DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, “CO2 containing gas” lacks sufficient antecedent basis in light of “a CO2 rich gas”. Examiner suggests using consistent language for the sake of clarity.
Regarding claim 3, “compressed exhaust gas” and “incoming exhaust gas” lack sufficient antecedent basis in light of “CO2 rich gas.” Examiner suggests using consistent language for the sake of clarity.
Regarding claim 3, “lean exhaust gas” lack sufficient antecedent basis in light of “CO2 depleted, or lean, exhaust gas.” Examiner suggests using consistent language for the sake of clarity.
Regarding claim 3, “the absorbent” lack sufficient antecedent basis in light of “CO2 rich absorbent.” Examiner suggests using consistent language for the sake of clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamrin US-20180243688-A1 in view of Duncan et al. US-5449390-A.
Regarding claim 1, Hamrin teaches a method for removing CO2 from a CO2 rich gas represented by “a method for capturing CO2 from a CO2 containing exhaust gas” (Hamrin [0011]). The method for capturing CO2 from a CO2 containing exhaust gas comprises of the following elements of the current invention:
CO2 containing gas is cooled and compressed to a pressure of 5 to 30 bar represented by “the exhaust gas is compressed and there after cooled” (Fig. 1, [0011]). Hamrin states the exhaust gas may be “re-compressed to a pressure of 5 to 30 bar” (Hamrin [0009]).
The CO2 rich gas being introduced into an absorber where the CO2 rich gas is brought into counter current flow with an aqueous CO2 absorbent to give a CO2 lean gas flow and a CO2 rich absorbent represented by “the exhaust gas is introduced into an absorber, where the exhaust gas is brought in counter-current flow with an aqueous CO2 absorbent solution introduced into the absorber, to give a lean exhaust gas…[and a] rich absorbent having absorbed CO2” (Fig. 1, [0011]).
The CO2 lean gas flow and CO2 rich absorbent being removed from the absorber from the top and the bottom of the absorber, respectively, where the CO2 lean gas is heated against the incoming CO2 containing gas in a heat exchanger and thereafter expanded over an expander represented by “[the] lean exhaust gas that is withdrawn from the absorber, reheated against incoming compressed exhaust gas, and thereafter expanded and released into the atmosphere, where the rich absorbent having absorbed CO2, is collected at the bottom of the absorber, withdrawn therefrom” (Fig. 1, [0011]). Hamrin states the “CO2 depleted exhaust gas is withdrawn from the top of the absorber through a depleted exhaust gas pipe” (Hamrin [0029]).
Hamrin does not teach compressed air being introduced into the heat exchanger together with the CO2 lean gas.
Duncan et al. teaches compressed air being introduced into the heat exchanger together with the CO2 lean gas represented by “the outlet of a first compressed air pump 26 is connected to the inlet of heat exchanger 30 that is positioned within conduit 10 in the stream of hot flue gas flowing from combustion chamber 12” (Fig. 1, [6]). The compressed air being introduced into the heat exchanger together with the CO2 lean gas is beneficial “to increase the temperature” of the CO2 lean gas to create a more efficient heat transfer process (Duncan et al. [6]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hamrin to incorporate the teachings of Duncan et al. to include compressed air being introduced into the heat exchanger heat exchanger together with the CO2 lean gas as it is known to help increase heat transfer efficiency.
Regarding claim 3, Hamrin teaches a plant for removing CO2 from a CO2 rich gas represented by “a plant for capturing of CO2 from an CO2 containing exhaust gas” (Hamrin [0015]). The plant for capturing of CO2 from an CO2 containing exhaust gas comprises of the following elements of the current invention:
An exhaust gas line for introduction of the CO2 rich gas into a heat exchanger for cooling of the incoming CO2 rich gas, compressor(s) for compression of the CO2 rich gas cooled in the intercooler(s), a compressed exhaust gas line for introduction of the compressed exhaust gas into an absorber represented by “exhaust withdrawal pipe(s), one or more exhaust gas compressor(s) for compression of the exhaust gas, a compressed exhaust gas line for leading the compressed gas into one or more heat exchangers, for cooling of the compressed exhaust gas against CO2 lean exhaust gas, a cooled exhaust gas pipe connected to an absorber for absorption of CO2” (Hamrin [0015]).
[An absorber] where the exhaust gas is brought in countercurrent flow against an aqueous CO2 absorbent, a lean absorbent line for introduction of lean absorbent represented by “an absorber for absorption of CO2 by counter-current flow against a liquid absorbent… a lean absorbent pipe for introduction of lean absorbent into the absorber” (Hamrin [0015]). Hamrin states the preferred liquid absorber to be “an aqueous solution” (Hamrin [0028]).
A lean exhaust gas line for withdrawal of CO2 depleted, or lean, exhaust gas leaving [the absorber] and introduction thereof into the heat exchanger to be heated against the incoming exhaust gas, a heated gas line for leading the heated lean exhaust gas from the heat exchanger to an expander for expansion of the lean exhaust gas before being released into the surroundings via an expanded lean exhaust gas line represented by “a lean exhaust gas pipe for introduction of the lean exhaust gas into heat exchanger(s) for heat exchanging against hot compressed exhaust gas, a cooled lean exhaust gas pipe for transferring the heated lean exhaust gas from heat exchanger(s) to a turbine for expanding of the lean exhaust gas…the expanded lean exhaust gas is withdrawn via an expanded exhaust gas … and released to the surroundings” (Hamrin [0015,0019]).
A rich absorbent line is arranged for withdrawal of CO2 rich absorbent from the absorber and introduction of the absorbent into a regeneration column for separation of absorbed CO2 from the absorbent, where a CO2 line is arranged for withdrawal of CO2 and steam from the regeneration column represented by “a rich absorbent pipe to withdraw rich absorbent from the absorber, the rich absorbent pipe being connected to a regenerator for introduction of the rich absorbent into the regenerator… an overhead withdrawal pipe connected to the regenerator for withdrawing steam and CO2” (Hamrin [0015]).
The lean absorbent line is arranged for withdrawal of lean absorbent from the regeneration column and introduction thereof into the absorber represented by “a lean absorbent withdrawal pipe connected to the lean absorbent pipe, for withdrawal of lean absorbent for recycling into the absorber” (Hamrin [0015]).
Hamrin does not teach a compressed air line arranged for introduction of compressed air into the heat exchanger together with the lean exhaust gas introduced through the lean exhaust gas line.
Duncan et al. teaches compressed air being introduced into the heat exchanger together with the lean exhaust gas represented by “the outlet of a first compressed air pump 26 is connected to the inlet of heat exchanger 30 that is positioned within conduit 10 in the stream of hot flue gas flowing from combustion chamber 12” (Fig. 1, [6]). The compressed air being introduced into the heat exchanger together with the lean exhaust gas is beneficial “to increase the temperature” of the lean exhaust gas to create a more efficient heat transfer process (Duncan et al. [6]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hamrin to incorporate the teachings of Duncan et al. to include compressed air being introduced into the heat exchanger together with the lean exhaust gas as it is known to help increase heat transfer efficiency.
Regarding claim 4, Hamrin teaches one or more air compressors arranged on a common shaft together with the expander and a motor or generator represented by “the expander 34 is preferably connected to the compressor 10, to reduce the duty of the motor 11 for operating the compressor 10, e.g. via a common shaft 35 as illustrated” (Fig. 1, [0030]). Hamrin states the multiple compressors or expanders can be “connected in series and or in parallel” (Hamrin [0023]).
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamrin US-20180243688-A1 in view of Duncan et al. US-5449390-A and in further view of Kuhl US-20170002433-A1.
Regarding claim 2, Hamrin in view of Duncan et al. teaches all the claim limitation of clam 1.
Hamrin in view of Duncan et al. does not teach the incoming CO2 containing gas having a temperature of 200 to 700 deg. C.
Kuhl teaches the incoming CO2 containing gas having a temperature of 200 to 700 deg. C represented by “the incoming CO2 containing gas (furnace gas, exhaust gas) …has a temperature of 300-1000° C” (Kuhl [0195]). The incoming CO2 gas having a temperature of 200 to 700 deg. C is beneficial as it is known that gases favor ideal behavior at high temperatures.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hamrin in view of Duncan et al. incorporate the teachings of Kuhl to include the incoming CO2 containing gas having a temperature of 200 to 700 deg. C as it is known that gases favor ideal behavior at high temperatures.
Conclusion
/AMMAD W BUTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1776 /Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776