DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are pending in the current application.
Claims 8-9 are withdrawn from consideration (see discussion, below).
Claims 1-7 are examined in the current application.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the election requirement in the reply filed on December 15th 2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-7 in the reply filed on December 15th 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the claimed invention has unity of invention because the claims are drawn to categories that are considered to have unity as set forth in 37 §CFR 1.475 (b), that is, the claims recite a product and the process of use of said product, and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product.
This is not found persuasive because, a posteriori analysis provides lack of unity. As set forth in MPEP §1850, while the lack of unity of invention may be directly evident “a priori” i.e., before considering the claims in relation to any prior art, or it may only become apparent, “a posteriori,” i.e., after taking the prior art into consideration, as detailed in the election requirement mailed on October 28th 2025.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
(g)(1) during the course of an interference conducted under section 135 or section 291, another inventor involved therein establishes, to the extent permitted in section 104, that before such person’s invention thereof the invention was made by such other inventor and not abandoned, suppressed, or concealed, or (2) before such person’s invention thereof, the invention was made in this country by another inventor who had not abandoned, suppressed, or concealed it. In determining priority of invention under this subsection, there shall be considered not only the respective dates of conception and reduction to practice of the invention, but also the reasonable diligence of one who was first to conceive and last to reduce to practice, from a time prior to conception by the other.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by or rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over NPL “Hildebrand Farms Dairy Root Beer Milk” (‘Hildebrand’) (from https://www.kroger.com/p/hildebrand-farms-dairy-root-beer-milk/0085176500209). Evidenced by Indyk et al., “Determination of Orotic Acid, Uric Acid, and Creatinine in Milk by Liquid Chromatography” (from Journal of AOAC Internation Vol. 87, No. 1, 2004), NPL “Purine Content in Milk” (from Chrome AI 1-10-2026), NPL Ozturk et al., “Effects of industrial heat treatments on the kinetics of inactivation of antimicrobial bovine milk xanthine oxidase” (from Science of Food (2019) 13) and NPL “Section 7 – Japan Standard Commodity Classification” (‘Section 7’) (from https://www.soumu.go.jp/english/dgpp_ss/seido/8.htm).
Regarding claims 1 and 5: Hildebrand discloses a root beer flavored milk (see Hildebrand pages 1-2). Given the fact milk comprises about 9-24 µg/ml of uric acid (see Indyk abstract), and since the density of milk is about 1g/ml, Hildebrand discloses root beer flavored milk comprising between 9µg to 24ug of uric acid per 1g of milk (i.e., (9µg/ml)/(1g/ml) to (24µg/ml)/(1g/ml) of uric acid), which meets the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 2: Hildebrand discloses a root beer flavored milk (see Hildebrand pages 1-2). Given the fact milk comprises about 0.14 to 0.15 mg of purines per 100ml (see Purine Content in Milk page 1), and since the density of milk is about 1g/ml, Hildebrand discloses root beer flavored milk comprising between 1.4µg to 1.5µg of purines per 1g of milk (i.e., (140µg/100ml)/(1g/ml) to (150µg/100ml)/(1g/ml) of purines), which meets the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 3: Hildebrand discloses a root beer flavored milk (see Hildebrand pages 1-2). Given the fact milk comprises about 9-24 µg/ml of uric acid (see Indyk abstract) (i..e., 9µg to 24ug of uric acid per 1g of milk – see discussion above) and 0.14 to 0.15 mg of purines per 100 ml (see Purine Content in Milk page 1) (i.e., 1.4µg to 1.5µg of purines per 1g of milk – see discussion above), the content of uric acid over the content of purines (i.e., [(X)/(Y)]) is between 6 and 17 (i.e., (9µg/g)/(1.5µg/g)= 6 and (24µg/g)/(1.4µg/g)= 17), which meets the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 4: Hildebrand discloses a root beer flavored milk (see Hildebrand pages 1-2). Since processed dairy beverages are classified under middle classifications 71-76 in Japan Standard Commodity (see Section 7, pages 1-2; Specification paragraph [0008]), Hildebrand meets the claimed limitations.
Regarding claims 6 and 7: Hildebrand discloses a root beer flavored milk (see Hildebrand pages 1-2), which is a pasteurized milk product. Since pasteurization inactivates 95% of the xanthine oxidase in milk (see Ozturk abstract), Hildebrand meets the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
/ASSAF ZILBERING/Examiner, Art Unit 1792