Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 2, line 4 ends with “accelerated.” which is indefinite. The claim is being examined as though the term should read “accelerated playback.”
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The limitation “control the transmission bitrate of the video data to be transmitted to the client terminal based on the result of the determination in regard to the playback speed of the accelerated playback.” is a repeated recitation of the same feature in parent claim 2 and does not further limit the feature. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Li, US PGPub 2016/0294910 in view of Edlund.
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses in figure 1 a data relay apparatus (source and edge routers 114 and 116) arranged between a client terminal (client 106) and a distribution server (video server 102) for distributing video data and configured to transmit the video data distributed from the distribution server to the client terminal, the data relay apparatus comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: receive uploaded data to be transmitted from the client terminal to the distribution server (figure 5, step 504, paragraph 41), and determine whether or not accelerated playback of the video data is being performed at the client terminal (step 504, paragraph 41), and determine a playback speed of the accelerated playback performed at the client terminal in response to determining that the accelerated playback of the video data is being performed at the client terminal (step 506, paragraph 42). Li does not disclose determine, based on a data size of the uploaded data, whether the uploaded data is request data for requesting the video data or acknowledgement data for notifying that the video data has been received. Edlund discloses determine, based on a data size of the uploaded data, whether the uploaded data is request data for requesting the video data or acknowledgement data for notifying that the video data has been received (paragraphs 53-57). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the invention of Li per the teachings of Edlund for the purpose of increasing computational efficiency during video playback.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Li and Edlund discloses the data relay apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to control a transmission bitrate of the video data to be transmitted to the client terminal based on a result of the determination in regard to the accelerated (Li, step 506)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Li and Edlund discloses the data relay apparatus according to claim 2, the data relay apparatus according to wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to control the transmission bitrate of the video data to be transmitted to the client terminal based on the result of the determination in regard to the playback speed of the accelerated playback (Li, step 506)
Regarding claim 6, a distribution system comprising: a client terminal; a distribution server configured to distribute video data; and a data relay apparatus according to claim 1 is met by the combination of Li and Edlund as detailed in the rationale for rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, the claimed data relay method mirrors the data relay apparatus of claim 1 and accordingly it is rejected using the rationale as that of claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, the claimed non-transitory computer-readable medium mirrors the data relay apparatus of claim 1 and method claim 7 and accordingly it is rejected using the rationale as that of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Li and Mukaiyachi discloses controlling a transmission bitrate of the video data to be transmitted to the client terminal based on a result of the determining whether or not accelerated playback of the video data is being performed at the client terminal (Li, figure 5, steps 504 and 506).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Li and Mukaiyachi discloses the data relay method according to claim 7, further comprising: controlling the transmission bitrate of the video data to be transmitted to the client terminal based on a result of the determining the playback speed of the accelerated playback (Li, figure 5, step 506)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited prior art references fail to teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to determine whether or not the accelerated playback of the video data is being performed at the client terminal based on a transmission interval of the determined request data as required by claims 10 and 13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rajasekar, US PGPub 2021/0385168; Bao, US PGPub 2017/0270965.
Brian T. Pendleton
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/Brian T Pendleton/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2425