CTNF 18/571,195 CTNF 92917 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al., US 20170214489, hereinafter Jiang , in view of LEE et al., US 20200205224, hereinafter LEE . As per claim 1, Jiang teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a wireless transmitter, comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to: (Fig.3, 304 "Processor", 305 "memory") generate at least one radio link control (RLC) protocol data unit (PDU) and at least one RLC parity PDU based on an encoding procedure for an RLC service data unit (SDU); ([0061] The processor 304 may further include packet encoding circuitry 342, configured to encode the plurality of transmitted data packets to generate one or more parity packets. The packet encoding circuitry 342 may operate in coordination with packet encoding software 352. store , in an RLC buffer, the at least one RLC parity PDU for the RLC SDU based on a segmentation of the RLC SDU ; and ([0061] The processor 304 may further include packet storing circuitry 343, configured to store the one or more parity packets in a retransmission buffer ;) transmit , to a medium access control (MAC) layer, at least one of the segmentation of the RLC SDU or the at least one RLC PDU. (Fig 6, [0076] The RLC PDUs are then transferred to a lower layer (e.g., MAC layer) via a transport channel for further processing.) EXCEPT based on a segmentation of the RLC SDU; Lee teaches based on a segmentation of the RLC SDU; ([0071] The main services and functions of the RLC sublayer include: transfer of upper layer protocol data units (PDUs); error correction through ARQ (only for acknowledged mode (AM) data transfer); concatenation, segmentation and reassembly of RLC service data units (SDUs) (only for unacknowledged mode (UM) and acknowledged mode (AM) data transfer); re-segmentation of RLC data PDUs (only for AM data transfer); Jiang and Lee are in the same field endeavor of wireless communication. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to have modified Jiang to incorporate the teaching of the above limitations from Lee in order to further improve multiple access technologies technology . (Jiang, [0006].) As per claim 25, Jiang teaches A method of wireless communication at a wireless transmitter, comprising: generating at least one radio link control (RLC) protocol data unit (PDU) and at least one RLC parity PDU based on an encoding procedure for an RLC service data unit (SDU); storing , in an RLC buffer, the at least one RLC parity PDU for the RLC SDU based on a segmentation of the RLC SDU ; and ([0061] The processor 304 may further include packet encoding circuitry 342, configured to encode the plurality of transmitted data packets to generate one or more parity packets. The packet encoding circuitry 342 may operate in coordination with packet encoding software 352. The processor 304 may further include packet storing circuitry 343, configured to store the one or more parity packets in a retransmission buffer; Fig. 6, [0076], [0083]) transmitting , to a medium access control (MAC) layer, at least one of the segmentation of the RLC SDU or the at least one RLC PDU. (Fig 6, [0076] The RLC PDUs are then transferred to a lower layer (e.g., MAC layer) via a transport channel for further processing.) EXCEPT based on a segmentation of the RLC SDU; Lee teaches based on a segmentation of the RLC SDU; ([0071] The main services and functions of the RLC sublayer include: transfer of upper layer protocol data units (PDUs); error correction through ARQ (only for acknowledged mode (AM) data transfer); concatenation, segmentation and reassembly of RLC service data units (SDUs) (only for unacknowledged mode (UM) and acknowledged mode (AM) data transfer); re-segmentation of RLC data PDUs (only for AM data transfer); Jiang and Lee are in the same field endeavor of wireless communication. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to have modified Jiang to incorporate the teaching of the above limitations from Lee in order to further improve multiple access technologies technology. (Jiang, [0006].) As per claim 15, Jiang teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a wireless receiver, comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to: (Fig.4, 404 "Processor", 405 "memory") generate radio link control (RLC) protocol data unit (PDU) feedback ([0078] a status report ) for at least one of an RLC service data unit (SDU), a segmentation of the RLC SDU, or at least one RLC PDU associated with the RLC SDU; and (Fig. 6, [0078] In order that the transmitting side retransmits only missing RLC PDUs, the receiving side may provide a status report to the transmitting side indicating ACK and/or NACK information for the RLC PDUs. For example, the routing entity 609 may receive a status report, in the form of a status PDU, indicating ACK or NACK for a transmitted RLC PDU.) transmit , to an RLC layer, the RLC PDU feedback including an indication of an additional number of encoded RLC PDUs for assembling the RLC SDU and at least one of an acknowledgment (ACK) sequence number (SN) (ACK_SN) or a negative acknowledgment (NACK) SN (NACK_SN) associated with the at least one of the RLC SDU, the segmentation of the RLC SDU, or the at least one RLC PDU. ([0078]-[0079]) EXCEPT including an indication of an additional number of encoded RLC PDUs Lee teaches including an indication of an additional number of encoded RLC PDUs ([0251] If there are missing multiple RLC SDU segments of an RLC SDU, the processor 21 generates the STATUS PDU to contain one sequence number (SN) for the multiple missing RLC SDU segments, which is the same as a SN of the RLC SDU. The processor 21 generates the STATUS PDU to contain location information on each of the multiple missing RLC SDU segments within the RLC SDU.) Jiang and Lee are in the same field endeavor of wireless communication. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to have modified Jiang to incorporate the teaching of the above limitations from Lee in order to further improve multiple access technologies technology . (Jiang, [0006].) As per claim 28, Jiang teaches A method of wireless communication at a wireless receiver, comprising: generating radio link control (RLC) protocol data unit (PDU) feedback for at least one of an RLC service data unit (SDU), a segmentation of the RLC SDU, or at least one RLC PDU associated with the RLC SDU; and (Fig. 6, [0078] In order that the transmitting side retransmits only missing RLC PDUs, the receiving side may provide a status report to the transmitting side indicating ACK and/or NACK information for the RLC PDUs. For example, the routing entity 609 may receive a status report, in the form of a status PDU, indicating ACK or NACK for a transmitted RLC PDU.) transmitting , to an RLC layer, the RLC PDU feedback including an indication of an additional number of encoded RLC PDUs for assembling the RLC SDU and at least one of an acknowledgment (ACK) sequence number (SN) (ACK_SN) or a negative acknowledgment (NACK) SN (NACK_SN) associated with the at least one of the RLC SDU, the segmentation of the RLC SDU, or the at least one RLC PDU. ([0078]-[0079]) EXCEPT including an indication of an additional number of encoded RLC PDUs Lee teaches including an indication of an additional number of encoded RLC PDUs ([0251] If there are missing multiple RLC SDU segments of an RLC SDU, the processor 21 generates the STATUS PDU to contain one sequence number (SN) for the multiple missing RLC SDU segments, which is the same as a SN of the RLC SDU. The processor 21 generates the STATUS PDU to contain location information on each of the multiple missing RLC SDU segments within the RLC SDU.) Jiang and Lee are in the same field endeavor of wireless communication. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to have modified Jiang to incorporate the teaching of the above limitations from Lee in order to further improve multiple access technologies technology . (Jiang, [0006].) As per claim 2, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The apparatus as applied above in claim 1 , Jiang further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to encode each RLC PDU in the at least one RLC PDU for transmission of the at least one RLC PDU to the MAC layer. ([0076] The RLC PDUs are then transferred to a lower layer (e.g., MAC layer) via a transport channel for further processing.) As per claim 26, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The method as applied above in claim 25, Jiang teaches further comprising encoding each RLC PDU in the at least one RLC PDU for transmission of the at least one RLC PDU to the MAC layer. ([0076] The RLC PDUs are then transferred to a lower layer (e.g., MAC layer) via a transport channel for further processing.) As per claim 3, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The apparatus as applied above in claim 2 , Jiang further teaches wherein each encoded RLC PDU for the transmission of the at least one RLC PDU includes an RLC header. ([0076] After segmentation and/or concatenation, the AM RLC entity 602 adds relevant RLC headers 608 to the RLC PDUs to indicate the sequence number of an RLC PDU and the size and boundary of each included RLC SDU or RLC SDU segment.) As per claim 4, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The apparatus as applied above in claim 1, Jiang further teaches wherein the at least one RLC parity PDU is not stored in the RLC buffer if at least one of the RLC SDU is not segmented or the at least one RLC PDU corresponds to a single RLC PDU for the RLC SDU. ([0113] Moreover, a parity PDU may be stored in a retransmission buffer until an acknowledgement (ACK) from the PDCP Rx 1312 is received for all transmitted PDUs associated with the parity PDU.) Examiner notes that "not stored", "not segmented" are negative claim limitations. According to MPEP. 2173.05(I), Negative limitations must have basis in the original disclosure. The mere absence of a positive recitation is not basis for a negative limitation". There is no place in specification describes a reason to exclude the relevant limitation. As per claim 27, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The method as applied above in claim 25, Jiang teaches wherein the at least one RLC parity PDU is not stored in the RLC buffer if at least one of the RLC SDU is not segmented or the at least one RLC PDU corresponds to a single RLC PDU for the RLC SDU. ([0113] Moreover, a parity PDU may be stored in a retransmission buffer until an acknowledgement (ACK) from the PDCP Rx 1312 is received for all transmitted PDUs associated with the parity PDU.) Examiner notes that "not stored", "not segmented" are negative claim limitations. According to MPEP. 2173.05(I), Negative limitations must have basis in the original disclosure. The mere absence of a positive recitation is not basis for a negative limitation". There is no place in specification describes a reason to exclude the relevant limitation. As per claim 5, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The apparatus as applied above in claim 1, Jiang further teaches wherein transmission of the segmentation of the RLC SDU or a complete RLC SDU corresponds to a single RLC header and a single RLC PDU. ([0076] After segmentation and/or concatenation, the AM RLC entity 602 adds relevant RLC headers 608 to the RLC PDUs to indicate the sequence number of an RLC PDU and the size and boundary of each included RLC SDU or RLC SDU segment.) As per claim 6, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The apparatus as applied above in claim 1, Jiang further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to discard, from the RLC buffer , each RLC parity PDU of the at least one RLC parity PDU having a sequence number (SN) that is smaller than an acknowledgment SN (ACK_SN) based on RLC PDU feedback associated with the ACK_SN . ([0077] RLC SDUs that have at least one missing segment may be discarded and not reassembled) As per claim 7, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The apparatus as applied above in claim 1, Jiang further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to retransmit, to the MAC layer, the at least one of the segmentation of the RLC SDU or the at least one RLC PDU based on RLC PDU feedback associated with a negative acknowledgment (NACK). ([0078] In order that the transmitting side retransmits only missing RLC PDUs, the receiving side may provide a status report to the transmitting side indicating ACK and/or NACK information for the RLC PDUs.) As per claim 8, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The apparatus as applied above in claim 7, Jiang further teaches wherein retransmission is based on a comparison between a first number of RLC parity PDUs stored in the RLC buffer and a second number of encoded RLC PDUs indicated via the RLC PDU feedback, the first number of RLC parity PDUs and the second number of encoded RLC PDUs associated with the RLC SDU and the NACK. (Fig. 8, [0100] Upon receiving the PDCP status PDU 810, the PDCP Tx 802 learns that the PDU 2 was not correctly received at the PDCP Rx 804 and is triggered to transmit 812 the one or more parity PDUs stored in the retransmission buffer. The PDCP Rx 804 may decode the one or more parity PDUs and use the decoded one or more parity PDUs to recover the PDU 2. The PDCP Rx 804 may then forward the PDU 2 and the previously decoded PDUs 3 and 4 to the TCP/IP layer 706.) As per claim 9, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The apparatus as applied above in claim 7, Jiang further teaches wherein retransmission triggers a request for the RLC SDU from a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer. (Fig. 7, [0096] Upon receiving the PDCP status PDU 710, the PDCP Tx 702 learns that the PDU 2 was not correctly received at the PDCP Rx 704 and is triggered to retransmit 712 the PDU 2 to the PDCP Rx 704.) As per claim 10, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The apparatus as applied above in claim 9, Jiang further teaches wherein the request for the RLC SDU is transmitted, via an F1 interface, from a distributed unit (DU) to a centralized unit (CU) associated with the PDCP layer. (Fig.3, 308) As per claim 11, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The apparatus as applied above in claim 9, Jiang further teaches wherein the request for the RLC SDU is based on at least one of the RLC PDU feedback, the NACK associated with the at least one of the segmentation of the RLC SDU or the at least one RLC PDU, or a configured timer. ([0078] In order that the transmitting side retransmits only missing RLC PDUs, the receiving side may provide a status report to the transmitting side indicating ACK and/or NACK information for the RLC PDUs.) As per claim 12, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The apparatus as applied above in claim 9, Jiang further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to store the RLC SDU in the RLC buffer if the RLC SDU is received from the PDCP layer based on the request. ([0061] The processor 304 may further include packet storing circuitry 343, configured to store the one or more parity packets in a retransmission buffer) As per claim 13, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The apparatus as applied above in claim 7, Lee further teaches wherein retransmission includes a sub-sequence number field having a sub-sequence number for the at least one RLC parity PDU corresponding to the RLC SDU. ([0251] If there are missing multiple RLC SDU segments of an RLC SDU, the processor 21 generates the STATUS PDU to contain one sequence number (SN) for the multiple missing RLC SDU segments, which is the same as a SN of the RLC SDU. The processor 21 generates the STATUS PDU to contain location information on each of the multiple missing RLC SDU segments within the RLC SDU.) As per claim 23, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The apparatus as applied above in claim 20, Lee further teaches wherein the retransmission includes a sub-sequence number field having a sub-sequence number for at least one RLC parity PDU corresponding to the RLC SDU. ([0251] If there are missing multiple RLC SDU segments of an RLC SDU, the processor 21 generates the STATUS PDU to contain one sequence number (SN) for the multiple missing RLC SDU segments, which is the same as a SN of the RLC SDU. The processor 21 generates the STATUS PDU to contain location information on each of the multiple missing RLC SDU segments within the RLC SDU.) As per claim 14, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The apparatus as applied above in claim 1, Jiang teaches further comprising at least one of an antenna or a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor. (Fig. 14, [0118], one or more antennas 1412) As per claim 24, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The apparatus as applied above in claim 15, Jiang teaches further comprising at least one of an antenna or a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor. (Fig. 14, [0118], one or more antennas 1412) As per claim 16, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The apparatus as applied above in claim 15, Lee further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to attempt to assemble the RLC SDU based on received RLC PDUs from the RLC layer, the RLC PDU feedback including the indication of the additional number of encoded RLC PDUs for assembling the RLC SDU. ([0251] If there are missing multiple RLC SDU segments of an RLC SDU, the processor 21 generates the STATUS PDU to contain one sequence number (SN) for the multiple missing RLC SDU segments, which is the same as a SN of the RLC SDU. The processor 21 generates the STATUS PDU to contain location information on each of the multiple missing RLC SDU segments within the RLC SDU.) As per claim 29, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The method as applied above in claim 28, Lee further teaches further comprising attempting to assemble the RLC SDU based on received RLC PDUs from the RLC layer, the RLC PDU feedback including the indication of the additional number of encoded RLC PDUs for assembling the RLC SDU. ([0251] If there are missing multiple RLC SDU segments of an RLC SDU, the processor 21 generates the STATUS PDU to contain one sequence number (SN) for the multiple missing RLC SDU segments, which is the same as a SN of the RLC SDU. The processor 21 generates the STATUS PDU to contain location information on each of the multiple missing RLC SDU segments within the RLC SDU.) As per claim 17, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The apparatus as applied above in claim 15, Lee further teaches wherein the RLC PDU feedback is indicative of an additional number of RLC PDUs to be received from the RLC layer for assembling the RLC SDU. ([0251] If there are missing multiple RLC SDU segments of an RLC SDU, the processor 21 generates the STATUS PDU to contain one sequence number (SN) for the multiple missing RLC SDU segments, which is the same as a SN of the RLC SDU. The processor 21 generates the STATUS PDU to contain location information on each of the multiple missing RLC SDU segments within the RLC SDU.) As per claim 30, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The method as applied above in claim 28, Lee further teaches wherein the RLC PDU feedback is indicative of an additional number of RLC PDUs to be received from the RLC layer for assembling the RLC SDU. ([0251] If there are missing multiple RLC SDU segments of an RLC SDU, the processor 21 generates the STATUS PDU to contain one sequence number (SN) for the multiple missing RLC SDU segments, which is the same as a SN of the RLC SDU. The processor 21 generates the STATUS PDU to contain location information on each of the multiple missing RLC SDU segments within the RLC SDU.) As per claim 18, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The apparatus as applied above in claim 15, Lee further teaches wherein the RLC PDU feedback is indicative of a missing segmentation percentage of a whole RLC SDU received from the RLC layer. ([0251] If there are missing multiple RLC SDU segments of an RLC SDU, the processor 21 generates the STATUS PDU to contain one sequence number (SN) for the multiple missing RLC SDU segments, which is the same as a SN of the RLC SDU. The processor 21 generates the STATUS PDU to contain location information on each of the multiple missing RLC SDU segments within the RLC SDU. The processor 21 controls a transceiver 23 of the processor 21 to transmit the STATUS SDU to the transmitting device 100. The processor 21 may start a reassembly timer for the RLC SDU if an RLC SDU segment of the RLC SDU is first received at the RLC entity, and the STATUS PDU if the reassembly timer expires.) As per claim 19, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The apparatus as applied above in claim 15, Lee further teaches wherein transmission of the RLC PDU feedback includes a NACK sequence number (NACK_SN) of the RLC SDU if the RLC SDU is not received from the RLC layer. (Fig. 12, NACK_SN) As per claim 20, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The apparatus as applied above in claim 15, Jiang further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to receive a retransmission of the at least one of the RLC SDU, the segmentation of the RLC SDU, or the at least one RLC PDU associated with the RLC SDU based on the NACK_SN in the RLC PDU feedback. ([0076]-[0078]) As per claim 21, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The apparatus as applied above in claim 20, Jiang further teaches wherein the retransmission is based on at least one RLC parity PDU of an RLC buffer and a number of RLC PDUs associated with the NACK_SN. ([0076]-[0078]) As per claim 22, Jiang-Lee teaches all elements in The apparatus as applied above in claim 20, Jiang further teaches wherein the retransmission is triggered based on at least one of the RLC PDU feedback or the NACK_SN in the RLC PDU feedback associated with the at least one of the RLC SDU, the segmentation of the RLC SDU, or the at least one RLC PDU. (Fig. 7, [0096] Upon receiving the PDCP status PDU 710, the PDCP Tx 702 learns that the PDU 2 was not correctly received at the PDCP Rx 704 and is triggered to retransmit 712 the PDU 2 to the PDCP Rx 704.) Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Petria et al., US 20220038949, SELECTIVE RELAY OF NETWORK PROTOCOL DATA UNITS IN A WIRELESS MESH NETWORK Otonari et al., US 20080043652, Radio Receiving Apparatus Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RONG TANG whose telephone number is (469)295-9106. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 7:30-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Mark Featherstone can be reached on (571)270-3750. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /RONG TANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2111 /MARK D FEATHERSTONE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/571,195 Page 2 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/571,195 Page 3 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/571,195 Page 4 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/571,195 Page 5 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/571,195 Page 6 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/571,195 Page 7 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/571,195 Page 8 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/571,195 Page 9 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/571,195 Page 10 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/571,195 Page 11 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/571,195 Page 12 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/571,195 Page 13 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/571,195 Page 14 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/571,195 Page 15 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/571,195 Page 16 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/571,195 Page 17 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/571,195 Page 18 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/571,195 Page 19 Art Unit: 2111