DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hnatek DE 19851379A1 (Espacenet Translation) in view of Zhong CN 213289067U (Espacenet Translation).
Regarding claim 1, Hnatek discloses a method of branding indicia onto an outer surface of at least one food item comprising the steps of positioning at least one food item on a top surface of a conveyor (26), conveying the at least one food item toward a branding station comprising a laser (23), and conveying the at least one food item into a space between the conveyor and the top surface of the conveyor (Fig 3) and branding indicia onto the outer surface of at least one food item with the laser (Espacenet Translation [0016], [0026], [0033], [0044], [0047]).
Claim 1 differs from the embodiment of Fig. 3 or Hnatek in the recitation that the branding station comprises an upper member spaced from the top surface of the conveyor and wherein the upper member comprises an aperture, and the method comprises conveying the at least one food item into the space between the upper member and the top surface of the conveyor and the branding of indicia onto the outer surface of the at least one food item occurs with the laser through the aperture.
However, in another embodiment (Fig. 1, 2) Hnatek discloses the branding station comprises an upper member spaced from the top surface of a moving support (5) and wherein the upper member comprises an aperture (9), and the method comprises moving the at least one food item into the space (4) between the upper member and the top surface of the support (5) (Fig. 1, 2) and the branding of indicia onto the outer surface of the at least one food item occurs with the laser through the aperture (9) (Espacenet Translation [0044]). Hnatek discloses that the purpose of having the upper member and aperture includes to protect the laser from damage and vapors from food products ([0007]-[0013]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the embodiment of Fig. 3 of Hnatek such that the branding station comprises an upper member spaced from the top surface of the conveyor and wherein the upper member comprises an aperture, and the method comprises conveying the at least one food item into the space between the upper member and the top surface of the conveyor and the branding of indicia onto the outer surface of the at least one food item occurs with the laser through the aperture as taught by Hnatek in another embodiment, in order to protect the laser from the food products.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 differs from Hnatek in the recitation that the method comprises a step of determining a height of each food item and then adjusting the position of the upper member of the branding station relative to the outer surface of the food item prior to branding indicia onto the outer surface.
Zhong discloses a laser marking device, and a method of marking a product comprising a step of determining a height of each food item and then adjusting the position of the laser to the outer surface of the food item prior to branding indicia onto the outer surface (Espacenet Translation [0002]-[0004], [0007], [0013], [0024]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hnatek such that the method comprises a step of determining a height of each food item and then adjusting the position of the upper member of the branding station relative to the outer surface of the food item prior to branding indicia onto the outer surface as suggested by Zhong in order to suitably and accurately apply the laser to different products of different heights. It has been held that “Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” supports a conclusion of obviousness and “Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results” supports a conclusion of obviousness (MPEP 2143.I.A,D).
Claim 1 differs from Hnatek in the recitation that the method comprises a step of determining a height of each food item and then adjusting the position of the upper member of the branding station relative to the outer surface of the food item prior to branding indicia onto the outer surface.
Zhong discloses a laser marking device, and a method of marking a product comprising a step of determining a height of each food item and then adjusting the position of the laser to the outer surface of the food item prior to branding indicia onto the outer surface (Espacenet Translation [0002]-[0004], [0007], [0013], [0024]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hnatek such that the method comprises a step of determining a height of each food item and then adjusting the position of the upper member of the branding station relative to the outer surface of the food item prior to branding indicia onto the outer surface as suggested by Zhong in order to suitably and accurately apply the laser to different products of different heights. It has been held that “Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” supports a conclusion of obviousness and “Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results” supports a conclusion of obviousness (MPEP 2143.I.A,D).
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 differs from Hnatek in the recitation that the at least one food item specifically comprises poultry, however Hnatek discloses that the food product can be meat (Espacenet Translation [0033]), which broadly is defined as animal tissue considered especially as food, which encompasses poultry, and therefore Hnatek obviously teaches that the at least one food item can comprise poultry.
Regarding claim 5, Hnatek discloses that the positioning comprises positioning each of the at least one food items in a predetermined location on the top surface of the conveyor (Fig. 3, Espacenet Translation, [0047]), since the food product obviously needs to be placed in a position such that it can be treated with the laser.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9, claim 9 claim 9 differs from Hnatek in the recitation that the method comprises a step of adjusting the space between the upper member and the top surface of the conveyor, however claim 9 is rejected for the same reasons given above as for claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 differs from Modified Hnatek in the recitation that the space is adjusted manually, however Zhong recognizes it was conventional in the art to manually adjust the height of a laser ([0002]), therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Modified Hnatek to comprise manually adjusting the space between the upper member and the top surface of the conveyor, as taught by Zhong, since Zhong recognizes such a step was conventional in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Modified Hnatek discloses that the space is adjusted automatically (‘067, Espacenet Translation, Abstract, [0003], [0013]).
Claims 3, 4, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hnatek DE 19851379A1 (Espacenet Translation) in view of Zhong CN 213289067U (Espacenet Translation) in view of Cui CN 106614988A (Espacenet Translation).
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 differs from Hnatek in the recitation that the step of conveying the at least one food item further comprises conveying at a speed that allows indicia to be branded on the outer surface of the at least one food item without stopping.
Cui discloses applying laser to food products and conveying the at least one food at a speed that allows indicia to be branded on the outer surface of the at least one food item without stopping (Espacenet Translation, abstract, Pg. 3, claim 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hnatek such that the step of conveying the at least one food item further comprises conveying at a speed that allows indicia to be branded on the outer surface of the at least one food item without stopping as suggested by Cui in order to enhance processing efficiency. It has been held that “Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” supports a conclusion of obviousness and “Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results” supports a conclusion of obviousness (MPEP 2143.I.A,D).
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 differs from Hnatek in the recitation that the step of conveying comprises periodically pausing the conveyor to allow indicia to be branded on the outer surface of the at least one food item. Cui discloses it was a well-known technique in the art to use laser marking equipment to mark stationary food items (Pg. 3, 5th paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hnatek such that the step of conveying comprises periodically pausing the conveyor to allow indicia to be branded on the outer surface of the at least one food item as suggested by Cui, since it has been held that “Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” supports a conclusion of obviousness and “Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results” supports a conclusion of obviousness (MPEP 2143.I.A,D).
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 is rejected for the same reasons given above as for claim 3.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hnatek DE 19851379A1 (Espacenet Translation) in view of Zhong CN 213289067U (Espacenet Translation) in view of Chait et al. US 2011/0177217.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 differs from Hnatek in the recitation that the method specifically comprises drying the outer surface of at least one food item prior to the step of branding indicia on the outer surface of the at least one food item.
Chait teaches it was well known technique to dry the surface of food products prior to laser marking them ([0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hnatek such that the method specifically comprises drying the outer surface of at least one food item prior to the step of branding indicia on the outer surface of the at least one food item as suggested by Chait, since it has been held that “Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” supports a conclusion of obviousness and “Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results” supports a conclusion of obviousness (MPEP 2143.I.A,D).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maas NL 9401841A1 (Google Patents Translation) in view of Zhong CN 213289067U (Espacenet Translation).
Regarding claim 12, Maas discloses a method of branding indicia onto an outer surface of at least one food item comprising the steps of attaching at least one food item to a horizontal movement mechanism (2/3), moving the at least one food item in a generally horizontal direction (5) toward a branding station (1) comprising a laser marking system (11) and branding indicia onto the outer surface of the at least one food item with the laser (See Figure, Google Patents Translation Pg. 2, lines 41-54).
Claim 12 differs from Maas in the recitation that the laser marking system is specifically adjustable to achieve a desired spacing from the outer surface of the at least one food item.
Zhong discloses a laser marking device, and a method of marking a product comprising a step of determining a height of each food item and then adjusting the position of the laser to the outer surface of the food item prior to branding indicia onto the outer surface (Espacenet Translation [0002]-[0004], [0007], [0013], [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Maas such that the laser marking system is specifically adjustable to achieve a desired spacing from the outer surface of the at least one food item as taught by Zhong in order to suitably and accurately apply the laser to different products of different sizes. It has been held that “Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” supports a conclusion of obviousness and “Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results” supports a conclusion of obviousness (MPEP 2143.I.A,D). “Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art” (MPEP 2143.I.F).
Regarding claim 13, Maas discloses that the horizontal movement mechanism comprises a rail (transport rail 2) (See Figure, Google Patents Translation Pg. 2, lines 41-54).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Maas NL 9401841A (Google Patents Translation) in view of Zhong CN 213289067U (Espacenet Translation) in view of Purton WO 2017/181214A1.
Regarding 14, claim 14 differs from Maas in the recitation that the method comprises a step of guiding the at least one food item to a desired position with at least one guide.
Purton discloses guiding at least one food item into a desired position with at least one guide (clamping member 12) (see Figs. 1-2, Pg. 5, lines 13-33, Pg. 6, lines 1-9) in order to hold the product stationary for laser marking. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Maas such that the method comprises a step of guiding the at least one food item to a desired position with at least one guide as taught by Purton in order in order to hold the product stationary for laser marking.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Maas NL 9401841A (Google Patents Translation) in view of Chait et al. US 2011/0177217.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons given above as for claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On Pg. 6-7 of the remarks Applicant argues that Zhong does not teach the amended limitations of claim 1. Applicant argues that Zhong is directed to adjusting the position of the laser itself, not adjusting the position of an upper member having an aperture in the claim 1 conveyor/branding station arrangement.
This argument has not been found persuasive. Zhong discloses that the laser is installed on a movable plate 25, and since the laser of Hnatek is installed in the closed housing 1, and the closed housing and has the upper member that comprises with aperture for protection of the laser, in combining the teachings of Zhong, it would have been obvious to modify the closed housing 1 with the laser to be movable, and therefore subsequently the upper member is also movable, in order to ensure that the laser is not damaged, since Zhong discloses the use of a movable plate for moving the laser and Hnatek discloses that the purpose of having the upper member and aperture includes to protect the laser from damage and vapors from food products ([0007]-[0013]). It is noted that “It is well-established that a determination of obviousness based on teachings from multiple references does not require an actual, physical substitution of elements.” In re Mouttet, 686 F.3d 1322, 1332, 103 USPQ2d 1219, 1226 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (citing In re Etter, 756 F.2d 852, 859, 225 USPQ 1, 6 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (en banc)) (“Etter's assertions that Azure cannot be incorporated in Ambrosio are basically irrelevant, the criterion being not whether the references could be physically combined but whether the claimed inventions are rendered obvious by the teachings of the prior art as a whole.”). See also In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981) (“The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference.... Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art.”)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A/
Ashley AxtellExaminer, Art Unit 1792
/ERIK KASHNIKOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792