DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
1. Claims 1, 2, 4-5, 10, 12, 15, 19, 21, 24, 26, 36-37, 53-54 are pending.
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a) based upon an application filed in Australia on 6/23/2021. The claim for priority cannot be based on said application because the subsequent nonprovisional or international application designating the United States was filed more than twelve months thereafter and no petition under 37 CFR 1.55 or request under PCT Rule 26bis.3 to restore the right of priority has been granted.
Applicant may wish to file a petition under 37 CFR 1.55(c) to restore the right of priority if the subsequent application was filed within two months from the expiration of the twelve-month period and the delay was unintentional. A petition to restore the right of priority must include: (1) the priority claim under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a) in an application data sheet, identifying the foreign application to which priority is claimed, by specifying the application number, country (or intellectual property authority), day, month, and year of its filing (unless previously submitted); (2) the petition fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(m)(3); and (3) a statement that the delay in filing the subsequent application within the twelve-month period was unintentional. The petition to restore the right of priority must be filed in the subsequent application, or in the earliest nonprovisional application claiming benefit under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) to the subsequent application, if such subsequent application is not a nonprovisional application. The Director may require additional information where there is a question whether the delay was unintentional. The petition should be addressed to: Mail Stop Petition, Commissioner for Patents, P.O. Box 1450, Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-5,19, 21, 26, 36-37 and 53-54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weiss et al. (WO 2019/200164).
Claim 1. Weiss et al. teach sensor for detecting a nucleic acid (biosensor device to detect target nucleic acid [0035] and [0053], comprising:
a substrate (substrate 245 made from silicon wafer; [0053]);
a pair of terminal electrodes disposed on the substrate in mutually spaced apart and opposing relation (source and drain electrodes 114, 116 disposed on the substrate and mutually space apart in opposing relation; see Fig 8A); and
a sensing element, between and in electrical contact with the pair of terminal electrodes (semiconduction channel, 243 in contact with source and drain electrodes; [0053], wherein the sensing element comprises:
(i) a semiconducting portion of the substrate, wherein a conduction path between the terminal electrodes passes through the semiconducting portion (substrate is made up of silicon forms conduction path between the source and drain electrodes; [0053][0062]); and
(ii) an oligonucleotide on a surface of the semiconducting portion, the oligonucleotide being complementary to the nucleic acid to be detected, wherein hybridisation of the nucleic acid with the oligonucleotide leads to a change in resistance of the sensor (immobilize nucleic acid onto the semiconductor surface; [0059] and hybridization of nucleic acid with immobilized nucleic acid lead to change in transconductance (reciprocal of resistance) [0062]).
Claims 2 and 4. Weiss et al. teach the semiconducting portion (the semiconductor substrate is made up of silicon [0053] which inherently has resistivity in the range of 1000 to 10000 ohm.cm and thus meet claim limitation of a resistivity of greater than 100 ohm.cm).
Claim 5. Weiss et al. teach the semiconducting portion comprises a high-resistivity non-oxide semiconductor, and wherein the non-oxide semiconductor has a resistivity of greater than 100 ohm.cm (the semiconductor substrate is made up of silicon [0053] which inherently has resistivity in the range of 1000 to 10000 ohm.cm and thus meet claim limitation of a resistivity of greater than 100 ohm.cm).
Claim 19. Weiss et al. teach the oligonucleotide is chemically bonded to the semiconducting portion by a process comprising: (i) silanization of the semiconducting portion with a silanizing agent having a terminal functionality selected from the group consisting a carboxy group (ii) reacting an oligonucleotide with the terminal functionality (indium oxide surface silanized with PTMS have MBS as terminal functionality to immobilize nucleic acid; [0062]).
Claim 21. Weiss et al. teach the oligonucleotide is complementary to a nucleic acid having a single point mutation to a native DNA sequence (detecting SNP i.e. single mismatched nucleotide associated with disease such as Cancer [0086][0003]).
Claim 26. Weiss et al. teach a method for detecting a nucleic acid detect target nucleic acid [0035][0053], the method comprising the steps of:
a) contacting a sensing element of a sensor of claim 1 with a substance possibly containing the nucleic acid (contacting sample containing target nucleic acid with the biosensor [0068]);
b) measuring an electrochemical parameter of the sensor corresponding to a resistance of the sensor (measuring change in transconductance (reciprocal of resistance) [0062]); and
c) detecting the presence or absence of the nucleic acid on the sensing element based on electrochemical parameter measured in step (b) (detecting presence of DNA based on change in transconductance during hybridization; [0063]).
Claim 36. Weiss et al. teach a method of fabricating a sensor for detecting a nucleic acid (method of making biosensor for detecting DNA; [0053] and Figs 8A-8B) the method comprising the steps of:
a. providing a substrate comprising a semiconducting portion (substrate 245 made from silicon wafer; [0053]);
b. producing a pair of terminal electrodes on the substrate in mutually spaced apart and opposing relation, wherein the semiconducting portion of the substrate is positioned between and in electrical contact with the terminal electrodes and wherein a conduction path between the terminal electrodes passes through the semiconducting portion (source and drain electrodes 114, 116 disposed on the substrate and mutually space apart in opposing relation and semiconduction channel, 243 in contact with source and drain electrodes wherein the substrate is made up of silicon forms conduction path between the source and drain electrodes [0053][0062] and see Fig 8A); and
c. immobilizing an oligonucleotide on a surface of the semiconducting portion, the oligonucleotide being complementary to the nucleic acid to be detected, thereby producing a sensing element comprising (i) the semiconducting portion and (ii) the oligonucleotide (immobilize nucleic acid onto the semiconductor surface; [0059] and hybridization of nucleic acid with immobilized nucleic acid lead to change in transconductance (reciprocal of resistance) [0062]).
Claim 37. Weiss et al. teach the semiconducting portion has a resistivity of greater than 100 ohm.cm (the semiconductor substrate is made up of silicon [0053] which inherently has resistivity in the range of 1000 to 10000 ohm.cm and thus meet claim limitation of a resistivity of greater than 100 ohm.cm).
Claims 53 and 54. Weiss et al. teach oligonucleotide is chemically bonded to the semiconducting portion by a process comprising: (i) silanization of the semiconducting portion with a silanizing agent having a terminal functionality selected from the group consisting of an epoxy group, a thiol an amino group, a carboxy group and a hydroxy group, and (ii) reacting an oligonucleotide with the terminal functionality (indium oxide surface silanized with PTMS and have MBS as terminal functionality to immobilize nucleic acid; [0062]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss et al. (WO 2019/200164).
Claim 15. Weiss et al. teach the semiconducting portion comprises an oxygen deficient metal oxide (semiconductor substrate comprises channel 243 comprised of indium oxide (oxygen deficient metal oxide); [0053]. Weiss et al. do not teach the oxygen-deficient metal oxide is selected from the group consisting of zinc oxide (ZnO), strontium titanium oxide (STO), tin oxide (SnO2), and titanium dioxide (TiO2). However, it is well known ZnO and TiO2 are well known oxygen deficient metal oxide used in semiconductor based sensing device and thus substituting indium oxide with ZnO2 or TiO2 would yield predictable results with reasonable expectation.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tsao et al. (US 2018/0201983).
Claim 24. Weiss et al. teach cancer patient DNA is detected [0083] but do not explicitly teach the oligonucleotide is the BRAF oligonucleotide. However, Tsao et al. teach colon-cancer is associated with BRAF DNA mutations [0013][0012]. Therefore, it would have been obvious Weiss et al. device would be capable for detecting BRAF DNA as it is mutation in DNA from a cancer patient.
Claim(s) 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ong et al. (US 2010/0015008).
Claims 10 and 12. Weiss et al. teach substrate is comprised of silicon [] but do not teach semiconductor the non-oxide semiconductor is an intrinsic silicon semiconductor and the silicon semiconductor is a float-zone silicon semiconductor.
However, Ong et al. teach device of analyzing biological entity such as DNA comprised of disposing DNA onto substrate comprised of silicon wafer obtained from float-zone (reads on intrinsic silicon wafer) [0127][0056].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention in view of Ong et al. teaching to use float-zone silicon wafer as choice of material for semiconductor substrate in Weiss et al. biosensor because selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. (see MPEP § 2144.07)
Conclusion
/GURPREET KAUR/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759