Attorney Docket Number: 23302
Filling Date: 12/18/23
Priority Date: 6/23/21
Inventor: Yamashita et al
Examiner: Bilkis Jahan
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Harada et al (US 2019/0172990 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Harada discloses a light-emitting device (Fig. 1B) comprising: a substrate 1 (Para. 34); a light-emitting element 2-2 (Para. 33) disposed on the substrate 1; and a resin material made of a translucent thermosetting resin 7 (Para. 33) disposed at a peripheral area (left and right sides) of the light-emitting element 2-2, wherein: the resin material 7 has a plurality of closed spaces 7 (two sides of 2-2), and each of the plurality of closed spaces holds a resin body 7.
Regarding claim 5, Harada discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the resin body 7 is a silicone resin (Para. 40).
Regarding claim 6, Harada discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the resin body 7 is thermally expandable particles (Para. 40, silicone. Same material).
Regarding claim 10, Harada discloses a light-reflective material (Fig. 1B) comprising; a translucent thermosetting resin 7 (Paras. 33, 40) having a plurality of closed spaces 7 (two sides of 2-2), wherein each of the plurality of closed spaces 7 holds a resin body (Para. 40).
Regarding claim 11, Harada discloses an irradiation device (Fig. 1B) comprising: a light source 2-2 (Para. 33); and a light-reflective material 7 (Para. 40, two tall sides) disposed at a position on which (on the side surface) light emitted from the light source 2-2 is incident, wherein: the light-reflective material 7 is made of a translucent thermosetting resin (Para. 40, same material as instant application, silicone) having a plurality of closed spaces 7 (both sides of 2-2), and each of the plurality of closed spaces holds a resin body (Para. 40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al (US 2019/0172990 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Harada does not explicitly disclose the light-emitting device according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of closed spaces has a diameter average value of 200 nm to 300 nm.
However, each of the plurality of closed spaces has a particular diameter 7 (Fig. 1B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to obtain each of the plurality of closed spaces has a diameter average value of 200 nm to 300 nm for intended purposes.
the applicants have not established the criticality (see next paragraph below) of the diameter.
CRITICALITY
The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed diameter or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 2-3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al (US 2019/0172990 A1) in view of Kim et al (US 2011/0254039 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Harada does not explicitly disclose the light-emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of closed spaces internally contain an organic matter. However, Harada discloses the plurality of closed spaces internally contain a resin 7 (Fig. 1B, Para. 40).
Kim discloses polymer with alcohol organic solvent (Paras. 200, 201) for the resin.
Therefore, it would have ben obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to obtain the plurality of closed spaces internally contain an organic matter for intended purposes.
Regarding claim 3, Kim further discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 2, wherein the organic matter is a higher alcohol (Paras. 200, 201).
Regarding claim 4, Harada does not explicitly disclose the light-emitting device according to claim 3, wherein the organic matter is an organic matter that evaporates at a temperature lower than a thermal curing temperature of the resin material.
However, this is a product by process limitation.
Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP 2113.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9 are allowed.
Conclusion
BILKIS . JAHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2817
/BILKIS JAHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817