DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment to the claims, filed on April 10th, 2026, is acknowledged. Entry of amendment is accepted and made of record.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species III directed to Figs. 23 and 24 (claims 1-16 and 21-23) in the reply filed on April 10th, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the alleged species do not constitute patentably distinct inventions because they share common inventive concept. This is not found persuasive; however, the restriction was presented on non-371 case and improper. Therefore, the restriction dated February, 11th, 2026 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CHANG et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0159250 A1), hereinafter as CHANG.
Regarding claim 1, CHANG discloses a display device in Fig. 6, comprising: a first wiring (base layer 230) (see [0091]); a second wiring (electrode 220) disposed on a different layer from the first wiring (see Fig. 6 and [0091]); a pad (electrode 210) disposed on the same layer as the second wiring and that vertically overlaps the first wiring (see Fig. 1 and [0091]); an insulating layer (banks 410 and 420) disposed on the pad and the second wiring and having an assembly hole (spacing between) (see Fig. 6 and [0126]); and a semiconductor light emitting device (light emitting element 300) disposed on the pad and the second wiring in the assembly hole (see [0068] and [0181]).
Regarding claim 2, CHANG discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the second wiring is an upper assembly wiring (electrode 220 is upper wiring) for assembling the semiconductor light emitting device together with the first wiring (base layer 230) (see Fig. 6 and [0091]).
Regarding claim 3, CHANG discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the pad and the second wiring are lower wire electrodes for supplying an electrical signal to the semiconductor light emitting device (electrode 220 can be a lower electrode to supply power to light emitting device 300) (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, CHANG discloses the display device of claim 3, wherein the second wiring and the pad are electrically connected (see Fig. 6 and [0091]).
Regarding claim 5, CHANG discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the pad is an alleviation member that alleviates the dielectrophoretic force concentrated on the first wiring (electrode 210 has the same structure as recited in claim 1 and can be alleviation member to alleviates dielectrophoretic force concentrated in base 230).
Regarding claim 6, CHANG discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the pad (electrode 210) comprises: a first pad area (right portion of electrode 210 contacting layer 510) that vertically overlaps the assembly hole (see Fig. 6); and a second pad area (smaller left portion of electrode 210 contacts layer 107) that does not overlap the assembly hole (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7, CHANG discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein an area of the first pad area is greater than an area of the second pad area (the right portion of electrode 210 overlapping with the assembly hole can be chosen to be larger than the left portion of electrode 210 outside of the assembly hole) (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, CHANG discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the first wiring comprises a first extension part (the right portion of base 210) extending toward the second wiring, the second wiring comprises a second extension part (lower left portion of electrode 220 directly contacts base 240) extending toward the first wiring, the pad vertically overlaps the first extension part (see Fig. 6), and the semiconductor light emitting device is disposed on the pad and the second extension part within the assembly hole (LED 300 indirectly disposed on electrodes 210 and 220) (see Fig. 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-16 and 21-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited art, whether taken singularly or in combination, especially when all limitations are considered within the claimed specific combination, fails to disclose or suggest the claimed invention having:
Wherein the width of the pad is less than or equal to the width of the first extension part as recited in claim 9.
Wherein the first extension part comprises: a first extension area that extends toward the second wiring and vertically overlaps the pad; and a second extension area that extends from the first extension area toward the second wiring and does not vertically overlap the pad as recited in claim 10. Claim 11 depend on claim 10, and therefore also include said claimed limitation.
Wherein the pad comprises: a connection part; and a plurality of branch parts extending from the connection part toward the second extension part and being spaced apart from each other.as recited in claim 12. Claims 13-16, 21-23 depend on claim 12, and therefore also include said claimed limitation.
Conclusion
/CUONG B NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818