DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 12/21/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending [claims 21-45 are cancelled] and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the second service consumer" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,5,6,10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Faccin et al. (US 2020/0267554).
Regarding claim 1:
Faccin discloses a system and method performed by a service consumer (figures; abstract), comprising:
sending, to a service provider, a request for subscribing to a notification of a change in network slice selection assistance information, NSSAI, availability information, wherein the request indicates that the notification is to be subscribed to for all tracking area identifiers, TAIs, supported by an access and mobility management function, AMF, set (para 68,73, partially reproduced herein {the availability of the Network Slice instances that are able to serve the S-NSSAI(s) in the Allowed NSSAI in the current UE's Tracking Areas}; figure 3; para 74 { Allowed NSSAI to the Subscribed S-NSSAIs if determined and the target AMF Set, or, based on configuration, the list of candidate AMF(s)}; para 108 {…update its capabilities or protocol parameters, or to request a change of the set of network slices it is allowed to use}; para 127, 178); and
receiving, from the service provider, a response to the request (21 I figure 3; para 160; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 6:
Faccin discloses all of the subject matter as described above, and discloses method performed by a service provider (figure 3-9;) and function as above in claim 1, thus claim 6 is rejected with similar rationale as above.
Regarding claims 5 and 10:
Faccin discloses all of the subject matter as described above wherein the service provider is a network slice selection function, NSSF (para 55,65 and throughout).
Claim(s) 11, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2022/0330139).
Regarding claim 11:
Lee discloses a system and method performed by a network repository function, NRF (abstract; figures), comprising:
receiving, from a first service consumer, information about one or more single network slice selection assistance information, S-NSSAIs, supported by the first service consumer for each of one or more tracking areas, TAs (para 71 {request message may include network slice information (S-NSSAI) and an indicator indicating that the NSACF}; figures; para 164 {serving areas may be divided by a list of TAIs …}; para 166 {location (the TAI) of the UE 1100 may be a TAI that is not included in the registration area received in operation S1118. The registration request message may include S-NSSAI}); and
maintaining the received information (para 146 {NSACF 302 may not decrease the number of registered UEs and may intactly maintain the number of registered UEs}; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 17:
Lee discloses all of the subject matter as described above, and discloses a method performed by a service consumer (abstract; figures 3-12), and function as above in claim 11, thus claim 17 is rejected with similar rationale as above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4,7-9,12-15,18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HIRDEPAL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631