DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 9/25/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-9 and 11-13 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the non-final Office Action mailed 5/7/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2020/075806, hereinafter Azuma.
Regarding claim 1, Azuma teaches an automatic analyzer (item 1000) that analyzes a mixture of a sample and a reagent contained in a reaction vessel, the automatic analyzer comprising: the reaction vessel (item 1131), and a heat block (item 108) including a hole (the upper portion of item 1084) into which the reaction vessel is inserted (figure 18) and an urging member (item 1085) configured to press against a first portion of a side surface of the reaction vessel (item 1085 presses against item 1134 which is considered to be part of the side wall, additionally if item 1134 is not considered to be part of the side wall, item 1085 would be capable of pressing against the sidewall of item 1131), wherein: the reaction vessel (item 1131) includes a first protrusion (item 1134) having a mountain shape (figure 18) on the first portion of the first side surface (figure 18), when the reaction vessel is lowered from an upper side to a lower side in a vertical direction as the reaction vessel is inserted into the hole, the mountain shape of the first protrusion causes the urging member to move away from the reaction vessel along the first protrusion (figure 17), and as an outermost portion of the first protrusion passes the urging member, the urging member is configured to urge the first protrusion downward in the vertical direction to urge the reaction vessel into the hole (figure 18), and the urging member presses the first protrusion in a horizontal direction (figure 18, as there is an angled portion to the end of item 1134 and item 1085 presses against item 1134, there would be pressure in the horizontal direction) and presses a second portion of the side surface of the reaction vessel, that is opposite to the first protrusion, toward a wall of the hole (as there would be horizontal pressure on item 1134, the opposite side would also have pressure toward a wall of the hole).
Regarding claim 3, Azuma teaches the reaction vessel includes a second protrusion (item 1135) as a part of a third portion of the side surface of the reaction vessel (figure 18), which is provided at a position deviating on a line from the first protrusion in the vertical direction (figure 18), and the heat block includes a groove configured for receiving and fitting with the second protrusion (the bottom opening of item 1084).
Regarding claim 4, Azuma teaches wherein the urging member is also operated in the vertical direction along the first protrusion when the reaction vessel is inserted into the hole (figures 17 and 18).
Regarding claim 5, Azuma teaches an automatic analyzer (item 1000) that analyzes a mixture of a sample and a reagent contained in a reaction vessel, the automatic analyzer comprising: the reaction vessel (item 1131), and a heat block (item 108) including a hole (item 1084) into which the reaction vessel is inserted (figure 18) and an urging member (item 1085) configured to press against a first portion of a side surface of the reaction vessel (item 1085 presses against item 1134 which is considered to be part of the side wall, additionally if item 1134 is not considered to be part of the side wall, item 1085 would be capable of pressing against the sidewall of item 1131), wherein: the reaction vessel (item 1131) includes a first protrusion (item 1134) having a mountain shape (figure 18) on the first portion of the first side surface (figure 18), when the reaction vessel is lowered from an upper side to a lower side in a vertical direction as the reaction vessel is inserted into the hole, the mountain shape of the first protrusion causes the urging member to move away from the reaction vessel along the first protrusion (figure 17), and as an outermost portion of the first protrusion passes the urging member, the urging member is configured to urge the first protrusion downward in the vertical direction to urge the reaction vessel into the hole (figure 18), and the urging member configured to move downward in the vertical direction along the first protrusion when the reaction vessel is inserted (figure 18), and includes a stopper so as not to be moved more than a certain amount of movement (item 1086).
Regarding claim 6, Azuma teaches the stopper includes an inclination (item 1086 is inclined at some amount) that allows a predetermined vertical movement even in an absence of the reaction vessel (figure 15), and, when the reaction vessel is inserted, further allows the vertical movement as the urging member is moved away from the reaction vessel along the first protrusion (figures 17 and 18).
Regarding claim 7, Azuma teaches an automatic analyzer (item 1000) that analyzes a mixture of a sample and a reagent contained in a reaction vessel, the automatic analyzer comprising: the reaction vessel (item 1131), and a heat block (item 108) including a hole (item 1084) into which the reaction vessel is inserted (figure 18) and an urging member (item 1085) configured to press against a first portion of a side surface of the reaction vessel (item 1085 presses against item 1134 which is considered to be part of the side wall, additionally if item 1134 is not considered to be part of the side wall, item 1085 would be capable of pressing against the sidewall of item 1131), wherein: the reaction vessel (item 1131) includes a first protrusion (item 1134) having a mountain shape (figure 18) on the first portion of the first side surface (figure 18), when the reaction vessel is lowered from an upper side to a lower side in a vertical direction as the reaction vessel is inserted into the hole, the mountain shape of the first protrusion causes the urging member to move away from the reaction vessel along the first protrusion (figure 17), and as an outermost portion of the first protrusion passes the urging member, and the urging member includes a stopper (item 1086) having an inclination (item 1086 is inclined at some amount) so as to be guided to be fitted within a predetermined height in an absence of the reaction vessel (figure 15), and, when the reaction vessel is inserted, to allow a vertical movement downward as the urging member is moved away from the reaction vessel along the first protrusion (figures 17 and 18).
Regarding claim 8, Azuma teaches the inclination of the stopper (item 1086 is inclined at some amount) allows a predetermined vertical movement even in an absence of the reaction vessel (figure 15), and, when the reaction vessel is inserted, further allows the vertical movement downward (figures 17 and 18).
Regarding claim 9, Azuma teaches a reaction vessel (item 1131) that contains a mixture of a sample and a reagent (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)) and is taught in paragraph [0002]), the reaction vessel comprising: on a first portion of a side surface thereof, a first protrusion (item 1134) for urging with a spring (figure 18), the first protrusion having a mountain shape (figure 18); and a second protrusion (item 1133) as a part of a second portion of the side surface (figure 13), for guiding a light-transmitting surface, which is provided at a position deviating on a vertical line from the first protrusion, to be vertical (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)), wherein a lowermost surface of the first protrusion is provided on an upper side with respect to a liquid surface height at a maximum reaction solution amount in the reaction vessel (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in figures 13 and 14).
Regarding claim 11, Azuma teaches a reaction vessel (item 113) that contains a mixture of a sample and a reagent (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0002]), the reaction vessel comprising: on a first portion of a side surface thereof, a first protrusion (item 1134) for urging with a spring (figure 18), the first protrusion having a mountain shape (figure 18); and a second protrusion (item 1133) as a part a second portion of the side surface (figure 13), for guiding a light-transmitting surface, which is provided at a position deviating on a vertical line from the first protrusion, to be vertical (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)), wherein a lowermost surface of the first protrusion is positioned below a lowermost surface of the second protrusion (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in figures 13 and 14).
Regarding claim 12, Azuma teaches a reaction vessel (item 113) that contains a mixture of a sample and a reagent (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0002]), the reaction vessel comprising: on a first portion of a side surface thereof, a first protrusion (item 1134) for urging with a spring (figure 18), the first protrusion having a mountain shape (figure 18); and a second protrusion (item 1133) as a part of a second portion of the side surface (figure 13), for guiding a light-transmitting surface, which is provided at a position deviating on a vertical line from the first protrusion, to be vertical (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)), wherein the first protrusion is provided on a surface that is parallel with the light-transmitting surface (figure 18).
Regarding claim 13, Azuma teaches wherein the second protrusion is provided in a pair at opposite positions of the side surface (figure 13).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the horizontal force urges the cuvette against a wall of the hole) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claim only states “the urging member presses the first protrusion in a horizontal direction and presses a second portion of the side surface of the reaction vessel, that is opposite to the first protrusion, toward a wall of the hole.” Therefore the claim is only stating that there is a horizontal force which presses the reaction vessel toward a hole in the wall, but not against the wall as applicant argues. As described above in the rejection, the angled end portion of item 1134 would provide a both a vertical and horizontal force on the reaction vessel, thereby meeting the claim limitations.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Azuma does not disclose the protrusion having a mountain shape and only discloses a planar protrusion is not found persuasive. The applicant has not defined what is meant by “a mountain shape” and therefore the protrusions as disclosed in Azuma are considered to be “a mountain shape” as they have generally steep sides with a great height.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796