DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0111319 to Lutgen et al.
Regarding claim 1, Lutgen et al. teach a micro light emitting diode (micro-LED) device (Fig. 7B, for example) comprising a lateral dimension less than 20 microns (¶ [0063]), comprising:
a light-emitting layer (735);
an output facet (715, ¶ [0119]);
an optical interface (765) parallel to the light-emitting layer; and
a non-vertical sidewall (¶¶[0118],[0121]) forming an angle y with respect to a normal of the light-emitting layer, wherein the light-emitting layer emits light comprising a first light in a first trajectory that escapes the micro-LED through the output facet without substantially reflecting off the optical interface and a second light in a second trajectory that reflects off the optical interface and the non-vertical sidewall and escapes through the output facet (inherent in shape of the non-vertical sidewall).
Regarding claim 4, Lutgen et al. teach a micro light emitting diode device, wherein the angle y is selected to reflect the second light in a direction substantially perpendicular to the output facet. As best understood, substantially perpendicular allows for variance from actually being perpendicular.
Regarding claim 11, Lutgen et al. teach a micro light emitting diode (micro-LED) device (Fig. 7B, for example) comprising a lateral dimension less than 20 microns (¶ [0063]), comprising:
a light-emitting layer that emits light having a wavelength (735; a wavelength is an inherent property of light);
an output facet (715, ¶ [0119]);
a mirror (745, ¶[0122, 745 performs the reflective function of a mirror]) parallel to the light-emitting layer; and
a non-vertical sidewall (¶¶[0118],[0121]) wherein the light emitting layer and the mirror are jointly configured such that the light emitting layer preferentially emits light in a trajectory that reflects off the mirror and the non-vertical sidewall to escape through the output facet. (inherent in shape of the non-vertical sidewall).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutgen et al.
Regarding claim 13, Lutgen et al. do not explicitly teach a micro-LED, wherein a distance between the mirror and the light emitting layer is selected to cause a constructive optical interference for the light emitted in the trajectory. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to find the optimal distance between the light-emitting layer and the mirror through routine experimentation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 – 33 are allowed.
Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 12, and 14 – 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not teach or reasonably suggest a device as recited in claims 17 and 27, particularly including:
“a low-index epitaxial layer located in the micro-LED or in the semiconductor member”; and
“a low-index epitaxial layer located in the micro-LED or in the semiconductor member, wherein the low-index epitaxial layer and the mirror are configured such that at least 5% of the light emitted by the light-emitting region undergoes one reflection off the mirror and one total internal reflection off the low-index epitaxial layer before being extracted from the display.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0014195 to Bibl et al. teach a device including a light emitting layer, an optical interface and non-vertical sidewalls. Bibl et al. do not teach the output facet.
DOUGLAS W. OWENS, Esq.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/DOUGLAS W OWENS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897