaded assisted global navigation satellite system data and a timestamp of the request data from the terminal user equipment (see pg. 9, paragraph 0087, “In some embodiments, SPS timing assistance information 367/corrected SPS time information 370 may be: (i) requested by receiving device 210/UE 100-j; (ii) transmitted by UE 100-i based on a determination that: (a) WWAN timing information 365 is available over WWAN 230-2; (b) WWAN timing information 365 and/or WWAN access is unavailable to device 210/UE 100-j; and (c) device 210/UE 100-j includes SPS capability.”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Bitra into the invention of Kim. Kim fails to disclose the GNSS data having a timestamp and comparing the timestamps to either retrieve GNSS data from storage or transmit a new request for GNSS data. These features are disclosed by Bitra where the SPS data has current time information and the wireless wide area network (WWAN) timing availability can determine if the SPS data is requested. The combination of Kim and Bitra would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to optimize data communications by only requesting data if the timely scenario allows for it, improving efficiency and reducing unnecessary signals.
Regarding claim 26, Kim discloses [Note: what Kim fails to disclose is strike-through]
The apparatus as in claim 13, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to cause the apparatus at least to:
receive, from the terminal user equipment over a sidelink connection, a broadcast request to obtain the assisted global navigation satellite system data; and
verify, on the basis of having received the broadcast request from the terminal user equipment:
whether the aid user equipment can obtain the assisted global navigation satellite system data on behalf of the terminal user equipment, wherein the aid user equipment is in coverage with respect to the network, has been empowered to download data not intended for the aid user equipment, has had an integrity of the aid user equipment validated by the network, and has been deemed non-malicious (see pg. 5, paragraph 0082, UE identifier and PDCCH identifiers),
(see Fig. 19d, there may be multiple base stations; Fig. 21, there may be multiple UEs; pg. 13, paragraph 0222, distance is weighted according to transport conditions).
Bitra discloses
whether the aid user equipment has already downloaded the assisted global navigation satellite system data and the assisted global navigation satellite system data is not deprecated on the basis of a comparison of a download timestamp and a timestamp of the broadcast request from the terminal user equipment (see pg. 11, paragraph 0115, “ In some embodiments, the transmission of the corrected SPS time information/SPS assistance information 370 to device 210/UE 100-j for the current time may be triggered by one or more of: a request by the associated device 210/UE 100-j for the corrected SPS time information/ SPS time assistance information 370 for the current time;”; pg. 9, paragraph 0087, “In some embodiments, SPS timing assistance information 367/corrected SPS time information 370 may be: (i) requested by receiving device 210/UE 100-j; (ii) transmitted by UE 100-i based on a determination that: (a) WWAN timing information 365 is available over WWAN 230-2; (b) WWAN timing information 365 and/or WWAN access is unavailable to device 210/UE 100-j; and (c) device 210/UE 100-j includes SPS capability.”),
whether battery or power levels of the aid user equipment allow the aid user equipment to support providing assistance to the terminal user equipment (see pg. 5, paragraph 0048, “ For example, devices 210 may have turned off WWAN access (e.g. to conserve battery resources), or may lack WWAN functionality, or may lack access to WWAN timing information, or may not have access to WWAN 230-1 (e.g. because they may be associated with a different WWAN provider) or access to WWAN/WWAN signals may be functionally or contractually limited.”), and
a signal strength of the received broadcast request from the terminal user equipment as an indication of a distance between the aid user equipment and the terminal user equipment (see pg. 5, paragraph 0050, “UE 100 may receive and measure signals”; pg. 3, paragraph 0029, various techniques involving reference signals can be used to estimate locations of UEs).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Bitra into the invention of Kim. Kim discloses receiving a broadcast request from a UE via sidelink, verifying a UE, and using distance to determine if a UE is useful for aid assistance. Kim fails to disclose determining if GNSS data is still good via timestamp information, monitoring battery or power levels of a UE for functioning purposes, and a signal strength indicating distance between UEs. These features are disclosed by Bitra where the request and broadcast time of an SPS signal can be known and determined by timing, battery power can be monitored for functionality, and distance between UEs can be determined by signal strength. The combination of Kim and Bitra would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to determine if a UE is ready and practical to carry out assistance functions, improving efficiency and reducing unnecessary signals.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISABELLA A EDRADA/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BERNARR E GREGORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648