Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 7th, 2024 and April 7th, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: Processor in claim 15-20. The term processor is coupled via the recited memory and computer implemented instruction language to functional limitations including plural selecting steps, an introducing step, and a comparing step. The corresponding structure is a generic computer processor and memory with readable instructions thereon. This is interpreted as a generic computer processor means, necessitating consideration of computer implemented functions in view of MPEP § 2181(II)(B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 15-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “processor” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The processor of claims 15-20 recites plural functions executed thereby. Of these functions the comparison and terminal selection function recited in claim 15 lack description in the original disclosure. The comparison function from the claims is noted at [0053], but there is no explanation of the steps to carry out the claimed function. Similarly, the claims employ language that modifiers or curtain gas are selected “based on” the comparison. There is no detail of the acts or steps for making this selection “based on” the comparison result. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 7 recites the step of comparing a first subset of ions to a second subset of ions. The corresponding disclosure at [0053] mentions the act of comparing subsets of ions. There is no disclosure of the acts or steps for carrying out this comparison. None of the illustrations or the disclosure as a whole describes the act claimed.
Claim 7 recites the step of selecting liquid modifiers or curtain gas on the basis of the aforementioned comparison. There is no corresponding disclosure of the steps or acts for carrying out this selection or on what basis the selection is made. While contingent on the comparison step, the disclosure, particularly at [0053] is silent as to how to, in a full and clear way, to carry out the act of selecting a liquid modifier or curtain gas using the result of a comparison of ion subsets.
Claims 8-14 are similarly rejected under this heading by virtue of their dependency on claim 7.
Regarding claims 15-20, as noted above and in view of MPEP 2163.03(VI), claims 15-20 are rejected under this heading.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2010/0282966.
Reference will be made to the following Figure 6 from ‘966 below.
Regarding claim 1, ‘966 discloses a gas introduction system comprising a manifold:
The manifold comprising a gas inlet (720) and outlet (Note the outlet from the Fig. 6 above emptying into chamber 718.
The manifold also comprises plural modifier liquid supply inlets (720h, 720i, for example) attached to controllable valves (720 j,k). As shown, these couple to a mixing channel to the right and downstream the valves. Additionally, ‘966 discloses a computer controller (Item 1141) for controlling components of the gas flow of the apparatus and states that the valves are controllable valves:
Regarding claim 2, as shown in Fig. 6 above, each valve is coupled to a discrete source.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest the gas system of claim 1 further comprising:
wherein each of the discrete modifier sources comprises a modifier fluid source and a pump, and wherein the control system is in communication with each of the plurality of pumps and is configured to activate each of the plurality of pumps as recited in claim 3.
wherein the plurality of modifier liquid supply inlets comprises three modifier liquid supply inlets as recited in claim 4.
wherein the manifold comprises a unitary body component as recited in claim 5.
comprising a sensor disposed in the mixing channel as recited in claim 6.
Conclusion
DAVID A. VANORE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/DAVID A VANORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881