DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-15 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02 June 2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,518,942. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent is more limited than the instant application claims requiring all the limitations of claims 1-4 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arai et al. (US pgPub 2011/0068265).
Regarding claim 1, Arai et al. teaches a charged particle beam device (fig. 1) for emitting a charged particle beam onto a sample (beam from source 1 to sample 8), the charged particle beam device comprising:
a charged particle beam optical system (2/3) for emitting the charged particle beam onto the sample (as seen in figure 1);
a sample chamber (4) provided with a stage (9) on which the sample is placed (8 placed on 9);
a plasma generating device (13/14/15) for generating plasma to be emitted onto the stage ([0139] and abstract).
a connecting member (fig. 5, 43 is an insulator, wherein 44/45 correspond to 15 of figure 1 and 43 connects with 14 ([0158]). Thus 43 is upstream of 15 in figure 1 and connects with chamber 4) that includes an insulating spacer (43 is an insulating cylinder ([0158]) spacing 40-42 from chamber 4 as seen in figures 1 and 4) insulating the sample chamber and the plasma generating device (43 insulates 4 from 40-42 due to its insulative material), and connects the plasma generating device to the sample chamber (fig. 1 shows 13 connected to chamber 4, wherein as discussed above 43 (fig. 5) is upstream of 15 (fig. 1), thus connects the source to the chamber).
Regarding claim 2, Arai et al. teaches wherein the plasma generating device includes a main body that generates plasma (42), and a guide (41) extending from the main body in a direction toward the stage (since 42 is connected to 45 which corresponds to 15 in figure 1, 41 extends from 15 towards the stage 9).
Regarding claim 3, Arai teaches wherein the stage (9) is provided with a voltage source (17) that provides approximately the same potential as the potential of the plasma generating device (17 is capable of providing the same potential as 15 because they are both power sources).
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Castagna et al. (US pgPub 2014/0034830)
Regarding claim 1, Castagna et al. teaches a charged particle beam device (figs. 2-4) for emitting a charged particle beam (from charged particle beam source 204 in figure 2) onto a sample (110), the charged particle beam device comprising:
a charged particle beam optical system (as seen in figure 2, 208/210//212) for emitting the charged particle beam onto the sample (as seen in figure 2);
a sample chamber (112) provided with a stage (224) on which the sample is placed (8 placed on 9);
a plasma generating device (100 in figure 2) for generating plasma (100 is a gas source that may be ionized ([0014]) thus generating plasma (i.e. ionized gas)) to be emitted onto the stage (to sample 110 on stage).
a connecting member ([0030] “The needle is preferably supported by on the vacuum chamber wall by a mechanism that electrically isolates the needle from the vacuum chamber wall so that the needle or a structure attached to the needle can be electrically charged”) that includes an insulating spacer ([0030] mechanism that electrically isolates) insulating the sample chamber and the plasma generating device ([0030] needle supported on vacuum chamber wall by mechanism that electrically isolates, thus insulating the chamber from GIS 100), and connects the plasma generating device to the sample chamber ([0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masashi (JP2007149449) in view of Hamamoto (US pgPub 2002/0164845).
Regarding claim 1, Masashi teaches a charged particle beam device (fig. 1) for emitting a charged particle beam onto a sample (13 emitted from 12 to sample 2), the charged particle beam device comprising:
a charged particle beam optical system (12) for emitting the charged particle beam onto the sample (as seen in figure 1);
a sample chamber (11) provided with a stage (3) on which the sample is placed (2 placed on 1);
a plasma generating device (1) for generating plasma to be emitted onto the stage (via 21)
While Masashi inherently must connect 1 to chamber 11 by some means, Masashi fails to disclose a connecting member that includes an insulating spacer insulating the sample chamber and the plasma generating device, and connects the plasma generating device to the sample chamber.
However, Hamamoto teaches a connecting member (28) that includes an insulating spacer ([0048]) insulating the sample chamber and the plasma generating device ([0048]), and connects the plasma generating device to the sample chamber (as seen in figure 1).
Hamamoto modifies Masashi by suggesting connecting the plasma source with a insulating connecting member (note: Hamamoto also envisioned the source within the vacuum chamber see paragraph [0072]).
Since both inventions are directed towards connecting plasma sources to vacuum chambers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the connection of Masashi to include an insulator for connection as in Hamamoto because it would insulate the vacuum chamber from the voltage applied to the plasma generator ([0072]) thus preventing the voltage of the plasma chamber being applied to the vacuum chamber and interfering with the charged particle optics in the column 12 of Masashi.
Alternatively, Castagna teaches a connecting member ([0030] “The needle is preferably supported by on the vacuum chamber wall by a mechanism that electrically isolates the needle from the vacuum chamber wall so that the needle or a structure attached to the needle can be electrically charged”) that includes an insulating spacer ([0030] mechanism that electrically isolates) insulating the sample chamber and the plasma generating device ([0030] needle supported on vacuum chamber wall by mechanism that electrically isolates, thus insulating the chamber from GIS 100), and connects the plasma generating device to the sample chamber ([0030]).
Castagna modifies Masashi by suggesting a mechanism that electrically isolate the chamber wall so that the needle or a structure attached to the needle can be electrically charged.
Sicne both inventions are directed towards connecting plasma sources to an electron microscope, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to isolate the plasma source from the vacuum chamber via a mechanism that electrically isolates because it would allow the guide of Masashi to be electrically charged improving the delivery of the plasma to the sample. Moreover, isolating the plasma source from the vacuum chamber would improving user safety by not applying a voltage to the chamber
Regarding claim 2, Masashi teaches wherein the plasma generating device includes a main body that generates plasma (1), and a guide (21) extending from the main body in a direction toward the stage (as seen in figure 1).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (a) Castagna et al. alternatively (b) Masashi (JP2007149449) in view of Hamamoto (US pgPub 2002/0164845) or Castagna and in either (a) or (b) further in view of Gubbens (USPN 7,488,938).
Regarding claims 3, Castagna or the combined device fails to disclose wherein the stage is provided with a voltage source that provides approximately the same potential as the potential of the plasma generating device.
However, Gubbens teaches wherein the stage (220) is provided with a voltage source (224) that provides approximately the same potential as the potential of the plasma generating device ( the voltage source is controllable col. 4, lines 59-60 thus could be set at the same potential as the plasma generating device of the Castagna or the combined device).
Gubbens et al. modifies Castagna or the combined device by suggesting a voltage source to the sample.
Since both inventions are directed towards charge control, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the voltage source of Gubbens in Castagna or the combined device because it would allow for negating charging of the sample to compensate for positive charging during an imaging phase so as to properly balance the charging patterns. This balancing prevents secondary/backscatter electrons from escaping thus increasing the net secondary electron and backscatter electron yield thus improving the image yield by reducing loss of secondary and back scatter electrons (col. 3, lines 16-32 teaches balancing and col. 3, lines 33-37 teach the benefit). Moreover, adding an additional source to provide charge neutralization would increase the efficiency and/or flexibililty on the type of neutralization process to use.
Regarding claim 4, the combined device teaches wherein the plasma generating device is configured to generate plasma between frames for imaging the sample (Masashi is capable of generating plasma between frames by operating the plasma source while the electron source is not operative) and execute a static elimination operation on the sample ([0010] of Masashi).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J LOGIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881