Detailed Action
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Applicant’s amended claims dated April 4th, 2026 responding to the January 29th, 2025 Office Action provided in the rejection of claims 1-6 and 8-21.
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1, 9 and 10 have been amended. Claims 1-6 and 8-21 are pending in the application, of which claims 1 and 9-10 are in independent form and these claims (1-6 and 8-21) are subject to following rejection(s) and/or objection(s) indicated under section and subsections of No. 3 below.
Response to the Arguments
4. As an initial mater Examiner likes to points out that the claims are interpreted in light of the specification; however, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Argument: Applicants contended that “It is believed that no art of record discloses or suggests the amended features”(please see Remarks page: no. 12, ¶02]).
Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicants because Collomosse sufficiently teaches subject matters as claimed; for instance, Collomosse teaches “a relative distance between the components, aspect ratios, orientation, and whether one component is nested within another component” (see [0028]), which renders level of relationship corresponding to the distance between the components as nested components maintain a child and parent hierarchy. Refer to FIG. 4[Wingdings font/0xE0]416 wherein “relationship features generated by the GCN may be represented as x.sub.r.sub.ij=g.sub.r([n.sub.iE.sub.r(r.sub.ij)n.sub.j]), where x.sub.rij represents the relationship features generated for tuples n.sub.iE.sub.r(r.sub.ij)n.sub.j (e.g., node-relationship-node) which represents the edge features connecting node n.sub.i with node n.sub.j from graph representation 416, and g.sub.r( ) represents the layers of GCN that process the relationship features” (see [0045]); as such, Collomosse sufficiently discloses claimed “distance corresponding to the level of relationship”.
Examiner respectfully submit that cited portion from the prior art of invention as used for describe each of the independent and depended claims must be read as a whole, and not as a single feature or subcombination of features which represent less than the entirety of the prior art of invention as a whole. While a particular feature or subcombination of features referred to by the applicant in remarks as a basis for distinguishing the prior art over the claimed invention disagreed by the examiner, and further the Examiner does not necessarily agree with any characterization of the prior art as referenced in order to obviate the applied art rejection.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a primafacie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Also see MPEP 2112.01.
Finally, Examiner respectfully point outs that while Applicants articulate their disagreement regarding any part of the cited art Applicants must provide appropriate analysis of the corresponding claimed limitation without mere recitation of the elements in the remarks coupled with boilerplate language, and such analysis must be supported by the originally filed specification.
Response to the Amendments
3. (a). Regarding art rejection: In regards to claims 1-6 and 8-21 Applicants arguments are not persuasive; further, Applicants' amendment necessitated same grounds; however, modified version of rejections presented in the following art rejection.
(B). Finality: Applicant's arguments filed April 4th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
( C). The prior art made of record and have yet relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and will be frequently referred as to support the responses to the Applicant’s arguments, for example:
Ando et al. (US 20200279418 A1) discloses “the relation diagram has a plurality of hierarchy structures, including a quality, a function, a physical property value, and a design parameter, between the displayed event components. An arrow is displayed in a frame indicating each event component and indicates whether a value expressing the event described in the event component is to be increased or decreased. Specifically, an upward arrow indicates that the value is to be increased, whereas a downward arrow indicates that the value is to be decreased. In FIG. 3, an event component at the left side is a master event, and an event component at the right side is a slave event” (please see ¶[0037]), “connection components indicating the relationships between the event components are all displayed using lines of the same type. Alternatively, the lines may be displayed with different thicknesses and with different types in accordance with relationships (the strength of relationships) between the event components” (please see ¶[0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
4. Claims 1-2,6, 9-10, 12 and 14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gupta et al. (U. S. Patent No. 11531763 B1 –herein after Gupta) in view of John Collomosse (US Pub. No 2021/0397942 A1 –herein after Collomosse).
Per claim 1:
Gupta discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a programming assisting program, the programming assisting program causing a computer to execute processing (At least see Col. 2:19-20 -methods, systems, and computer-readable media for automated secure code generation using analysis of design diagrams are described) comprising:
acquiring component information indicating a plurality of components included in a project including object-oriented components and relationships (At least see Col. 4:63-65 -a graphical user interface (GUI) by which users may add components and relationships, edit components and relationships, delete components and relationships), operations (member functions) and relationships with other classes), and acquiring relationship information indicating relationships between the plurality of components (At least see Col. 6:16-22 -property graph 125 may represent the data plane of the application using nodes for application components 116 and edges for relationships between components);
generating a class diagram indicating a structure of the project based on the acquired component information and the acquired relationship information (At least see Col. 4:59-61 -Design diagrams may include architecture diagrams, dataflow diagrams, sequence diagrams, class diagrams);
displaying the generated class diagram on a screen (At least see Col. 5:15-16 -GUI may display a visualization of the design diagram [design diagram includes class diagrams i.e. Col. 4:59-61] emphasis added); and
receiving a selection operation of selecting a component included in the class diagram displayed on the screen (At least see Col. 2:56-58 -developer may model an application in a diagramming tool by selecting and arranging diagram elements that represent components of an application).
Gupta sufficiently discloses the computer program product above, but Gupta does not explicitly disclose: updating a display format of the class diagram such that a level of a relationship between the component selected in the selection operation and another component is distinguishable, and wherein the updating includes updating the display format of the class diagram such that the level of the relationship is distinguishable in accordance with a distance from the component selected in the selection operation to the another component in the class diagram, the distance corresponding to the level of relationship.
However, Collomosse discloses:
updating a display format of the class diagram such that a level of a relationship between the component selected in the selection operation and another component is distinguishable (At least see ¶[0069] - a recommendation may be made to relocate, add, remove, or otherwise change one or more components within the input UX layout to increase the similarity to one or more of the similar layouts from the layout repository),
wherein the updating includes updating the display format of the class diagram such that the level of the relationship is distinguishable in accordance with a distance from the component selected in the selection operation to the another component in the class diagram (At least see ¶[0027] - the UX layout can be represented as a spatial graph, where each node of the graph corresponds to a different component and each edge represents the relationships between components. By encoding the geometric features and relationship features of the components of the UX layout 100, the graph representation provides more details about the UX layout than a mere image. Each node of the graph, corresponding to a different component of the UX layout 100, can include a semantic property and a geometric property of the component [emphasis added]), the distance corresponding to the level of relationship (At least see ¶[0028] -a relative distance between the components, aspect ratios, orientation, and whether one component is nested within another component (that is to say, that nesting within the components indicate level of relations between two or more components i.e., child and parent/base component) [emphasis added]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Collomosse into Gupta’s invention because Collomosse teaching provides techniques for identifying layouts that are structurally similar to one another, which representation of a layout of a graphical user interface including a plurality of control components; as such, representation of the layout may be used by as a prior by the layout detector to improve the recognition performance of off the shelf detectors that detect components in layouts (please see ¶[0004] and ¶[0076]).
Per claim 2:
Gupta discloses:
receiving a selection operation of selecting one of the relationships, and updating the display format of the class diagram such that a component having the relationship selected in the selection operation is distinguishable (At least see Col. 4:63-67 -the design diagrammer 110 may implement a graphical user interface (GUI) by which users may add components and relationships, edit components and relationships, delete components and relationships, select generic component types for inclusion in diagrams, customize generic component types).
Per claim 6:
Collomosse also discloses:
receiving a specification operation of specifying a file format in which the generated class diagram or a class diagram with the updated display format is to be output, and outputting the generated class diagram or the class diagram with the updated display format as data in the file format specified in the specification operation (At least see ¶[0028] - nodes of the layout representation 104 may be connected by edges, where each edge includes relationship features between the components corresponding to the connected nodes. For example, the relationship features can include a relative distance between the components, aspect ratios, orientation, and whether one component is nested within another component).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Collomosse into Gupta’s invention because Collomosse teaching provides techniques for identifying layouts that are structurally similar to one another, which representation of a layout of a graphical user interface including a plurality of control components; as such, representation of the layout may be used by as a prior by the layout detector to improve the recognition performance of off the shelf detectors that detect components in layouts (please see ¶[0004] and ¶[0076]).
Per claim 9:
Gupta discloses:
A programming assisting device (At least see Col. 2:19-20 -methods, systems, and computer-readable media for automated secure code generation using analysis of design diagrams are described), comprising:
processing circuitry (At least see Col. 15:56-58 -computing device 600 may be a uniprocessor system including one processor or a multiprocessor system including several processors); and a storage (At least see Col. 16:3-4 -system memory 620 may be implemented using any suitable memory technology), the processing circuitry being configured to project
acquire component information indicating a plurality of components included in a project including object-oriented components and relationships (At least see Col. 4:63-65 -a graphical user interface (GUI) by which users may add components and relationships, edit components and relationships, delete components and relationships), operations (member functions) and relationships with other classes), and acquiring acquire relationship information indicating relationships between the plurality of components generation means for generating generate a class diagram indicating a structure of the project based on the acquired component information and the acquired relationship information (At least see Col. 6:16-22 -property graph 125 may represent the data plane of the application using nodes for application components 116 and edges for relationships between components; also see Col. 4:59-61 -Design diagrams may include architecture diagrams, dataflow diagrams, sequence diagrams, class diagrams),
display means for displaying display the generated class diagram on a screen (At least see Col. 5:15-16 -GUI may display a visualization of the design diagram [design diagram includes class diagrams i.e. Col. 4:59-61] emphasis added), and
receive a selection operation of selecting a component included in the class diagram displayed on the screen (At least see Col. 2:56-58 -developer may model an application in a diagramming tool by selecting and arranging diagram elements that represent components of an application).
Gupta sufficiently discloses the computer program product above, but Gupta does not explicitly disclose: updating a display format of the class diagram such that a level of a relationship between the component selected in the selection operation and another component is distinguishable, and wherein the updating includes updating the display format of the class diagram such that the level of the relationship is distinguishable in accordance with a distance from the component selected in the selection operation to the another component in the class diagram, the distance corresponding to the level of relationship.
However, Collomosse discloses:
updating a display format of the class diagram such that a level of a relationship between the component selected in the selection operation and another component is distinguishable (At least see ¶[0069] - a recommendation may be made to relocate, add, remove, or otherwise change one or more components within the input UX layout to increase the similarity to one or more of the similar layouts from the layout repository),
wherein the updating includes updating the display format of the class diagram such that the level of the relationship is distinguishable in accordance with a distance from the component selected in the selection operation to the another component in the class diagram (At least see ¶[0027] - the UX layout can be represented as a spatial graph, where each node of the graph corresponds to a different component and each edge represents the relationships between components. By encoding the geometric features and relationship features of the components of the UX layout 100, the graph representation provides more details about the UX layout than a mere image. Each node of the graph, corresponding to a different component of the UX layout 100, can include a semantic property and a geometric property of the component [emphasis added]), the distance corresponding to the level of relationship (At least see [0028] -a relative distance between the components, aspect ratios, orientation, and whether one component is nested within another component (that is to say, that nesting within the components indicate level of relations between two or more components i.e., child and parent/base component) [emphasis added]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Collomosse into Gupta’s invention because Collomosse teaching provides techniques for identifying layouts that are structurally similar to one another, which representation of a layout of a graphical user interface including a plurality of control components; as such, representation of the layout may be used by as a prior by the layout detector to improve the recognition performance of off the shelf detectors that detect components in layouts (please see ¶[0004] and ¶[0076]).
Per claim 10:
Gupta discloses:
A programming assisting method (At least see Col. 2:19-20 -methods, systems, and computer-readable media for automated secure code generation using analysis of design diagrams are described), comprising:
acquiring component information indicating a plurality of components included in a project including object-oriented components and relationships (At least see Col. 4:63-65 -a graphical user interface (GUI) by which users may add components and relationships, edit components and relationships, delete components and relationships), operations (member functions) and relationships with other classes), and acquiring relationship information indicating relationships between the plurality of components (At least see Col. 6:16-22 -property graph 125 may represent the data plane of the application using nodes for application components 116 and edges for relationships between components);
generating a class diagram indicating a structure of the project based on the acquired component information and the acquired relationship information (At least see Col. 4:59-61 -Design diagrams may include architecture diagrams, dataflow diagrams, sequence diagrams, class diagrams);
displaying the generated class diagram on a screen (At least see Col. 5:15-16 -GUI may display a visualization of the design diagram [design diagram includes class diagrams i.e. Col. 4:59-61] emphasis added); and
receiving a selection operation of selecting a component included in the class diagram displayed on the screen (At least see Col. 2:56-58 -developer may model an application in a diagramming tool by selecting and arranging diagram elements that represent components of an application).
Gupta sufficiently discloses the computer program product above, but Gupta does not explicitly disclose: updating a display format of the class diagram such that a level of a relationship between the component selected in the selection operation and another component is distinguishable, and wherein the updating includes updating the display format of the class diagram such that the level of the relationship is distinguishable in accordance with a distance from the component selected in the selection operation to the another component in the class diagram, the distance corresponding to the level of relationship.
However, Collomosse discloses:
updating a display format of the class diagram such that a level of a relationship between the component selected in the selection operation and another component is distinguishable (At least see ¶[0069] - a recommendation may be made to relocate, add, remove, or otherwise change one or more components within the input UX layout to increase the similarity to one or more of the similar layouts from the layout repository),
wherein the updating includes updating the display format of the class diagram such that the level of the relationship is distinguishable in accordance with a distance from the component selected in the selection operation to the another component in the class diagram (At least see ¶[0027] - the UX layout can be represented as a spatial graph, where each node of the graph corresponds to a different component and each edge represents the relationships between components. By encoding the geometric features and relationship features of the components of the UX layout 100, the graph representation provides more details about the UX layout than a mere image. Each node of the graph, corresponding to a different component of the UX layout 100, can include a semantic property and a geometric property of the component [emphasis added]), the distance corresponding to the level of relationship (At least see [0028] -a relative distance between the components, aspect ratios, orientation, and whether one component is nested within another component (that is to say, that nesting within the components indicate level of relations between two or more components i.e., child and parent/base component) [emphasis added]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Collomosse into Gupta’s invention because Collomosse teaching provides techniques for identifying layouts that are structurally similar to one another, which representation of a layout of a graphical user interface including a plurality of control components; as such, representation of the layout may be used by as a prior by the layout detector to improve the recognition performance of off the shelf detectors that detect components in layouts (please see ¶[0004] and ¶[0076]).
Per claim 12:
Gupta discloses:
acquiring first analysis information indicating the structure of the project based on the acquired component information and the acquired relationship information, wherein the generating includes generating the class diagram based on the acquired first analysis information (At least see Co. 4:7-12 - automated analysis of software design diagrams and security properties of components or interactions between components. A developer may model an application in a diagramming tool by selecting and arranging diagram elements that represent components of an application).
Per claim 14:
Gupta also discloses:
receiving a specification operation of specifying a file format in which the generated class diagram or a class diagram with the updated display format is to be output (At least see Col. 5:60-66 - select components representing common storage services within a provider network, common serverless compute services, common compute virtualization services, common edge computing services, and so on. Users may change labels, security properties, or other metadata for such generic components in the user interface of the design diagram), and outputting the generated class diagram or the class diagram with the updated display format as data in the file format specified in the specification operation (At least see Col. 9:36-40 - code generator 150 may generate particular code packages 155A-155C using machine learning techniques such as a neural network, e.g., that has been trained to output secure code using a training set of secure code templates).
5. Claims 3, 11, 13, 15 and 19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gupta et al. in view of John Collomosse, and further Masahiro Nakamura (US Pub. No 2007/0200846 A1 –herein after Nakamura).
Per claim 3:
Gupta modified by Collomosse sufficiently discloses the computer program product above, but Gupta modified by Collomosse does not explicitly disclose: wherein the display update means updates the updating includes updating the display format to hide in the class diagram a component having no relationship with the component selected in the selection operation.
However, Nakamura discloses:
wherein the display update means updates the updating includes updating the display format to hide in the class diagram a component having no relationship with the component selected in the selection operation (At least see ¶[0011] - role relation and a concrete motion of the object selection means such that when the role relation between one component and the other component is in a relation that one of the one component and the other component either partially or entirely conceals the other one of the components so as to be invisible from outside).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Nakamura into Gupta modified by Collomosse’s invention because it would provide cooperatively managing the component object display data and the assembly procedure data, wherein the object selection means is adapted to select the appropriate component object by referring to the assembly procedure data cooperatively managed by the cooperation management means; as such, when display object designation instruction reception means is provided for receiving an instruction for designating the component object arbitrarily displayed in the virtual space, wherein the object display means is adapted to be capable of displaying the component object designated by the instruction received by the display object designation instruction (please see ¶[0022] and ¶[0023]).
Per claim 11:
Gupta modified by Collomosse sufficiently discloses the computer program product above, but Gupta modified by Collomosse does not explicitly disclose: wherein the updating includes updating the display format to hide in the class diagram a component having no relationship with the component selected in the selection operation.
However, Nakamura discloses:
wherein the updating includes updating the display format to hide in the class diagram a component having no relationship with the component selected in the selection operation (At least see ¶[0011] - role relation between one component and the other component is in a relation that one of the one component and the other component either partially or entirely conceals the other one of the components so as to be invisible from outside).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Nakamura into Gupta modified by Collomosse’s invention because it would provide cooperatively managing the component object display data and the assembly procedure data, wherein the object selection means is adapted to select the appropriate component object by referring to the assembly procedure data cooperatively managed by the cooperation management means; as such, when display object designation instruction reception means is provided for receiving an instruction for designating the component object arbitrarily displayed in the virtual space, wherein the object display means is adapted to be capable of displaying the component object designated by the instruction received by the display object designation instruction (please see ¶[0022] and ¶[0023]).
Per claim 13:
Gupta discloses:
acquiring first analysis information indicating the structure of the project based on the acquired component information and the acquired relationship information, wherein the generating includes generating the class diagram based on the acquired first analysis information (At least see Co. 4:7-12 - automated analysis of software design diagrams and security properties of components or interactions between components. A developer may model an application in a diagramming tool by selecting and arranging diagram elements that represent components of an application).
Per claim 15:
Gupta also discloses:
receiving a specification operation of specifying a file format in which the generated class diagram or a class diagram with the updated display format is to be output (At least see Col. 5:60-66 - select components representing common storage services within a provider network, common serverless compute services, common compute virtualization services, common edge computing services, and so on. Users may change labels, security properties, or other metadata for such generic components in the user interface of the design diagram), and outputting the generated class diagram or the class diagram with the updated display format as data in the file format specified in the specification operation (At least see Col. 9:36-40 - code generator 150 may generate particular code packages 155A-155C using machine learning techniques such as a neural network, e.g., that has been trained to output secure code using a training set of secure code templates).
Per claim 19:
Gupta modified by Collomosse sufficiently discloses the computer program product above, but Gupta modified by Collomosse does not explicitly disclose: wherein the plurality of components indicated by the component information includes a program organization unit, a function block, an interface, and a structure, and the relationships indicated by the relationship information include reference, implementation, inheritance, realization, and namespace.
However, Cook discloses:
wherein the plurality of components indicated by the component information includes a program organization unit, a function block, an interface, and a structure, and the relationships indicated by the relationship information include reference, implementation, inheritance, realization, and namespace (At least see ¶[0047] - inheritance relationships are constrained to be non-cyclic, either during editing or subsequently. Usage of a child class is shown at the head of an inheritance arrow underneath a parent class. An inheritance relationship can be added between an existing class and the diagram background. A new child class is created together with the inheritance relationship. An inheritance relationship can also be deleted, and once performed, the relationship is removed from the structure).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Cook into Gupta modified by Collomosse’s invention because Cook provides an enhance tool that is scalable such that larger object models can be presented as a single forest (which is a collection of trees), and in most cases, in a single diagram, and nodes can be added or appended to an existing tree branch, essentially shoving new nodes down and across the tree without adding confusion; as such, tool of the subject invention takes advantage of GUI features and extends these diagrams in an efficient manner, which the tool provides scrollbars, window resizing, and pagination for printing, for example, to make user interaction more efficient and productive (At least see ¶[0041]).
6. Claims 4-5, 8, 16-18 and 20-21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gupta et al. in view of John Collomosse, and further Cook et al. (US Pub. No 2006/0150169 A1 –herein after Cook).
Per claim 4:
Gupta modified by Collomosse sufficiently discloses the computer program product above, but Gupta modified by Collomosse does not explicitly disclose: acquiring first analysis information indicating the structure of the project based on the acquired component information and the acquired relationship information, wherein the generating includes generating the class diagram based on the acquired first analysis information.
However, Cook discloses:
acquiring first analysis information indicating the structure of the project based on the acquired component information and the acquired relationship information (At least see ¶[0075] - presentation component 104 communicates with the layout component 102 to analyze and coordinate structuring of the treelike structure by layout component 102), wherein the generating includes generating the class diagram based on the acquired first analysis information (At least see ¶[0027] -automatically creates one or more object diagrams (e.g., a class diagram) that depict these object diagrams as editable treelike structures showing object relationships and properties. In support thereof, the system 100 further includes a layout component 102 that receives as input one or more of the graphs, and converts the one or more graphs into the editable treelike structure 104).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Cook into Gupta modified by Collomosse’s invention because Cook provides an enhance tool that is scalable such that larger object models can be presented as a single forest (which is a collection of trees), and in most cases, in a single diagram, and nodes can be added or appended to an existing tree branch, essentially shoving new nodes down and across the tree without adding confusion; as such, tool of the subject invention takes advantage of GUI features and extends these diagrams in an efficient manner, which the tool provides scrollbars, window resizing, and pagination for printing, for example, to make user interaction more efficient and productive (At least see ¶[0041]).
Per claim 5:
Collomosse also discloses:
wherein the component information indicating the plurality of components included in the project and the relationship information indicating the relationships between the plurality of components are stored in a storage (At least see ¶[0078] - components 1004-1010 and their corresponding elements can comprise one or more instructions stored on a computer-readable storage medium),
the acquiring of the component information and the relationship information includes acquiring the component information and the relationship information from the storage, and the programming assisting program further causes the computer to execute the processing comprising receiving an editing operation on the class diagram displayed on the screen, and acquiring editing information indicating content of the received editing operation (At least see ¶[0083] - layout of the GUI may be received during the design process as an incomplete layout or as a finished layout. For example, in some embodiments, the method may include obtaining the layout of the GUI from a user experience (UX) design tool), acquiring second analysis information indicating a structure of the project on which the acquired editing information is reflected (At least see ¶[0032] - locations of components to add to the UX layout during design, or changes in location, size, etc. of existing components in a UX layout may be recommended based on similar layouts identified in the layout repository), and the program further causes the computer to function as information updating means for
updating, based on the acquired second analysis information, the component information and the relationship information stored in the storage (At least see ¶[0069] - a recommendation may be made to relocate, add, remove, or otherwise change one or more components within the input UX layout to increase the similarity to one or more of the similar layouts from the layout repository).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Collomosse into Gupta’s invention because Collomosse teaching provides techniques for identifying layouts that are structurally similar to one another, which representation of a layout of a graphical user interface including a plurality of control components; as such, representation of the layout may be used by as a prior by the layout detector to improve the recognition performance of off the shelf detectors that detect components in layouts (please see ¶[0004] and ¶[0076]).
Per claim 8:
Gupta modified by Collomosse sufficiently discloses the computer program product above, but Gupta modified by Collomosse does not explicitly disclose: wherein the plurality of components indicated by the component information includes a program organization unit, a function block, an interface, and a structure, and the relationships indicated by the relationship information include reference, implementation, inheritance, realization, and namespace.
However, Cook discloses:
wherein the plurality of components indicated by the component information includes a program organization unit, a function block, an interface, and a structure, and the relationships indicated by the relationship information include reference, implementation, inheritance, realization, and namespace (At least see ¶[0047] - inheritance relationships are constrained to be non-cyclic, either during editing or subsequently. Usage of a child class is shown at the head of an inheritance arrow underneath a parent class. An inheritance relationship can be added between an existing class and the diagram background. A new child class is created together with the inheritance relationship. An inheritance relationship can also be deleted, and once performed, the relationship is removed from the structure).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Cook into Gupta modified by Collomosse’s invention because Cook provides an enhance tool that is scalable such that larger object models can be presented as a single forest (which is a collection of trees), and in most cases, in a single diagram, and nodes can be added or appended to an existing tree branch, essentially shoving new nodes down and across the tree without adding confusion; as such, tool of the subject invention takes advantage of GUI features and extends these diagrams in an efficient manner, which the tool provides scrollbars, window resizing, and pagination for printing, for example, to make user interaction more efficient and productive (At least see ¶[0041]).
Per claim 16:
Gupta also discloses:
receiving a specification operation of specifying a file format in which the generated class diagram or a class diagram with the updated display format is to be output (At least see Col. 5:60-66 - select components representing common storage services within a provider network, common serverless compute services, common compute virtualization services, common edge computing services, and so on. Users may change labels, security properties, or other metadata for such generic components in the user interface of the design diagram), and outputting the generated class diagram or the class diagram with the updated display format as data in the file format specified in the specification operation (At least see Col. 9:36-40 - code generator 150 may generate particular code packages 155A-155C using machine learning techniques such as a neural network, e.g., that has been trained to output secure code using a training set of secure code templates).
Per claim 17:
Gupta also discloses:
receiving a specification operation of specifying a file format in which the generated class diagram or a class diagram with the updated display format is to be output (At least see Col. 5:60-66 - select components representing common storage services within a provider network, common serverless compute services, common compute virtualization services, common edge computing services, and so on. Users may change labels, security properties, or other metadata for such generic components in the user interface of the design diagram), and outputting the generated class diagram or the class diagram with the updated display format as data in the file format specified in the specification operation (At least see Col. 9:36-40 - code generator 150 may generate particular code packages 155A-155C using machine learning techniques such as a neural network, e.g., that has been trained to output secure code using a training set of secure code templates).
Per claim 18:
Gupta modified by Collomosse sufficiently discloses the computer program product above, but Gupta modified by Collomosse does not explicitly disclose: wherein the plurality of components indicated by the component information includes a program organization unit, a function block, an interface, and a structure, and the relationships indicated by the relationship information include reference, implementation, inheritance, realization, and namespace.
However, Cook discloses:
wherein the plurality of components indicated by the component information includes a program organization unit, a function block, an interface, and a structure, and the relationships indicated by the relationship information include reference, implementation, inheritance, realization, and namespace (At least see ¶[0047] - inheritance relationships are constrained to be non-cyclic, either during editing or subsequently. Usage of a child class is shown at the head of an inheritance arrow underneath a parent class. An inheritance relationship can be added between an existing class and the diagram background. A new child class is created together with the inheritance relationship. An inheritance relationship can also be deleted, and once performed, the relationship is removed from the structure).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Cook into Gupta modified by Collomosse’s invention because Cook provides an enhance tool that is scalable such that larger object models can be presented as a single forest (which is a collection of trees), and in most cases, in a single diagram, and nodes can be added or appended to an existing tree branch, essentially shoving new nodes down and across the tree without adding confusion; as such, tool of the subject invention takes advantage of GUI features and extends these diagrams in an efficient manner, which the tool provides scrollbars, window resizing, and pagination for printing, for example, to make user interaction more efficient and productive (At least see ¶[0041]).
Per claim 20:
Gupta modified by Collomosse sufficiently discloses the computer program product above, but Gupta modified by Collomosse does not explicitly disclose: wherein the plurality of components indicated by the component information includes a program organization unit, a function block, an interface, and a structure, and the relationships indicated by the relationship information include reference, implementation, inheritance, realization, and namespace.
However, Cook discloses:
wherein the plurality of components indicated by the component information includes a program organization unit, a function block, an interface, and a structure, and the relationships indicated by the relationship information include reference, implementation, inheritance, realization, and namespace (At least see ¶[0047] - inheritance relationships are constrained to be non-cyclic, either during editing or subsequently. Usage of a child class is shown at the head of an inheritance arrow underneath a parent class. An inheritance relationship can be added between an existing class and the diagram background. A new child class is created together with the inheritance relationship. An inheritance relationship can also be deleted, and once performed, the relationship is removed from the structure).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Cook into Gupta modified by Collomosse’s invention because Cook provides an enhance tool that is scalable such that larger object models can be presented as a single forest (which is a collection of trees), and in most cases, in a single diagram, and nodes can be added or appended to an existing tree branch, essentially shoving new nodes down and across the tree without adding confusion; as such, tool of the subject invention takes advantage of GUI features and extends these diagrams in an efficient manner, which the tool provides scrollbars, window resizing, and pagination for printing, for example, to make user interaction more efficient and productive (At least see ¶[0041]).
Per claim 21:
Gupta modified by Collomosse sufficiently discloses the computer program product above, but Gupta modified by Collomosse does not explicitly disclose: wherein the plurality of components indicated by the component information includes a program organization unit, a function block, an interface, and a structure, and the relationships indicated by the relationship information include reference, implementation, inheritance, realization, and namespace.
However, Cook discloses:
wherein the plurality of components indicated by the component information includes a program organization unit, a function block, an interface, and a structure, and the relationships indicated by the relationship information include reference, implementation, inheritance, realization, and namespace (At least see ¶[0047] - inheritance relationships are constrained to be non-cyclic, either during editing or subsequently. Usage of a child class is shown at the head of an inheritance arrow underneath a parent class. An inheritance relationship can be added between an existing class and the diagram background. A new child class is created together with the inheritance relationship. An inheritance relationship can also be deleted, and once performed, the relationship is removed from the structure).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Cook into Gupta modified by Collomosse’s invention because Cook provides an enhance tool that is scalable such that larger object models can be presented as a single forest (which is a collection of trees), and in most cases, in a single diagram, and nodes can be added or appended to an existing tree branch, essentially shoving new nodes down and across the tree without adding confusion; as such, tool of the subject invention takes advantage of GUI features and extends these diagrams in an efficient manner, which the tool provides scrollbars, window resizing, and pagination for printing, for example, to make user interaction more efficient and productive (At least see ¶[0041]).
CONCLUSION
Status information for published applications may be obtained from Patent Public Search tool (for all users) – A link to the Patent Public Search Tool is available at www. Uspto.gov/PatentPublicSearch. To find a U.S. patent or U.S. patent application publication, open the Patent Public Search tool by selecting “Start search”. Type the U.S. patent or U.S. patent application publication number in the “Search” panel without any punctuation and followed by an”.pn.”.
Should you have questions on access to the system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ZIAUL A CHOWDHURY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2192
01/23/2026