DETAILED ACTION
Cross-Reference to Related Applications
2. This application is a 371 of PCT/JP2022/023905 06/15/2022
Preliminary amendment
3. Preliminary amendment filed on 12/19/2023 has been acknowledged and considered.
In the Preliminary amendment, the applicants have been amended the abstract and claims 1-8, 11-14 and added new claims 18-28 and remained claims 9-10 and 15-17.
Claims 1-28 are currently pending in the application.
Oath/Declaration
4. The oath/declaration filed on 12/19/2023 is acceptable.
Priority
5. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. The office acknowledges receipt of the following items from the applicant:
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 03/11/2024, 12/06/2024 and 11/19/2025.
Specification
7. The specification is objected to for the following reason: The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (see MPEP 606.01).
A title such as – WIRING SUBSTRATE MANUFACTURING METHOD INVLUDING A GAP BETWEEN A METAL LAYER AND A CARRIER FROM A CUT WITH A THIN PIECE – or is suggested by the applicant.
The specification needs to be updated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 18, 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by IWAMOTO M (JP-2019032415-A).
Regarding claim 18, IWAMO TO M discloses a method for manufacturing a wiring substrate, comprising:
providing a laminated sheet that includes a release layer (41) and a metal layer (optical film (1) is a polarizing plate (including a metal pattern, see a polarizing plate (160) in Figs. 2-3 in HONG W (KR-20190039683-A)) in order on a carrier (4);
forming a cut (32a1 32a2) in the laminated sheet from a surface of the laminated sheet opposite to the carrier (4) so that the cut (32a1 32a2) passes through an inside of an outer edge portion of the laminated sheet when the laminated sheet is seen in a planar view and so that the cut (32a1 32a2) penetrates the metal layer (1) and the release layer (41) when the laminated sheet is seen in a cross-sectional view, and dividing the metal layer (1) and the release layer (41) into a central portion and a peripheral portion with the cut as a boundary; and
forming a gap (310) between the metal layer (1) and the carrier (41) from the cut (see Figs. 3G below and English Text).
Regarding 22, IWAMOTO M discloses wherein the cut (32a1 32a2) is formed so that at least a part of the carrier (4) is unpenetrated when the laminated sheet is seen in a cross-sectional view (see Fig. 3G above)
Regarding 24, IWAMOTO M discloses wherein the cut (32a1 32a2) is formed in a linear pattern so that the peripheral portion surrounds the central portion when the laminated sheet is seen in a planar view (see Fig. 3G above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over IWAMOTO M in view of NIIMI K (CN-107709493-A).
Regarding claim 23, IWAMOTO M discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein the cut has a width of 0.01 mm or more and 20 mm or less.
NIIMI K, however, discloses the cut has a width of 10 mm (see English Text).
The selection of the claimed process parameters would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date was made to perform the cut has a width within the claimed range, since it is well settle that when the general conditions of a claim are discloses in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. The following is a statement of reason for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 1-17 would be allowed.
Regarding claim 1, IWAMO TO M discloses a method for manufacturing a wiring substrate, comprising:
providing a laminated sheet that includes a release layer (41) and a metal layer (optical film (1) is a polarizing plate (including a metal pattern, see a polarizing plate (160) in Figs. 2-3 in HONG W (KR-20190039683-A)) in order on a carrier (4);
forming a cut (32a1 32a2) in the laminated sheet from a surface of the laminated sheet opposite to the carrier (4) so that the cut (32a1 32a2) passes through an inside of an outer edge portion of the laminated sheet when the laminated sheet is seen in a planar view and so that the cut (32a1 32a2) penetrates the metal layer (1) and the release layer (41) when the laminated sheet is seen in a cross-sectional view, and dividing the metal layer (1) and the release layer (41) into a central portion and a peripheral portion with the cut as a boundary (see Fig. 3G above and English Text), but does not disclose a step of inserting a thin piece from the cut toward the central portion side of the metal layer or the release layer to form a gap between the metal layer and the carrier in which an insertion angle of the thin piece with respect to a main surface of the carrier is greater than 00 when the laminated sheet is seen in the cross-sectional view.
Claims 2-17 are directly or indirectly depend on the independent claim 1, then, they are also being allowed.
Claims 19-21 and 25-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Cited Prior Arts
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Matsuura (U.S. Patent No. 11,756,845 B2) discloses a method for manufacturing a wiring substrate, comprising:
providing a laminated sheet that includes a release layer (16) and a metal layer (18) in order on a carrier (12);
forming a cut in the laminated sheet from a surface of the laminated sheet opposite to the carrier (12) so that the cut passes through an inside of an outer edge portion of the laminated sheet when the laminated sheet is seen in a planar view and so that the cut penetrates the metal layer (18) and the release layer (16) when the laminated sheet is seen in a cross-sectional view, and dividing the metal layer (18) and the release layer (16) into a central portion and a peripheral portion with the cut as a boundary (Fig. 4).
Conclusion
/PHUC T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897