DETAILED ACTION
The following is a first action on the merits of application serial no. 18/571447 filed 2/26/2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 12/18/23 and 3/24/25 have been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
-the claim limitation recites, “wherein the detection apparatus is in configured to additionally take into account a safety margin for the limit value,….”. The term “in” should be deleted to correct grammar in limitation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
-“a detection apparatus (generic placeholder) configured to monitor electrical current supplied by the energy supply device….. (function)” in claim 16.
-“a limiting unit (generic placeholder) configured to limit an electrical current flowing through the supply cable to a maximum value….. (function)” in claim 16.
-“an output unit (generic placeholder), wherein the output unit is configured: (i) to output an acoustic and/or visual warning….. (function)” in claim 26.
-“a setting apparatus (generic placeholder), via which the maximum value can be set by a user….. (function)” in claim 27.
-“ a communication module (generic placeholder) for communication with a user terminal in order to set the maximum value via the user terminal,….. (function)” in claim 30.
-“a release unit (generic placeholder) which is configured to release a settability of the maximum value via the setting apparatus….. (function)” in claim 31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-18 and 20-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-Claims 16, 22, 24-26, 31 and 32 recite the terms “and/or” within the limitations. It is unclear as to if applicant is attempting to recite multiple embodiments within these claims. The examiner suggest applicant remove the term “or” to clarify that the limitations are covered by the same embodiment of the invention.
-Claim 20 recites the limitation "the reduction" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
-Claim 20 recites the limitation “when a comparison of the reduction in the electrical current with a planned reduction in the electrical current exceeds a limit value.”, in last two lines. It is unclear if this is the same “limit value” as recited in claim 16, please clarify and/or amend accordingly.
-Claim 24 recites the limitation “when a location at which a limit value is stored linked is reached,…..”. Please clarify what the terms “stored linked” is referring to.
-Claim 19 seems to be missing from the listing of claims, please amend accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-18, 21, 25 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 202178310 in view of JP 2020205671 (both IDS cited art with machine translation). Note: the use of the term “or” indicates that the limitations preceding or following the term doesn’t need to be met entirely and the recitations are in the form of “alternative” embodiments.
As to claim 16, JP’310 discloses a supply cable (1) for electrically connecting an energy store (BT) of a vehicle to an energy supply device (PP) providing electrical energy, the supply cable comprising: a connecting line (1); a primary connector (12) which is or can be electrically coupled to the connecting line and has a vehicle connection configured to releasably electrically connect to the energy store of the vehicle; a secondary connector (11) which is or can be electrically coupled to the connecting line and is configured to releasably electrically connect to the energy supply device; a detection apparatus configured to monitor electrical current supplied by the energy supply device and to detect an interruption of the supplied electrical current (141, 147 (1474)); and a limiting unit configured to limit an electrical current flowing through the supply cable to a maximum value (page 6, lines 18-21). However, JP’310 doesn’t disclose wherein the detection apparatus is configured to: (i) transfer a limit value based on a current supplied prior to the detection of the interruption, as a maximum value to the limiting unit, and/or (ii) output the limit value as a signal value as a proposal for setting as the maximum value.
JP’671 discloses a supply cable (5) for electrically connecting an energy store (13) of a vehicle to an energy supply device (2) providing electrical energy, the supply cable comprising: a connecting line (5); a primary connector (5c) which is or can be electrically coupled to the connecting line and has a vehicle connection configured to releasably electrically connect to the energy store of the vehicle; a secondary connector (5a) which is or can be electrically coupled to the connecting line and is configured to releasably electrically connect to the energy supply device and the vehicle discloses a detection apparatus configured to monitor electrical current supplied by the energy supply device and to detect an interruption of the supplied electrical current (page 4, lines 6-7); and a limiting unit configured to limit an electrical current flowing through the supply cable to a maximum value (abstract, lines 7-9 and page 6, lines 21-27). JP’671 discloses that it is well known in the art to have the detection apparatus configured to: (i) transfer a limit value based on a current supplied prior to the detection of the interruption, as a maximum value to the limiting unit, and/or (ii) output the limit value as a signal value as a proposal for setting as the maximum value (page 6, lines 21-27 and lines 37-41 via 14 and page 5, lines 13-last line).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the detection apparatus in JP’310 configured to transfer and/or signal a limit value as recited in view of JP’671 to provide a charging system capable of charging the energy store with charging power that is lower than the actual value of the power causing the interruption which actively adjust the current accordingly depending on the type of supply cable and/or supply station.
As to claim 17, JP’310 discloses wherein the detection apparatus is configured to detect the interruption when the supplied electrical current is reduced by more than 90% in a time interval of less than one second (page 9 to page 11 describe the time it takes to set the suppression information, which can be between 32msec to 30 sec).
As to claim 18, JP’310 discloses wherein the detection apparatus is configured to detect the interruption when the supplied electrical current is reduced by more than 90% in a time interval of less than 100 ms (page 9 to page 11 describe the time it takes to set the suppression information, which can be between 32msec to 30 sec).
As to claim 21, JP’310 in view of JP’671 discloses, wherein the detection apparatus is configured to to ascertain the limit value:(i) as a function of a last current value detected prior to the interruption (page 6, lines 21-27 in JP’671), or (ii) as a function of a mean value of a plurality of detected current values in a predefined time window prior to the interruption, or (iii) by applying a filtering to a plurality of detected current values prior to the interruption; and wherein the detection apparatus is in configured to additionally take into account a safety margin for the limit value, the safety margin being at least 5% of the ascertained limit value (page 6, lines 18-21 in JP’310 describes that the charging power is limited at least 1/2 to 1/3 of the maximum power) or which is at least 0.5 A.
As to claim 25, JP’310 in view of JP’671 discloses, wherein the limiting unit is configured to output the maximum value: (i) to the vehicle (via 10 in JP’671) and/or (ii) to a charging control logic of the supply cable or of the energy supply device (via 147 in JP’310), in order to notify the vehicle that the maximum value can at most be requested as a charging current.
As to claim 26, JP’310 in view of JP’671 discloses, wherein the supply cable has an output unit, wherein the output unit is configured: (i) to output an acoustic and/or visual warning, when the detection apparatus detects the interruption, and/or (ii) to output a signal that the maximum value set by the limiting unit is lower than a technically maximally possible maximum value (via 147 in JP’671).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’310 in view of JP’671 as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of JP 201997230 (IDS cited art with machine translation). JP’310 in view of JP’671 discloses the detection apparatus, but doesn’t disclose the apparatus having a location sensor configured to store a link between the limit value and a location at which the limit value was ascertained, and wherein the detection apparatus is configured, when a location at which a limit value is stored linked is reached, to: (i) transfer the limit value linked to the location as the maximum value to the limiting unit and/or (ii) output the limit value as a proposal for setting as the maximum value to a user.
JP’230 discloses electrically connecting an energy store of a vehicle to an energy supply device (Figure 1) and discloses that it is well known in the art to provide a detection apparatus having a location sensor configured to store a link between the limit value and a location at which the limit value was ascertained, and wherein the detection apparatus is configured, when a location at which a limit value is stored linked is reached, to: (i) transfer the limit value linked to the location as the maximum value to the limiting unit and/or (ii) output the limit value as a proposal for setting as the maximum value to a user (page 5, line 16 to page 7, line 18).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the detection apparatus in JP’310 in view of JP’671 provided with a location sensor further in view of JP’230 to provide a charging system capable of charging the energy store with charging power that is lower than the actual value of the power causing the interruption which actively adjust the current accordingly depending on the type of supply cable and/or supply station.
Claim(s) 27-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’310 in view of JP’671 as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Yokoyama et al 20110199048. As to claim 27, JP’310 in view of JP’671 discloses a supplying cable having a setting apparatus, via which the maximum value can be set by a user (via 146, page 5, lines 37-41 and page 6, line 21 in JP’310). However, JP’310 in view of JP’671 doesn’t explicitly disclose the setting apparatus having a rotary knob or a slider or a touchscreen or a keypad, for setting the maximum value.
Yokoyama discloses a vehicle charging system and shows that it is well known in the art to have a supply cable (5) having a setting apparatus (6a), via which the maximum value can be set by a user ([0059]-[0064]), wherein the setting apparatus has a rotary knob or a slider or a touchscreen or a keypad, for setting the maximum value ([0034], lines 6-9 and [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the supply cable in JP’310 in view of JP’671 with a setting apparatus having a rotary knob or a slider or a touchscreen or a keypad, for setting the maximum value further in view of Yokoyama to provide direct control of current power during charging which improves operating efficiency of system.
As to claim 28, JP’310 in view of JP’671 and further in view of Yokoyama discloses wherein the maximum value can be selected from a plurality of predefined values via the setting apparatus, or the maximum value can be set steplessly from a predefined interval via the setting apparatus ([0035] describes at least 4 values can be set in Yokoyama).
As to claim 29, JP’310 in view of JP’671 and further in view of Yokoyama, wherein the supply cable has a memory (page 20, lines 2-14 in JP’310 and 8 in Yokoyama), which is configured to store different maximum values by a user.
As to claim 30, JP’310 in view of JP’671 and further in view of Yokoyama, wherein the supply cable has a communication module for communication with a user terminal in order to set the maximum value via the user terminal, wherein the communication module is configured for wireless communication with the user terminal (via 1444, page 5, lines 16-32 in JP’310).
As to claim 31, JP’310 in view of JP’671 and further in view of Yokoyama, wherein the supply cable has a release unit (6b in Yokoyama) which is configured to release a settability of the maximum value via the setting apparatus ([0059]-[0064]), wherein the release unit has: (i) a locking slider and/or (ii) a mechanical or electronic lock and/or (iii) a fingerprint sensor (6b in Yokoyama).
As to claim 32, JP’310, wherein the supply cable has a reset function, wherein, when the reset function is activated, a technically maximally possible maximum value is set, and wherein the reset function: (i) can be activated by a user, and/or (ii) is activated when the supply cable is decoupled from the energy supply device (page 8, lines 27-30).
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’310 in view of JP’671 as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of DE 102013007330 (IDS cited art with machine translation). JP’310 in view of JP’671 discloses a connecting line, but doesn’t disclose a coupling, which is configured to be detachably electrically connected to the secondary connector.
DE discloses a supply cable for electrically connecting an energy store of a vehicle to an energy supply device providing electrical energy and shows that it is well known in the art to provide a coupling (20) configured to be detachably electrically connected to the secondary connector (21).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the secondary connector of JP’310 in view of JP’671 with a coupling further in view of DE to compensate for the different plug arrangements required when charging during traveling of vehicle which increases operating efficiency of charging system.
Double Patenting
Claims 16-33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14-26 of co-pending Application No. 18/571489 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the co-pending application encompass the claims of the present invention (common scope bolded in the co-pending application claims below):
14. A secondary connector of a power cable, which is configured for electrical connection to a vehicle, the secondary connector comprising a plug-in connector for detachable electrical connection to a power supply device; a cable connection for detachable electrical connection to a coupling of the power cable; a limiting unit configured to limit an electrical current flowing through the power cable to a maximum value; and an adjusting unit via which the maximum value can be adjusted (corresponds to setting apparatus in present invention).
15. The secondary connector according to claim 14, wherein, for adjusting the maximum value, the adjusting unit has a rotary knob or a slider or a touchscreen or a keypad.
16. The secondary connector according to claim 14, wherein: (i) the maximum value can be selected from a plurality of predefined values via the adjusting unit, or (ii) the maximum value can be adjusted steplessly from a predefined interval via the adjusting unit.
17. The secondary connector according to claim 14, wherein the secondary connector has a memory which is configured for storing different maximum values by a user.
18. The secondary connector according to claim 14, wherein the secondary connector has a communication module for communication with a user terminal in order to adjust the maximum value via the user terminal, and wherein the communication module is configured for wireless communication with the user terminal.
19. The secondary connector according to claim 14, wherein the secondary connector has a release unit, which is configured for releasing the adjustability of the maximum value via the adjusting unit, wherein the release unit includes a locking slider and/or a mechanical or electronic lock and/or a fingerprint sensor.
20. The secondary connector according to claim 14, wherein the secondary connector has a reset function, wherein, when the reset function is activated, a technically maximally possible maximum value is adjusted, and wherein the reset function can be activated by a user and/or is activated when a supply cable is decoupled from the power supply device.
21. The secondary connector according to claim 14, wherein the limiting unit is configured to output the maximum value to the vehicle and/or to a charging control logic of the power cable or of the power supply device in order to notify the vehicle that at most the maximum value can be requested as a charging current.
22. The secondary connector according to claim 14, wherein the secondary connector includes a detection unit, wherein the detection unit is configured to monitor electrical current supplied by the power supply device and to detect an interruption of supplied electrical current.
23. The secondary connector according to claim 22, wherein the secondary connector has an output unit, wherein the output unit is configured to output a signal including an acoustic and/or visual warning, when the detection apparatus detects the interruption, and/or to output a signal that the maximum value adjusted by the limiting unit is lower than a technically maximally possible maximum value.
24. The secondary connector according to claim 22, wherein the detection unit is configured to transfer a limit value based on a current supplied prior to the detection of the interruption with a predefined safety margin, as the maximum value to the limiting unit and/or to output the limit value as a proposal for adjusting as the maximum value.
25. A power cable for electrical connection of an energy store of a vehicle to a power supply device providing electrical energy, the power cable comprising: a connecting line; a primary connector which is or can be electrically coupled to the connecting line and has a vehicle connection for detachable electrical connection to the energy store of the vehicle; and a secondary connector which is or can be electrically coupled to the connecting line and is provided for detachable electrical connection to the power supply device; wherein the secondary connector has a limiting unit, which is configured to limit an electrical current flowing through the power cable to a maximum value; and wherein the secondary connector has an adjusting unit via which the maximum value can be adjusted.
26. (New) The power cable according to claim 25, wherein the connecting line has a coupling which is configured to be detachably electrically connected to the secondary connector.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20, 22 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (and filing of a terminal disclaimer per the double patenting rejection).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record doesn’t disclose or render obvious a motivation to provide for:
-(as to claim 20 in combination with the limitations in claim 16 exactly as written)…... wherein the detection apparatus is configured to detect the interruption when the supplied electrical current is reduced by more than 90% in a time interval of less than one second, when a comparison of the reduction in the electrical current with a planned reduction in the electrical current exceeds a limit value.
-(as to claim 22) reasons will not be indicated at this time based upon applicant’s response to the 112(b) rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-DE 102018205162 discloses a supply cable (5) for electrically connecting an energy store (2) of a vehicle to an energy supply device (4) providing electrical energy, the supply cable comprising: a connecting line (5); a primary connector (6) which is or can be electrically coupled to the connecting line and has a vehicle connection configured to releasably electrically connect to the energy store of the vehicle; a secondary connector (connected to 4) which is or can be electrically coupled to the connecting line and is configured to releasably electrically connect to the energy supply device; a detection apparatus (3) configured to monitor electrical current supplied by the energy supply device and to detect an interruption of the supplied electrical current (abstract).
Tdl
/TISHA D LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 September 4, 2026