DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06 March 2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “47a”.
The drawings are objected to because:
Regarding Fig. 6, it is unclear whether the unlabeled line located between the lead line associated with reference character “47” and the lead line associated with reference character “42” represents. It appears to be a lead line without an associated reference character, but clarification is needed.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the text matter “(Figure 4)” located at the bottom of the abstract page should be deleted. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 38, 41, and 43 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 2 of claim 38, “at tensioner” should be changed to “a tensioner”.
Regarding claim 41, “move at least one the buoyancy aid” should be changed to “move the at least one buoyancy aid”.
Regarding claim 43, “a first portion and a second portion” as recited in lines 2- 3 should be changed to “the first portion and the second portion”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 41, 42, 46, and 49 - 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 41, it is unclear whether the limitation “at least one buoyancy aid” includes the “buoyancy aid” recited in claim 36, from which claim 41 depends, or if they represent additional structural limitation(s).
Regarding claim 42, it is unclear whether the limitation “a plurality of buoyancy aids” includes the “the at least one buoyancy aid” as recited in claim 41 and/or the “buoyancy aid” recited in claim 36, from which claim 42 depends, or if they represent additional structural limitation(s).
Regarding claim 46, the use of the term “when” as recited in lines 2 and 5 renders the claim vague and indefinite because “when” indicates that the respective limitations are not required. Therefore, it is not possible for Examiner to determine the metes and bounds of the claim.
Claim 49 recites the limitation "the lifting mechanism" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 51, it is unclear whether the claim is directed to a method or to an apparatus because the preamble recites a method, but the body of the claim is directed to an apparatus.
Regarding claim 51, it is unclear whether the limitation “at least one buoyancy aid” includes the “buoyancy aid” recited in claim 43, from which claim 51 depends, or if they represent additional structural limitation(s).
Regarding claim 51, it is unclear whether “the buoyancy aid” as recited in line 6 refers to one of the “at least one buoyancy aid” recited in line 4 of claim 51, to the “buoyancy aid” recited in line 1 of claim 43, from which claim 51 depends, or to an additional structural limitation.
Regarding claim 52, it is unclear whether the limitation “a plurality of buoyancy aids” as recited in line 2 includes the “the at least one buoyancy aid” recited in claim 51 and/or the “buoyancy aid” recited in claim 43, from which claim 52 depends, or if they represent additional structural limitation(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 47 - 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim is directed to multiple categories of patent eligible subject matter, but each claim should only be directed to a single category of patentable eligible subject matter. Each of claims 47 and 48 further define both an apparatus and a method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 36, 37 and 43 - 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wigant (US 2018/0148147).
Regarding claim 36, Wigant discloses an apparatus for mounting a buoyancy aid on an elongate line, wherein the buoyancy aid (buoy 9) comprises a first portion (buoy half 9a) and a second portion (buoy half 9b) which are separable so as to enable the buoyancy aid to be mounted on the elongate line (flow line 2), the apparatus comprising: a frame (frame 10’ comprising upper frame part 46a and lower frame part 46b) which is configured to be movable; a support cradle (jaws 25a, 25b) which is mounted on the frame, the support cradle being configured to have the first portion (9a) and the second portion (9b) of the buoyancy aid (9) be placed thereon; an opening arrangement which is mounted on the frame, the opening arrangement comprising a gripper (pins 40) which is configured to grip whichever of the first portion or the second portion of the buoyancy aid which is placed on the support cradle is uppermost; and a drive system (linear actuator 27) which is configured, to move the frame between a loading position in which the buoyancy aid is placeable on the support cradle and an installation position, and to move at least one of the opening arrangement (40) and the support cradle (25a, 25b) relative to the frame so that, when the gripper is gripping whichever of the first portion (9a) or the second portion (9b) of the buoyancy aid which is placed on the support cradle is uppermost, the first portion separates from the second portion (Figs. 1, 3a - 3d, 7, and 8a - 8c; paragraphs 0043 - 0046 and 0050).
Regarding clam 37, Wigant further discloses the opening arrangement (40) is configured to be movable relative to the frame (10’), and the drive system (27) is further configured to lift the opening arrangement relative to the support cradle (25a, 25b) so that, when the gripper is gripping whichever of the first portion (9a) or the second portion (9b) of the buoyancy aid (9) which is placed on the support cradle is uppermost, the first portion or the second portion of the buoyancy aid which is uppermost is lifted off of the first portion or the second portion of the buoyancy aid which is lowermost (Figs. 1, 3a - 3d, and 7; paragraphs 0043 - 0046 and 0050).
Regarding claim 43, Wigant discloses a method of installing a buoyancy aid on an elongate line using the apparatus as recited in claim 36 (see rejection of claim 36 above), wherein the buoyancy aid (9) comprises a first portion (9a) and a second portion (9b) which are separable so as to enable the buoyancy aid to be mounted on the elongate line (2), the method comprising: with the frame (10’) in a loading position, loading the buoyancy aid onto the support cradle (25a, 25b); operating the gripper (40) to grip whichever of the first portion or the second portion of the buoyancy aid is uppermost; operating the drive system (27) to move at least one of the support cradle and the opening arrangement relative to the frame so as to separate the first portion and the second portion of the buoyancy aid; operating the drive system to move the frame to an installation position; and operating the drive system to move the support cradle or the opening arrangement relative to the frame so as to bring the first portion of the buoyancy aid back into engagement with the second portion (Figs. 1, 3a - 3d, 7, and 8a - 8c; paragraphs 0043 - 0046 and 0050).
Regarding claim 44, Wigant further discloses the operating of the drive system (27) to move at least one of the support cradle (25a, 25b) and the opening arrangement (40) relative to the frame (10’) so as to separate the first portion (9a) and the second portion (9b) of the buoyancy aid (9) comprises moving the opening arrangement relative to the frame to lift the opening arrangement relative to the support cradle so that whichever of the first portion or the second portion of the buoyancy aid is uppermost is lifted off whichever of the first portion or the second portion of the buoyancy aid is lowermost (Figs. 1, 3a - 3d, 7, and 8a - 8c; paragraphs 0043 - 0046 and 0050).
Regarding claim 45, Wigant further discloses the operating of the gripper (40) to grip whichever of the first portion (9a) or the second portion (9b) of the buoyancy aid (9) is uppermost comprises, prior to operating the gripper, operating the drive system (27) to bring the opening arrangement (40) towards whichever of the first portion or the second portion of the buoyancy aid is uppermost (Figs. 3a, 3d, 7, and 8c; paragraphs 0044 and 0050).
Regarding claim 46, Wigant further discloses the elongate line (2) is positioned adjacent the apparatus so that, when the frame (10’) is moved to the installation position, a portion of the elongate line is located between the first portion (9a) and the second portion (9b) of the buoyancy aid (9), and when at least one of the support cradle (25a, 25b) and the opening arrangement (40) is moved to bring the first portion of the buoyancy aid back into engagement with the second portion, the portion of the elongate line is trapped between the first portion and second portion of the buoyancy aid (Figs. 8a - 8c; paragraph 0050).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 38 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wigant in view of Nesheim (US 6,270,387).
Regarding claim 38, Wigant discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except a tensioner which is configured to actuate a locking device to secure the first portion of the buoyancy aid to the second portion so that the first portion and the second portion cannot be separated. Nesheim teaches a tensioner (tension straps 5) which is configured to actuate a locking device (fastening elements 7) to secure the first portion (buoyancy member 9) of the buoyancy aid to the second portion (buoyancy member 10) so that the first portion and the second portion cannot be separated (Figs. 1 - 3; col. 3, line 46 - col. 4, line 43) to fix the buoyancy aid to the riser. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above with the tensioner as taught by Nesheim to fix the buoyancy aid to the elongate line.
Regarding claim 48, Wigant discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except a tensioner which is configured to actuate a locking device to secure the first portion of the buoyancy aid to the second portion so that the first portion and the second portion cannot be separated, and the method further comprises, after the operating of the drive system to move the support cradle or the opening arrangement relative to the frame so as to bring the first portion of the buoyancy aid back into engagement with the second portion: operating the tensioner to actuate the locking device on the buoyancy aid so as to secure the first portion of the buoyancy aid to the second portion of the buoyancy aid. Nesheim teaches a tensioner (5) which is configured to actuate a locking device (7) to secure the first portion (9) of the buoyancy aid to the second portion (10) so that the first portion and the second portion cannot be separated, and the method further comprises operating the tensioner (5) to actuate the locking device (7) on the buoyancy aid so as to secure the first portion (9) of the buoyancy aid to the second portion (10) of the buoyancy aid (Figs. 1 - 3; col. 3, line 46 - col. 4, line 43) to fix the buoyancy aid to the riser. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above with the tensioner as taught by Nesheim to fix the buoyancy aid to the elongate line. Although Nesheim fails to teach operating the tensioner after operating the drive system to move the support cradle relative to the frame, given the apparatus as disclosed above the step of operating the tensioner after operating the drive system to move the support cradle relative to the frame would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 38, 39, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wigant in view of Barnes et al. (WO 2019/104366).
Regarding claim 38, Wigant discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except a tensioner which is configured to actuate a locking device to secure the first portion of the buoyancy aid to the second portion so that the first portion and the second portion cannot be separated. Barnes teaches a tensioner (strap of locking feature 32) which is configured to actuate a locking device (locking features 32 comprising biased pins) to secure the first portion (20) of the buoyancy aid to the second portion (30) so that the first portion and the second portion cannot be separated (Figs. 2 - 6; paragraphs 0061 - 0065) to fix the buoyancy aid to the elongate line. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above with the tensioner as taught by Barnes to fix the buoyancy aid to the elongate line.
Regarding claim 39, Wigant discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the tensioner is further configured to actuate the locking device to release the first portion from the second portion so that the first portion can be separated from the second portion. Barnes teaches the tensioner (strap of locking feature 32) is further configured to actuate the locking device (locking features comprising biased pins) to release the first portion (20) of from the second portion (30) so that the first portion can be separated from the second portion (Figs. 2 - 6; paragraphs 0061 - 0065) to fix the buoyancy aid to the elongate line. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above with the tensioner as taught by Barnes to fix the buoyancy aid to the elongate line.
Regarding claim 48, Wigant discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except a tensioner which is configured to actuate a locking device to secure the first portion of the buoyancy aid to the second portion so that the first portion and the second portion cannot be separated, and the method further comprises, after the operating of the drive system to move the support cradle or the opening arrangement relative to the frame so as to bring the first portion of the buoyancy aid back into engagement with the second portion: operating the tensioner to actuate the locking device on the buoyancy aid so as to secure the first portion of the buoyancy aid to the second portion of the buoyancy aid. Barnes teaches a tensioner (strap of locking feature 32) which is configured to actuate a locking device (locking features 32 comprising biased pins) to secure the first portion (20) of the buoyancy aid to the second portion (30) so that the first portion and the second portion cannot be separated, and the method further comprises operating the tensioner (strap of locking feature 32) to actuate the locking device (locking features 32 comprising biased pins) on the buoyancy aid so as to secure the first portion (20) of the buoyancy aid to the second portion (30) of the buoyancy aid (Figs. 2 - 6; paragraphs 0061 - 0065) to fix the buoyancy aid to the riser. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above with the tensioner as taught by Barnes to fix the buoyancy aid to the elongate line. Although Barnes fails to teach operating the tensioner after operating the drive system to move the support cradle relative to the frame, given the apparatus as disclosed above the step of operating the tensioner after operating the drive system to move the support cradle relative to the frame would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 40 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wigant in view of Watkins et al. (US 2009/0036008).
Regarding claim 40, Wigant discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except a lifting mechanism which is configured to move between a lowered position, and a lifted position in which the lifting mechanism lifts the buoyancy aid supported by the support cradle off of the support cradle. Watkins teaches a lifting mechanism (lift points, not shown) which is configured to move between a lowered position, and a lifted position in which the lifting mechanism lifts the buoyancy aid (buoy halves 16, 18) supported by the support cradle (assembly frame 40) off of the support cradle (Fig. 1; paragraph 0016) for easier assembly of the first and second buoy halves. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed by Wigant with the lifting mechanism as taught by Watkins to provide a means for positioning the buoyancy aid(s) on and off the support cradle for easier assembly of a plurality of buoyancy aids on an elongate line.
Regarding claim 47, Wigant discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except a lifting mechanism which is configured to move between a lowered position, and a lifted position in which the lifting mechanism lifts the buoyancy aid supported by the support cradle off of the support cradle, and the operating of the drive system to move the support cradle or the opening arrangement relative to the frame so as to bring the first portion of the buoyancy aid back into engagement with the second portion further comprises, after operating the drive system to move the frame to the installation position, moving the lifting mechanism from the lowered position to the lifted position to lift whichever of the first portion or the second portion of the buoyancy aid on the support cradle which is lowermost off of the support cradle towards the portion of the elongate line which is located between the first portion and the second portion of the buoyancy aid. Watkins teaches a lifting mechanism (lift points, not shown) which is configured to move between a lowered position, and a lifted position in which the lifting mechanism lifts the buoyancy aid (16, 18) (Fig. 1; paragraph 0016) for easier assembly of the first and second buoy halves. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed by Wigant with the lifting mechanism as taught by Watkins to provide a means for positioning the buoyancy aid(s) on and off the support cradle for easier assembly of a plurality of buoyancy aids on an elongate line. Given the apparatus as disclosed above, the method of claim 47 would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 49 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wigant in view of Barnes et al. as applied to claim 48 above, and further in view of Watkins et al.
Regarding claim 49, Wigant in view of Barnes discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except operating the lifting mechanism to the lowered position. Watkins teaches a lifting mechanism (lift points, not shown) (Fig. 1; paragraph 0016) for easier assembly of the first and second buoy halves. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above with the lifting mechanism as taught by Watkins to provide a means for positioning the buoyancy aid(s) on and off the support cradle for easier assembly of a plurality of buoyancy aids on an elongate line. Given the apparatus as disclosed above, the method of claim 49 would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 50, Wigant further discloses operating the drive system (27) to return the frame (10’) to the loading position (Figs. 3a and 3d; paragraph 0044). Wigant in view of Barnes and Watkins fails to disclose the operation of the drive system occurs after operating the tensioner to actuate the locking device. Given the apparatus as disclosed above, the method of claim 50 would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 41, 42, 51, and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wigant in view of Skarnes (US 2018/0094749).
Regarding claim 41, Wigant discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except a buoyancy aid storage and delivery arrangement which comprises a support structure which is configured to support at least one buoyancy aid; and a conveyor which, when the frame is in the loading position, is configured to move at least one the buoyancy aid from the support structure onto the support cradle. Skarnes teaches a buoyancy aid storage and delivery arrangement which comprises a support structure (staging area 51 on workstation 50) which is configured to support at least one buoyancy aid (buoyancy modules 16 and 22); and a conveyor (conveyor belt 56) which, when the frame is in the loading position, is configured to move at least one the buoyancy aid from the support structure onto the support cradle (clamping device 52) (Figs. 8 - 10; paragraph 0034) to move the buoyancy modules into the clamping device in an automated process where modules are sequentially secured to the elongated line. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the frame as disclosed by Wigant to include the buoyancy aid storage and delivery arrangement as taught by Skarnes to move the buoyancy modules into the support cradle in an automated process where modules are sequentially secured to the elongated line.
Regarding claim 42, Wigant discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the support structure is further configured to support a plurality of buoyancy aids, one of the plurality of buoyancy aids is in a delivery position, and the conveyor is further configured, when the frame is in the loading position, to move the one of the plurality of buoyancy aids which is in the delivery position onto the support cradle, and to move another one of the plurality of buoyancy aids into the delivery position. Skarnes teaches the support structure (51, 50) is further configured to support a plurality of buoyancy aids (16, 22), one of the plurality of buoyancy aids is in a delivery position, and the conveyor (56) is further configured, when the frame is in the loading position, to move the one of the plurality of buoyancy aids which is in the delivery position onto the support cradle (52), and to move another one of the plurality of buoyancy aids into the delivery position (Figs. 8 - 10; paragraph 0034) to move the buoyancy modules into the clamping device in an automated process where modules are sequentially secured to the elongated line. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the frame as disclosed by Wigant to include the buoyancy aid storage and delivery arrangement as taught by Skarnes to move the buoyancy modules into the support cradle in an automated process where modules are sequentially secured to the elongated line.
Regarding claim 51, Wigant discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except a buoyancy aid storage and delivery arrangement which comprises a support structure which is configured to support at least one buoyancy aid, and a conveyor which, when the frame is in the loading position, is configured to move the buoyancy aid from the support structure onto the support cradle, and the loading the buoyancy aid onto the support cradle with the frame in the loading position further comprises operating the conveyor to move the buoyancy aid onto the support cradle. Skarnes teaches a buoyancy aid storage and delivery arrangement which comprises a support structure (51, 50) which is configured to support at least one buoyancy aid (16, 22), and a conveyor (56) which, when the frame is in the loading position, is configured to move the buoyancy aid from the support structure onto the support cradle (52), and the loading the buoyancy aid onto the support cradle with the frame in the loading position further comprises operating the conveyor to move the buoyancy aid onto the support cradle (Figs. 8 - 10; paragraph 0034) to move the buoyancy modules into the clamping device in an automated process where modules are sequentially secured to the elongated line. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the frame as disclosed by Wigant to include the buoyancy aid storage and delivery arrangement as taught by Skarnes to move the buoyancy modules into the support cradle in an automated process where modules are sequentially secured to the elongated line.
Regarding claim 52, Wigant discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the support structure is further configured to support a plurality of buoyancy aids, one of the plurality of buoyancy aids is in a delivery position, and the method further comprises, after loading one of the plurality of buoyancy aids onto the support cradle with the frame in the loading position: operating the conveyor to move another one of the buoyancy aids into the delivery position. Skarnes teaches the support structure (51, 50) is further configured to support a plurality of buoyancy aids (16, 22), one of the plurality of buoyancy aids is in a delivery position, and the method further comprises, after loading one of the plurality of buoyancy aids onto the support cradle (52) with the frame in the loading position: operating the conveyor (56) to move another one of the buoyancy aids into the delivery position (Figs. 8 - 10; paragraph 0034) to move the buoyancy modules into the clamping device in an automated process where modules are sequentially secured to the elongated line. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the frame as disclosed by Wigant to include the buoyancy aid storage and delivery arrangement as taught by Skarnes to move the buoyancy modules into the support cradle in an automated process where modules are sequentially secured to the elongated line.
Conclusion
/SEAN D ANDRISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SA
1/17/2026