Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first office action in response to the communication filed 07/23/2024. Claims 1-7 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/16/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamoto et al. (US-6738181-B1; hereinafter Nakamoto).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamoto discloses An optical fiber output light source device comprising: (see at least [Page 12, Lines 44-46]; "The optical amplifying apparatus 103 includes an erbium-doped optical fiber amplifier comprising an erbium-doped optical fiber and a pump light source, for example.") an optical path that is obtained by joining a polarization maintaining amplifying optical fiber (see at least [Page 1, Lines 53-55]; "Each optical signal is guided by a polarization-maintaining fiber (hereinafter called "PMF") to an optical multiplexer (hereinafter called "MUX").") to a polarization maintaining dispersion compensating fiber; (see at least [Page 2, Lines 32-35]; "Therefore, the dispersion compensation fiber must maintain the polarization condition. Since the dispersion compensation fiber is generally elongated, however, a polarization extinction ratio remarkably deteriorates.") a single-polarization reflective polarizing beam splitter that is joined to one end of the optical path; (see at least [Page 17, Lines 39-42]; "In FIG. 6, the optical signal generated by each of m OS 121-1 to 121-m inside the optical sending apparatus 106 is inputted to each polarization beam splitter (hereinafter called "PBS" ) 128-1 to 128-m.") a 90 degree polarization-rotating reflector that is joined to another end of the optical path; (see at least Figure 4 and [Page 15, Lines 44-47]; "The optical signal inputted to PC 126-1 is outputted from PC 126-1 under the state where its polarization is rotated by 90.degree. by the 45.degree. Faraday rotator and the reflecting mirror of PC 126-1 as described above.”) a multiplexer that is inserted in the optical path; and (see at least [Page 1, Lines 53-55]; "Each optical signal is guided by a polarization-maintaining fiber (hereinafter called "PMF") to an optical multiplexer (hereinafter called "MUX").") a pumping light source (see at least [Page 12, Lines 44-46]; "The optical amplifying apparatus 103 includes an erbium-doped optical fiber amplifier comprising an erbium-doped optical fiber and a pump light source, for example.") that is joined to the multiplexer, (see at least [Page 12, Lines 46-51]; "When the WDM optical signal to be amplified is inputted under this state, the erbium-doped optical fiber induces stimulated emission and amplifies the WDM optical signal.") wherein an axis roll connection portion is provided in which a polarization axis of light returned from (see at least [Page 5, Lines 21-27]; "It will be assumed hereby that an x-y-z rectangular coordinate system is set with a z axis representing the propagating direction of the light propagating through the optical fiber, and with x and y axes being set inside the section of the optical fiber that crosses orthogonal to the z axis. In this case, arbitrary light can be decomposed into x and y polarization components.") the single-polarization reflective polarizing beam splitter (see at least [Page 17, Lines 39-42]; "In FIG. 6, the optical signal generated by each of m OS 121-1 to 121-m inside the optical sending apparatus 106 is inputted to each polarization beam splitter (hereinafter called "PBS" ) 128-1 to 128-m.") to the optical path is connected to a polarization maintaining axis of the optical path with a twisting angle therebetween at a predetermined angle. (see at least [Page 14, Lines 7-10]; "After the polarization condition is rotated by 45.degree. by the 45.degree. Faraday rotator, the light inputted to PC 126 is inputted to the reflecting mirror. The light rotated by 45.degree. is reflected by the reflecting mirror, and is again inputted to the 45.degree.").
Regarding claim 5, Nakamoto discloses The optical fiber output light source device according to claim 1, (see at least [Page 12, Lines 44-46]; "The optical amplifying apparatus 103 includes an erbium-doped optical fiber amplifier comprising an erbium-doped optical fiber and a pump light source, for example.") wherein the single-polarization reflective polarizing beam splitter (see at least [Page 17, Lines 39-42]; "In FIG. 6, the optical signal generated by each of m OS 121-1 to 121-m inside the optical sending apparatus 106 is inputted to each polarization beam splitter (hereinafter called "PBS" ) 128-1 to 128-m.") uses a Faraday rotating mirror. (see at least [Page 15, Lines 44-47]; "The optical signal inputted to PC 126-1 is outputted from PC 126-1 under the state where its polarization is rotated by 90.degree. by the 45.degree. Faraday rotator and the reflecting mirror of PC 126-1 as described above.”).
Regarding claim 6, Nakamoto discloses The optical fiber output light source device according to any one of claim 1, (see at least [Page 12, Lines 44-46]; "The optical amplifying apparatus 103 includes an erbium-doped optical fiber amplifier comprising an erbium-doped optical fiber and a pump light source, for example.") further comprising a highly nonlinear fiber that is joined to a latter part relative to (see at least [Page 11, Lines 65-67]; "Therefore, this method can more reliably suppress the non-linear optical effect and polarizing-hole burning that occur in the WDM optical signal.") the single-polarization reflective polarizing beam splitter. (see at least [Page 17, Lines 39-42]; "In FIG. 6, the optical signal generated by each of m OS 121-1 to 121-m inside the optical sending apparatus 106 is inputted to each polarization beam splitter (hereinafter called "PBS" ) 128-1 to 128-m.").
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakae et al. (US-20050083568-A1; hereinafter Nakae).
Regarding claim 7, Nakae discloses A single-polarization reflective polarizing beam splitter comprising: a polarizing beam splitter; (see at least figure 25 and [0238]; "a first semiconductor laser device 94 for emitting first laser beam K1; a second semiconductor laser device 95 for emitting second laser beam K2; two first lenses 96a and 96b where the two laser beam beams K1 and K2 emitted from the two semiconductor laser devices 94 and 95 enter, respectively, to be separately collimated; a polarized wave synthesizing element (cube beam splitter) 97;") a reflecting mirror opposed to a reflection surface of the polarizing beam splitter; (see at least [0238]; "a mirror 97a for reflecting the laser beam K2 toward the polarized wave synthesizing means 97; ") an incident lens arranged on a side closer to an incident light surface of the polarizing beam splitter; (see at least Figure 7 and [0151]; ""The first lens 4 receives the first laser beam K1 and the second laser beam K2, which are emitted from an end face 2a on the front side (right side in FIG. 6(A)) of the semiconductor laser device 2... The first lens 4 has a function of making the incident laser beam K1 and K2 intersect with each other and separating K1 and K2 from each other...") an exit lens arranged on a side closer to a transmitted light surface of the polarizing beam splitter; (see at least Figure 7 and [0015]; "Further, a second lens 16 is disposed between the PBC 7 and the optical fiber 8 in order to optically couple the first and second laser beams K1, K2 polarization-synthesized by the PBC 7 to the optical fiber 8.") and a 1/2 wave plate arranged on an incident side more than the incident lens. (see at least [0015]; "In addition, a prism 5 is disposed between the first lens 4 and the half-wave plate 6 so that the first laser beam K1 and the second laser beam K2 are incident thereon and output therefrom along their respective optical axes parallel to each other.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 through 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto and Nakae.
Regarding claim 2, Nakamoto discloses [Note: what Nakamoto fails to disclose is strike-through] The optical fiber output light source device according to claim 1, (see at least [Page 12, Lines 44-46]; "The optical amplifying apparatus 103 includes an erbium-doped optical fiber amplifier comprising an erbium-doped optical fiber and a pump light source, for example.") wherein the axis roll connection portion includes (see at least [Page 5, Lines 21-27]; "It will be assumed hereby that an x-y-z rectangular coordinate system is set with a z axis representing the propagating direction of the light propagating through the optical fiber, and with x and y axes being set inside the section of the optical fiber that crosses orthogonal to the z axis. In this case, arbitrary light can be decomposed into x and y polarization components.") between the polarization axis of the light returned from the single-polarization reflective polarizing beam splitter to the optical path (see at least [Page 17, Lines 39-42]; "In FIG. 6, the optical signal generated by each of m OS 121-1 to 121-m inside the optical sending apparatus 106 is inputted to each polarization beam splitter (hereinafter called "PBS" ) 128-1 to 128-m.") and the polarization maintaining axis of the optical path. (see at least [Page 14, Lines 7-10]; "After the polarization condition is rotated by 45.degree. by the 45.degree. Faraday rotator, the light inputted to PC 126 is inputted to the reflecting mirror. The light rotated by 45.degree. is reflected by the reflecting mirror, and is again inputted to the 45.degree.").
However, Nakamoto does not explicitly teach an angular adjustment means. Instead, Nakamoto teaches an axis roll.
Nakamoto discloses a method to specify the coordinates of light propagation through an optical fiber and Nakae is directed at using a lens to adjust the angle for laser light. Nakae teaches:
Angle adjustment (see at least [0152]; "For that reason, using the first lens 4 as a converging lens increases the tolerance for the shape, position, and angle adjustment of optical parts and is preferable.").
Both Nakamoto and Nakae can represent light at different angles. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Nakamoto to include hardware specifics as taught by Nakae. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to specify the lenses used in the optical amplifying apparatus of Nakamoto to include its shape, position, and angle adjustment as taught by Nakae. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by specifying the lens element from Nakamoto with specifics of Nakae to make Nakamoto’s description broader and more complex.
Regarding claim 3, Nakamoto discloses [Note: what Nakamoto fails to disclose is strike-through] The optical fiber output light source device according to claim 1, (see at least [Page 12, Lines 44-46]; "The optical amplifying apparatus 103 includes an erbium-doped optical fiber amplifier comprising an erbium-doped optical fiber and a pump light source, for example.") wherein the axis roll connection portion includes (see at least [Page 5, Lines 21-27]; "It will be assumed hereby that an x-y-z rectangular coordinate system is set with a z axis representing the propagating direction of the light propagating through the optical fiber, and with x and y axes being set inside the section of the optical fiber that crosses orthogonal to the z axis. In this case, arbitrary light can be decomposed into x and y polarization components.") (see at least [Page 17, Lines 39-42]; "In FIG. 6, the optical signal generated by each of m OS 121-1 to 121-m inside the optical sending apparatus 106 is inputted to each polarization beam splitter (hereinafter called "PBS" ) 128-1 to 128-m.").
However, Nakamoto does not explicitly teach a rotatable 1/2 wave plate. Instead, Nakamoto teaches an axis roll.
Nakamoto discloses a method to specify the coordinates of light propagation through an optical fiber and Nakae is directed at utilizing a half-wave plate. Nakae teaches:
Rotatable half-wave plate (see at least Figure 29 and [0014]; "a half-wave plate 6 configured to rotate a polarization direction of at least one of the first and second laser beam K1, K2 (i.e. the first laser beam K1 in FIG. 29) by a predetermined angle (by 90 degrees, for example);").
Both Nakamoto and Nakae can utilize hardware to examine light. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Nakamoto to include the hardware as taught by Nakae. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a semiconductor laser module as taught by Nakae in the optical amplifying apparatus of Nakamoto. This would allow better control over the internal components as the semiconductor laser module includes a rotatable half-wave plate to rotate the directions of the laser beams emitted by Nakamoto’s pump light source. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including a semiconductor laser module from Nakae into the optical amplifying apparatus of Nakamoto.
Regarding claim 4, Nakamoto discloses [Note: what Nakamoto fails to disclose is strike-through] The optical fiber output light source device according to claim 1, (see at least [Page 12, Lines 44-46]; "The optical amplifying apparatus 103 includes an erbium-doped optical fiber amplifier comprising an erbium-doped optical fiber and a pump light source, for example.") wherein the axis roll connection portion includes: a polarization maintaining fiber through which (see at least [Page 5, Lines 21-27]; "It will be assumed hereby that an x-y-z rectangular coordinate system is set with a z axis representing the propagating direction of the light propagating through the optical fiber, and with x and y axes being set inside the section of the optical fiber that crosses orthogonal to the z axis. In this case, arbitrary light can be decomposed into x and y polarization components.") the light returned from the single- polarization reflective polarizing beam splitter to the optical path passes (see at least [Page 17, Lines 39-42]; "In FIG. 6, the optical signal generated by each of m OS 121-1 to 121-m inside the optical sending apparatus 106 is inputted to each polarization beam splitter (hereinafter called "PBS" ) 128-1 to 128-m.").
However, Nakamoto does not explicitly teach fusion bonding/spliced fibers at a predetermined angle. Instead, Nakamoto teaches axis roll and a PMF.
Nakamoto discloses a method to specify the coordinates of light propagation through an optical fiber and Nakae is directed at reducing polarization of a pumping light source. Nakae teaches:
Fusion bonding/splicing (see at least [0020]; "In Prior Art 1, when the polarization maintaining fiber that serves as a depolarizer is fusion-spliced to the end of the output optical fiber,").
Twisting angle of polarization at a predetermined angle (see at least [0020]; "it is difficult to position with accuracy the polarization maintaining fiber so that the principal axis of the polarization maintaining fiber tilts at an angle of 45 degrees with respect to the direction in which the laser light is polarized.”).
Both Nakamoto and Nakae can utilize optical fibers to transmit light. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Nakamoto to include hardware as taught by Nakae. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include Nakae’s semiconductor laser module with Nakamoto’s optical amplifying apparatus and apply the technique for reducing polarization from Nakae into the teaching of Nakamoto. Nakamoto teaches its optical amplifying apparatus already includes an optical fiber and pump light source, then the technique to couple the PMF to the tip of the output optical fiber by fusion bonding/splicing and further tilt the PMF to a 45-degree angle with respect to the laser polarization direction taught by Nakae will lower the polarization by a reasonable amount proportional to the length of the PMF. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including the semiconductor laser module and technique taught by Nakae into the teachings of Nakamoto.
Conclusion
/MARK ANTHONY FLORES/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648