Election/Restrictions
Claim 7 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/6/2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu (10079259).
Regarding claim 1, Yu teaches a light detection device, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (101) having a separating structure (107) between a plurality of pixels;
an insulating film (please see ILD above protecting the photoelectric transducer devices) covering a light receiving surface of the semiconductor substrate; and
a light blocking portion (please see the upper portion of 107 that separates color filters) disposed between a first color filter (109R) and a second color filte (109G)r, wherein the light blocking portion is in contact with a light-incident surface of the insulating film; and
a low-refractive-index wall (fig. 3A: 305) disposed within a slit region (this region can be seen above wherein 305 resides), wherein the low- refractive-index wall has, in an upper surface thereof, a concavo-convex structure (please see above wherein 305 wraps around 107).
Regarding claim 2, Yu teaches a light detection solid-state image capturing device according to claim 1, wherein the light blocking portion is disposed along the wall surfaces and a bottom surface of the slit (please see figure above).
Regarding claim 3, Yu teaches a light detection solid-state image capturing device according to claim 1, wherein the light blocking portion is provided to fill the slit (please see figure above).
Regarding claim 4, Yu teaches a light detection solid-state image capturing device according to claim 1, further comprising: a wherein the low-refractive-index wall is disposed provided between sides of the light blocking portions and between adjacent ones of the pixels and provided between color filters disposed above the insulating film (please see figure above).
Regarding claim 8, Yu teaches a electronic device, comprising:
a light detection device (300):
including a semiconductor substrate (101) having a separating structure (107) between a plurality of pixels,
an insulating film (please see figure above) covering a light receiving surface of the semiconductor substrate, and
a light blocking portion (see rejection of claim 1 above) disposed between a first color filter and a second color filter, wherein the light blocking portion is in contact with a light-incident surface of the insulating film (please see rejection of claim 1 above); and
a low-refractive-index wall disposed within a slit region, wherein the low- refractive-index wall has, in an upper surface thereof, a concavo-convex structure (please see rejection of claim 1 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 (please note dependency) is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 (please note dependency) is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818