DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 12/20/2023 (wherein claims 1-47 are canceled, and claims 48-67 are added) is received prior to the examination of the instant application and has not introduced any new matter, thus, has been entered and is examined on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claims 48, 57 and 58 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 48 recites “a method of controlling device-to-device (D2D) communication, the method comprising:
a wireless communication device configuring a first discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle…;
the wireless communication device configuring a second DRX cycle for device-to-device (D2D) communication…; and
the wireless communication device setting the length of the first DRX cycle and the length of the second DRX cycle...” (emphasis added).
Claim 57 recites “The method of claim 48, comprising:
based on the first DRX cycle, the wireless communication device receiving…; and
based on the second DRX cycle, the wireless communication device receiving…”
Claim 58 recites “A method of controlling device-to-device (D2D) communication, the method comprising:
a node of a wireless communication network configuring a wireless communication device…; and
the node setting the length of the first DRX cycle and the length of the second DRX cycle...” (emphasis added).
Analysis:
Claim 48 recite a method claim, “A method of controlling device-to-device (D2D) communication”, Claim 57 recites a method claim “The method of claim 48”, and Claim 58 recite a method claim, “A method of controlling device-to-device (D2D) communication”, however, the bodies of the claims recite the structures: “a wireless communication device” and “a node”. Thus, the bodies of the claims have failed to recite the action(s)/step(s) required by the method claim.
For clarity and placing the claim into a proper machine claim, it is suggested to add the action(s)/step(s) in the bodies of the claims (see MPEP 2106.03, section I[1] ; MPEP 2173.05(p), section II[2]).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 52, the claim recites "wherein the first number X of consecutive slots corresponds to a length of a time-division duplex (TDD) pattern for periodically switching between downlink and uplink communication, and/or wherein the third number n*Y of the available slots corresponds to a length of a bitmap for assigning slots to the resource pool”, but however, no “the first number X of consecutive slots” and “third number n*Y of the available slots” have beenmentioned in claim 49. Further, the “the first number X of consecutive slots” and “third number n*Y of the available slots” also mentioned in claim 51.
Thus, it is unclear as to whether the “the first number X of consecutive slots” and “third number n*Y of the available slots” in claim 52 are related to the claim 51 or a new/unrelated to claim 51. As such, Therefore, it would be impossible to determine the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. Therefore, the claim 52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite. For purpose of examination, the claims' limitations are interpreted as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 48, 54, 57, 58, 64, 66 and 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0059005 A1 to Hosseini et al. (hereafter refers as Hosseini) in view of US 2022/0353945 A1 to Liu et al. (hereafter refers as Liu) .
Regarding claim 48, Hosseini teaches a method of controlling device-to-device (D2D) communication (a method for controlling D2D/sidelink communication, Fig. 13-16), the method comprising:
a wireless communication device (source/relay UE 115-g, Fig. 3A, 3B) configuring a first discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle for downlink communication with a wireless communication network (the source/relay UE sets its own DRX cycle for communication with a base station, i.e. Uu DRX cycle, paragraphs [121, 137-140]), a length of the first DRX cycle being defined in terms of a number of slots in the time domain (wherein the length of the DRX cycle, Fig. 4, 420, being defined by a number of slots in a time domain, paragraphs [70, 71, 98, 136-137] and Fig. 4);
the wireless communication device (source/relay UE 115-g, Fig. 3A, 3B) configuring a second DRX cycle for device-to-device (D2D) communication (configures a sidelink DRX cycle for sidelink communication with other UE, paragraphs [121, 131, 137-139]) performed on resources of at least one resource pool to which a subset of the slots is assigned (wherein the sidelink DRX cycle includes a slot(s) of DRX cycle slots, Fig. 4 and paragraphs [137-139], wherein the sidelink communication is performed on resources of at least one resource pool to which a subset of the slots is assigned for DRX cycle associated with communication with the base station, paragraphs [114, 123, 137-139]), a length of the second DRX cycle being defined in terms of a number of the slots from the at least one resource pool (wherein the length of the sidelink DRX cycle, Fig. 4, 420, being defined by a number of slots in a time domain, paragraphs [18, 29, 70, 71, 125-127, 136-137] and Fig. 4); and
the wireless communication device setting the length of the first DRX cycle and the length of the second DRX cycle under the condition that, for consecutive time periods of length (the source/relay UE synchronizes the length of the UU DRX cycle and the length of the sidelink DRX cycle for a consecutive time periods of particular time length, i.e. on-duration of UU DRX cycle is overlapped with the on-duration of the sidelink DRX cycle, Fig. 4 and paragraphs [136-140]), each time period contains an integer number of the first DRX cycles and an integer number of the second DRX cycles (each time period includes a set of UU DRX cycles and a set of sidelink DRX cycles, Fig. 4 and paragraphs [136-140]).
However, Hosseini does not explicitly teach the length is a “fixed” length.
Liu teaches a wireless communication device setting a length of a DRX cycle for consecutive time periods of fixed length (an UE determines a length of a DRX cycle for a consecutive time periods of fixed on duration and fixed off duration, paragraphs [83, 84] and Fig. 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of the wireless communication device sets a length of a first DRX cycle for consecutive time periods of fixed length as taught by Liu, with the teachings of the wireless communication device setting the length of the first DRX cycle and the length of the second DRX cycle under the condition that, for consecutive time periods of length as taught by Hosseini, for a purpose of increase efficiency in communication by the wireless communication device with the base station and other wireless communication device, since the time periods have the fixed length, thus remain unchanged during the communication (see Liu, paragraphs [83-84]).
Regarding claim 54, Hosseini further teaches wherein the second DRX cycle is for D2D communication performed on resources of multiple resource pools to which the subset of the slots is assigned (wherein the sidelink communications are performed on resources of multiple/set of resource pools, paragraphs [114, 123, 141]), the length of the second DRX cycle being defined in terms of a number of the slots from the multiple resource pools (wherein the sidelink DRX cycle is including a number of slots/resources from multiple/set of resource pools, paragraphs [114, 121, 123, 137-139, 141]).
Regarding claim 57, Hosseini further teaches wherein based on the first DRX cycle, the wireless communication device receiving at least one downlink transmission from a node of the wireless communication network (receives at least one DL transmission from a base station of the wireless communication network, using the UU DRX cycle, see paragraphs [98, 116, 117, 136]); and based on the second DRX cycle, the wireless communication device receiving at least one D2D transmission from another wireless communication device (receives at least one sidelink transmission from other UE of the wireless communication network, using the sidelink DRX cycle, see paragraphs [117, 121, 137-140]).
Regarding claim 58, Hosseini teaches a method of controlling device-to-device (D2D) communication (a method for controlling D2D/sidelink communication, Fig. 13-16), the method comprising:
a node of a wireless communication network (a base station of a wireless communication network, Fig. 1-3B) configuring a wireless communication device with a first discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle for downlink communication with the wireless communication network (the base station configures an Uu DRX cycle(s) for a source UE, for downlink communication with the wireless communication network, paragraphs [118-119, 121, 130]) and a second DRX cycle for device-to-device (D2D) communication (the base station configures a sidelink DRX cycle(s) for a source UE, for downlink communication with the wireless communication network, paragraphs [54, 99-101, 113, 118-120, 136-140]), a length of the first DRX cycle being defined in terms of a number of slots in the time domain (wherein the length of the DRX cycle, Fig. 4, 420, being defined by a number of slots in a time domain, paragraphs [70, 71, 98, 136-137] and Fig. 4), the D2D communication being performed on resources of at least one resource pool to which a subset of the slots is assigned (wherein the sidelink DRX cycle includes a slot(s) of DRX cycle slots, Fig. 4 and paragraphs [137-139], wherein the sidelink communication is performed on resources of at least one resource pool to which a subset of the slots is assigned for DRX cycle associated with communication with the base station, paragraphs [114, 123, 137-139]), and a length of the second DRX cycle being defined in terms of a number of the slots from the at least one resource pool (wherein the length of the sidelink DRX cycle, Fig. 4, 420, being defined by a number of slots in a time domain, paragraphs [18, 29, 70, 71, 125-127, 136-137] and Fig. 4); and
the node setting the length of the first DRX cycle and the length of the second DRX cycle under the condition that, for consecutive time periods of length (determines the length of the UU DRX cycle and the length of the sidelink DRX cycle for a consecutive time periods of particular time length, i.e. on-duration of UU DRX cycle is overlapped with the on-duration of the sidelink DRX cycle, Fig. 4 and paragraphs [136-140]), each time period contains an integer number of the first DRX cycles and an integer number of the second DRX cycles (each time period includes a set of UU DRX cycles and a set of sidelink DRX cycles, Fig. 4 and paragraphs [136-140]).
However, Hosseini does not explicitly teach the length is a “fixed” length.
Liu teaches a node setting a length of a DRX cycle for consecutive time periods of fixed length (a base station determines a length of a DRX cycle for a consecutive time periods of fixed on duration and fixed off duration, paragraphs [4, 83, 84, 92, 97] and Fig. 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of the node setting a length of a DRX cycle for consecutive time periods of fixed length as taught by Liu, with the teachings of the node setting the length of the first DRX cycle and the length of the second DRX cycle under the condition that, for consecutive time periods of length as taught by Hosseini, for a purpose of increase efficiency in the wireless network communication, since the time periods have the fixed length, thus remain unchanged during the wireless network communication (see Liu, paragraphs [83-84]).
Regarding claim 64, Hosseini further teaches wherein the second DRX cycle is for D2D communication performed on resources of multiple resource pools to which the subset of the slots is assigned (wherein the sidelink communications are performed on resources of multiple/set of resource pools, paragraphs [114, 123, 141]), the length of the second DRX cycle being defined in terms of a number of the slots from the multiple resource pools (wherein the sidelink DRX cycle is including a number of slots/resources from multiple/set of resource pools, paragraphs [114, 121, 123, 137-139, 141]).
Regarding claim 66, Hosseini teaches a wireless communication device (source/relay UE 115-g, Fig. 3A, 3B), the wireless communication device comprising:
at least one processor (the source/relay UE includes at least one processor, Fig. 8, processor 840, and paragraphs [174-176]), and
a memory (the source/relay UE includes a memory, Fig. 8, memory 830, and paragraphs [174-176]) containing program code executable by the at least one processor (containing a computer-executable code 835, paragraph [179] and Fig. 8), the program code being configured so that execution of the program code by the at least one processor causes the wireless communication device to (when the computer-executable code 835 is executed by the processor, causes the source/relay UE to perform the functions, paragraphs [179-182]):
configure a first discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle for downlink communication with a wireless communication network (sets its own DRX cycle for communication with a base station, i.e. UU drx cycle, paragraphs [121, 137-140]), a length of the first DRX cycle being defined in terms of a number of slots in the time domain (wherein the length of the DRX cycle, Fig. 4, 420, being defined by a number of slots in a time domain, paragraphs [70, 71, 98, 136-137] and Fig. 4);
configure a second DRX cycle for device-to-device (D2D) communication (configures a sidelink DRX cycle for sidelink communication with other UE, paragraphs [121, 131, 137-139]) performed on resources of at least one resource pool to which a subset of the slots is assigned (wherein the sidelink DRX cycle includes a slot(s) of DRX cycle slots, Fig. 4 and paragraphs [137-139], wherein the sidelink communication is performed on resources of at least one resource pool to which a subset of the slots is assigned for DRX cycle associated with communication with the base station, paragraphs [114, 123, 137-139]), a length of the second DRX cycle being defined in terms of a number of the slots from the at least one resource pool (wherein the length of the sidelink DRX cycle, Fig. 4, 420, being defined by a number of slots in a time domain, paragraphs [18, 29, 70, 71, 125-127, 136-137] and Fig. 4); and
the wireless communication device setting the length of the first DRX cycle and the length of the second DRX cycle under the condition that, for consecutive time periods of length (the source/relay UE synchronizes the length of the UU DRX cycle and the length of the sidelink DRX cycle for a consecutive time periods of particular time length, i.e. on-duration of UU DRX cycle is overlapped with the on-duration of the sidelink DRX cycle, Fig. 4 and paragraphs [136-140]), each time period contains an integer number of the first DRX cycles and an integer number of the second DRX cycles (each time period includes a set of UU DRX cycles and a set of sidelink DRX cycles, Fig. 4 and paragraphs [136-140]).
However, Hosseini does not explicitly teach the length is a “fixed” length.
Liu teaches a wireless communication device setting a length of a DRX cycle for consecutive time periods of fixed length (an UE determines a length of a DRX cycle for a consecutive time periods of fixed on duration and fixed off duration, paragraphs [83, 84] and Fig. 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of the wireless communication device sets a length of a first DRX cycle for consecutive time periods of fixed length as taught by Liu, with the teachings of the wireless communication device setting the length of the first DRX cycle and the length of the second DRX cycle under the condition that, for consecutive time periods of length as taught by Hosseini, for a purpose of increase efficiency in communication by the wireless communication device with the base station and other wireless communication device, since the time periods have the fixed length, thus remain unchanged during the communication (see Liu, paragraphs [83-84]).
Regarding claim 67, Hosseini teaches a node for a wireless communication network (a base station of a wireless communication network, Fig. 1-3B, 12), the node comprising:
at least one processor (the base station comprises a processor 1240, Fig. 12 and paragraph [203]), and
a memory (the base station comprises a memory 1230, Fig. 12 and paragraph [203]) containing program code executable by the at least one processor (containing a computer-executable code 1235, paragraphs [207-209] and Fig. 12), the program code being configured so that execution of the program code by the at least one processor causes the wireless node to (when the computer-executable code 1235 is executed by the processor, causes the base station to perform the functions, paragraphs [208-210]):
configure a wireless communication device with a first discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle for downlink communication with the wireless communication network (configures an Uu DRX cycle(s) for a source UE, for downlink communication with the wireless communication network, paragraphs [118-119, 121, 130]) and a second DRX cycle for device-to-device (D2D) communication (configures a sidelink DRX cycle(s) for a source UE, for downlink communication with the wireless communication network, paragraphs [54, 99-101, 113, 118-120, 136-140]), a length of the first DRX cycle being defined in terms of a number of slots in the time domain (wherein the length of the DRX cycle, Fig. 4, 420, being defined by a number of slots in a time domain, paragraphs [70, 71, 98, 136-137] and Fig. 4), the D2D communication being performed on resources of at least one resource pool to which a subset of the slots is assigned (wherein the sidelink DRX cycle includes a slot(s) of DRX cycle slots, Fig. 4 and paragraphs [137-139], wherein the sidelink communication is performed on resources of at least one resource pool to which a subset of the slots is assigned for DRX cycle associated with communication with the base station, paragraphs [114, 123, 137-139]), and a length of the second DRX cycle being defined in terms of a number of the slots from the at least one resource pool (wherein the length of the sidelink DRX cycle, Fig. 4, 420, being defined by a number of slots in a time domain, paragraphs [18, 29, 70, 71, 125-127, 136-137] and Fig. 4); and
set the length of the first DRX cycle and the length of the second DRX cycle under the condition that, for consecutive time periods of length (determines the length of the UU DRX cycle and the length of the sidelink DRX cycle for a consecutive time periods of particular time length, i.e. on-duration of UU DRX cycle is overlapped with the on-duration of the sidelink DRX cycle, Fig. 4 and paragraphs [136-140]), each time period contains an integer number of the first DRX cycles and an integer number of the second DRX cycles (each time period includes a set of UU DRX cycles and a set of sidelink DRX cycles, Fig. 4 and paragraphs [136-140]).
However, Hosseini does not explicitly teach the length is a “fixed” length.
Liu teaches a node sets a length of a DRX cycle for consecutive time periods of fixed length (a base station determines a length of a DRX cycle for a consecutive time periods of fixed on duration and fixed off duration, paragraphs [4, 83, 84, 92, 97] and Fig. 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of the node setting a length of a DRX cycle for consecutive time periods of fixed length as taught by Liu, with the teachings of the node setting the length of the first DRX cycle and the length of the second DRX cycle under the condition that, for consecutive time periods of length as taught by Hosseini, for a purpose of increase efficiency in the wireless network communication, since the time periods have the fixed length, thus remain unchanged during the wireless network communication (see Liu, paragraphs [83-84]).
Claims 49, 52 and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0059005 A1 to Hosseini et al. (hereafter refers as Hosseini) in view of US 2022/0353945 A1 to Liu et al. (hereafter refers as Liu) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2014/0348046 A1 Feng et al. (hereafter refers as Feng).
Regarding claims 49 and 59, the combination of Hosseini and Liu further teaches wherein a time duration of the first DRX cycle is an integer multiple of a time duration of the second DRX cycle (wherein the duration of the Uu DRX cycle includes at least one time or two time durations of the sidelink DRX cycle, see Hosseini, Fig. 4 and paragraphs [136-141]).
However, the combination of Hosseini and Liu does not explicitly teach the duration of the second DRX cycle “plus an additive term”.
Feng teaches a time duration of a first DRX cycle is an integer multiple of a time duration of the second DRX cycle plus an additive term (a long DRX cycle is equal to a long DRX cycle, i.e. at least one multiple of a time duration of the long DRX cycle, plus a long DRX off length, paragraphs [38, 121, 193]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of a time duration of a first DRX cycle is an integer multiple of a time duration of the second DRX cycle plus an additive term as taught by Feng, with the teachings of time duration of a first DRX cycle is an integer multiple of a time duration of the second DRX cycle as taught by combination of Hosseini and Liu, for a purpose of increase efficiency in determining the first DRX cycle by also include the additive term, thus including the length of not receiving data (see Feng, paragraphs [38, 121]).
Regarding claim 52, the combination of Hosseini, Liu and Feng further teaches number X of consecutive slots corresponds to a length of a time-division duplex (TDD) pattern for periodically switching between downlink and uplink communication (wherein a number slots corresponds to a length of TDD pattern, see Hosseini, paragraph [65], see Liu, paragraphs [32, 38, 41, 56, 82, 120], for periodically switching between DL and UL communication, see Hosseini, paragraph [65], see Liu, paragraphs [56, 57]).
Claims 53 and 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0059005 A1 to Hosseini et al. (hereafter refers as Hosseini) in view of US 2022/0353945 A1 to Liu et al. (hereafter refers as Liu) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2010/0272004 A1 Maeda et al. (hereafter refers as Maeda).
Regarding claims 53 and 63, the combination of Hosseini and Liu does not explicitly teach the fixed length of the time periods corresponds to “a period of a system frame number”.
Maeda teaches wherein the fixed length of the time periods corresponds to a period of a system frame number (wherein a fixed length of DRX, i.e. 4 radio periods, is corresponded to a period of SFN, paragraphs [195, 205, 452]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the fixed length of the time periods corresponds to a period of a system frame number as taught by Maeda, with the teachings of the fixed length of the time periods as taught by combination of Hosseini and Liu, for a purpose of increase capability of the teachings by allowing the teachings to be compatible with the teachings/system that using the system frame number to determining the time periods (see Maeda, paragraphs [195, 205, 452]).
Claims 55 and 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0059005 A1 to Hosseini et al. (hereafter refers as Hosseini) in view of US 2022/0353945 A1 to Liu et al. (hereafter refers as Liu) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2023/0308245 A1 Hwang et al. (hereafter refers as Hwang).
Regarding claims 55 and 65, the combination of Hosseini and Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the slots available to be assigned to at least one resource pool “exclude slots reserved for transmission of synchronization signals”.
Hwang teaches the slots available to be assigned to at least one resource pool exclude slots reserved for transmission of synchronization signals (sidelink slots available to be assigned to resource pool exclude slots reserved for synchronization signals, paragraphs [154, 179]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of the slots available to be assigned to at least one resource pool exclude slots reserved for transmission of synchronization signals as taught by Hwang, with the teachings of slots available to be assigned to at least one resource pool as taught by combination of Hosseini and Liu, for a purpose of reducing interference to the synchronization signals by excluding slots reserved for transmission of synchronization signals (see Hwang, paragraphs [154, 179]).
Claim 56 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0059005 A1 to Hosseini et al. (hereafter refers as Hosseini) in view of US 2022/0353945 A1 to Liu et al. (hereafter refers as Liu) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2021/0289474 A1 Wang et al. (hereafter refers as Wang).
Regarding claim 56, the combination of Hosseini and Liu does not explicitly teach the available to be assigned to the at least one resource pool “exclude” slots “reserved for ensuring that the at least one resource pool is repeated an integer number of times in the time period”.
Wang teaches the resource (i.e. subframe, paragraphs [11, 28, 62, 82]) available to be assigned to the at least one resource pool exclude resources reserved for ensuring that the at least one resource pool is repeated an integer number of times in the time period (the resource(s)/subframe(s) available to be assigned to the resource pool exclude resource(s) reserved, to ensure that the resource pool is repeated an integer times, paragraphs [28, 62, 82]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of the resource available to be assigned to the at least one resource pool exclude resources reserved for ensuring that the at least one resource pool is repeated an integer number of times in the time period as taught by Wang, with the teachings of slots available to be assigned to at least one resource pool as taught by combination of Hosseini and Liu, for a purpose of ensure that the resource pool is repeated an integer number of times while reduce interference to the reserved resources (see Wang, paragraphs [28, 62, 82]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 50, 51, 60, 61 and 62 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2021/0360731 A1 discloses a requested DRX cycle as an integer representing a multiplier used to determine the DRX cycle by multiplying a base value by the multiplier (paragraph [73]).
US 2022/0353948 A1 discloses a length of sidelink DRX cycle is M multiple of a cycle length of an associated sidelink resource pool (paragraph [30]).
US 2021/0195519 A1 discloses coordinated sidelink and access link DRX cycles, wherein a UE sends a propose DRX cycle to a base station to enable the base station to determine sidelink DRX for the UE (paragraphs [92-94]), wherein the UE also determines a second power saving/DRX cycle based on the DRX cycle received from the base station (paragraphs [94-97, 101-103]).
/DUNG B HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469 January 6, 2026
[1][1] A machine is a "concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices." Digitech, 758 F.3d at 1348-49, 111 USPQ2d at 1719 (quoting Burr v. Duryee, 68 U.S. 531, 570, 17 L. Ed. 650, 657 (1863)). This category "includes every mechanical device or combination of mechanical powers and devices to perform some function and produce a certain effect or result." Nuijten, 500 F.3d at 1355, 84 USPQ2d at 1501 (quoting Corning v. Burden, 56 U.S. 252, 267, 14 L. Ed. 683, 690 (1854)).
[2][2] IPXL Holdings v. Amazon.com, Inc., 430 F.3d 1377, 1384, 77 USPQ2d 1140, 1145 (Fed. Cir. 2005)